B Section B Section 2009

More to come from this CC and a fair few Ormond players stayed and had a sausage and VB OUTSIDE the pavilion.
While on pavilions some of the visitor changerooms are a disgrace, Skobs and OC'S are too small, we have outdated ones at E E Gunn but at least you can move in them.

Reckon Ormond may want to be careful that this event doesn't blow up in their faces. Do you want to explain the actions of your supporter/official? who ran onto the ground to approch the umpires while they were being escorted off?

S.R

It’s very un-Ormond like for a group not to attend after matches. Disappointing if it’s the case, no question. However, it’s not the first time it’s happened in ammo ranks and won’t be the last. Maybe it’s just an anti Monder bias coming to the fore by one or two wanting to turn it into something way out of proportion.

Seeing Briza won’t answer my question about whether Loates pulled on the boots as he predicted, would you mind doing it?

Was also at Hampton, saw the incident in the first quarter, didn't look much in it to me. Almost accidental. Lawrence was suspended earlier in the year but you can hardly say he's got a reputation and to call him a dog or a thug is laughable.

Yes the condition of the ground surface is a disgrace - the condition it has been in this year and last year is the worst since the drainage was put in 15 or so years ago. I know club officials are meeting with the Bayside Council shortly to discuss the issue as it's not up to scratch. Like they did to Beaumaris, it will eventually be re-done and return to be a top quality surface. The ground is ranked in the top 4 in Bayside, by the Council themselves (along with Trevor Barker, Elsternwick Park and another). Off the ground, the facilities are right up there with the best in the league - and all done by the Football Club, not the council or a school.

The umpiring on Saturday was an absolute disgrace. It's become clearly evident the umpires are against district clubs. The way they treat the schoolboy teams and especially ex-AFL players is a joke. Decision after decision went in favour of "the snow dogs" on Saturday. Not to mention the goal given to them which went over the post in the 1st quarter, and the goal not given to the Rovers that clearly went over the line in the last (that would have reduced the margin to 4 points, instead it was 9 points and the visitors took control of the game and went on to be deserved winners).

As for comparing District clubs to Old Boys clubs, at least district clubs have a true "club" atmosphere. Old Boys are nothing more than extension of the school - they're a "team", not a "club". Not to mention the vast majority are a bunch of raging homo's. It's quite funny to note at away games at quarter & three quarter time huddles, the crowd around the Rovers huddle is larger than that around the home team. I'm sure it's the same with Ormond. And speaking of support, after the Rovers managed to get over 20 supporters to the St Bernards lunch earlier in the year at the Snakepit, they could only manage two (both freebies) on Saturday at Hampton. A common trend. A know what type of club I’d rather be involved with.

Was also at Hampton, saw the incident in the first quarter, didn't look much in it to me. Almost accidental. Lawrence was suspended earlier in the year but you can hardly say he's got a reputation and to call him a dog or a thug is laughable.

Yes the condition of the ground surface is a disgrace - the condition it has been in this year and last year is the worst since the drainage was put in 15 or so years ago. I know club officials are meeting with the Bayside Council shortly to discuss the issue as it's not up to scratch. Like they did to Beaumaris, it will eventually be re-done and return to be a top quality surface. The ground is ranked in the top 4 in Bayside, by the Council themselves (along with Trevor Barker, Elsternwick Park and another). Off the ground, the facilities are right up there with the best in the league - and all done by the Football Club, not the council or a school.

Your kidding.

Have you played on or seen the Beaumaris ground?

$500k worth of crap, I reckon the ground is in worst condition than it was before the 2 year re-lay. They would be best not to mention the ground and perhaps look at what they did to the SFL ground in Bentleigh which looks fantastic

As for Ormond, it reflects where the Coaching staff, players and supporters are at the moment by throwing out ETHICS and bringing in a tonne of EMOTION. Your not the only club struggling or looking at relegation. The game is more important so get back to it being fun and enjoyable for everyone.

I reckon you should expand, result reversed, tell us more please, by the way there wasn't enough room to get in the so called club rooms.

Still waiting for you to answer my question Bed!

How many were there for the presentation?

I was unsure what you meant when you said " more to come from this"

sounds like there was controversy everywhere on the weeekend!

The umpiring on Saturday was an absolute disgrace. It's become clearly evident the umpires are against district clubs. The way they treat the schoolboy teams and especially ex-AFL players is a joke. Decision after decision went in favour of "the snow dogs" on Saturday. Not to mention the goal given to them which went over the post in the 1st quarter, and the goal not given to the Rovers that clearly went over the line in the last (that would have reduced the margin to 4 points, instead it was 9 points and the visitors took control of the game and went on to be deserved winners).

As for comparing District clubs to Old Boys clubs, at least district clubs have a true "club" atmosphere. Old Boys are nothing more than extension of the school - they're a "team", not a "club". Not to mention the vast majority are a bunch of raging homo's. It's quite funny to note at away games at quarter & three quarter time huddles, the crowd around the Rovers huddle is larger than that around the home team. I'm sure it's the same with Ormond. And speaking of support, after the Rovers managed to get over 20 supporters to the St Bernards lunch earlier in the year at the Snakepit, they could only manage two (both freebies) on Saturday at Hampton. A common trend. A know what type of club I’d rather be involved with.

For the record, I’ve got absolutely nothing against district clubs, Ormond have been super both times we’ve played them, they play hard and tough footy…. Not one cheap act behind play like I saw on the weekend… all their players put their head over the ball when it was time.... unlike hampton

An accidental king hit when the ball was 50m away? Your kidding yourself mate.,…..
Number 19 for Hampton should be ashamed of himself …. And if your going to defend what he did then your just as gutless.

Secondly the behaviour by the crowd members close to the pavilion towards the umpires heading off at half time was nothing short of disgraceful. Not only did they produce a verbal barrage on the umpires with every expletive known to man sent the umpire’s way, one of their supporters also got very close to the umpires whilst delivering the spray which was a very poor effort. I will admit I didn’t see the actual incident, but I have been told this supporter got very close to the umpiring group.

I'll put my hand up for this one. I walked back to the rooms from behind the goals and was passing the gate at the same time the umpires were coming up the "race". I simply told them they needed a mirror to take a good hard look at themselves and one umpire turned back and extended the whistle out to me, offering me to do the job. There's was nothing threatening about my behaviour and no expletives were involved by me or anyone in the vicinity. To suggest otherwise is nothing more than a fallacious attempt to tarnish our club's reputation.

The pathetic slur on the state of our ground is both naive and ignorant. Any individual with a bit of nous would know that the responsibility of the ground's maintenance is that of its council. AS has been previously mentioned our ground accommodates 15 juniors teams, 180 Auskick kids, 4 senior teams and 2 schools using it every week. It's an unfortunate situtation that is out of our hands.

As for Lawrence, I missed the incident, but saw all that ensued. The fact there was little or no remonstration from the St.Bernards players in the area supports the above post from hawks09. Sufficed to say I've played 13 years of footy with "Buckers" and find it very difficult to believe there was any malicious intent.

Boys first time writer but long time reader!

I too was watching the rovers and all I can say for Lawrence is he is a low life dog! King hit the bernards player from behind and then ran away like a girl! I have a feeling that the VAFA investigation will sort it out and and Lawrence will not be playing until round 3 2010 in c grade

I'll put my hand up for this one. I walked back to the rooms from behind the goals and was passing the gate at the same time the umpires were coming up the "race". I simply told them they needed a mirror to take a good hard look at themselves and one umpire turned back and extended the whistle out to me, offering me to do the job. There's was nothing threatening about my behaviour and no expletives were involved by me or anyone in the vicinity. To suggest otherwise is nothing more than a fallacious attempt to tarnish our club's reputation.

The pathetic slur on the state of our ground is both naive and ignorant. Any individual with a bit of nous would know that the responsibility of the ground's maintenance is that of its council. AS has been previously mentioned our ground accommodates 15 juniors teams, 180 Auskick kids, 4 senior teams and 2 schools using it every week. It's an unfortunate situtation that is out of our hands.

As for Lawrence, I missed the incident, but saw all that ensued. The fact there was little or no remonstration from the St.Bernards players in the area supports the above post from hawks09. Sufficed to say I've played 13 years of footy with "Buckers" and find it very difficult to believe there was any malicious intent.

exactly right mate, you didn't see it. Neither did the bloke who got king hit....

i can cop supporters having a go at umpires, sneaking cans in the back of a ute...but not king hits. Dont make comment on what you didn't see

UNCLE MICKThe pathetic slur on the state of our ground is both naive and ignorant. Any individual with a bit of nous would know that the responsibility of the ground's maintenance is that of its council. AS has been previously mentioned our ground accommodates 15 juniors teams, 180 Auskick kids, 4 senior teams and 2 schools using it every week. It's an unfortunate situtation that is out of our hands.

Of course its not your fault, the club, players, supporters etc etc only pay the rates that generate revenue for the council to build infrastructure and playing surfaces in the area. Ever heard of the word LOBBYING?.

Next time you have local council at the club for the Presidents lunch, instead of sloshing the Red why don't you take them out onto the ground and show them the condition.

Talk about Naive and Ignorant.

UNCLE MICKThe pathetic slur on the state of our ground is both naive and ignorant. Any individual with a bit of nous would know that the responsibility of the ground's maintenance is that of its council. AS has been previously mentioned our ground accommodates 15 juniors teams, 180 Auskick kids, 4 senior teams and 2 schools using it every week. It's an unfortunate situtation that is out of our hands.

Of course its not your fault, the club, players, supporters etc etc only pay the rates that generate revenue for the council to build infrastructure and playing surfaces in the area. Ever heard of the word LOBBYING?.

Next time you have local council at the club for the Presidents lunch, instead of sloshing the Red why don't you take them out onto the ground and show them the condition.

Talk about Naive and Ignorant.

I'm not going to get into a tit for tat here, but naive and ignorant can also be applied to someone who believes we're not doing everything in our power to expedite the process of having our ground attended to. We aren't the only club in the area suffering which is making our case even harder.

I look forward to the last man standing battle between Ocam and Hampton this week!!!!!! Camberwell's veterans wont stand for any behind play hits- might see some fireworks

ok, i think it is clear emotions are a big part of ammo footy and that is the best part of the game/competition. For anyone to be hit behind play is not acceptable - we all agree on that. The incident wasn't actually behind play - the player in question was making a lead & was being held and then the full back actually gave him a punch to the guts to stop his lead, the rovers player turned around and gave him one back, however it was obviously to the face. So for people to say A/it was behind play are
incorrect, B/ that it was done for no reason also incorrect, C/ it is correct it shouldn't have happened & no player should receive such an injurry i agree.

In relation to the umpires, clearly they were deplorable, i also agree the fans were ordinary - please be known this isn't due to one performance by such umpires - the same umpire umpired us against Carey where 4 of our player were actually hit behind play and nothing was done about it - Also there was extreme frustration when we were 10 points down in the last qtr with a bit of momentum and the goal umpire paid a point when the ball without exxageration cleared the line by 1 metre.

Although i would assume the St Bernards boys were annoyed at the incident against one of there players i thought it was a very poor effort for none of them to come in the rooms after the game - not one player was in attendance for the after match presentations.

In relation to the ground - for the majority, please don't be so naive to think the club hasn't been in contact with the council (lobbying), they have been quite regularly, however when you are in the hands of a council who has already allocated funding to 4 other grounds for the financial year you have no other choice apart from playing on what we are provided, we unfortunately don't have the luxury of a private school to fund the upkeep of our oval. However to also bring we should be in the SFL is a slur on your own intelligence & also show's your naivety towards the competition & what it stands for - i would assume the Ammos have more district teams in the overall competition than school boys. If you look at Old Brighton in A grade, they currently have 8 Hampton Rovers juniors - we lose them due to their commitments to APS.

Anyhow as i said it is great that everyone is showing passion & also supporting their own.
You're dreaming!

I would think he was telling them about what went on OFF the field and i don't think that fella was running.

I suppose you are right Bedford. This is the sort of thing the VAFA should encourage, irate supporters storming onto the ground seconds after the final siren to confront the umpires :rolleyes:

There was no punching or holding by either player, just an arm on like all defenders and nothing any player can complain about! Number 19 had also just kicked good goal, so some close checking would be expected however that was all!

When the ball is 50 meters away on the wing no player ever expects a left hook to the face from behind!

No matter the reasons – this is something that should not occur on any footy field and if it occur 20 meters to the right on the other side of the fence it’s call assault!

ok, i think it is clear emotions are a big part of ammo footy and that is the best part of the game/competition. For anyone to be hit behind play is not acceptable - we all agree on that. The incident wasn't actually behind play - the player in question was making a lead & was being held and then the full back actually gave him a punch to the guts to stop his lead, the rovers player turned around and gave him one back, however it was obviously to the face. So for people to say A/it was behind play are
incorrect, B/ that it was done for no reason also incorrect, C/ it is correct it shouldn't have happened & no player should receive such an injurry i agree.

In relation to the umpires, clearly they were deplorable, i also agree the fans were ordinary - please be known this isn't due to one performance by such umpires - the same umpire umpired us against Carey where 4 of our player were actually hit behind play and nothing was done about it - Also there was extreme frustration when we were 10 points down in the last qtr with a bit of momentum and the goal umpire paid a point when the ball without exxageration cleared the line by 1 metre.

Although i would assume the St Bernards boys were annoyed at the incident against one of there players i thought it was a very poor effort for none of them to come in the rooms after the game - not one player was in attendance for the after match presentations.

In relation to the ground - for the majority, please don't be so naive to think the club hasn't been in contact with the council (lobbying), they have been quite regularly, however when you are in the hands of a council who has already allocated funding to 4 other grounds for the financial year you have no other choice apart from playing on what we are provided, we unfortunately don't have the luxury of a private school to fund the upkeep of our oval. However to also bring we should be in the SFL is a slur on your own intelligence & also show's your naivety towards the competition & what it stands for - i would assume the Ammos have more district teams in the overall competition than school boys. If you look at Old Brighton in A grade, they currently have 8 Hampton Rovers juniors - we lose them due to their commitments to APS.

Anyhow as i said it is great that everyone is showing passion & also supporting their own.

couldn't give 2 stuffs about your ground or your club

the incident was well behind play, the bernards player was hit whilst he was watching the play. ... if u want to continue to dance around it, so be it... we will let the trib decide

I suppose you are right Bedford. This is the sort of thing the VAFA should encourage, irate supporters storming onto the ground seconds after the final siren to confront the umpires :rolleyes:
That fellow did nothing wrong he was just alerting the umpires of a off field matter and i don't know what you mean by storming on to the ground in a theatening manner as he had no beef with the umps.

Can you tell us what the important Off-Field matter (whatever that could have been) that caused him to enter the playing field and the approach the umpires.

If not then its not hard to draw any other the conclusion.

State what the important off-field matter was that he had to enter the playing field and approach the umpire.
The Ormond timekeepers clock allegedly went off two seconds before the siren was sounded, but the OC timekeeper was watching the last second goal and didnt blow the siren until the ball was kicked for goal, resulting in the Wellers winning....

Would that be the same timekeeper who back in round five let the final quarter run to 34:30 minutes with Camberwell kicking with a massive gale. They kicked eight goals but the Rovers held on for a five point win.

Was out at Hampton yesterday and came back ‘across the river’ thinking I had just attended a game of suburban footy at the Southern Football League. Their behaviour on and off the field was disgusting.

I will start with their actions on the field. Number 19, I am led to believe his name is Lawrence (?) committed one of the biggest dog acts that can be committed on the football field. A king hit behind play to an unsuspecting opponent. This happened midway through the first quarter, our defender was playing closely on him, Lawrence couldn’t handle the niggle and committed the thug act whilst all other players and umpires backs were turned. The St. Bernard’s player he king hit came straight off the ground and didn’t go back on with concussion & due to the fact he couldn’t see out of his eye. The eye is still very swollen today and scans will reveal the extent of the injuries to his cheek. I have been informed that that Lawrence has a record of this and was suspended earlier on in the year? Thug.

Now to off the field.

Firstly the ground is clearly the worst ground in the competition, if you haven’t ventured out to Boss James Reserve, it resembles a sand pit, disgraceful, would hate to see what it would have been like had it been raining. The ground is that bad that the Auskick kids were making sand castles in the forward pocket before the reserves match.

Secondly the behaviour by the crowd members close to the pavilion towards the umpires heading off at half time was nothing short of disgraceful. Not only did they produce a verbal barrage on the umpires with every expletive known to man sent the umpire’s way, one of their supporters also got very close to the umpires whilst delivering the spray which was a very poor effort. I will admit I didn’t see the actual incident, but I have been told this supporter got very close to the umpiring group.

Finally, I am under the impression that alcohol is not permitted at amateur grounds. This isn’t the case at Boss James. Plenty of consumption of alcohol was taking place on the far side of the ground. One example was as you were looking at the scoreboard, just to the left, a blue 4wd had its rear/boot open with a group of blokes openly consuming alcohol. They weren’t even being discreet about it and it was very easy to notice they were consuming alcohol.

I’d like to know what the posters on here from Hampton’s opinions on the above are?

That's slightly rich coming after all the rubbish that's come from the plebs out at the snake pit over the years.

I couldn't tell you if I tried how many times I've seen gutless low life scum on the hill or behind the goals liquored up and yelling profanities. I also recollect a number of St B coaches losing the plot at umps and opposition players.

You lot turn into a pack of cowering pussies when you cross the Maribyrnong. Always have , always will.

Suck it up.

The Ormond timekeepers clock allegedly went off two seconds before the siren was sounded, but the OC timekeeper was watching the last second goal and didnt blow the siren until the ball was kicked for goal, resulting in the Wellers winning....

It wasn't the Ormond timekeeper going off crook, rather a supporter some 6-10 metres away. The Ormond timekeeper seemed just as bemused as everybody else

So an Ormond guy that was not in any officiating capacity believing it was his job to approach the umpires on the playing field to tell them that going by his watch the game went an extra 2 seconds.

Yeah that should be ok to take to the league as a protest. Good luck with that one Ormond!

That's slightly rich coming after all the rubbish that's come from the plebs out at the snake pit over the years.

I couldn't tell you if I tried how many times I've seen gutless low life scum on the hill or behind the goals liquored up and yelling profanities. I also recollect a number of St B coaches losing the plot at umps and opposition players.

You lot turn into a pack of cowering pussies when you cross the Maribyrnong. Always have , always will.

Suck it up.

Agree with that...all clubs have the abusive element but the snake pit is certainly the only one I have been threatened physically. Hate seeing blokes hit behind the play though, completely gutless stuff and effects people in their professional life. Try communicating with contractors or speak to your family when you have your jaw wired shut. Throw the book at this bloke.