Mooster7

KC Chiefs
Greetings,

TT and I were in a (sort of) discussion about BBQ. I decided to make a BBQ post wherein I discuss KC and other styles, while you men down under offer tips about your BBQ. Until now, I haven't got around to it.

I was reminded tonight as a guy on my shift (from Charleston, South Carolina) is cooking southern BBQ. This means he is doing it all wrong. He cooks shredded pork and uses a mustard BBQ sauce. If you haven't seen this it contains:

Apple Cider Vinegar
Mustard
Honey
Peppers
Tomato Paste
Worcestershire
Sugar & White Pepper
Soy Sauce
Brown Sugar & Molasses
Pineapple

It doesn't taste bad, but it still isn't the way to do it.

As it turns out, KC is the American Heartland of Barbeque. Before Stealth gets pissed at me, let me state that I am not talking simply about grilling. Wisconsinites are the absolute masters of grilling things like bratwurst, and I acknowledge that. My family has Wisconsin anchorage, and I am a competetent hand with Brats myself. Johnsonville or death.

No, I am talking about KC BBQ. I'll go into depth later, but I'd like to hear about some Aussie styles, techniques, side-dishes etc. Stealth, I'll allow you to discuss Brats unless you are otherwise indisposed

Oh, the women can participate in this thread too. Just go ask a man what he thinks, and enter what he said here on this thread for him. :eek: ;)

Fat Red,

I do.

I was telling (boasting to) Mooster about how Australia is the spiritual home of the barbeque - or at least the Southern Hemisphere's spiritual home thereof.

I did this because I had just bought a six burner barbeque. Not a piddly little three burner, not a boring old four burner - a straight six burner. When I turn its ignition it roars into life like an (insert one of XR6/XU1/Hemi here).

Personally, I reckon that steak is the perfect food. If you put some other shyte on it (mustard/pepper/garlic/sauce), you are guilty of corrupting perfection. To my mind it should be illegal (unless you are stirfrying it).

Furthermore, anything more than medium rare is a deadset insult to the cow/steer who gave up its life for you.

A sausage, on the other hand, needs to have the absolute life of burnt out of it. You don't want a sausage mooing/oinking/meowing at you for being undercooked.

A barbeque should also have onion and slices of potato - mushrooms are optional. With six (count them, six!) burners, I could probably throw on some chicken kebabs and other girl food too!

I'll let others add to the detail of other ideas - but suffice to say, anyone who puts prawn (shrimp) on a barbeque is a deadset w@nker.

Does anyone have an opinion on cooking fish on a barbeque?

I would have thought that if you cooked, say, a trout on your barbie that everything else you cooked on there for the next 3 months - steak, chops, pork chops, chicken, hooch, whatever - would taste like trout.

I always get nervous when I have a barbeque at my place and some bloke pulls out some fish. I mean, what sort of bloke eats fish from a barbie anyway?

And then there's those bastards who have steak dianne and they plop it on the hotplate. "Here, cook this up for us mate!" But I'm the poor bastard who has to clean the plate of all that orange shyte when they go home. Bastards!

And what about those people who tell you how you should cook stuff on your own barbeque ...

Originally posted by Mooster7
...side-dishes etc.
By side dishes, do you mean bread, onions & tomato sauce with your sausage???

As for cooking fish, I still reckon cooking kebabs is a bit "out there".

And what's with all the barbie adds with like half a friggen Capsicum on the burner? I mean fair dinkum, who the f*ck does that???

Re: Re: BBQ Yank & Aussie

Originally posted by FIGJAM

By side dishes, do you mean bread, onions & tomato sauce with your sausage???

As for cooking fish, I still reckon cooking kebabs is a bit "out there".

And what's with all the barbie adds with like half a friggen Capsicum on the burner? I mean fair dinkum, who the f*ck does that???

Doesn't everyone cook capsicums on the barbie, along with tomatoes, corn, mushrooms & potatoes wrapped in foil.

Re: Re: Re: BBQ Yank & Aussie

Originally posted by mantis
Doesn't everyone cook capsicums on the barbie, along with tomatoes, corn, mushrooms & potatoes wrapped in foil.
Alright, now you are frightening me.

I have one philosophy with my barbie: "If it can't go black, send it back"

And another thing, it is quite permissible to own a Webber, but if you know how to use one effectively, you're a wierdo!

TT
When you cook fish on a barbie you cook it inside foil, with butter, herbs, lemon etc.

Is that what your husband does?

Surely he doesn't let you anywhere near his barbeque?

Re: Re: Re: BBQ Yank & Aussie

... this being the reason why he shouldn't.

HA HA TT

Fortunately I don't have a husband, so the barbie is MY DOMAIN, when friends come round I have to stand guard over my barbie, because the men try to take over the cooking. :mad:

Fish on the barbie - mmmm, wrapped in foil is fine or something like a salmon steak just chucked on. *drools*

As for the Webber, will have quite a few going this Chrissy with some ducks and goslings slowly turning black inside...

On side dishes, as well as the usual coleslaw & potato salads, one that everyone I know really likes is, tomatoes, onions, salami (mild or hot, depending on preference) with Italian dressing, yum.:D

A woman having control of a barbie, is almost as frightening as a woman driving a car. A woman cooking on a barbie is akin to a woman going into MY shed, to use MY tools, and undoubtably stuff them up, or lose them. Women of the world, take heed, stay away from MY barbie, and MY shed

TT, your 6 burner is an impressive sounding treasure, but can you also ride it to cut grass and whipper snipper edges?

Unfortunatly what one person may percieve as the perfect barbecue, another person might person it as being disgusting.

As for me, my favourite BBQd food is Spare Ribs and Chicken Shaslicks.

FOr the Ribs: put the BBQ on high...wait till it gets nice and hot...then plonk on the spare ribs. Change sides once every three minutes, and make sure each side gets no more than 3 turns getting burned. Soon the fat will drip down and flames will shoot up everywhere....this is what you want....make sure the Ribs are quite black. Black is good when it coems to Ribs (in my opinion anyway)....pretty much the blacker the better. You dont want it over the top black tho....but quite charcoaly. This ends up making them very very tasty!!

For the other meat i dunno....my mates always tell me i make a great BBQ and tend to eat the meat on offer. I like to think of it as a gift :D ;)

Being left in charge of the Hawk Headquarters BBQ, I would suggest if using a BBQ like TT's something along the lines of tomatoes in half with diced garlic and cheese on top and of course the best, little pieces of cabana.

Enjoy the BBQ, love the BBQ, but most of all get a woman to clean after the BBQ.;) :p

Sorry about any mistranslations from my English to your English. Those things happen. Thanks TT, for jump-starting it for everyone! :)

I agree, no sauce belongs on a steak proper. If it is a good steak, it will speak for itself. In KC restaurants (and at my house) beautiful cuts of meat are prepared to perfection. Then people poor crap all over them. Those people are idiots. Idiots are a resource in plenty abundance near BBQ grills everywhere.

Beef can be shredded and BBQ sauce added. This can be made into good sandwich material. Two greats are KC Masterpiece, and Gates - Hot. Both brewed here locally. If they are not ex/imported to Australia, complain bitterly to someone.

I'm of the opinion that fish should be steamed, broiled, baked or slow-cooked in some sauce. Keep it off the BBQ grill.

By "side dishes" I meant the extra crap that isn't meat. BBQ'ing beans with sauce, onions and peppers is a great side. Also, plenty of pickles and fries...errr...chips is it?

Other than that, it appears that you Bigfooty folks grill akin to the way it is done in KC. So, with respect, I believe Australian (men) are indeed proper Barbeque hands. Thanks,

Mooster

Aussies think that they are the masters of the BBQ

Americans beg to differ

well folks, your're both wrong - Argentina is the spiritual home of the traditional BBQ (by that I mean men grilling meat on an open burner in the open air)

Nobody, and I really truly mean nobody can do meat quite like an Argentinian can.

If you don't belive me - go to a Argentine Restaurant - its a meat eaters paradise.

And their home cooked BBQ stuff is even better.

trust me on this one folks - Argentine BBQ puts the efforts of Aussies and Americans to shame.

cheers

BSA,

"Trust me"

Trust you?

Haven't done it before, why the hell would I start now? ;)

Argentina could indeed be the spiritual home of "men grilling meat on an open burner", but until they stop playing soccer and start playing a man's game, are they real men?

What do the Argentinians do with a barbie that would make you say that? It must be impressive!

Originally posted by Asgardian

TT, your 6 burner is an impressive sounding treasure ...
You bet it is - just ask my mates about it. One (currently owns a four burner) is so jealous he's now searching high and low for an 8 burner!

Originally posted by Asgardian

... but can you also ride it to cut grass and whipper snipper edges?

Something to try out over the Christmas period I'd say. Vroom!

I don't quite know what they do TT but boy - it has to be the best meat I've ever tasted !

I've been out to Argentinian Restaurants in Adelaide and Sydney - the meat is melt in your mouth tender and dripping with flavour.

My wife has a wormate who is engaged to an Argentinian migrant and we went around there for a barbie recently - even better than restaurant standard. The meat was SO good it's enough to convert a vegetarian !

Impression was backed up by some stories my younger brother told me recently. He manages a Casino off the coast of Venezuela at the moment and has made real good friends with alot of Argies who work there also - naturally been to heaps of BBQ's and he says the same - nobody can do grilled meat quite like an Argie can.

cheers