Beau Dowler - Why won't you play him!?

When exactly were these?

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-hawthorn-hawks--beau-dowler?year=2009

2009 Games Log for Beau Dowler (Hawthorn Hawks)
Description Date Opponent Result - K HB D M G B T HO GA GC I50 FF FA Brownlow
Round 22 29th Aug Essendon Loss 99-116 - 8 1 9 7 3 0 5 5 0 3 1 0 0
Round 21 22nd Aug Richmond Win 135-93 - 7 7 14 4 4 1 6 0 1 5 2 0 2
Round 19 8th Aug St Kilda Loss 49-74 - 4 3 7 2 1 0 3 0 0 1 0 0 0
Round 17 25th Jul Geelong Loss 98-99 - 7 7 14 2 0 2 4 0 1 1 4 0 1
Round 16 18th Jul Collingwood Win 121-76 - 8 3 11 1 1 1 1 0 1 2 0 2 2
Round 15 12th Jul North Melbourne Win 73-64 - 10 5 15 5 0 1 2 0 0 0 3 0 1
Round 14 4th Jul Western Bulldogs Loss 45-133 - 12 6 18 10 0 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 2
Round 9 24th May Melbourne Win 114-92 - 7 5 12 5 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0
Round 8 15th May Fremantle Win 87-65 - 6 12 18 5 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0
Round 7 8th May Essendon Loss 72-116 - 10 8 18 9 0 0 1 0 1 1 2 0 0
Round 6 2nd May Carlton Win 106-102 - 13 11 24 8 0 0 2 0 1 1 2 0 2
Round 5 25th Apr West Coast Win 74-56 - 4 7 11 3 0 0 3 0 1 1 0 0 0
Round 4 18th Apr Port Adelaide Loss 85-115 - 11 7 18 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 1

2007 Games Log for Beau Dowler (Hawthorn Hawks)
Round 17 29th Jul North Melbourne Loss 71-108 - 5 3 8 5 2 1 2 0 0 2 0 0 3

My two cents worth.

Firstly - Beau has got it. He can play dominant football in the afl if he wants.

Secondly- At the moment he is coasting along and hoping it all falls for him. He isn't getting a gig because footy doesn't work like that. You have to take it and run.

Thirdly - If he doesn't wake up and pull his finger out footy will pass him by. His boyhood dream gone and he didn't even give it a fair dinkum crack.

TIME TO GO IS NOW!

My two cents worth.

Firstly - Beau has got it. He can play dominant football in the afl if he wants.

Secondly- At the moment he is coasting along and hoping it all falls for him. He isn't getting a gig because footy doesn't work like that. You have to take it and run.

Thirdly - If he doesn't wake up and pull his finger out footy will pass him by. His boyhood dream gone and he didn't even give it a fair dinkum crack.

TIME TO GO IS NOW!

Good post :thumbsu:. Everything holding back Beau appears to be psychological. He won't be the only footballer to be felled by this and it's up to him to make the change.

Been in the system for 5 years, played 13 games last year, from all the early reports he had a good pre-season.

It is up to him, the coaching panel want him to play a certain way and he hasn't delivered.
For his benefit and Hawthorn's i wish he puts in a couple of blinders at Box Hill, he needs to play some senior football this year or he will be out come end of year. Sad really.

strange looking lad, but Im pretty sure the HFC have high regards for this guy. Hhe could be anything, I think as he builds his confidence at BH (if he does) next year could be big for him. He must play as a third tall in the forward line I reckon, would take away the pressure Buddy and Rough get week in week out, and now with Hoops back in, this could really work

My two cents worth.

TIME TO GO IS NOW!

top post, from a top poster !!!

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-hawthorn-hawks--beau-dowler?year=2009

2009 Games Log for Beau Dowler (Hawthorn Hawks)
Round 22 29th Aug Essendon Loss 99-116 - 8 1 9 7 3 0 5 5 0 3 1 0 0
Round 21 22nd Aug Richmond Win 135-93 - 7 7 14 4 4 1 6 0 1 5 2 0 2
Round 19 8th Aug St Kilda Loss 49-74 - 4 3 7 2 1 0 3 0 0 1 0 0 0
Round 17 25th Jul Geelong Loss 98-99 - 7 7 14 2 0 2 4 0 1 1 4 0 1
Round 16 18th Jul Collingwood Win 121-76 - 8 3 11 1 1 1 1 0 1 2 0 2 2
Round 15 12th Jul North Melbourne Win 73-64 - 10 5 15 5 0 1 2 0 0 0 3 0 1
Round 14 4th Jul Western Bulldogs Loss 45-133 - 12 6 18 10 0 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 2
Round 9 24th May Melbourne Win 114-92 - 7 5 12 5 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0
Round 8 15th May Fremantle Win 87-65 - 6 12 18 5 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0
Round 7 8th May Essendon Loss 72-116 - 10 8 18 9 0 0 1 0 1 1 2 0 0
Round 6 2nd May Carlton Win 106-102 - 13 11 24 8 0 0 2 0 1 1 2 0 2
Round 5 25th Apr West Coast Win 74-56 - 4 7 11 3 0 0 3 0 1 1 0 0 0
Round 4 18th Apr Port Adelaide Loss 85-115 - 11 7 18 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 1

2007 Games Log for Beau Dowler (Hawthorn Hawks)
Round 17 29th Jul North Melbourne Loss 71-108 - 5 3 8 5 2 1 2 0 0 2 0 0 3

Most of these were on the wing.

strange looking lad, but Im pretty sure the HFC have high regards for this guy. Hhe could be anything, I think as he builds his confidence at BH (if he does) next year could be big for him. He must play as a third tall in the forward line I reckon, would take away the pressure Buddy and Rough get week in week out, and now with Hoops back in, this could really work
i totally agree with this comment, you just may see more time being put into Dowler than previous, he is a super talent and still young, for reasons only few would know he has droped his confidence and I reckon he will be in our senior 22 for the second half of the season.

I watched Box Hill today, like i've watched them many times before.
Beau might have some talent, but he IS NOT a super talent.
Very very average today. Again.

Anyone seeking an answer to the question to this thread, need look no further than the most recent evidence. Todays game.

I watched Box Hill today, like i've watched them many times before.
Beau might have some talent, but he IS NOT a super talent.
Very very average today. Again.

Anyone seeking an answer to the question to this thread, need look no further than the most recent evidence. Todays game.

The description I've been given was "diabolical".

Very sad to hear Dowler isn't playing well at BH.

Needs a big second half of the year to remain on the list.

Considering our lack of height, it is disappointing that Beau isn't up to it, being such a good size. All I've heard over the last few pre-season reports is that he is training the house down and he is one of our fittest players.

Maybe the best thing for the club and Beau is to part ways at the end of the year. We might get something out of it (through a trade), and he can have fresh start at another club.

Dowler & Thorp have turned out to be terrible top 10 picks. Every club makes a few drafting errors I suppose. We all had big expectations for these boys. Perhaps the fact that Buddy & Roughead kept them from playing regular senior footy at 18,19 & 20 stuffed their development. Most of the current star key position forwards and defenders played regular senior football in their first few years.

Fingers crossed that Schoenmakers, Stratton & Lisle make up for past key position drafting blunders.

I watched Box Hill for most of the second half (arrived at half-time, left at about 15 minutes into the fourth quarter).

Now, the conditions were not an assistance, but they didn't stop Matt Little (ex-Hawk mind you) from having a crack for the Seagulls as a leading full forward.

Dowler had an absolute shocker today, from what I saw. Could not get near it and would not demand that the ball be given to him. He played as full forward but I reckon he would have had one effective touch in the time I watched him. Couldn't or wouldn't time his leads and when he did try to lead, it was half-hearted. Watching players like our own Buddy Franklin or Nick Riewoldt, they demand the ball and they run their opponents around (when they are on-song) with double or triple leads trying to earn a precious half-metre drop on their opponent. From what I saw, Dowler did none of that today.

Interestingly, both Clarkson and Barker attended the game today. Barker left about 5 minutes before I did.

Maybe the best thing for the club and Beau is to part ways at the end of the year. We might get something out of it (through a trade), and he can have fresh start at another club.

Dowler & Thorp have turned out to be terrible top 10 picks. Every club makes a few drafting errors I suppose. We all had big expectations for these boys. Perhaps the fact that Buddy & Roughead kept them from playing regular senior footy at 18,19 & 20 stuffed their development. Most of the current star key position forwards and defenders played regular senior football in their first few years.

Fingers crossed that Schoenmakers, Stratton & Lisle make up for past key position drafting blunders.

mate, 5 clubs were after him at the end of 09. we did not want to trade. doubt there will be that sort of currency come close of 2010.

We just need to provide strability, play him forward for the remainder of the season.

mate, 5 clubs were after him at the end of 09. we did not want to trade. doubt there will be that sort of currency come close of 2010.

We just need to provide strability, play him forward for the remainder of the season.

Well, last year he was part of our 22 regularly. We shouldn't have traded him then and who knows what we were even offered?

I hope he remains forward for a few weeks at Box Hill and gains confidence. I want him to stay and turn out to be a star but it looks doubtful.

I think the way the game's evolving, the third tall forward isn't what clubs are doing. In todays game, a good forward line is two talls, four smalls.

In 09 at stages it looked like we were trying to mould him into a Goddard-type. It didn't work. He's a good third option up forward but with how the game is now, guys like Morton, Peterson, Stokes and Moss are ahead of him.

Maybe the best thing for the club and Beau is to part ways at the end of the year. We might get something out of it (through a trade), and he can have fresh start at another club......

He is out of contract. Cant see him having any market value.

I would like to see him put on a radical training regime - whatever that may be.

Croadie should be tasked with mentoring Growler.

Perhaps the fact that Buddy & Roughead kept them from playing regular senior footy at 18,19 & 20 stuffed their development. Most of the current star key position forwards and defenders played regular senior football in their first few years.

I dont think u can blame Buddy and Head that Thorp and Dowler cant play. Star players play seniors because they are good enough to get picked. Star afl players can also get a kick in the vfl....

why wont we play him?
6 matches, 5 goals, named in the best once,
if you want to play seniors, you have to play well and take someones place,
something that appears to be lost on beau,
the sooner we get rid of him like thorp the better,
to quote from the movie van wilder:
"sometimes u have to recognise a bad investment and cut your losses"

I dont think u can blame Buddy and Head that Thorp and Dowler cant play. Star players play seniors because they are good enough to get picked. Star afl players can also get a kick in the vfl....

And star players get games in the Seniors based on what they supposedly can do as opposed to what they actually do.

Let's face it, if Dowler had been given 10 games and player the way that Roughy has, he would have been dropped after 4.

There are also players that so sfa at Box Hill and get passes to the Seniors.

Clarkson and co. have different rules for different players. If we lose Dowler, I say good luck to the kid, I hope he goes to a club that gives him a real chance and I know there are a few out there.

Geez I,m worried this is going to come back to bite us on the bum.

If he doesnt get games and at least given a chance i can see him going to a club that hasnt got an angry little man coaching and them getting the best out of him.

Dawson, Kennedy and now Dowler. They all seemed like gentle type fellas who "maybe" dont fit in with Clarko's take no prisoners, no weaknesses gung ho game plan.

But you need all types to make up a team.

Me personally would have him in every week. You need a tall "Peter Curran" type third tall, swing man.

He leads, takes marks and most importantly HE KICKS STRAIGHT !

a few people are being a bit harsh on Beaus game at willy.... heres what i posted on the BH forum...

Dont know if anyone saw Dowler go into the point post in the first.... cannoned into it, made a very very nasty sound.... word is that he was very very sore.... (ie hip) was looking good till then crashed a couple of packs and kicked a goal, then slowed right down. happened right in front of me.... i cant be critcal, i thought he was snapped in 2! gutsy to play it out.

why wont we play him?
6 matches, 5 goals, named in the best once,
if you want to play seniors, you have to play well and take someones place,
something that appears to be lost on beau,
the sooner we get rid of him like thorp the better,
to quote from the movie van wilder:
"sometimes u have to recognise a bad investment and cut your losses"
Correct, he has been given time at box hill to show something, he obviously doesnt want it bad enough, time to cut our losses on list cloggers.

Beau Dowler - Why won't you play him!?