TOOs_Finest

Richmond Tigers - 2013 Player Sponsor Minecraft
Dallas Desire
This kid has played all four games thus far this season, and has pretty much out-performed my early expectations. I admit that after seeing him in the Hawks game, despite his efforts in that game, I had earmarked him as a player who would probably not make the grade. Mainly due to his (lack of) size, but also because he didn't really seem to offer anything extraordinary. But the coaching staff have shown plenty of faith in him as they have kept playing him, and the way he came back from that knock on the knee suggests he must have plenty of determination.

So my query is, what role will he play moving forward, and who could he possibly emulate from another (recently successful) team?

The first player that comes to my mind is Chance Bateman. Discounting the early hairdo similarities, they also have a similar build. Nason would have to really build up a massive tank to be able to match Bateman's role, but that can possibly be done over a few pre-seasons. I think Nason's kicking would match Chance even now, but especially once he fully acclimatises to AFL level, learning to kick under pressure with a stronger body, etc.

he has a terrific approach to the game in his workrate, on and off the ball, likes to run and use his skills. I reckon he has makings for an inside mid, but no chance of that without putting 6-8k on the frame...and that is 12-18mths in the pipeline. Needs to play out the season and build momentum , would love to see him having 15-20 possies by year end, that would be outstanding progress given where he came from

fair call.

like chance would be best suited to a wing role, really doesnt have the size to play in defence and the indigenous boys are proberbly better suited around goal.

The problem is we have alot of players at the moment who are too small/not accountable enough

I like him as a high half forward, he's got good skills, and a huge workrate. He gets into space easily already in his career, and as he grows more comfortable and continues developing he should be a valuable player.

a neat and tidy nothing special player. in fact in many leagues theres nasons roaming around.
for pick 71 i suppose hes good value to date though i dont think he is involved enough thru games.
we will see in 2 yrs time what he is producing and how much he actually improves. anyway taking him as a 20 yr old you would expect him to be at level above the 18 yr olds.

a neat and tidy nothing special player. in fact in many leagues theres nasons roaming around.
for pick 71 i suppose hes good value to date though i dont think he is involved enough thru games.

Exactly, so makes you wonder why the recruiters picked him, and why the coaching staff see fit to give him games.

Maybe it has been identified that he does have a big tank, thus my Chance Bateman analogy, but needs a season or two to build up the body a bit. Could eventually be given the odd run with role, where he also hurts the opposition the other way?

I think long term he will be another running player. Rotating from the wing/stints on the ball, possibly at half forward or half back.

I see him long term as a depth player, the 6th midfielder if you will. That's not a knock on him. These days you need depth through the middle. It's not enough to just have an A grade ruckmen and then three more elite midfielders. You need good quality running players on the wings and flanks.

If the benchmark is Geelong and rotating through their midfield is any number of Ablett, Bartel, Selwood, Ling, Corey, Enright, Chapman, Byrnes, Johnson, Stokes, Varcoe etc then Nason would be one of our lesser players but still important to the side.

From pick 71, he's been great value, and given there wouldn't be too many success stories out of pick 71 the fact that he's already playing is a good result from the pick.

Umpired him at SANFL reserve level where he seemed to spend alot of time on the forward flank. Probably suited to that position most, and the wing. Don't think he would be that great as an inside mid, his run seemed to be his main weapon.

The first player that comes to my mind is Chance Bateman.

Yeah, funny that DD, first player who came to my mind too, and I thought 'is it just the hair?'...then decided it was far more the way he moved.

I think his long term role is that of a hard working flanker perhaps with occasional midfield stints.

Much like Bateman, his career will hinge on being super fit, running lines and making 2nd and 3rd efforts, because he's never going to have A-grade disposal.

Good luck in our SC game this weekend BTW, you should win because I'm actually almost weaker than round one on the way to some big upgrades over the next two weeks. I'll be back for another crack come finals time. :thumbsu:

Hehe thanks Ray. Not expecting huge scores this week myself, esp if Browny doesn't play. Looking for at least one upgrade next week though. Good luck :thumbsu:

Btw, just realised we are playing each other after reading your post. lol
Last week, in my main league, I was second highest in the league by 2 pts, but I played the team who scored top!! Typical

My first post.

Love him. Got him in my supercoach team and at his price he's a great earner that will play most games.

For the team he seems to have a great workrate, poise and composure. I follow the tigers from afar so don't get to go to any games but he seems like a genuine footballer rather than a super athlete....that will come.

Good luck to the kid, l hope he makes the most of the opportunity he's been given - it would be a good story for the club.

But l cant tell you how over l am of skinny little runts being drafted and hoping they put on weight. Nahas, Edwards, Collins (to some degree), Nason...

:rolleyes:

Btw, just realised we are playing each other after reading your post. lol
Last week, in my main league, I was second highest in the league by 2 pts, but I played the team who scored top!! Typical

Hehe, always the way. I think I finished 4th or 5th on points in our BF league last year, and 11th or 12th in actual ladder positions...couldn't take a trick.

Those couple of pensioner Crows are dragging you down mate...evened it up a bit, but not enough I suspect. ;)

But l cant tell you how over l am of skinny little runts being drafted and hoping they put on weight. Nahas, Edwards, Collins (to some degree), Nason...

:rolleyes:

More depressing for me is the fact that none of them are great runners either Wally, though Nason might get there down the track.

Going on his draft rap you'd expect Edwards would be covering 20km+ on a wing and getting 30+ possessions a game by now, but he still can't even really run out a full game in a forward or back pocket.

Collins is into his 4th season and going similarly, Nahas doesn't appear to have added much stamina either.

I don't mind us having the odd skinny bloke if they're tough and wiry and run well, but ours are falling short on that score.

--------------------------------------------

As a sidenote, does anyone else whose had the misfortune to visit there suspect that Nason could quite comfortably win Miss Elizabeth if he wore a padded bra? ;)

Love the way this guy goes about it. SANFL footy really tends to harden up youngsters quickly, he's an old style footballer but he's super elusive and has a good kick. Another one that could become a really good player for a long time.

FWIW, he polled in my BigFooty Medal votes in that gutting loss to the Hawks and the win against Port last week.

Easily my favourite Richmond Player.

Ben Nason Facebook Fan Page

I'm actually suprised we haven't created more hysteria around Nason to be honest. I think he's started really, really well. I love the way he goes about it and hasn't had too many bad games so far.

Some people question his kicking but I never really see a problem with it. He's good around goals (check the goal kicking list for a first year player in a side which has won one game).

He's one of my favourites.

Did anyone hear the Daniel Jackson interview on MMM before last nights game?

Jacko was talking about Nason and how he is averaging around 16km a game on the GPS, and peaked at 20km the other week.

The kid has a big tank, give him time to develop his body and improve his skills and he'll be a gem. He had a quiet one last night but I think he'll turn out to be a real surprise packet given where we drafted him.

I hope he can develop his body. Worked his way into the game well last night. not a easy task up against the Saints either.