Bendigo FL Thread 2010

Not sure if you're saying he will get his some other time, or whether you mean the kid got what was coming to him. Happy for you to clarify, if you are prepared to of course ...

fridays here now boys
lets look at round 16 and 4get about pulling those little pinz

1/ square 2 beat eagleburra by a bit, say 9 gls {weeka 7 goals, off his own boot}; 2/ flat to topple maine by 6 snags with tigga downie to land 4 or 5; 3/ gizzie to fall against the princes park pies, maryborough by 3 goals; 4/ my boys kyneton 2 get over the line from storm by 14 points (jimmy's back this week); 5/ and south too good 4 the hurst by at least 6-7 goals.

fridays here now boys
lets look at round 16 and 4get about pulling those little pinz

1/ square 2 beat eagleburra by a bit, say 9 gls {weeka 7 goals, off his own boot}; 2/ flat to topple maine by 6 snags with tigga downie to land 4 or 5; 3/ gizzie to fall against the princes park pies, maryborough by 3 goals; 4/ my boys kyneton 2 get over the line from storm by 14 points (jimmy's back this week); 5/ and south too good 4 the hurst by at least 6-7 goals.

Would have to agree with all of those barfold.

bearsboy perhaps you could help me with this, do gisborne have a plan for the future to recruit some more bigger bodied key position players to help start rebuilding the side ?
because from what i saw on saturday if they continue along the path of where they are at at the moment they are going to struggle big time to even notch up a few wins per season.
i understand that they are blooding some youngsters and it wil take some time but the lack of those key position players seems to be hurting them badly.

bearsboy perhaps you could help me with this, do gisborne have a plan for the future to recruit some more bigger bodied key position players to help start rebuilding the side ?
because from what i saw on saturday if they continue along the path of where they are at at the moment they are going to struggle big time to even notch up a few wins per season.
i understand that they are blooding some youngsters and it wil take some time but the lack of those key position players seems to be hurting them badly.
Yep, spot on.

I would think a quality ruckman has to be on top of the shopping list for next year, followed by a kp back and a kp forward.

Yep, spot on.

I would think a quality ruckman has to be on top of the shopping list for next year, followed by a kp back and a kp forward.

ruckman is a must, some of the guys the had jumping in the centre square on saturday were no where near capable of playing in the ruck they didnt have the hieght or the leap to even be competitive , two kp forwards and two kp backs along with the ruckman would be a good start

Rick Coburn has been reappointed for 2011 after many predicted he would be moved on if they did not win the premiership this year. Anyone got any ideas on the other nine coaching positions? Ins / outs?

Yep, spot on.

Melton sth are looking to leave the BALfl and head to the RDFL,does that leave the door open for Gisborne to have another crack at BALfl again!!!!!!!!!

Hello Bendigo F L followers: Grant Weeks your star ff is on the move to the GVFL stay tuned...Deakin Reserve is awaiting???

Not my mail Dictator;
1. He is contracted to square
2. He is concentrating on finals
3. could get drafted?
4. If he goes to the GV he would need to replace Eagle who is rumored to be going-but would cost more
5. if its Shepp they wouldn't have the coin and have not won a game

Yes he might be contracted to the SQUARE but Kevin Rudd didn't see out his contract and he was the bloody PM :)
True, drafted... he is a chance!! SHEPP ARE ON THE LOOK OUR FOR A GUN RECRUIT...A car load from Bendigo is my mail heading to Deakin!!

Had a good look at Grant a few weeks ago.

My thoughts are probably likely to be shared by most.

He is going to be a gun in pretty much all country leagues in Victoria. However, he is too small to make it as a key forward in the AFL, plus doesn't have electrifying pace off the mark to trouble the medium-sized defenders. Against Kyneton, his kicking for goal also left a lot to be desired. He kicked eleven, but could have easily kicked eighteen if he was more deadly in front of the big sticks. Maybe he had an off day, but I'm guessing he had a minimum of eighteen shots at goal...

A lot would also depend on his work ethic. Plenty of AFL players begin as fairly average players, but through hard work and dedication they make it to an elite level (look at Boyd, Cross, Morris and Picken for example). He'd have to have their type of dedication to be any chance of making it as a medium-sized forward.

The Bulldogs could certainly use someone in that category (seeing as Josh Hill fails to cut the mustard). He'd be competing against other medium forwards like Steve Johnson, Ryan O'Keefe and Ricky Petterd. Can he really compete with those guys? I doubt it.

He is going to be a gun in pretty much all country leagues in Victoria. However, he is too small to make it as a key forward in the AFL, plus doesn't have electrifying pace off the mark to trouble the medium-sized defenders. Against Kyneton, his kicking for goal also left a lot to be desired. He kicked eleven, but could have easily kicked eighteen if he was more deadly in front of the big sticks. Maybe he had an off day, but I'm guessing he had a minimum of eighteen shots at goal...

A lot would also depend on his work ethic. Plenty of AFL players begin as fairly average players, but through hard work and dedication they make it to an elite level (look at Boyd, Cross, Morris and Picken for example). He'd have to have their type of dedication to be any chance of making it as a medium-sized forward.

The Bulldogs could certainly use someone in that category (seeing as Josh Hill fails to cut the mustard). He'd be competing against other medium forwards like Steve Johnson, Ryan O'Keefe and Ricky Petterd. Can he really compete with those guys? I doubt it.

Kyle Hardigham from the Bombers would be a closer comparasion - not overly quick but good leap and hands. Johnson and O'Keefe are both freaks and both elite AFL players.

Im sure if he did an AFL pre-season he'd get alot fitter and faster.
There's alot of AFL forwards running around that never kicked a hundred in a season before getting drafted and have turned out to be decent players so Weeks would have to be considered atleast.

Yes lots of experts thought Greg Williams was too slow to make it as well

Im sure if he did an AFL pre-season he'd get alot fitter and faster.
There's alot of AFL forwards running around that never kicked a hundred in a season before getting drafted and have turned out to be decent players so Weeks would have to be considered atleast.

I would be very surprised if he left Square after 1 year. Rochy almost got him so would be even more surprised if he went to a Shep team.

In regards to the bottom 6 AFL teams and forwards have a look and I reckon you could fit Weeks in to have a crack and 1 would surely go out. We are not talking about gun players very much borderline week to week propositions. Crameri from the Bombers wouldnt have been thought close enough to get a game only last year.Things change quickly.

I reckon he would be suited to HFF to work up the ground into space.

Yes he might be contracted to the SQUARE but Kevin Rudd didn't see out his contract and he was the bloody PM :)
True, drafted... he is a chance!! SHEPP ARE ON THE LOOK OUR FOR A GUN RECRUIT...A car load from Bendigo is my mail heading to Deakin!!

last car load didn't work!!! he would command at least 1500-2000k per week

Hello Bendigo F L followers: Grant Weeks your star ff is on the move to the GVFL stay tuned...Deakin Reserve is awaiting???
Hmmm ... maybe Adamson has something to offer over that way?!?

Have to agree with the last few contributors that Weeks would surely be a worthwhile AFL prospect. You could have found faults with Podsiadly's game before he hit the big stage, as well as all the others who have made at least some impact in the AFL. There are only so many decent players going around to stretch across all the clubs. All the outside running types are a dime a dozen. They can work with someone like Weeks.

ruckman is a must, some of the guys the had jumping in the centre square on saturday were no where near capable of playing in the ruck they didnt have the hieght or the leap to even be competitive , two kp forwards and two kp backs along with the ruckman would be a good start

Some very good footballers running around in Gissy reserves last week. Not necessarily big guys, but surely better than some of those on the park in the senior side.

Rick Coburn has been reappointed for 2011 after many predicted he would be moved on if they did not win the premiership this year. Anyone got any ideas on the other nine coaching positions? Ins / outs?

Nihill going. Filo, Fisher & Houston rumoured also to be finishing up. Elliott quite possibly too. That's at least half of them moving on.

Nihill going. Filo, Fisher & Houston rumoured also to be finishing up. Elliott quite possibly too. That's at least half of them moving on.[/quote]

hello fellow readers, always thought i wouldnt join this site but why not.

i have followed bendigo footy for around 7 years now.

coaching positions season 2010 and my thoughts:

castlemaine: paul eyles, is rumoured to be given the job again which is interesting seeing they have had one of there worst seasons by far. not sure would be the right move from a outsider point of view as i feel they need a bigger profile coach to draw some players...( filo maybe)

eyles will coach

kyneton: houstan, needs to go as over his journey he at times has made a fool of himself and his players with his constant abuse. he has got there club on track profeesional wise off field i feel as at one of our games this year at strath they where all in uniforms and looking smart. problem is they are another one of the country clubs in trouble.

houstan will go, his choice

gisborne: elliot, seemed to behind the eight ball from day one as a few wanted to go to ballarat league and it seemed to de rail the club. they still have soime very good players but not sure they follow his direction well enough. a club like gisborne will bounce back quicker than the other country clubs.

elliot will go, mutual decision

stath: clint, has done a great job getting our club up and running and i feel he will continue to coach, or be given the chance to. the list depth wise is not there but with another pre season under the clubs belt they should improve

whitsed will coach again

kangaroo flat: murray collins has had a middle of road year, flat should be in the 5 with the key forwards and there onball brigade but they seem to have not clicked this year. maybe they have but it might be too late. surely they need to keep there keys and get the 3 to 4 gun recruits to push into top 3/4 next year. they have the funds to compete with top sides

collins will go, clubs choice

maryborough: shane fisher in win terms has had a better year at this stage, he has said on radio about the committment level etc at maryborough and we all know they are not financial to compete with top sides.he seems very passionate about footy. they might slide into finals but wont be for long. .1 week at best. ok list but only 3/ 4 keys.

fisher will go, his choice

sandhurst: nhilly i have to say has developed a great list and should take his side up in finals if they get it together, the bombers players playing vfl will hurt them greatly though at present, but we all want them to play at highest level, aka watching crameri last night. if they keep the spine of there side they should push for top 3 in 2011

k nhill to go, his choice

eaglehawk: filo has had a mixed year, the playing group has not jelled and maybe cause to many assistants and big paid players that dont mingle with everyone. they have no chance of hurting the top two, ( which is a question of why) with there list. maybe a clean out will happen at the hawks

d filo to go, mutual decision- filo to coach another bendigo side!!!!

south bendigo: r coburn has done a great job this year, they are not scared of square anymore, there list is as good as square. the back half will be the key to there finals hopes. coburn just needs the club to get a supporter base now for them to be force for years

coburn to coach again

golden sqaure: n carter has been given a team, lets be honest and a bloody good one at that. feel he is a bit too casual with his coaching but certainly can handle it well, who wouldnt. they are the team to beat and will plap south in sep

n carter to go, mutaul decision

only my thoughts so dont anyone get upset

Its 7-40 PM on Saturday night and the Ovens & Murray results have been on the Border Mail's website for over an hour. The Bendigo League 's results have yet to be put on the League's VERY OWN website - with a further two days before they will see the light of day in the Advertiser!!!

Supporters of Bendigo Football - aren't you just sick of being second class citizens?

14 Aug, 2010 06:15 PM
Wangaratta Rovers 13.11.89 def Lavington 4.12.36
North Albury 24.17.161 def Myrtleford 7.5.47
Yarrawonga 14.9.93 def Wodonga 11.13.79
Wangaratta 21.11.137 def Corowa-Rutherglen 6.11.47

Its 7-40 PM on Saturday night and the Ovens & Murray results have been on the Border Mail's website for over an hour. The Bendigo League 's results have yet to be put on the League's VERY OWN website - with a further two days before they will see the light of day in the Advertiser!!!

Supporters of Bendigo Football - aren't you just sick of being second class citizens?

14 Aug, 2010 06:15 PM
Wangaratta Rovers 13.11.89 def Lavington 4.12.36
North Albury 24.17.161 def Myrtleford 7.5.47
Yarrawonga 14.9.93 def Wodonga 11.13.79
Wangaratta 21.11.137 def Corowa-Rutherglen 6.11.47

Sorry to spoil your day Albury but I received the BFL result via SMS at 6.28pm tonight, with the updated Rd 17 ladder at 8.09pm.

Do you guys get mobile reception in Albury ??? :D

Maybe its time that the O&M moved out of the noughties and into the teens !!

kyneton: houstan, needs to go as over his journey he at times has made a fool of himself and his players with his constant abuse. he has got there club on track profeesional wise off field i feel as at one of our games this year at strath they where all in uniforms and looking smart. problem is they are another one of the country clubs in trouble.

houstan will go, his choice

Can Barfold Bob or Davis 24 or any other Kyneton insiders tell us if it is true that Condos took the reins in the coaching box on saturday and that Paul Housten pulled the boots on for the Tigers?