Best team for 2011

That's thing about Cooky - he kicks a freak goal. Snaps them around the body, dribbles them along the ground, the typical small forward thing. Set shots? Reasonable without being outstanding, but if we're looking for a crumber then we're wanting someone who does the opportunistic things and he fits that bill. Hope he sees time there in the pre season.

FB: Stiffy Rutten Stevens
HB: Otten Davis Van Berlo
C: Mackay Thompson Vince
HF: Knights Walker (Recruited cumber)
FF: Dangerfield Tippet Porplyzia
1R: Maric Douglas Reilly
Int: Sellar Sloane Doughty

Em- Henderson Talia Jaensch

Draft:
1st round pick(10 from Ess): Josh Caddy
1st round pick(12): Luke Parker or Kieran Harper
2nd round pick: Outside Mid
2nd round pick(North): Best Available

new numbers:
9.Edwards>>Sloane
10.Jacky>>Parker
23.Mcleod>>Caddy
24.Burton>>Jaensch
36.Goodwin>>Henderson

Luke Parker? Really?

I'll say:
14: Lamb/Polec
33: Green/Smith/Jacobs
50: Prestia/Otten

Number 9: Gotta be Brodie Martin's.

Petrenko/Armstrong Rutten Stevens
Johncock Davis Otten
MacKay Thommo Hendo
Martin Walker Dougie
Porps Tippett Danger

Ruck Maric Sloane Vince
Int Sellar Jaensch Reilly Dogga

I like the idea of both wings having our best ball carriers MacKay/Hendo.
Stiffy across HB as he is our most attacking defender.
Danger Porps Dougie Martin all part of the midfield rotation.

Not convinced Knighta is staying.

B: Johncock Rutten Stevens
HB: Doughty Davis Van Berlo
C: Mackay Thompson Symes
HF: Sloane Walker Douglas
F:Porplyzia Tippett Henderson
Foll: Maric Vince Dangerfield
Int:Moran Martin Otten Jaensch
Emer: L.Thompson Reilly Wright

I left out Knights due to fact he'll be gone but If we got R.Griffen he'd be a starter.
B.Reilly will have to step out of side to allow new guys coming through. S.Stevens may do same thing depending what role N.Craig has for Otten

B:Johncock, Rutten, Young
HB: Otten, Davis, Petrenko
C: Mackay, Douglas, Martin
HF: Knights, Walker, Henderson
FF: Thomas,Tippett, Porplyzia
1R: Maric, Danger, Vince
INT: Jaensch, VB, Reilly, Moran

Thomas as in Lindsay from North.

Lots of run coming from Otten, Petrenko, and Johncock.

VB and Reilly to be defensive players as there offensive game has gone to ****.

Jaensch to play up on the wing and sneak forward.

Hopefully Morans not buggered, if not Mckernan comes in.

B: Johncock Rutten Stevens
HB: Doughty Davis Van Berlo
C: Mackay Thompson Symes
HF: Sloane Walker Douglas
F:Porplyzia Tippett Henderson
Foll: Maric Vince Dangerfield
Int:Moran Martin Otten Jaensch
Emer: L.Thompson Reilly Wright

I left out Knights due to fact he'll be gone but If we got R.Griffen he'd be a starter.
B.Reilly will have to step out of side to allow new guys coming through. S.Stevens may do same thing depending what role N.Craig has for Otten
Reilly stepping out of side for newer guys is never going to happen. Otten will play midfield, so Stevens will keep his spot down back. i'd have a team similar to the one you fielded, except i'd take out Moran and put in Reilly.
you mean, this is your 2012 team when Doughty (and possibly Stevens) will retire? because why would the Crows re-sign Stevens and Doughty if they're just going to make way for youngsters. Symes should also be in the starting 22.

Luke Parker? Really?

I'll say:

Polec will certainly be gone by pick 14 unfortunately. Smith will most likely be gone by pick 14 as well (although he's the guy I want).

I'd expect Prestia to be in the group around pick 33.

Having said that I like most of those guys you've mentioned.

Thomas as in Lindsay from North.

Lots of run coming from Otten, Petrenko, and Johncock.

VB and Reilly to be defensive players as there offensive game has gone to ****.

Jaensch to play up on the wing and sneak forward.

Hopefully Morans not buggered, if not Mckernan comes in.
No Stevens, Doughty or Symes.

So, who do you think will be our new coach?

Reilly stepping out of side for newer guys is never going to happen. Otten will play midfield, so Stevens will keep his spot down back. i'd have a team similar to the one you fielded, except i'd take out Moran and put in Reilly. you mean, this is your 2012 team when Doughty (and possibly Stevens) will retire? because why would the Crows re-sign Stevens and Doughty if they're just going to make way for youngsters. Symes should also be in the starting 22.

I wouldn't keep Doughty , hes only going to get slower, hes over 30 and hes not an A-grader. Same for Stevens. I'm sure we will keep them though unfortunately.

I don't rate Symes we can play anyone in Syme's role, he runs with no opponent, and he doesn't get his own ball either. Otten can take over, whilst being much more damaging.

I wouldn't keep Doughty , hes only going to get slower, hes over 30 and hes not an A-grader. Same for Stevens. I'm sure we will keep them though unfortunately.

I don't rate Symes we can play anyone in Syme's role, he runs with no opponent, and he doesn't get his own ball either. Otten can take over, whilst being much more damaging.

So you see a lot of Crows games then?

Only 15 live and 7 on tv a year, + finals live. Its my opinion of him, he isn't the one in the centre square or ball ups winning the ball, hes hanging out wide ready to recieve the sideways kick which is the style of play we need to avoid. His role as i see it is to find space and be there if his teammates need him. Thats why he gets so much ball. He sits behind the ball ready for the pass back, or if we stuff it up through the middle, hes rarely the one running it through there. Yes hes good to have incase of injuries, but hes not a factor in us winning or not.

Us continuing to play Stevens, and Doughty is a refusal to move on, there not that crucial. its not like their exceptional players. We could be giving Petrenko and Young a shot next year playing regularly, rather than Stevens and Doughty who will get carried through any injury and form slump (see Stevens first half of the season).

But yeah lets play it 'safe', thats the same attitude which led the the terrible decision of keeping all the veterans + Hentchel and Burton.

As Carl said like a band-aid rip it all off at once.:thumbsu:

Don't know if its quite as bad as your making it out to be mate. Just had a quick look over at pro-stats and Symes stacks up quite well against other similar players in our side when it comes to contested possessions, clearances, center bounce clearances and the like. In fact he beats VB in almost all of those types of stats. I think the comment about winning his own ball is a tad harsh. The crows would know that his kicking isn't the strongest part of his game so they wouldn't intend for him to end up on the string of handballs, they would be looking for players like Mackay etc.

http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/player_rankings?team_id=101&yr=2010&sp=SE&rt=LA&fc=E3

Stevens and Dogga will be crucial in our side next year, anyone that wants to move Stevens on after the last 2 months of footy have rocks in their head. He would be one of our most consistent and reliable players at the moment and with the amount of experience we are about to lose over the break he is going to be even more vital. If he wasn't floating off and helping Davis to cover Volt on the weekend I have no doubt that he would have kicked 7 or 8 extra points on him. Stevo is crucial. People really under estimate Doggas defensive actions as well. He hardly ever gets beaten in a one on one contest and at the moment there is no way we would think of dropping him for someone like Petrenko or Armstrong to come into the side.

My stab...

B: Stevens, Rutten, Pets/Young
HB: Otten, Davis, Danger
C: Mackay, Vince, Sloane
FF: Douglas,Tippett, Porplyzia
1R: Maric, Thompson, Johncock
INT: Jaensch, VB, Reilly, McKernan/Moran/Sellar/Craig

If no Knights...Symes comes in Jaensch goes to HF

Dogga can hold his spot in backline only if Pets and Young can't show improvements, but giving Danger a running HB role and letting him run the lines might allow him to get some of his own ball and allow him to kamakazi some opp forwards.

Martin has a big preseason and he gets a game for VB or Jaensch or Vince if he can't pull his digit out and start doing the hard yards.

Pets needs to get himself right and play in the backline where he belongs or Young when he gets his shoulder right.

My biggest move is Stiffy onto the ball. Does he have enough of an engine-I think he does, he can break lines and go one on one with other midfield hard nuts. He should be part of the rotation, relies on Pets/Young taking on his small defender role.

If we can have a good preseason that is a fair team.

If we can trade for a quality mid or mids, even better as the young brigade need to see that spots aren't going to be gifted and to work their butts off.

Porps, Tippett (kicking at goal), D-Mac, Hendo, Vince all need massive PS to cement their spots round 1. Can't be taking players in on name like season just gone. Extra month is going to do us the world of good.

Polec will certainly be gone by pick 14 unfortunately. Smith will most likely be gone by pick 14 as well (although he's the guy I want).

I'd expect Prestia to be in the group around pick 33.

Having said that I like most of those guys you've mentioned.
Shutup and pray! lol.

Yeah being a bit optimistic with Polec and Smith. I do think Prestia is a serious chance to drop to 50 though. One of those short people everyone might unfairly overlook. Same with Green at 33.

crowman86, Amen!

Luke Parker? Really?

I'll say:

I would love to see Brodie Martin running around in the number 9, but last year he was asked if he wanted to change his number but said he would like to keep the 41 and make it his own. Although if someone like Tyson Edwards asked you to take on the number 9 I doubt he would turn it down.

Also, I love watching Polec play, will be a great player but theres a slim chance he will end up at the crows. We can only hope.

FB: Johncock - Rutten - Stevens
HB: Porplyzia - Davis - Doughty
C: Mackay - Thompson - Reilly
HF: Sloane - Henderson - Knights
F: Walker - Tippett - Jaensch
1R: Maric - Dangerfield - Vince

I: Sellar/Moran - van Berlo - Otten/Martin - Douglas

EMG: Moran/Sellar - Martin/Otten - Young

Couple of points
  • Johncock will never be a midfielder
  • Don't be surprised to see Porplyzia pick up where Goodwin left off on the Half Back line, especially given he is probably our best attacking field kick, and Davis will not be able to cover the rebounding power lost with the departure of Bock, let alone Goodwin. I'm positive he was auditioned for the role in the last 6 rounds.
  • Jaensch isn't as good overhead or at goal shooting as Porplyzia, but makes up for it with a significant increase in frontal pressure compared to what Porplyzia can do, and really Porps spent most of the first half of the season leading into the path of Tippett and Walker, he never did get a handle on adjusting to life as a small underneath leading twin towers.
  • Reilly is on the wing because it's a starting midfield spot and there's no label on the traditional team sheet for "tagger"
  • No, I didn't forget Symes

Agree with this. I'd much prefer Petrenko given on opportunity down back than Armstrong.

Yeah, Armstrong's much more of a winger for mine, he's definitely an outside runner, who you'd want delivering the ball inside 50, could potentially have a half back role like Macca used to, but he'd have to be the free man, doesn't really come across as a great shut down defender.

Petrenko on the otherhand is your classic, hard as nails back pocketer, with the added advantage of being able to provide some quality offensive, line breaking run, plus he's a good kick too. For mine, he's as much of a deadset ringer for Johncock as you can get. I'd be looking at moving Petrenko into Stiffy's back pocket and with Macca and Goody gone, moving Stiffy up onto that half back flank.

Highly unlikely that Jaensch will settle into the pocket Allefgib. His attributes don't suit it at all. Don't be surprised if Cook makes it his position in 2011. For all his uncomfortable looking disposals up the ground, he is a goal kicker, and is as elusive as they come. Excellent overhead too.

Listening to Craigy this arvo, sounded like Jaensch is very much considered part of our forward line going forward. When quoting our young forward line he mentioned four names: Tippett, Walker, Hendo and Jaensch. I think he'll be a permanent fixture up there next year, with some relieving work through the midfield. He's our next Peter Vardy IMO.

I worded that poorly. It's not that his attributes wouldn't suit a forward role, but that I think he could be more damaging elsewhere. Would obviously love if he became the mercurial, tiprat style player we've been looking for, but Cook has some tricks in this role that no one else on our list does. I reckon he'll be dynamite in there, and I think Jaensch could be very damaging down the ground with a strong PS to get the fitness base up.

Petrenko on the otherhand is your classic, hard as nails back pocketer, with the added advantage of being able to provide some quality offensive, line breaking run, plus he's a good kick too. For mine, he's as much of a deadset ringer for Johncock as you can get. I'd be looking at moving Petrenko into Stiffy's back pocket and with Macca and Goody gone, moving Stiffy up onto that half back flank.

I see Pup as more of a Harbrow type. Not a lock-down defender like Stiffy can be and not as good overhead/intercepting forward entries. I definitely look forward to Pup playing half-back next year but I would keep Stiffy deeper. Remember that half Pup played vs Hawthorn before he got tagged? Oh man... so Harbrow!

D-Mack is obviously another guy we can play as a sweeper across half-back if we feel we're lacking in that area.

*And a vote against Porsche playing half-back. 40% midfield, 50% half-forward for me.

Agree with those saying we need a permanent crumber playing deep forward rather than a marker like Porsche. Also why I like Simon Phillips as a mature age rookie to put a bit of selection pressure on Jaensch. Dude is freakish!

Delistings/retirements

Edwards
Goodwin
Burton
Mcleod
Hentschel
Bock
Jacky

Trade

J.Griffin + pick 50 to freo = pick 37
Knights + pick 37 to Essendon = pick 8.

Draft (picks 8, 14, 26 (bock), 33, 67

pick 8 - Polec/Atley/Gaff
pick 14 - B.Smith/Caddy/Pitt
pick 26 - J.Green
pick 33 - D.Prestia
pick 67 - J.Giles

Probably wishful thinking, but that would be my dream draft.

Plus 3 rookie spots in Rookie Draft.

This is probably not best 22 in 2011 but would be potential best 22 in future (obviously incl above draft picks that probably wont even happen).

FB Johncock Rutten Otten
HB B.Smith* Davis Martin
C Mackay Thompson Polec
HF Hendo Walker Prestia^
FF Porps Tippett Danger
1R Maric Vince Sloane
Int Smack Douglas J.Green# VB

*Start at half back but will be a gun midfielder along with Polec.
^ strongly built Skillful, quick, small midfielder/forward with a lot of x factor (similar to Rodan)
# speedy small contested ball winning machine who finds a lot of the ball and can snag some goals.

This would be such a quick skilful side with a lot of depth in all positions to come into the side to cover injuries.

The rest: Doughty Stevens Symes Reilly Jaensch Petrenko Moran Sellar Armstrong Cook Young Gunston Shaw Talia Craig Schmidt J.Giles (may even be good enough for 1st ruck).

FB: Johncock - Rutten - Stevens
HB: Martin - Davis - Doughty
C: Mackay - Thompson - Porplyzia
HF: Sloane - Henderson - Knights
F: Walker - Tippett - Dangerfield
1R: Maric - Reilly - Vince

I: Sellar/Moran - van Berlo - Otten - Douglas

EMG: Moran/Sellar - Jaensch/Petrenko - Young/Symes

I agreed with a lot of NTRabbit's team but have made a few changes. I think Brodie will make the HBF his own next year. We have to keep Dogga and Stevo back there, as maligned as they are, because they are both exceptional readers of the play. I'd prefer if Doughty played deeper in defense to free up Johncock to run forward with Martin.

The Porpous was a hard one. I don't mind him off HBF but I think he'll be better playing more in the middle and HFF switching with Knights. Jaensch was the unlucky one to miss out but on paper he isn't as good as a fit Knighter.

I don't think Danger will be a full time mid next year yet, still does his best work up forward for us. But if he has a big preseason who knows.

What would be great to see develop next year is Talia coming in to play CHB if he has a good start of the year and seeing Stevens being relegated for Davis to play the swingman/3rd tall. Then if Petrenko comes on more to have him, Johncock and Martin running off HBF would be exciting. Just don't know!

Anyone care to change their lineup now that Knighta has resigned and Griff is going, poss Sellar and maybe getting Walker and Jacobs??
Lets wait and see what actually eventuates during trade week. You might be jumping the gun a bit with some of those trade predictions.