Big Cricket Thread

Have you seen the state of the WACA lately...facilities wise its a ******* shithole that needs significant refurb. Hopefully they can get their s**t together.

Went to one day of the Shield final last year but I was in the members so I didn’t see much outside of there. The beer selection in the members was bloody deplorable though.

The WACA is a shithole just like Subi was before it was knocked down.

Great memories at both grounds but boy oh boy wowee Optus is miles better. So long as you're not actually running around out there destroying your ankles in the blue and gold that is.

PS: I also miss the old tri-series before it got silly with Australia A.

You’re right, the WACA is not great and definitely would need upgrading. The main problem at Optus is that it feels really empty for a crowd size of around 10k (similar to how the MCG feels empty if a bad Vic club is hosting an interstate club). Not sure if there’s anything that can be done to make Optus feel less empty, like covering up the top level if it’s going to be a small crowd.

U reckon coz of the whole "invasion day" hoo haa that pops up annually then disappears just as quickly
Just because invasion day isn't in your everyday life, does not mean it "disappears" once the 26th Jan passes as you have so callously decribed.

You’re right, the WACA is not great and definitely would need upgrading. The main problem at Optus is that it feels really empty for a crowd size of around 10k (similar to how the MCG feels empty if a bad Vic club is hosting an interstate club). Not sure if there’s anything that can be done to make Optus feel less empty, like covering up the top level if it’s going to be a small crowd.
Waca got money spent to downgrade its capacity. It’s days of hosting pro sport would be done and dusted (unless the AFL decide they want magic round to be held in Perth.

Optus has had three tests since opening.
2018 against India but it was held late nov it was our first home series after losing warner/smudge.

2019 NZ was early dec but had like 3/4 days in the 40’s

This year it was late Nov series against the windies that started mid week.

We are yet to have a big series

U reckon coz of the whole "invasion day" hoo haa that pops up annually then disappears just as quickly

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yep. I've yet to year anyone make a fuss on foundation day/WA Day in June. Yet, cricket Australia seems very uncomfortable to play our national sport on our national day.

So, after today being abandoned it leaves us with 2 days to try and get a result. Looks likely that it will be a draw.

Anything's possible with the fragile SA line-up.

Although Aus have a fear of the follow-on

To be honest, for test matches the WACA should host matches against every country except for India and England. None of the other countries are a big enough draw.

Zero chance. No facilities there and no one wants to sit in metal scaffolding temp seats in 35 degrees to watch Australia vs Bangladesh

I don't understand why they don't try pink ball test in WA

Would be great staying up late to watch Perth test

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

They did vs NZ, but it still only started at 1pm local and was done by 8 (8.30 extra overs). So the sun was still up when the day was basically over.

Back when Australia Day was a proper long weekend because the public holiday was the last Monday in January rather than tied to the 26th. Then the tri-series would have 3 games played over Saturday (Aus v team 1), Sunday (team 1 v team 2) and Monday (Aus v team 2)

It was a brilliant weekend of cricket and Adelaide did it justice

Then Howard tied Australia Day to the 26th, Australia’s dominance made the tri series a bit non-competitive such that we brought in an Australian A team and touring schedules became tighter and the whole thing collapsed

I’d fully support a return to the old way not least because it’d take a lot of the heat out of the invasion day protests because Australia Day Is dogmatically stuck on the 26th for no particularly good reason. A proper 3 day weekend could be used to incorporate an acknowledgment of the indigenous people as well as a celebration of achievements since colonisation

But more importantly we could get a proper cricket weekend back

Teams refusing to play ODI's on back to back days have also ****ed up scheduling something like that which sucks.

The old tri nations format of

Tues/Weds: Neutral game
Fri: Aus vs Team A
Sun: Aus vs Team B

Aint coming back anytime soon.

No chance we don't enforce a follow on here. Labuschagne better practice his seam up.

If we aren't using the follow on with 4 top tier bowlers and an A grade all rounder bowling 140k bombs, we aren't doing it with two pacers and one and a half spinners.

I fully enjoyed Kristen Beams arguing for the follow on during yesterday's rain breaks

I just asked ABC stat guru Ric Finlay how long the SCG has held the NY test

Since 91.
People talking as if this is some sort of institution.

Weirdly in 96/97 they skipped a month between boxing day and aus day for ODIs. Is that the solution?
I just want to elaborate on this - the SCG test does predate 1991, Ric Finlay led me astray, it was clearly a thing in the 1980-85 - weirdly in 1984 the MCG test was 22-27 December and the SCG test was 30th December - 2nd Jan (it only lasted 4 days)

Yep. I've yet to year anyone make a fuss on foundation day/WA Day in June. Yet, cricket Australia seems very uncomfortable to play our national sport on our national day.

You might find that, say, Scott Boland is not keen to play cricket on the 26th of January.

I just want to elaborate on this - the SCG test does predate 1991, Ric Finlay led me astray, it was clearly a thing in the 1980-85 - weirdly in 1984 the MCG test was 22-27 December and the SCG test was 30th December - 2nd Jan (it only lasted 4 days)
Further to this, it was largely a fixture of the 1970s too, so it does have history.

But also, weather.

Melbourne - Sydney is the set order. I can't see Cric Aus changing that despite their hemorrhaging losses.

Edit: Went further. 1968-9 was the first instance of it being the New Year test. Prior to that, and after, it was often around the 10th Jan, so still the first of the year.

They did vs NZ, but it still only started at 1pm local and was done by 8 (8.30 extra overs). So the sun was still up when the day was basically over.
Rated really well too if I remember correctly, as do the Scorchers games that start at 9.15pm Eastern time as a lot of people are on holidays this time of year.

You might find that, say, Scott Boland is not keen to play cricket on the 26th of January.

Well if that was the case he should have a problem playing at any time…. The selectors for some reason deemed him droppable.

You could bet the captain would sit it out.

No chance we don't enforce a follow on here. Labuschagne better practice his seam up.
The more interesting question is whether Pat declares immediately with Uzzie on 195n.o. I doubt he would, but in the interests of getting a result, he should.

I would let him bat on. We're 2 nil up, there'd be no repercussions for missing out on another win in a rain affected Test, even if by 1 wicket late on day 5 (which is exactly what happened last year in the Ashes when we batted longer than necessary).

The more interesting question is whether Pat declares immediately with Uzzie on 195n.o. I doubt he would, but in the interests of getting a result, he should.

I would let him bat on. We're 2 nil up, there'd be no repercussions for missing out on another win in a rain affected Test, even if by 1 wicket late on day 5 (which is exactly what happened last year in the Ashes when we batted longer than necessary).

Khawaja strikes me as the sort of guy that will tell Cummins that getting a result is more important than a personal milestone

We have a maximum of about 190 overs to take 20 wickets and that’s assuming we bowl them out for under 275 in their first dig

The decision to play an extra batter over an extra bowler is looking dumber by the day. It was questionable before the test started and now looks stupid when we’re going to have to potentially bowl 2 full days with 4 full time bowlers and part time backups.

Green provided more with the ball than the bat all summer so it’s his bowling they should have replaced, not his batting

Khawaja strikes me as the sort of guy that will tell Cummins that getting a result is more important than a personal milestone

We have a maximum of about 190 overs to take 20 wickets and that’s assuming we bowl them out for under 275 in their first dig

The decision to play an extra batter over an extra bowler is looking dumber by the day. It was questionable before the test started and now looks stupid when we’re going to have to potentially bowl 2 full days with 4 full time bowlers and part time backups.

Green provided more with the ball than the bat all summer so it’s his bowling they should have replaced, not his batting
Ussie wants his double.
Give him a few overs.
Don't think it will make any difference in the scheme of things.

Looking dumber and dumber not to play Morris.

It really was another pissweak decision.
Might as well let Uzzie get his double tonner. I sincerely doubt the 10 minutes it'd take for changeover will matter much in the scheme, but to him it'll matter for the rest of his days

A win guarantees a spot in the World Test Championship final so there is still something riding on a win here

Rated really well too if I remember correctly, as do the Scorchers games that start at 9.15pm Eastern time as a lot of people are on holidays this time of year.

It blows my mind our (WCE/Freo) Saturday night games don't start at something like 6.40pm local time to essentially turn one night time slot with two games overlapping into only a half game overlap (and more content for Fox/Kayo) as well as a chance to put Saturday night footy after the news on main Channel 7 here instead of on 7Mate.

It would be 8:40pm start for the Vics but surely the kiddies missing out once a year on their team in an away game is made up by the scores of $$$ coming in otherwise (even put in a rule that teams only play in that slate once if they make two trips west each year).

Or just stiff NM/GWS/GC every time lol.

It blows my mind our (WCE/Freo) Saturday night games don't start at something like 6.40pm local time to essentially turn one night time slot with two games overlapping into only a half game overlap (and more content for Fox/Kayo) as well as a chance to put Saturday night footy after the news on main Channel 7 here instead of on 7Mate.

It would be 8:40pm start for the Vics but surely the kiddies missing out once a year on their team in an away game is made up by the scores of $$$ coming in otherwise (even put in a rule that teams only play in that slate once if they make two trips west each year).

Or just stiff NM/GWS/GC every time lol.
I always wondered why they didnt do double headers on Fridays with the WA game second, they finally tried it last year a few times and we have another one this year with the GC game, but I don't get why they don't schedule a heap of them.

Could even just do it for SA teams, derbies and/or during school holidays if they're worried about the kids missing out.