BETON5

Dec 19, 2006
Demonland
Storm
If rumours are true and Scully goes to gws i am led to believe that we will be offering 1 of our first round compo pick to collingwood for Dawes or something similar to get him at melbourne,unsure about size of contract and dollars but he will be our first major target to land.....
My source is Chris Connelly whos words were"we will be looking at any uncontracted key forward especially someone of the calibre of Dawesy at collingwood."he also said a lot depends on scullys movements and daisy s at the pies.
hence the reason why we want to pay 100% of the salry cap at 92.5 we have roughly 800k up our sleeve a season.
If anyone wants clarity on my conversation with cc a private message would be surfice..

I know that we had a red hot crack at him a couple of years ago.

If Scully were to go, i think he will, i reckon we should be looking closely at Sam Reid too. Would love him as our FF to fill in the space when JW leads up the ground. He could then rotate between CHF & CHB with Cook, providing some variety and headaches.

I know that we had a red hot crack at him a couple of years ago.

If Scully were to go, i think he will, i reckon we should be looking closely at Sam Reid too. Would love him as our FF to fill in the space when JW leads up the ground. He could then rotate between CHF & CHB with Cook, providing some variety and headaches.

No chance mate.

Neither Dawes or Reid are going anywhere. If we do make a public play for Dawes CC is just setting us up for more embarassment.

Why in Gods name would Dawes ever leave Collingwood? He loves it there, their setup is world class, they'll keep winning flags and he'll get paid a reasonable wage anyway. We would have to pay him GWS style cash for him to even be a remote chance of leaving...

And yeah cbf going through why Reid is no chance either it's fairly obvious...

Chris Dawes is an extremey average player that looks good in dominant team.'

Giving up a 1st round pick for him would be a joke.

He is basically a Paul Johnson clone.

He doesn't need to give reasoning- why would Sydney let a guy who is arguably the league's most promising KPP prospect go for any price whatsoever?

While i agree that Reid isnt going anywhere....

If he was out of contract and wanted to come home the Swans can do nothing about it, all they can do is find a suitable trade. Think Anthony Rocca, Darren Gasper and Shannon Grant. Sydney didnt want to lose any of them.

As for Dawes. Yea, nah. Would love him but he isnt going anywhere, we have a better chance of getting Malthouse. Stay off the cones CC. :thumbsu:

Love your reasoning.....you've sold me :rolleyes:

He is contracted until the end of 2012. He's the future of our club. He has said he wants to be a 200 game player for our club. And you better be prepared to throw Tom Scully GWS cash at him because we have alot of cap space.

Though I am (so is the rest of our board) worried about GWS making a play for him next year.

Dawes won't be going anywhere I reckon... out of contract yes but his response was pretty adament on the footy show when quizzed on the issue a few weeks back. He's a loyal Collingwood man.

Would be a handy get, but he's kicking goals in a pretty handy side at present. Who is to say he'd carry that form over into a poorer side. Even Jack Anthony looked good at Collingwood!

Not all that often it happens but i agree with TPM here.

Walker, while talented, doesnt solve any of our issues around structure in our forward line. Pretty much a taller version of Robbo. While I agree that Walker is a more talented footballer than Dawes, Dawes height/weight/style of play would completely change the look of our forward line for the better, Walker's wouldnt.

Not that he's coming, just sayin'.

Dawes won't leave. Reid won't leave. Walker won't leave.

There won't be anything decent on the market so we develop from within or find a smoky from the VFL or the equivalent across the country.

You can't really say that. If we actually do what we're meant too and have a break out year next year, we might be the ideal 'go home' option for homesick Victorians playing interstate, such as Sam Reid. Although money might be tight...We definitely have quite a bit of trade bait though.

Haven't seen much of Reid though, so I'm not sure what he's worth. From all the talk he sounds like the second coming of Jonathon Brown.

Big Play at Chris Dawes!