Big win hides some problems

Stiffy_18 said:
I would be worried if we didn't have weaknesses at this time of the year.

Considering our injury list and our early draw, we have done an outstanding job to be 7-2.

As for "mucking around with it", its a fine line between good and bad. A couple of those handballs come off the there is no lairising. Miss a couple and players get canned.

Seriously, we are doing geat and I am sure Craig will be addressing our weaknesses as the season goes on.

As for hard balls gets, well if you take Ricciuto and Edwards out of that midfield and that statistic WILL drop off dramatically. Not to mention the absence of Hudson who led out team in hard ball gets and clearences before he did his knee.

Yeh you're right Stiffy. Let's not talk about our weaknesses while we're winnings, because it's a downer. Let's just say 'yay we won' and ignore everything, because bad signs don't mean anything. Let's not bother to analyse our team, because they win or they lose and that's all there is.

It's not worth pointing out things that bother you, let's just forget them, Craigy'll deal with em eh?

just maybe said:
Yeh you're right Stiffy. Let's not talk about our weaknesses while we're winnings, because it's a downer. Let's just say 'yay we won' and ignore everything, because bad signs don't mean anything. Let's not bother to analyse our team, because they win or they lose and that's all there is.

It's not worth pointing out things that bother you, let's just forget them, Craigy'll deal with em eh?
Dude if you want to have a bitching session, then I suggest you go to AFL board because I am not biting :D

just maybe said:
OK, we thumped Carlton. It should have been by a lot more, but within that win there were a number of problems carried over from the Richmond game that need to be addressed for when we play sides that aren't so abysmal.

1. Soundly beaten in hard-ball gets again - 41-33. For our supposed 'hard' midfield, that is a real concern. Can't afford this against top 6 sides.

2. Inaccuracy. Hentschel really needs some work on that rubbish run-up, the old goalkicking habits are creeping back in again. Again, can't afford this against top 6 sides.

3. Second quarter lapses. The biggest worry, it has been a constant pattern and it's going to trip us up badly very soon - we can get away with it against the bottom 6, but that's about it. Don't know what the hell is going on, but it's a serious, serious problem. To let Carlton kick 6 of their 9 goals in one quarter while we only kicked 3 is an indictment on the players.

4. Scott Stevens. We have been playing poor sides, so he doesn't have to be exposed so much, but while he provides some reasonable run when in space, he is as weak as a stick and has been muscled out by every opponent he has played on. This is not acceptable, even Torney would be a better bet as a tall defender. Craig's faith in him is, IMHO, misplaced. He has shown nothing with the defensive side of his game.

5. Roo and McGregor carrying injuries (?)...they've been out of it against some average players...a real worry

6. Lairising. A few players seem to take these games at the moment as a bit of a lark. Time Craig gives them a stern warning and maybe one or two are given a benching or a drop to the SANFL for a week.

Thoughts?

I want this team to win the premiership this year, but there's areas to be addressed.

Correct on all counts.

1) Whilst Roo and Edwards absence would explain it somewhat, getting a hiding from the bottom team, it is something to address.

2) Agree with Hentschel's run up.

3) Biggest concern IMO. Snuff this out of our game and we'll be much better for it.

4) Stevens is an odd one, we seem to be getting away with it for the moment. Hopefully his lack of strength doesnt get exposed too much in the future. Teams may try isolate him and his direct opponent up forward.

5) Roo and Kenny are interesting ones. Both look unfit, perhaps a lack of depth is saving them from a run in the SANFL.

6) Very easy to do when you're up by plenty against a cr@p side. Not usually an issue.

You make some good points JM, but probably not anything major (except point 3) at this stage.

Stiffy_18 said:
Dude if you want to have a bitching session, then I suggest you go to AFL board because I am not biting :D

Well you explain when we should discuss the weak points of our team, since you seem to think no time is a good time.

I remember going to the first Crows game and the crowd was obviously keyed up for the occassion. When Brereton KO'd McDermott, the whole crowd were chanting "Dermie's a :D:D:D:Der!" at the top of their lungs.

That wouldn't happen now. The sort of people who went to the Crows first game were the people who had grown up yelling their lungs out at the Parade, at Richmond, at the Bay...

When the Crows started and then made the finals in 93 there was massive interest generated and they brought a lot of new supporters to the game. These people didn't have a passionate background as SANFL supporters. They don't know what to do at the football so they clap the goals, chant A-de-laide clapclapclap occasionally and sing the song at the end.

They did have plenty of money though and snapped up their season tickets. They make up 80%+ of the crowd now. If you yell out at a Crows game everyone turns and looks at you.

Carl Spackler said:
If you yell out at a Crows game everyone turns and looks at you.

Who cares. Seroiusly, if some old bloke looks at me if I am crazy because I am yelling at the footy, then thats his problem, not mine.

These people rarely say anything to you.

Carl Spackler said:
I remember going to the first Crows game and the crowd was obviously keyed up for the occassion. When Brereton KO'd McDermott, the whole crowd were chanting "Dermie's a :D:D:D:Der!" at the top of their lungs.

That wouldn't happen now. The sort of people who went to the Crows first game were the people who had grown up yelling their lungs out at the Parade, at Richmond, at the Bay...

When the Crows started and then made the finals in 93 there was massive interest generated and they brought a lot of new supporters to the game. These people didn't have a passionate background as SANFL supporters. They don't know what to do at the football so they clap the goals, chant A-de-laide clapclapclap occasionally and sing the song at the end.

They did have plenty of money though and snapped up their season tickets. They make up 80%+ of the crowd now. If you yell out at a Crows game everyone turns and looks at you.

dyertribe said:
, and a lot of it was terrible - poor skills, little run, bombing long, stacks on the mill, players getting caught cold holding the ball but the umpire just comes in and bounces it, stoppages left and right.
Have the skills improved? Really?

As to the other points , is that good or bad? I dont know. I keep harking back to some of the best games for me are the tight contests where both clubs scramble hard and fight hard for each uncontested ball.

I am not a fan of zoning, nor uncontested chipping...but I also realise it is the way the game is heading and if a flag results then all good

Capitalist said:
so what is the point where this thread is

all i am hearing is complaining but to actual thoughts on how to fix it

get some decent thoughts together the club has shown it wants to help improve the crowd

or just keep posting about how bd it is :rolleyes:

How you fix people attitudes is hard others who are passionate need to have the balls to fire up those around them and also have the balls when they are told to be quiet to say we are at the football not the theatre you dont like it go home.

just maybe said:

Well you explain when we should discuss the weak points of our team, since you seem to think no time is a good time.

JM, first you called me "sanctimonious" and now you're getting stuck into Stiffy for essentially taking my general tack and saying that while there are some kinks to be ironed out (as there is for any football team - perfection is never achieved), there's no real need to hit the panic button regarding "pathetic and shameful performances" (as you called the Richmond game) at this stage.

Plenty of other people on this thread are agreeing with you and have taken the time to address your original post point for point - why not channel your efforts into responding to them, rather than needling a few dissenters?

As you yourself told me, we're all entitled to our opinions - it's just you give off the vibe that you only believe this to be true if said opinions agree with yours.

maccas_no1 said:
How you fix people attitudes is hard others who are passionate need to have the balls to fire up those around them and also have the balls when they are told to be quiet to say we are at the football not the theatre you dont like it go home.

that is a cop out ! as I said a few ideas to the club ?

the biggest problem that AFC has is too many supporters who have lots to say but don't like to back it up with action

FFS I tried to get a unofficial site up and going and all we got was :D:D:D:D and not one person who had a crack - bar OBJ offered to help

so maybe we should encourage people to get involved instead of sitting back and complaining (this is not a direct attack on you !! just sick of hearing the same old complaints)

PerthCrow said:
Have the skills improved? Really?

As to the other points , is that good or bad? I dont know. I keep harking back to some of the best games for me are the tight contests where both clubs scramble hard and fight hard for each uncontested ball.

I am not a fan of zoning, nor uncontested chipping...but I also realise it is the way the game is heading and if a flag results then all good

I reckon in general the skills have improved out of sight over the past decade - we simply take it for granted, because so many players these days have so many strings to their bow.

I'll pick one facet, and that's goalsense in open play.

Peter Daicos and Darren Jarman were considered freaks for their ability to conjure magical goals - nowadays it seems every second player in the league can make a ball talk and score 'impossible' goals.

maccas_no1 said:
I think that's a pretty narrow view. Every crowd has its cross-section of raving lunatics, passionate fans, run-of-the-mill supporters and those who just like to watch AFL football but aren't going to be too upset by the result.

I'm not having a crack here - just trying to work out where you're coming from. Do you attend many matches? And if you do, where do you sit?

RogerRabbit69 said:
I think that's a pretty narrow view. Every crowd has its cross-section of raving lunatics, passionate fans, run-of-the-mill supporters and those who just like to watch AFL football but aren't going to be too upset by the result.

I'm not having a crack here - just trying to work out where you're coming from. Do you attend many matches? And if you do, where do you sit?

Do I attend many matches OMG, mate Ive been to more AFC matches than you have had hot breakfasts. I attend AFC matches all over the country, I am in the CSG in Melbourne, I am the chant man.

A few people on this board will back all that up.

maccas_no1 said:
Do I attend many matches OMG, mate Ive been to more AFC matches than you have had hot breakfasts. I attend AFC matches all over the country, I am in the CSG in Melbourne, I am the chant man.

A few people on this board will back all that up.
Fair enough, I don't doubt you. Just wondering if you were basing your criticisms on what you saw/heard on TV or if you were at the ground all the time because I think the TV coverage can be a bit deceptive some times. Like I said, I wasn't having a shot at you.

By the way, I've been to a reasonable number of Crows matches in my time, too. I've been a member/season ticket-holder since day 1 and missed two home matches since the club entered the AFL. I usually make it to a few interstate matches each year, too, and saw both GFs.

drakeyv2 said:
Actualy quite a few of Modra's marks in 93 were hangers. Why don't you ask how many of Kenny Whelan's, or Barrie Robran's or Phil Carman's wre hangers.

Ask yourself how many goals would Modra have kicked if he was protected the way forwards are today? Actualy probably not many because he would have been standing on his own in the forward 50 with 4 defenders around him.

I'd disagree on two levels.

Having watched my Crows 93 video recently, I'd be surprised if Modra took one hanger per game when averaged over the year. The majority of his goals were from chest marks on the lead - certainly, all 10 of his goals in the round 1 game versus Richmond were from leading marks or from scooping up the loose ball and snapping after a defender spoiled.

Of course, a 23 year old Tony Modra would not score 129 goals this season with the defensive tactics employed. Don't forget though that Cornes played a Modra's meadow, just like Pagan's paddock. Virtually every time the Crows lined up, there was Modra and a full back inside 50, and everyone else outside. The midfield then tried to kick it to Modra's best advantage - either leading (usually) or on the head of his opponent (more rarely). Basically the same as footy is played today, and in it's own way, it was as boring in it's effectiveness and predictability as today's footy can ge, because the ball always went to Modra.

Sure, Ken Whelan was a great aerialist. Carman and Robran could get up there. Cornes could fly with the best of them, so could Blight. So can Burton, so can Pettifer, so can Ottens. I think there's a tendancy to compress all of the highlights in footy history in the mind, so it seems like it happened more than it did.

dyertribe said:
JM, first you called me "sanctimonious" and now you're getting stuck into Stiffy for essentially taking my general tack and saying that while there are some kinks to be ironed out (as there is for any football team - perfection is never achieved), there's no real need to hit the panic button regarding "pathetic and shameful performances" (as you called the Richmond game) at this stage.

Actually, DT, Stiffy was saying we shouldnt say anything. Different to saying there's no need to hit the panic button - which was not what this thread was anyway.

And yes, the Richmond performance was pathetic and shameful.

Plenty of other people on this thread are agreeing with you and have taken the time to address your original post point for point - why not channel your efforts into responding to them, rather than needling a few dissenters?

Because they're opening up a good discussion and I like to challenge the dissenters to further back up their opinion on why we shouldn't analyse critically.

As you yourself told me, we're all entitled to our opinions - it's just you give off the vibe that you only believe this to be true if said opinions agree with yours.

It's because my opinions are unimpeachable. :p

just maybe said:
Actually, DT, Stiffy was saying we shouldnt say anything. Different to saying there's no need to hit the panic button - which was not what this thread was anyway.
What a load of crap.

Making stuff up to build a case for yourself is not exactly a bright thing to do :rolleyes: