• Sydney and St. Kilda

Votes: 0 0.0%

As a Collingwood fan I have one word for you

Harmes

A royal pain in the arse

A great player

His absolute desperation to slap the ball towards the goal square from sprawling on the ground on the boundary line in the dying minutes of the GF cost Pies a GF.

THAT is rivalry when a player would walk over broken glass bare foot to deny their hated rivals.

bluepride should perhaps find some highlights of showdown or western derby games. A lot more blood than any recent collingwood vs carlton games.

Its pretty obvious that you are very young, and will hence be ignorant to what goes on outside of victoria, but perhaps you can gain some perspective this way.

Depends what you call young.

Old enough to know more than you but young enough to occasionally get asked for I.D.

Im preaching to the wrong people here, continue to live in the fishbowl that is S.A, because you clearly need to have a look at teams outside of S.A.

Posters from a variety of teams will tell you Carlton v Collingwood, whereas we only have the bogans from S.A telling me that their little match in the south is better.

Polls > S.A opinion.

As a Collingwood fan I have one word for you

Harmes

A royal pain in the arse

A great player

His absolute desperation to slap the ball towards the goal square from sprawling on the ground on the boundary line in the dying minutes of the GF cost Pies a GF.

THAT is rivalry when a player would walk over broken glass bare foot to deny their hated rivals.

:thumbsu:

S.A supporters are wondering why Grand Finals are important to a rivilary.

Mate, literally half the teams in the comp are included in that rivalry list . Its got Sydney as one of our rivals, I wouldn't take much stock in it. Yes there is some history between the two teams, going all the way back to the 1920s and the situation relating to your admission into the VFL, but for me personally (can't speak on behalf of all Bombers fans) there's only 3 rivals: Collingwood, Hawthorn & Carlton.

I understand where you are coming from, but there was a very rabid, deep rooted cultural rivalry that existed between North and Essendon up until the early 1950's.

I'm not talking grand final rivals here. I'm talking about people that genuinely disliked, and on occasion displayed violence towards, one another.

This "rivalry" disappeared as the class and religious distinctions evaporated, when the changing social climate of the sixties, combined with the urban sprawl.

Sheedy, ever the historian, was aware of it, and rejigged it in another form for his own purposes between 1995 - 2000.

Speak to some folks in their sixties and over in order to gain some insight.

Old enough to know more than you but young enough to occasionally get asked for I.D.

Im preaching to the wrong people here, continue to live in the fishbowl that is S.A, because you clearly need to have a look at teams outside of S.A.

Posters from a variety of teams will tell you Carlton v Collingwood, whereas we only have the bogans from S.A telling me that their little match in the south is better.

Polls > S.A opinion.

I don't live in SA. I see a hell of a lot of melbourne footy. While we had fox sports I would have watched 2-4 games a week.

I don't agree with anyone who says that the collingwood vs carlton games are overhyped. Because there is no hype about them at all. The rivalry between the two supporter bases is big, and I'd say its argueably the biggest rivalry in melbourne. To try and argue that its even close in terms of ferocity to the Showdown, or the Derby is absurd. I'd actually say that Hawthorn vs Essendon is far more intense.

I guess it depends how you are defining biggest rivalry. If you define it as teams that have played the most games against eachother, or have played the most grand finals against eachother then sure, Collingwood v Carlton probably wins. If you are saying that the biggest rivalry is the one you would go to watch because you can be sure the two teams will not only go out there to beat eachother, but even to hurt eachother. A match that you can be almost sure will have fights not in the crowd but on the field. then the answer is different.

I think that perhaps it should be defined as the most recognisable rivalry. Like, if i see brisbane are playing hawthorn, I will be like ok meh. Wheras if i see West Coast are playing Fremantle I instantly know that the two teams are going to give it more than they would any other game.

Young is telling us what school you went to.

Young is showing absolutely no worldiness.

Young is accusing others of being insular, bogans and insecure when all his own posting shows these same elements.

Young is not being able to debate something or see some else's point of view without resorting to insults.

Young, although not alway restricted to the young is pretending you know everything when in fact you don't know much.

Tell me why Carlton v Collingwood have the most votes?

Why have supporters from a variety of teams expressed similar views?

Why is it only S.A supporting posters trying to make a contest when there really isnt one.

It is here at last, the only game of the season that will deliver on every aspect of what a blockbuster game is.

Both teams undefeated and hold both postions on top of the table.

Sit back W.A + S.A fans, and just marvel at what a real rivilary is not some geographical conception that has been made up.

AFL is already predicting a 90,000 crowd...... something you could only dream of.

It is here at last, the only game of the season that will deliver on every aspect of what a blockbuster game is.

Both teams undefeated and hold both postions on top of the table.

Sit back W.A + S.A fans, and just marvel at what a real rivilary is not some geographical conception that has been made up.

AFL is already predicting a 90,000 crowd...... something you could only dream of.

St. Kilda don't play Sydney until August. :confused:

This thread should have been which do you consider to be the best rivalry. The biggest has always been Carlton v Collingwood.

How is Port Adelaide vs Adelaide not winning this?

Its probably the biggest professional sporting rivalry in the world apart from Celtic vs Rangers.

Those saying that the showdown isn't the biggest should perhaps go to a showdown. I'm sure their opinion would change very quickly.

:D:thumbsu:

I reckon Barcelona v Madrid may give it a nudge but what would I know.

If the Port v Adel Rivarly is so huge then so will the Gold Coast vs Brisbane pfffft as if....

Collingwood v Carlton easily the biggest

I can tell you no one in QLD cares about the SANFL rivary I think Port will be lucky to exist in 20 years. Your club cant even half fill that stadium let alone be involved in the biggest rivarly in the AFL.

Port Adelaide = Biggest Joke in the comp