Biggest upset by your worst-selected side in memory?

Richmond knocking Adelaide off at the dome in 2006.

We were about 4 or 5 games clear on top at the time, and most people (including myself) had us penciled in for the flag. They played a bit of keepings off and we nearly won, but they hung on by a kick I think?

I'll never forget getting home from footy and my housemate goes: "haha, you lost to Richmond". I dismissed him and didnt even bother to check, and only found out at the pub a few hours later when a Tigers teammate was pointing and laughing at me as I walked in...

It was also one of the worst games of football you would ever see, count yourself lucky you missed it.

And going way back, Round 22 1997 against Adelaide. We were 14th, they were 3rd, we had an extremely patched up side missing, among others, Hird and Long. Several others missing too, just can't recall exactly who. Anyway, we won somehow. Also Mark Harvey and Chris Daniher's final games.

I'd go further back to the win we had over Geelong at the MCG that year.

I'll always remember the mark Caracella took so courageously, running head-first into Dean Wallis. Geez we knew we had a player then.

We then came from a mile behind to knock off Brisbane up at the Gabba in Round 21 as well.

Beating 3 finals sides in the last month before the finals was a good sign of our improvement the following year into what we know was a good side just 2 years after that poor 97 season.

Geelong v Carlton 1994 SF

During the build up word filtered around the ground that Geelong had an amazing amount of late withdrawals - namely Bairstow, Couch, Hocking and Michael Mansfield.
Carlton supporters around us were laughing and cheering. In their minds the game was already over.

What followed was battlers like Liam Pickering, Aaron Lord and Paul Brown putting on clinic, beating Carlton by 5 goals and consigning them to a straight sets exit.
That's the one for me too, i couldn't believe it, i actually got a good park less than a 100 metres from the front gate and then the news came through that Geelong had half the side out! I was almost going to crack the shits and go home, but i was so impressed with this car parking spot i decided to go in and watch the slaughter. Aaron Lord put in a blinder and i watched with some bemusement Fraser Brown and Greg Williams almost coming to blows just before the QTR time siren, i knew then we would win.

As a kid i went to the MCG in 1972 with my older brother to see the Cats play Richmond who were on top and killing everybody, i could barely see over the fence anyway, but the Cats who were not traveling well that year were well behind at QTR time with the Tigers 6-3 to 2-6 then all of a sudden the Tigers went to sleep and the Cats ended up winning 76 points! The Tigers finished 18-4 that year and were runners up when red hot favourites! We went back to being crap a week later!

Obviously the geelong game 2011, I was in shock and thought we would get pumped, I told my geelong supporter mate they would have to bring out the mercy rule. Melksham was great that night and I believe someone lost a million on that game. God the betting agencies would have made a killing that night.

I cant remember the round but I think it was 2003, no hird, lloyd and several others out against Swans at docklands, they must have been in good form coz I remember thinking we had no hope but we won and steve allessio played a good game, also he kicked the sealer very late in the game.

You could name almost any Carlton win from 2002 to 2008 we were that bad during the years following the salary cap rorting. For that reason I'll go earlier.

I believe our biggest upset win didn't come in the '99 preliminary final. Yes, it was a major upset but it pales in comparison (in regards as 'big upsets') to Round 3, 2001 against the same team we upset in that famous prelim, Essendon.

**** you for making me remember Murray Vance.

We beat all of Carlton, Essendon and North in late 2000 - all were great victories but everyone only remembers the Super Flood game vs Essendon. The win against Carlton was at their home fortress, they were in white hot form coming off 13 wins in a row and were at full strength with Kouta at his absolute prime, and we had our entire spine out injured that day. Simon Garlick managed to conjure up 6 goals as a makeshift FF and we ended up sneaking over the line by less than a kick courtesy of a late goal to Trent Bartlett. We would have been double-figure odds at the start of the game. Massive upset.

This one is going back a while but in Round 1 1983 the reigning wooden spooner (us) knocked off the reigning back-to-back premiers (Carlton) in another massive boilover. The kennel erupted that day.

I reckon the win against St.Kilda in 2009/2010 i forget which where Saints had won like 18 or 19 in a row and somehow we managed a win against them. Those were the days where we just completely rolled the dice and went all attack and somehow that style just completely worked against St.Kilda for some reason. The Geelong upset was pretty big in 2011 as well. I think Watson was out that game from memory and everyone said we would get annihilated particularly as we hadn't beaten them in years prior to that point. But somehow we pulled it off.

To be honest though Essendon have had a lot of 'upset' wins over the years, but we've also allowed other sides to upset us as well. Like I remember half of West Coast's wins when they won the wooden spoon was against us. That's footy I guess.

A few that come to mind...

And going way back, Round 22 1997 against Adelaide. We were 14th, they were 3rd, we had an extremely patched up side missing, among others, Hird and Long. Several others missing too, just can't recall exactly who. Anyway, we won somehow. Also Mark Harvey and Chris Daniher's final games.

And Peter Cransbergs last game too. I remember that game because Lady Diana died halfway through the game and they announced it at half time.

St Kilda vs Hawthorn, round 19, 2009.

Saints had Riewoldt, Hayes, Goddard, Montagna, and Baker come out before the game, and were facing an almost full strength Hawthorn side, who were the reigning premiers, after all.

Everyone expected the Saints' streak to end, but we ended up pulling off a comfortable 25 point win.

I cant remember the round but I think it was 2003, no hird, lloyd and several others out against Swans at docklands, they must have been in good form coz I remember thinking we had no hope but we won and steve allessio played a good game, also he kicked the sealer very late in the game.

2001 it was.

Good thread, and some good memories! I think for us it’s the wins against Geelong in the 90s when we were terrible, or more recently the 2001 final against Port, the 2005 Brisbane game or the 2007 West Coast game.

Saints had Riewoldt, Hayes, Goddard, Montagna, and Baker come out before the game, and were facing an almost full strength Hawthorn side, who were the reigning premiers, after all.

Everyone expected the Saints' streak to end, but we ended up pulling off a comfortable 25 point win.

I’ll never understand how this myth keeps being perpetuated. We were missing Ellis, Sewell, Guerra, Croad, Dew, Young, Williams and Ladson injured from the GF side, plus we’d lost Crawford (I don’t count Croad in that category as he was still on the list and looking to play again). That’s eight injured, one retired. I certainly didn't expect your streak to end!

You'll all remember this. Round 22 last year with THIRTEEN of our best 22 out, rank underdogs against a Carlton side expecting a percentage boosting win to make the finals...

In recent times, probably the final against Geelong last year.

But in my memory bank, Our first Derby win. Everything came together, the ball bounced and all of our players just had that spark. 2 mins in was a Modra moment branded into my memory.

For me it was against Geelong in 2006. Round 3 at SS. We were paying about $10 or more I think and we didn't put a foot wrong all day. Oh how the times have changed :(

Ironically that game is for me on my list top 'top-10 worst ever games'....in another thread, i think in the 'lists' thread. But that day you all clicked, displaying a glimpse of what was to come with some of your then young stars. The great paradox is that Zac Dawson, fresh from his 8-goal humiliation from Sav Rocca the previous week, held our own 8-goal kicker from the previous week in Kent Kingsley to zero goals. Key to a lot of the reason for the Hawk's wins over Geelong in that '06-'08 era? Mark bloody Williams....we never had any answer to him, he just OWNED playing Geelong. Wasn't i glad when you traded him away to Essendon, that was a huge bonus for all us Cat fans...

D. Armitage - 3 votes.

Dropped 2 weeks later and didn't get a proper run for...2-3 years?

Back on topic. Beating the Lions by 1 point in 2003. Yes we had an up and coming super side. But...they were also on their way to a three-peat.

Other than that we were schizen in 99-02 and before that pretty good. My memory doesn't extend back far enough for that 1995 win against Carlton. Must have been good though!

1988 Richmond v Carlton. It was bottom vs Top Round 12 on a chilly Friday to a crowd under 20'000. David Rhys- Jones playing up forward kicked 3 early and one was thinking how far Carlton but The Tigers found their way back into the game and ended up winning by 17 pts. Chris Pym kicked 3 goals and Trent Nicholls also played well.The game can be remembered for Tiger Peter Wilson doing a cartwheel after the siren..

Biggest upset by your worst-selected side in memory?