The Magnificent AFC
Welsh out till R4. Reilly onto a wing with Mattner on the other

Bird to FF. Has something special that our oother forwards dont

Whats our other options - Jericho (no). Mc Greg out of form at the mo. Hentschel has struggled being our key leading forward. Perrie in pretty good but best at half forward

You heard it ere first. ;)

The Crows Truth said:

Whats our other options - Jericho (no). Mc Greg out of form at the mo. Hentschel has struggled being our key leading forward. Perrie in pretty good but best at half forward

:rolleyes:
3 years worth of discussion before I realised that he is best served as a one man bench rotator.
he just wears out 2 or 3 players every game he plays on the wing, clanger king or match winner, he is the most difficult match up in the league.
IMHO the only way he should play FF is if there is a hard running "fresh" FB that needs to be worn out.

Smelly Socks said:
hentschel will take full forward. (hardly call 6 goals struggling).

btw, reilly is being groomed as an inside midfielder, he will be in the centre square, not on the wing.

3-4 goals of thos 6 were from frees downfiel, handballs over the top into running goal or soccers off ground. He will struggle with best defender. Bird has the X factor that the others lack ;)

The Crows Truth said:

Burton won't play FF. Thats just wishful thinking.

Hentschel will play FF, Perrie and McGregor will share the duties at CHF and FP. Burton will either play on the wing or as a HFF. Chances are he plays as a HFF until Welsh returns.

This leaves one wing open and I get the feeling that Knights or Van Berlo will see time on that wing. Reilly will see more time in the center square.

And I suggest you watch that 6 goal performance from Hentschel again. 3-4 goals from frees downfield is a great exagaration ;)

Stiffy_18 said:
Burton won't play FF. Thats just wishful thinking.

Hentschel will play FF, Perrie and McGregor will share the duties at CHF and FP. Burton will either play on the wing or as a HFF. Chances are he plays as a HFF until Welsh returns.

This leaves one wing open and I get the feeling that Knights or Van Berlo will see time on that wing. Reilly will see more time in the center square.

And I suggest you watch that 6 goal performance from Hentschel again. 3-4 goals from frees downfield is a great exagaration ;)[/QUOTE]

Nah mate think youve ********ed this one up. If you watch the replay you will clearly see that Hent did score 3-4 gls from frees downfield, handbals over the top to him running into open goals without any opponent and also from soccers off the ground.

Im not exageratting at all - im tellen the Truth :) ;)

Burton is wasted at FF, as he can easily be taken out of the game. It is better using him as a floating forward option, as he will then take advantage of his engine.

Ken McGregor, Ian Perrie and Trent Hentschel will play as the key forwards with numerous other players rotating in the pockets and flanks, Brett Burton will be spending time in the front half of the ground but not as a full forward, his main objective would be to kick a few goals every week but in no way will he be relied upon to kick a winning score. Neil Craig has the philosophy that a side has to be versatile and never rely on one single player to win the game.

So yes Brett Burton will play as a forward but more likely on a half forward flank with the occasional run on the wing.

Every single year this topic comes up that Brett Burton should play as the full forward and it never happens.

I agree with Kane, I think Burton should be used as a loose HFF/floating forward.

Nobody will be able to go with him, and if they can match up with him that aspect they will not be able to beat him in the air.

Burton at FF will just limit his biggest strength.

crows98 said:
Every single year this topic comes up that Brett Burton should play as the full forward and it never happens.

:confused: But it did happen. 2002 he kicked 50ish. This yr if kept at FF he could kick 75+ ;)

The Crows Truth said:
:confused: But it did happen. 2002 he kicked 50ish. This yr if kept at FF he could kick 75+ ;)
And that was out of neccessity. He spent a third of the year on the wing. We had Welsh for first 10 games until missed a lot of footy with OP. We had Ryan Fitzgerald and Daniel Schell roating through the FF. Thats until Fitzy busted his knee again in Canberra against the Kangaroos and Schell proved that he couldn't do ******** at FF. We lost our 2 big forwards for pretty much the whole year and the best option we had for FF was Burton. Even then there were games where he really struggled and there were games where the opposition didn't have anyone that would match up on.

Use his there as a pinch hitter by all means but if you are playing him as a out and out FF and he is your primary option to kick a winning score then you are not going to go very far.

May I ask what exactly is wrong with the role that Burton has been playing during the PS????? I would have thought that role suits him to perfection and allows us to get the best out of birdman.

Stiffy_18 said:
May I ask what exactly is wrong with the role that Burton has been playing during the PS????? I would have thought that role suits him to perfection and allows us to get the best out of birdman.

Stiffy nothing wrong with his PS form mate just that he could be our best matchwinner in the forward line. I truely belive he is the one player we have capable of kicking 75+

PS I watched highlights of Trent in the first game and gotta say sorry to contradict ya but I was right on this occasion;) . He did kick 3-4 goals from frrees downfield, soccers off ground and handballs over the top

The Crows Truth said:
Stiffy nothing wrong with his PS form mate just that he could be our best matchwinner in the forward line. I truely belive he is the one player we have capable of kicking 75+

PS I watched highlights of Trent in the first game and gotta say sorry to contradict ya but I was right on this occasion;) . He did kick 3-4 goals from frrees downfield, soccers off ground and handballs over the top
Burton never has been and never will be capable of kicking 75+ goals.

Welsh is by far our best goal kicker and his best is 58. You do realise that only elite forwards kick 75+ a season. I see Fevola as a much better FF than burton and he has never kicked 75 goals in a year. Pavlich hasn't kicked that many in a season either.

In reality his verstility means he could play just about any position on the field and make a good fist of it, and as said is very hard to match up on with only Goodes (who towelled him up when they last played on each other) springing to mind as a harder matchup.

Wherever he plays he just needs to keep it real and not try to be Andrew McLeod. He's probably the only player who is worse when his confidence is up as he soon becomes overconfident and tries to do the impossible.

ive said it before and i will say it again

this guy is our biggest forward line weapon come September time

impossible to match up on

even though stiffs 18 disagrees I reckon Bird left at FF would kick 70+ in a year :thumbsu:

The Crows Truth said:

even though stiffs 18 disagrees I reckon Bird left at FF would kick 70+ in a year :thumbsu:
Sure - but NOT as a FF!

He did not even play FF yesterday.

He at his most dangerous as a floating forward, like yesterday.

I like how Burton is being used at the moment. He seems to have a fair bit of freedom and essentially heads down to the forward line whenever he thinks he can get a goal.

Having him stationed at full forward removes his endurance as a weapon. This is one of his major strengths so I'd leave him where he is.

Carl Spackler said:
I like how Burton is being used at the moment. He seems to have a fair bit of freedom and essentially heads down to the forward line whenever he thinks he can get a goal.

Having him stationed at full forward removes his endurance as a weapon. This is one of his major strengths so I'd leave him where he is.
You answered your own question as to why the Birdman doesn't play as permanent FF. ;)

Kane McGoodwin said:
Sure - but NOT as a FF!

He did not even play FF yesterday.

He at his most dangerous as a floating forward, like yesterday.

yeah fair call - i should change the title from FF to forward line

The Crows Truth said:

Dude, Burton has played his best games as a forward when he was allowed to roam and not be fixed to a position. Yesterday's game is a perfect example. Birdman ran around everywhere. He took marks on the wing and running back towards 50. Playing him at FF just limits his ability to kick a bag. Burton is best when he has a bit of space to work with and since oppositions generally doesn't allow our FF a lot of space, Burton would be a bit "hamstrung" there.

He does his best work as a roaming forward.

Stiffy_18 said:
Dude, Burton has played his best games as a forward when he was allowed to roam and not be fixed to a position. Yesterday's game is a perfect example. Birdman ran around everywhere. He took marks on the wing and running back towards 50. Playing him at FF just limits his ability to kick a bag. Burton is best when he has a bit of space to work with and since oppositions generally doesn't allow our FF a lot of space, Burton would be a bit "hamstrung" there.

He does his best work as a roaming forward.

yeah fair point and as i said to kane before - what i am trying to say is he is best value for us in the forward line now, rather than the wing :thumbsu:

Burton has had a fantastic year he's kicked 37 goals which is nearly in the top ten and he's missed 3 games so he's done that in only 12 games. That's an awesome return imho. The guy is a star you never know what he will do next. I remember he played permanent full forward a few years back and kicked 40-50 goals not 70 goals which someone said he would kick if he was there permanently. Even though i think he's improved as a player since then.
Go birdman.

-Ben

Was just looking at some stats, Burton has averaged 2.9 goals per game. That's 7th in the league.
And just for fun I'm going to compare him to Pavlich EDIT: because they both average 2.9 goals per game.
Burton averages 18.2 disposals per game, 2.3 more than Pav
Burton: 6.6 average marks per game, 1.2 less than Pav, Burton does average 0.1 more contested marks per game though.
Burton, 0.1 more inside 50's per game and 0.6 more rebound 50's
Burton is 0.7 contested possies per match down on Pav but does 1.1 more 1%'s.
Burton: 1.3 more errors per game.

From this, I'm going to make a sweeping statement. Burton > Pavlich and on his day is one of the best and most damaging players in the AFL.
(please note, I don't actually believe that Burton > Pav. I do believe the rest though)

Eggzoi said:
Was just looking at some stats, Burton has averaged 2.9 goals per game. That's 7th in the league.
And just for fun I'm going to compare him to Pavlich
Burton averages 18.2 disposals per game, 2.3 more than Pav
Burton: 6.6 average marks per game, 1.2 less than Pav, Burton does average 0.1 more contested marks per game though.
Burton, 0.1 more inside 50's per game and 0.6 more rebound 50's
Burton is 0.7 contested possies per match down on Pav but does 1.1 more 1%'s.
Burton: 1.3 more errors per game.

From this, I'm going to make a sweeping statement. Burton > Pavlich and on his day is one of the best and most damaging players in the AFL.
(please note, I don't actually believe that Burton > Pav. I do believe the rest though)
Very interesting analysis Eggzoi. :thumbsu:

I would like the best of both worlds, with Hentschel thrown in for good measure.

Forgot to add my main point, the reason for comparing Burton and Pavlich was they both had the same average goals for per game.