Phantom Draft Bishop's 2017 Draft Thread

Sorry, I did not know there were medium forwards. I get lost in all this modern day lingo.
No worries. It's all pretty arbitrary could argue that by game style that Jamie Elliot is more of a KPF than Josh Jenkins who plays like a giant crumber. Hayward is more of a mark and goal player than a pure small but he's good at ground level too.

WA and SA fans get their knickers in a knot every year about their players potentially not being drafted high enough.

I am sure we could also name WA players that get drafted too high each year or Vic players getting drafted too low every year.
It happens, people just need to accept that a majourity of AFL talent will come from the TAC.

The point is reccruiters are clearly getting lazy, to see Graham at 53 or burton at 19 or SPP at 18 means they are spending a lot of time elsewhere and clearly missing some freaks

You clearly forget the good old days when Dean Cox, Matthew Priddis, Sam Mitchell, Brett Kirk, Kieran Jack, Josh Gibson, Matthew Boyd, Aaron Sandilands, Stephen Milne, Brad Sewell, Nick Maxwell, Dale Morris, Shane Mumford and Michael Barlow were either overlooked (a couple of times for some) or only rookied in their draft year.

No-one's lazy. It's simply not an exact science.

You clearly forget the good old days when Dean Cox, Matthew Priddis, Sam Mitchell, Brett Kirk, Kieran Jack, Josh Gibson, Matthew Boyd, Aaron Sandilands, Stephen Milne, Brad Sewell, Nick Maxwell, Dale Morris, Shane Mumford and Michael Barlow were either overlooked (a couple of times for some) or only rookied in their draft year.

How can you miss Eddie Betts

No, they're lazy. As exhibited by a total of three examples including a 5 gamer and a player who suffered a horrendous leg break but was still taken in the first round.

I will be interested to see if list managers will concentrate on the TAC players again this year with a little less work put into SA and WA

4 playesr last year seem to have out played their higher picked opposition by a long way

WA

SPP at pick 18

SA

Haywood at pick 21
Parfit at pick 26
Graham at pick 53

Some abslute guns let slide maybe becvause they arent under the recruiters noses, if you were a recruiter you better earn your dollars and work a bit harder with those 4 sliding so far

Ah yes the old SA & WA person getting their knickers in a knot. Just because these players have shown enough this year doesn't suggest in 10 years time that things will still be that way.

On your theory, Hugh McCluggage had an average year so shouldn't have gone as high as he did last year...

SA and WA players are usually stronger in their first seasons as they are more physically prepared given a lot of them have played league football in their respective states. Anyone could have seen that the likes of SPP and Graham if given the opportunity would fit in easily.

Didn't work for the prince of Norwood James Aish.
images

It was a big year for inside mids as well. There seemed to be some good talent late into the draft.

On Graham, he had a big impact at stoppages for us, crash and bash and plenty of tackles. All things we lacked a little. But there was plenty of luck involved, he was the right player in the right place. Plenty of players end their careers early being the exact opposite.

Hey mate.
Louis Cunningham (Oakleigh/Port Melbourne), a name you mentioned last year as a potential late pick, that never eventuated. Is he any chance this year? What are your views?

No worries. It's all pretty arbitrary could argue that by game style that Jamie Elliot is more of a KPF than Josh Jenkins who plays like a giant crumber. Hayward is more of a mark and goal player than a pure small but he's good at ground level too.
Ha ha. I read that as, Josh Jenkins who plays like a giant cucumber! Which, if I'm being honest, is a more accurate description.

I wish we had picked Graham purely so he didn't play against us in the GF

Ah yes the old SA & WA person getting their knickers in a knot. Just because these players have shown enough this year doesn't suggest in 10 years time that things will still be that way.

On your theory, Hugh McCluggage had an average year so shouldn't have gone as high as he did last year...

SANFL and WA lads do themselves no favours though, we see say someone like ALex Martini play SANFL league footy the entire year last. If he had half a brain he would have been better off playing U18s and dominating where every man and his dog was talking about him instead he plays against crows and power and a bunch of men and gets around 15 to 20 possies a game and doesn't stand out at 17 years of age I'm not surprised

It's an enormous step going from an U18 to league footy like SANFL to AFL but the rigours of a 17 year old body against men is the biggest issue

SANFL and WA lads do themselves no favours though, we see say someone like ALex Martini play SANFL league footy the entire year last. If he had half a brain he would have been better off playing U18s and dominating where every man and his dog was talking about him instead he plays against crows and power and a bunch of men and gets around 15 to 20 possies a game and doesn't stand out at 17 years of age I'm not surprised

It's an enormous step going from an U18 to league footy like SANFL to AFL but the rigours of a 17 year old body against men is the biggest issue

To be frank that's just downright rubbish and fits in with the remainder of your chip-on-shoulder argument.

There were valid concerns as to how Graham's game would translate to the AFL, clearly he is capable of succeeding given his performance on the biggest stage. Recruiters may have collectively undervalued him but it's got nothing to do with the state he hails from (and with time they may well be proven reasonably accurate in their initial assessment as a late draft pick) and everything to do with the style of his success in the 18's. Every year there are sub 180cm strong and stocky little midfielders who sttaistically perform exceptionally strongly against their peers but are adjudged as being a sufficiently likely shot to not make it in the very limited number of positions within an AFL best 22 for such a player.

For Powell-Pepper the question was the level of production he was capable of and the skill to which he disposed of the ball. The admiration of his strengths of being a physical beast and leader of men was widely touted. The concerns were valid (backed by statistics) and shared by myself in watching his final year of junior football. He's already shown in his first year of professional footy that kicking ability is not going to be a hindrance in his career and that there should be no reason production will affect him to a great extent once his midfield minutes inevitably increase. That's a reflection of credit for the young man himself in his desire to improve rather than anything to do with some self-defeating conspiracy by club recruiters

Hey mate.
Louis Cunningham (Oakleigh/Port Melbourne), a name you mentioned last year as a potential late pick, that never eventuated. Is he any chance this year? What are your views?

No interest I'm told. I would've drafted him last year, not this year.

Bishop How did Worpel test and where do you see him going/what clubs would be interested in him?

Bang on average for vertical jumps, speed was just above average at 3.08s, agility was well below average with 8.89s, Yo-Yo of 20.8 was below average and he was pretty much bang on with 6min 52s in the 2km time trial. Both kicking below average.

You do need to remember that he's had one of the biggest seasons in terms of game time, playing in a TAC Cup GF on the Sunday, All Stars on Saturday & then onto the Combine by the Tuesday.

Is in the 30-50 bracket.

Bishop Is Joel garner a good fit for North at pick 21? is that about his range? cheers

Yeah reasonably - he hasn't had a great 2nd half to the season after a decent champs. I definitely had hoped for more - but he's one that I think is a 2nd round prospect.

To be frank that's just downright rubbish and fits in with the remainder of your chip-on-shoulder argument.

There were valid concerns as to how Graham's game would translate to the AFL, clearly he is capable of succeeding given his performance on the biggest stage. Recruiters may have collectively undervalued him but it's got nothing to do with the state he hails from (and with time they may well be proven reasonably accurate in their initial assessment as a late draft pick) and everything to do with the style of his success in the 18's. Every year there are sub 180cm strong and stocky little midfielders who sttaistically perform exceptionally strongly against their peers but are adjudged as being a sufficiently likely shot to not make it in the very limited number of positions within an AFL best 22 for such a player.

For Powell-Pepper the question was the level of production he was capable of and the skill to which he disposed of the ball. The admiration of his strengths of being a physical beast and leader of men was widely touted. The concerns were valid (backed by statistics) and shared by myself in watching his final year of junior football. He's already shown in his first year of professional footy that kicking ability is not going to be a hindrance in his career and that there should be no reason production will affect him to a great extent once his midfield minutes inevitably increase. That's a reflection of credit for the young man himself in his desire to improve rather than anything to do with some self-defeating conspiracy by club recruiters

I wasnt talking about those two players

I mentioned and 17 year old in Martini playing league footy for the League team all year and holding his own but not dominating , would he have been better off dominating in the U/18s and have everyone write up how good he is

We see players like Signorelli and Pohlkoke play SANFL as first year draftess and show about the same as Martini has but are drafted players

I wish we had picked Graham purely so he didn't play against us in the GF

Adelaide didn't, and he did.

Graham is one of those heartwarming stories. Injuries galore, possibly limited array of abilities and kicking seen as OKish. In a fairly strong draft he had enough red flags to drop. It took him most of the season to actually be fit (he nearly had no impact whatsoever on 2017) and then he took the opportunity by the short and curlies. Fitted into the team as a role player. Improved each of his 5 games. Maybe that is pretty much his career. He might be that B grade mid, and A grade battering ram.

So, partly good drafting by the RFC, and partly good timing by him + fantastic application and effort to get fit and have an impact. I'm only a little surprised he slipped. Plenty of young guys with his issues are total failures. And many physically dominant juniors never translate to AFL. That he did so well so fast is unusual.

Every year there are gusy like this that slip through and overcome their issues. Not every year it is in a winning GF :thumbsu::rainbow: