SweetLeftFoot

10k Posts
Hibees
So my best mate right, we went to school together, he's a bright ****er, got higher marks than me in VCE, but he has since proven himself to be pretty much a bludger.

He's got himself a nicely paid but not really challenging public service job and shows no inclination of moving or doing anything to change that.

He happily admits he is a lazy bastard and does the bare possible minimum to get by. And oh my God, since I've been back in Australia, its only now I see how accurate that is.

Now I'm not a super keen go-getter myself - wouldn't spend as much time on here if I was - but I have certainly pushed myself more than him and seen some rewards.

FFS - he goes to the same place (Thailand) on holidays. Yes, he has good mates there but come on, there's more to the world than one place.

I'm not going to judge the ****er. Each to their own. But at the same time, I can't help but wonder if he hasn't missed out on a bit of what life has to offer.

Thoughts?

If he's happy then good on him. Not much more to life than that.

This is true. Hey, he's got two lovely kids and doesn't seem to be afflicted by any great extestential crises.

But at the same time, you can be happy in your own little world but even happier making a bit more of an effort.

You need a new mate, may I suggest Cake?

Sounds like you already have?

Fair call but I'd say I'm tryiong not to judge, more to understand. I dunno, I've been back in Oz for a few months now and miss being in the thick of things like politics etc and am investing plenty of spare time to do so. But my mate just cruises along.

Maybe it says more about me than him.

FFS - he goes to the same place (Thailand) on holidays. Yes, he has good mates there but come on, there's more to the world than one place.

maybe your mate just enjoys ladyboys?

It's probably a bit harsh to call a guy who has a well paying job and is raising two kids (and well from what you said) a bludger to be honest.

A friend of mine was one of the brightest students during high school, dropped out of uni in his first semester, quit both footy and cricket which he was fairly talented in both sports all since turning 18.

3 years on his days would consist of sleeping for 12 hours, watching movies, work at a family shop for 4 hours a night and doing nothing in between.

Still lives with his parents and personally I dont know how he could live like this. I'd be so bored with that lifestyle and having so much free time. But he isnt fussed with all this and his just happy to cruise along doing sweet **** all.

Have a feeling when he reaches mid to late 20's this will come back & he will regret this.

Fair call but I'd say I'm tryiong not to judge, more to understand. I dunno, I've been back in Oz for a few months now and miss being in the thick of things like politics etc and am investing plenty of spare time to do so. But my mate just cruises along.

Maybe it says more about me than him.

We are an outpost down here in Australia. There is something very provincial about it all. It's realtively easy to rack up the materialistic 'life points' here: good job <tick>; house <tick>; 2 week holiday to Asia <tick>. And so it goes. But there is more to offer out there. Like testing yourself against the world.

There's a De Bono quote that is kind of apt for this discussion. It goes something like this, 'without creativity there is only repetition and routine'.

We are an outpost down here in Australia. There is something very provincial about it all. It's realtively easy to rack up the materialistic 'life points' here: good job <tick>; house <tick>; 2 week holiday to Asia <tick>. And so it goes. But there is more to offer out there. Like testing yourself against the world.

There's a De Bono quote that is kind of apt for this discussion. It goes something like this, 'without creativity there is only repetition and routine'.

I've really noticed this since I got back. People do seem pretty easily pleased down here.

Still lives with his parents and personally I dont know how he could live like this. I'd be so bored with that lifestyle and having so much free time. But he isnt fussed with all this and his just happy to cruise along doing sweet **** all.

Have a feeling when he reaches mid to late 20's this will come back & he will regret this.

this.

I know people who have been like this as well. all bright, all did well in high school, but simply couldn't be bothered going to uni and bettering themselves. some still work at the same retail store they worked at eight years ago and their lives consist of going to work during the week to earn enough money to go out and get shitfaced on the weekend, and that's it.

This is true. Hey, he's got two lovely kids and doesn't seem to be afflicted by any great extestential crises.

But at the same time, you can be happy in your own little world but even happier making a bit more of an effort.

Sounds like happier for you means more money - obviously he doesnt feel that way. Hes got a job, get off his back.

That's a fair call. But I suppose its the lack of ambition that I wonder about.

Agree, I don't really understand people who lack ambition. I guess its down to how you were raised as a kid.

I have a mate (or a few actually) who have absolutely no ambitions whatsoever.

first one isn't the brightest but he isn't ******ed either, he likes music, so did a course on DJing at Tafe. Of course this lead to him having no job opportunities and never really looked for another job.
Works at IGA a few days a week, had no license and was actually offered an apprenticeship as a sparky and turned it down because he doesn't want to do hand on work....

The next guy was real smart throughout high school, took Chem, Physics, Calc, Lit and applic.
Bombed out in his exams due to lack of commitment to study, got a TEE score of about 60, which will get you into ECU or.... ECU
Decided he would get into uni through tafe instead (wanted to be an engineer). Did this for a year, decided it wasnt for him.
Took a course doing personal training, set up his own business etc but has no clients so he quit that.

He is now looking for a job as a bartender and gets ridiculously ****ed up every weekend on coke, pills, alcohol you name it he probably does it.
He also has a shit load of debt which his parents regularly bail him out of. They recently paid off $4,000 of credit card debt for him :confused:
All he used that money for was to buy a laptop and spent the rest on living expenses..

Sounds like happier for you means more money - obviously he doesnt feel that way. Hes got a job, get off his back.

Nah, the opposite actually. I'm in a position now where I'm angling for a job that will pay me less but be far more interesting, exciting and rewarding in other ways.

True, if I get it said job would position me to make more cash in the future, but essentially, that's not what it is about.

this.

I know people who have been like this as well. all bright, all did well in high school, but simply couldn't be bothered going to uni and bettering themselves. some still work at the same retail store they worked at eight years ago and their lives consist of going to work during the week to earn enough money to go out and get shitfaced on the weekend, and that's it.

I think this is what I am becoming more and more. I'm not sure what my problem is but. I worked so hard at school, got a very nice score at the end of it, got into exactly what I wanted and now feel like uni isn't for me. Although I find working great because I know I'm earning money and it doesn't feel like wasted time. I am trying to find some way to push through it but I dunno, just not working for me.

I'm in a position now where I'm angling for a job that will pay me less but be far more interesting, exciting and rewarding in other ways.
I really don't understand this, and have a hard time believing people when they say they do a job because they love it and it's rewarding (would you do it for nothing? yeah, nah). My life goal is to find the easiest job with the highest paying rate.

I think this is what I am becoming more and more. I'm not sure what my problem is but. I worked so hard at school, got a very nice score at the end of it, got into exactly what I wanted and now feel like uni isn't for me. Although I find working great because I know I'm earning money and it doesn't feel like wasted time. I am trying to find some way to push through it but I dunno, just not working for me.

Go do some travelling. Live and work (in some crappy job that's not 'career focused') for a year or so. Go to a few places outside your comfort zone. That's what I'd recommend.

^ agreed.

I was the same way with uni end of my first year, just had had enough of it all. so I took the first semester of second year off and just chilled, did a bit of traveling and all that, and came back part-time for the second semester. sometimes you just need a break and do something completely different from everything you're used to get your mind re-focused.

what's a year, anyway?