Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham - Statement from Barham addressing Merrett etc - 12/9

Southwark Stout is (was) better. I haven't had it since the West End Brewery (where Southwark beers were made) was shut down so not sure whether it tastes the same these days.
Had it - agree. Was sensational.

Wasn’t it about 7.5%?

Yep.

Have to say though of everything they've tried since nailing the bejesus out of Pale, Sparkling, Dark, Stout and Vintage they haven't gotten a beer to the same standard since.

Neither XPA or Session Ale or whatever blue is called now are well balanced.

There is a funny labelled, maybe 'Australian Pale' that came in 4 packs as cans which is extremely good, Coopers standard but I've not seen it recently.

Coopers are a bit of a funny one. They're trying to push into new territory to take market share from other breweries who are doing new-world style beers (hop forward, more aromatic craft beers like XPAs/IPAs/some Pale varieties/Pacific Ales etc) but their production setup doesn't facilitate those kinds of beers, so they're kind of trying to shoehorn the production methods they know (for slower fermented, bottle conditioned, 'traditional' beers) into these more modern styles and the result isn't great.

They also have their house yeast strain which is basically their signature and a huge part of the 'Coopers-ness' of all of their beers, which they're persisting with using on modern beer styles (which generally should have minimal yeast character) even though it doesn't lend itself to those kinds of beers at all

it wasn't a year ago.

They did have an Irish red, can't remember its name & Tetley on tap. the Irish red was nice.
im iffy on Tetley.
Also London Pride, which my east Londoner FiL swears by.
Yeah I discovered it is one of the rotating ones rather than a full timer, but it is certainly there right now (never mind how I know this)

Over the last few years for obvious reasons supply chain issues (particularly from Europe/UK) has made it very difficult to get those kinds of beers into Australia in kegs reliably, at the same price they used to, and in good condition. Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watsons have both had to move towards more local offerings to fill their taps instead, as have most venues that have a similar beer focus unfortunately. This stuff may have started trickling back into the country now but last I was in at SH (about 6 months ago) the tap lineup was pretty lacking in those UK options.
They seem to be getting back - they certainly have increased their Australian craft beer supply - likely from supply issues - but they have a decent range of UK beers now which is good. I’m an ale person, and the UK do them better than most others. I confess to drinking a bit of coopers pretty regularly at home, but I reckon the sparkling ale is better in the bottle - pale is better on tap. It’s only through reading this thread that I discovered that Coopers was a bit bogan. I always thought I was kind of refined.

Coopers are a bit of a funny one. They're trying to push into new territory to take market share from other breweries who are doing new-world style beers (hop forward, more aromatic craft beers like XPAs/IPAs/some Pale varieties/Pacific Ales etc) but their production setup doesn't facilitate those kinds of beers, so they're kind of trying to shoehorn the production methods they know (for slower fermented, bottle conditioned, 'traditional' beers) into these more modern styles and the result isn't great.

They also have their house yeast strain which is basically their signature and a huge part of the 'Coopers-ness' of all of their beers, which they're persisting with using on modern beer styles (which generally should have minimal yeast character) even though it doesn't lend itself to those kinds of beers at all

This is interesting and explains a lot.

The XPA is just too much and its almost like the hops hasn't had a chance to react with the beer. The hops in the XPA and even diluted as it is in the Pacific grates.

They did, however, nail this: Liquorland | Buy Beer, Wine, Spirits & Ciders at Great Prices

They should rebrand the XPA as the Australian IPA with the purple label. It's everything I expected when I tried to think what green/coopers would task like as an IPA.

You seem to know a lot about their beers. Given your username I thought you might prefer cheap wine.

They seem to be getting back - they certainly have increased their Australian craft beer supply - likely from supply issues - but they have a decent range of UK beers now which is good. I’m an ale person, and the UK do them better than most others. I confess to drinking a bit of coopers pretty regularly at home, but I reckon the sparkling ale is better in the bottle - pale is better on tap. It’s only through reading this thread that I discovered that Coopers was a bit bogan. I always thought I was kind of refined.
Yeah I never thought it was bogan beer. I’m with you, I thought it was kind of refined too.

Appreciate the tip.

I never pour my stubbies into a glass, perhaps I’m a Neanderthal.

You need to get on to eating chocolate bars with a knife and fork too.

I tend to think everything is better in a glass, like decanting wine, but the difference with a larger is negligible, for example. CUB, everything in the range, Japanese beers, Dutch and even the lighter German beers, the less malty Italian beers too. It makes little difference.

It's the richer beers that need to breathe. Anything dark or with a high alcohol content. Its not really the done thing but hoppy pales should be in a glass too. It's almost like mixing the flavour through the liquid evenly

Sorry, not sure if it’s been raised here or elsewhere. But am I the only one who agrees with Kane Cornes about the footy trip?

Are our players really going overseas rather than staying to watch teams who made finals?

If that’s the case it’s hard not to question the commitment to this current group.

Sorry, not sure if it’s been raised here or elsewhere. But am I the only one who agrees with Kane Cornes about the footy trip?

Are our players really going overseas rather than staying to watch teams who made finals?

If that’s the case it’s hard not to question the commitment to this current group.
Yes. These guys work 5 days in a week for 10 months a year. Going on a trip after their footy season is done.

Players don't really need to analyse what the finals teams do. That's the job for the coaches and analysts at the club.

The fact that 2/3 of the list are there is actually a promising sign rather than a negative sign

Yes. These guys work 5 days in a week for 10 months a year. Going on a trip after their footy season is done.

Players don't really need to analyse what the finals teams do. That's the job for the coaches and analysts at the club.

The fact that 2/3 of the list are there is actually a promising sign rather than a negative sign
Fair points, I was more thinking in terms of prompting motivation for next year. For example, didn’t sheedy make the 1999 prelim team go and watch the 1999 grand final?

That’s more what I was thinking. But perhaps I am a dinosaur.