bodes first half

• Thread starter Thread starter bigman

bigman said:
Another disappointing effort from him today when the game should suit him.:mad:

He has not played a really good game for weeks - since his injury.:(

He does not kick enough goals and is too slow for a little man.

He tackles well ,but that is often because his man beats him to the ball.

He needs a big second half.
I too was disappointed by Bode's game - looked slow ... & he has struggled for a few weeks.

However, he was not alone yesterday. He has more points in the bank than Porplyzia (who looked injured - missed 2 goals he would normally get), so I doubt he would get dropped ... but would want to pick up his game to stay in the side with injured players returning.

macca23 said:
I can recall one. I don't know where the other 4 came from.
Another game or different player! Buddy Franklin was the player our defence struggled to contain.

Some people should stop judging on reputation & watch the game closely ... particularly with Craig getting the most from our unheralded players.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Huh?

Stevens spent most of the game on the disappointing Croad ... ran off him & used the ball well. Can't recall him costing us 5 goals.
Yeah it was a dumb (drunken) post.
Thank god i didn't post on best players or any other threads.
That said Stevens was ordinary yesterday. IMO looked almost out of place at the game, but didn't look anywhere near as bad on the replay.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Another game or different player! Buddy Franklin was the player our defence struggled to contain.

Some people should stop judging on reputation & watch the game closely ... particularly with Craig getting the most from our unheralded players.
Off your horse mate!

I reckon the 3 times i have watched the game i have paid pretty close attention.

Roo, Burton, Trent, Kenny and either Goody or Thommo have dibs on 5 of the 6 forward spots. So IMO that leaves Porp and Bode fighting it out for the small forward position. So who is the better player? As much as I love the way Bodey plays, I think Porp is a more damaging player.

macca23 said:
I can recall one. I don't know where the other 4 came from.
I can recall one as well but I can also recall half a dozen instances in the first half where he saved our bacon in the backline. Stevens' good far outweighed the bad yesterday. IMHO he was just about our best player in the first half when it was a true dogfight.

crows98 said:
Of course I am being serious; Mathew Bode is in no way AA form but saying that he is not a liability to the success of the side.

In my opinion he has not played a game this year where he deserved to be dropped, sure he has had quiet days but so does everyone.

Can you enlighten me to a round where his performance has not been up to scratch and given the match committee a reason to drop him?

Don’t talk about stats and his efficacy to burn the ball because anyone can make a stat tell any story they want, and everyone know that stats lie?

What about the weeks since his injury Crows 98 and the last two or three weeks in particular.

Get the stats befoer and after his injury - I think you will find a noticable diffference in possessions, goals per game and even tackles.

I dont think the club should accept mediocity.

Bodes form in recent weeks has been mediocre in recent times more so than any other player in the 22.

His head must be on the chopping block with Welsh, Perrie, Hart, Bock, Van Berlo all ready or close to resuming.

If he can lift his game well Ill stop writing he should be dropped.

bigman said:
What about the weeks since his injury Crows 98 and the last two or three weeks in particular.

Get the stats befoer and after his injury - I think you will find a noticable diffference in possessions, goals per game and even tackles.

I dont think the club should accept mediocity.

Bodes form in recent weeks has been mediocre in recent times more so than any other player in the 22.

His head must be on the chopping block with Welsh, Perrie, Hart, Bock, Van Berlo all ready or close to resuming.

If he can lift his game well Ill stop writing he should be dropped.

cmon Bigman - you are a smart bloke (at least in footy terms :D ) and i respect your opinion. But Bode will only go out of the side for a similar type of player - Porps or Vince seem the obvious replacements. The fact that a FF, CHF, BP, CHB and HBF/tagger are coming back into the team isnt that relelevant I wouldnt have thought to a small forward line crumber/tackler (near best in league)

SpringChoke said:
Roo, Burton, Trent, Kenny and either Goody or Thommo have dibs on 5 of the 6 forward spots. So IMO that leaves Porp and Bode fighting it out for the small forward position. So who is the better player? As much as I love the way Bodey plays, I think Porp is a more damaging player.
Good question Springy. I prefer Porplyzia too, but his game on the WE was no better than Bode.

The Crows Truth said:
cmon Bigman - you are a smart bloke (at least in footy terms :D ) and i respect your opinion. But Bode will only go out of the side for a similar type of player - Porps or Vince seem the obvious replacements. The fact that a FF, CHF, BP, CHB and HBF/tagger are coming back into the team isnt that relelevant I wouldnt have thought to a small forward line crumber/tackler (near best in league)

We might have to rejig the team in the next few weeks to accommodate Hart, Bock etc.

Thi might mean a Macca, Doughty, Edwards, Stiffy playing up forward in Bodes place or even Welshy, who can play small as well as tall.

The selectors would be reticent though to move Stiffy and Macca off half back, as they provide so much drive from there.

bigman said:
We might have to rejig the team in the next few weeks to accommodate Hart, Bock etc.

Thi might mean a Macca, Doughty, Edwards, Stiffy playing up forward in Bodes place or even Welshy, who can play small as well as tall.

The selectors would be reticent though to move Stiffy and Macca off half back, as they provide so much drive from there.
I was going to post something similar.

Fitting in Hart, along with JT, Matter & Massie is going to be near impossible unless there is a rejigging of the side - particularly Macca playing centre(wing)/forward ... as long as we can keep him loose, as his drive has been phenominal with his disposal.

bigman said:

DO NOT play with fire. Moving macca and stiffy from their current positions will be a recipe for disaster. I'd say that those injured players have to fight their way back into the side somehow. Craig will know what to do. There's no way we need to experiment structurally with our side as we're are doing well atm with the current crop of players in the side. If a replacement be made, it definitely needs to be a player that plays a similar type position/role

FCAGJAT said:
DO NOT play with fire. Moving macca and stiffy from their current positions will be a recipe for disaster. I'd say that those injured players have to fight their way back into the side somehow. Craig will know what to do. There's no way we need to experiment structurally with our side as we're are doing well atm with the current crop of players in the side. If a replacement be made, it definitely needs to be a player that plays a similar type position/role

I definately agree. Why change players around now when they are playing so good in their current positions. They have earned their spot, and yes it will be hard not to slot some of those big names straight back in but they would have to make equal contribution or better to go back in and this may have to come at SANFL level. Im sure though that Craigy will have this all worked out and will make the appropriate calls.