whythelongface

QPR, Feyenoord, Newtown, Veendam
Now this term gets bandied about a fair bit when discussing certain styles of music. For instance in the "Greatest Aussie Song" thread Run to Paradise by the Choirboys is labelled as bogan music. Why? What is bogan music? Is it music that appeals to "westies" (whatever that term describes).

In my youth I used to love the Angels, AC/DC and Rose Tattoo (I still listen occassionally to these bands) are these bands considered bogan music? I have even read, on other posts here, that Nirvana are producers of bogan music.

So come on folks let's discuss what you think is bogan music and what bands fit into this "genre".

Meatloaf
Pearl Jam
Bon Jovi
Guns N Roses
Metallica
Soundgarden
RATM
Enimen
Pat Benetar
Motley Crue
Led Zepplin
Van Halen
Rush
Aerosmith

Meatloaf
Pearl Jam
Bon Jovi
Guns N Roses
Metallica
Soundgarden
RATM
Enimen
Pat Benetar
Motley Crue
Led Zepplin
Van Halen
Rush
Aerosmith

Some bands in there that I like esp Zep. Interested to read your comments as to why they are considered "bogan". Is it mainly the audience that this music appeals to?

Ridiculous term ... for d!ckheads who like to place themselves into a catagory that is in thier small , narrow little minds ...in someway superior to others and that they have a place in the world to pass pious judgement on others ... which they don`t .... even

if appreciating fine music and musicianship that includes bands such as Van Halen and Led Zepplin makes me a bogan then i better dust off the Mokkies and get the Faberge` stretch out :thumbsu::rolleyes:...

Ridiculous term ... for d!ckheads who like to place themselves into a catagory that is in thier small , narrow little minds ...in someway superior to others and that they have a place in the world to pass pious judgement on others ... which they don`t .... even

if appreciating fine music and musicianship that includes bands such as Van Halen and Led Zepplin makes me a bogan then i better dust off the Mokkies and get the Faberge` stretch out :thumbsu::rolleyes:...

Wether you like it or not music isn't just music.

It isn't just a pleasant noise we enjoy, it has more far reaching influences on society from fashion to social ideals.

Most music genres have a start and a history within certain social groups in society.

Some groups trascend their roots while others stay more deeply rooted within that culture.

Wether you like it or not music isn't just music.

It isn't just a pleasant noise we enjoy, it has more far reaching influences on society from fashion to social ideals.

Most music genres have a start and a history within certain social groups in society.

Some groups trascend their roots while others stay more deeply rooted within that culture.
totally agree and a good post .... but who the f..k decides whats "Bogan" ?

The term "Bogan" ... in my view ... is a purely negative and derogatory one , used by people who think they are superior to others whom in thier view .."Lack class and education , smoke ciggis and drink beer , watchs footy and dress trashily " .. correct ?

Who says a Rhodes scholar who lives in Toorak and drinks Chardonnay can`t dig a bit of Jimmy Page or Edward VH ....?

The term "Bogan" ... in my view ... is a purely negative and derogatory one , used by people who think they are superior to others whom in thier view .."Lack class and education , smoke ciggis and drink beer , watchs footy and dress trashily " .. correct ?

Who says a Rhodes scholar who lives in Toorak and drinks Chardonnay can`t dig a bit of Jimmy Page or Edward VH ....?

Well in essence there's bogan the attitude and bogan the fashion sense.

Some embrace/encompasse both parts of it while others embrace part there of.

I don't agree with some people saying Rush or Lez Zeppelin are bogan bands, to me they aren't.

If someone says a band is a bogan band it doesnt mean the band has no talent or is a terrible band it merely means the majority of people who like it fall into the above categories you listed.

Good post. Exactly there are lots of "yuppies" that would like so called "bogan" music such as Barnesy. Does this make them a bogan?

There's also the scozza, and they shouldn't be confused with the bogan.

The scozza is the guy who always wears spme kind of heavy metal t-shirt where ever he goes out.

The difference is the scozza is generally quite knowledgable when it comes to music and more often than not is a player of an instrument themselves.

Meatloaf
Pearl Jam
Bon Jovi
Guns N Roses
Metallica
Soundgarden
RATM
Enimen
Pat Benetar
Motley Crue
Led Zepplin
Van Halen
Rush
Aerosmith

I'd agree with maybe... three or four of them, at most. Bogans like Aussie music, for starters. Whythelongface's suggestions like AC/DC and the Angels are much closer to the mark.

I'd have AC/DC as a scozza band less so than a bogan band.

AC/DC fans are very dedicated over a long time and are always pretty knowledgable.

So are these bands producers of bogan music or are the fans of these bands bogans? Like I said I like these bands but I certainly wouldn't be considered a bogan (well at least I like to think not).

Most bogans i know of these days listen to eminem, dr.dre and snoop. They wear beanies and nylon eminem shirts in the middle of summer,weight 50 pounds soaking wet and drive clapped out VL's or EA's and are smelly and greasy. An acdc/gunners bogan is some old school shiat!

Grandpa music.

Wiggers! :D

I'm not entirely sure that Zeppelin or Van Halen are bogan bands, but a few of their songs appeal to bogans. They also appeal to non-bogans, so I'm not sure why those artists were mentioned.

I'd have AC/DC as a scozza band less so than a bogan band.

AC/DC fans are very dedicated over a long time and are always pretty knowledgable.
I like a couple of AC/DC's albums and many of their fans aren't bogans, but you would have to admit whenever you think AC/DC, you think of the 70s and hotted up Torana's with yobbos/bogans singing High Voltage. ;) A larger proportion of AC/DC's fans would be bogans than most other bands. It doesn't mean they're crap, or are bogans themselves, just that they have a large bogan fanbase. The same can be said of Cold CHisel and Jimmy Barnes.