Society & Culture Bogan

Dickie Greenleaf

I'm reading about bogans more and more on the internetz, but I struggle to find a definitive description these days.
When I was a young stripling, a bogan was a pretty obvious species; rats tail, open flanny with an AC/DC tee, ball crushing levis (preferably stonewash), hotted up car with a blaring metal/pub rock soundtrack.
But the lines seem to have blurred a bit recently with everything that is in poor taste now grouped as bogan.
Can somebody help?
What is a bogan these days?

An Australian in Bali or Thailand

*wearing a Bintang singlet.

Bogans, to me, wear trackies every day, ugg boots/moccasins, that sort of thing.

Any particular individual that a latte-sipping, inner-city member of the chattering classes has a dislike for. Preferably this individual would live beyond a Camberwell/Brunswick/Yarraville semi-circle. This seems to be the new definition (apologies to any latte-sipping urbanites who aren't judgemental prigs).

Think Craigieburn and Frankston. Holden driving, VB drinking, Bathurst watching, Boost Juice-sipping types of people. There's been an increasing trend of the bogan getting his hands on Corona too.

Bogans aren't bad people however. They see things simply and take you at face value. Some of the most pleasant people I've met have been bogans. Their simplicity can also be a curse at times however.

If you're born in Australia then you will more than likely have a trait that someone would consider bogan. Whether that be your taste in music/tv/movies, clothes, twang accent, you like afl, you like rugby, the fact that you drink latte or you don't, you drive a bmw (yep, someone told me that is a bogan car).

Bogan has become an all encompassing name for an Australian. Eventually bogan will be defined as 'someone born on the largest island on the planet.

If you're born in Australia then you will more than likely have a trait that someone would consider bogan. Whether that be your taste in music/tv/movies, clothes, twang accent, you like afl, you like rugby, the fact that you drink latte or you don't, you drive a bmw (yep, someone told me that is a bogan car).

Bogan has become an all encompassing name for an Australian. Eventually bogan will be defined as 'someone born on the largest island on the planet.

This, pretty much.

In reference to sport, i've heard it said only the 'bogan type' follows the soccer in England, i wouldnt know cos ive never been but it was an interesting comment.

It just seems to me that calling someone a 'bogan' has become the new putdown.

But who really cares...

Did you watch Bathurst? Then you're a bogan.

If you think I'm wrong - you're a bogan.

:)

Agree that the waters have been muddied regarding bogan definition. One thing that i have always wondered though, do bogans consider themselves or refer to themselves as bogans? Do they wear it as a bade of honour?

Southern cross tats, teen pregnancy, bundy rum, jackets/shirts with holden/ford logo's, jackets/shirts with energy drink logos on them etc etc

Agree that the waters have been muddied regarding bogan definition. One thing that i have always wondered though, do bogans consider themselves or refer to themselves as bogans? Do they wear it as a bade of honour?

I reckon some would. The ones driving around in their ute, wearing a flanno shirt, sporting a fine mullet, would SURELY know they are a bogan, or at least, bogan-ish.

Southern cross tats, teen pregnancy, bundy rum, jackets/shirts with holden/ford logo's, jackets/shirts with energy drink logos on them etc etc

I saw a bloke a the supermarket a couple of years ago with a Holden jacket & a Ford cap?!?!?!? WTF ? i was expecting a fellow bogan to threaten him with a "which f**en one is it buddy, can't be both!".

Other clothing they like to wear (at least here in Tassie) is motorcycle clothing eg Fox racing. Disagree with the bundy rum though, i usually find that is associated with your country types, you know, ute, big mud flaps, brahma bull stickers, 427 arials...

I saw a bloke a the supermarket a couple of years ago with a Holden jacket & a Ford cap?!?!?!? WTF ? i was expecting a fellow bogan to threaten him with a "which f**en one is it buddy, can't be both!".

Other clothing they like to wear (at least here in Tassie) is motorcycle clothing eg Fox racing. Disagree with the bundy rum though, i usually find that is associated with your country types, you know, ute, big mud flaps, brahma bull stickers, 427 arials...

Sounds like quite the identity crisis!

You called?

200520-bogan.jpg

- Flannies
- Skin tight black/acid wash jeans
- Moccasins
- Green tattoos
- White socks with black jeans
- Singlet tops
- Ford/Holden T-Shirts
- Beanies that have been washed so many times they have got cotton fluff all over them
- Mullets & Tails
- AC/DC, Cold Chisel, Jimmy Barnes, The Angels, Metallica, Pantera, Guns & Roses
- Commodores and falcons lowered with fats / Sandmans with bubble windows, fluffy dice and stickers that read: "If this Van's rocking don't bother knocking"

Gimme a god ol' bogan over a hipster douchebag any day o' the week.

Bogan's are generally no-nonsense kinda folk, you know where you stand.

Bogan's are comfortable in their own skin, not slavishly adhering to the latest trend or fad.

Bogan's are anti-authority, a god ol' Aussie trait that's been lost on the majority of the population.

Bogan's aren't racist, I know bogans from many different ethnic backgrounds. Immigrants tend to settle in the more affordable areas of our cities i.e. bogan heartland. Multiculturalism works well in Boganville.

Bogans can drink

Is there anything wrong with Rose Tattoo and AC/DC?

The use of the term bogan in it's perjorative sense is an extremely lazy one, used by those who like to consider themselves socially and culturally superior. Flogs!

4958751693_449c29b41b_o.jpg

These guys are our uncles

To me, a bogan is incredibly racist, and intolerant of anything or anyone who doesn't fit the bill of what you would see on your average VB ad.

In saying that, my definition is probably borderline feral rather than bogan.

I disagree with the poster that says bogans are better than hipsters. For some reason I feel very peaceful and at ease around hipsters. They're harmless and sweet.

I feel the opposite around pure bogans, they are tempremental.

What's the difference between "pure" and "unpure" bogans?

pure bogan is an old skool bogan who drink jack daniels on trams as well as spit, wear flannel shirts, treat their girlfriends like rubbish and live in commission flats.

Refer to my earlier post for the broader definition of a bogan.