Rumour Bombers after Sidebottom

Tbh I don't think Hutchy even actually said that Essendon were chasing Sidebottom.

Pretty sure he mentioned they were chasing un-contracted players and mentioned that Sidebottom was coming out of contract at the end of the year.

Could be wrong though.

doesn't matter.. that's enough for a 100 post thread on bigfooty.

if that's how he said it then it's worse IMO, rather irresponsible journalism.. if he has a statement to make he needs to just make it and have the confident that his sources are correct.

if he says it the way you suggested and leaves it open for the viewers to draw their own conclusion.. that is just tabloid trash type journalism (not that we expect any better from him)

we can make that link with anyone..

example:
"Collingwood needs a key position forward"

"lance franklin is out of contract this year" (he probably isnt but that's beside my point)

draw your own conclusions ;)

both facts may be correct but if misused can manufacture a 3rd story that doesnt even exist..

Tbh I don't think Hutchy even actually said that Essendon were chasing Sidebottom.

Pretty sure he mentioned they were chasing un-contracted players and mentioned that Sidebottom was coming out of contract at the end of the year.

Could be wrong though.
A journo specialising in "breaking stories" putting two and two together ???
Hmm.
I'd be worried if we weren't chasing good young players (seems a pretty cunning plan), and I'd be worried if we didn't have a little sniff around guys like Sidebottom.

sniff around bottom... he he. dirty.

Well maybe they should have drafted him then...:rolleyes: what was he, pick 30 or something? they had their chance

The Welsh trade and responses that followed provided me with my Friday arvo lol's.

In all honesty this is one of those rubbish non-stories that get floated on slow news weeks to get people talking.

Are Essendon interested in Steele of course, he is a quality young player but it's just not going to happen. With the GC getting first crack at uncontracted players and the compromised draft Essendon would have to pay well over the odds for us to accept a trade and quiet simply they don't have / wouldn't be willing to trade what would be needed to get the job done.

The Welsh trade and responses that followed provided me with my Friday arvo lol's.

In all honesty this is one of those rubbish non-stories that get floated on slow news weeks to get people talking.

Are Essendon interested in Steele of course, he is a quality young player but it's just not going to happen. With the GC getting first crack at uncontracted players and the compromised draft Essendon would have to pay well over the odds for us to accept a trade and quiet simply they don't have / wouldn't be willing to trade what would be needed to get the job done.

Even if got that Far. Think he be Re-Signed by Season's End

Hutchy is such a spick, leech etc etc.

That $1m offer is bullshit and would never get him to the Bombers. If its money we are talking about, that offer would be doubled by Gold Coast or GWS.

How ground breaking lol. $330,000 a year.

I dont reckon $1m over years is enough. I reckon the pies will see that and raise em!!

Essendon would have to give up Hurley and their first draft pick for Collingwood to even think about a possibility.

No he didn't, he went for Essendon. But who was the last bloke that left a club he was getting a game for just to play for the team he supported as a kid? Especially one that is top 4 to go to one that is bottom 8.

He did go for essendon as a kid but it means nothing when you get drafted. Look at Judd he barricked for Melbourne all his life, they wanted him and he rejected them. That all changes once you get drafted and i cant remember a player leaving teams to go to the team the supporterd when they were younger.

Why would we trade him? There's no law against not trading him.

He is out of contract so IF he wanted to he could walk for naught, I think the GC are also sniffing at him.

What club wouldn't he will be an elite player in 2 - 3 years.

Really hope the club makes him a priority signing.

If a team paid over the odds, I wouldn't be worried if he left. He's a talented player, but as I've said before, he's no future superstar. He'll be a very good player, but if we got a top 10 pick and good player for him, I wouldn't be unhappy. Not sure who Essendon have that I would want. Probably Patrick Ryder. Hurley or Gumbleton possibly, but I would do a straight swap of Ryder for him.

Not going to happen, at least under Malthouse's watch, but again, every player has a price. If Gold Coast and West Sydney are willing to overpay with draftpicks for some of our players I hope we don't flick them off due to some stupid player loyalty. Every player has a price.

Well done Knighter :thumbsu:

Well the offer has been put forward however I seriously doubt that he would leave. He looks like a Collingwood player, and I dont ever remember a top 11 pick draftee maybe bar Thompson leaving after two seasons.

Having said that 330 odd k a year for three seasons is certainly over the odds for an unproven but highly talented young player.

If I were Collwingwood, I'd certainly be upping the current offer.

I personally think he will stay, but hey I said Essendon are all dead shits if we drafted Mark Williams and I wasnt wrong about that.

You weren't wrong - Essendon are dead shits

i can tell you now Sidebottom isn't going anywhere. He is Collingwood through and through. Heard Essendon and GWS were into him, but will re-sign with the pies. Also we are heading the list of Boaks preferences to head back to Melbourne.

id hate to be the devils advocate... and im in no way inferring to what sidebottom would do...

but if i was drafted by the dons and collingwood came knocking i'd pack my bags before you could count to 10.

i can tell you now Sidebottom isn't going anywhere. He is Collingwood through and through. Heard Essendon and GWS were into him, but will re-sign with the pies. Also we are heading the list of Boaks preferences to head back to Melbourne.

How do you know this Info? I am been getting the same mail too

id hate to be the devils advocate... and im in no way inferring to what sidebottom would do...

but if i was drafted by the dons and collingwood came knocking i'd pack my bags before you could count to 10.
You say that but by the time you make mates at the club and become part of the clubs culture it is hard to leave.

5 years ago mate of mine was hoping he got drafted by Collingwood..I'd always bag him saying that we wouldn't pick him anyway. he'd always say he'll prove himself at another club and get a trade at the first op. Well he got drafted by the Crows that year and is a regular.. now when I ask him if he's still going to trade he says "when hell freezes over" ;)

Probably wouldn't be best 22 anyway.