Bottom 4

I had a bloke come around to install an antenna at my house on Friday night. We started talking football and it turns out he's an Essendon supporter. He crapped on about how useless Knights is and then made some irrelevant point that conveniently came back to a story about how he once played on and beat Chris Grant in Daylesford, which he assured me was "not big noting" himself, merely making a point.

We start talking about the swans and he goes "Yeah, I reckon youse blokes will be in a bit of trouble over the next few years when your older blokes retire". I nearly punched him in the face and told him to get the **** out of my house. Instead I gave him a brief summary of our list and pointed out that the only player of note retiring over the next few years is Kirk. Of course, he just stared at me blankly and went back to talking about the bombers.

It was like somebody had merged the collective football knowledge of bigfooty and channelled it into a bogan with a beanie:thumbsu:

lol what do you expect, his team things rebuilding is throwing an ass full of new talent into there side with the exclusion of 2-3 oldies.

Sydney do it the right way with 6-7 new stars on the rise and recruiting mid 20 ish blokes who are already fit and strong.

I had a bloke come around to install an antenna at my house on Friday night. We started talking football and it turns out he's an Essendon supporter. He crapped on about how useless Knights is and then made some irrelevant point that conveniently came back to a story about how he once played on and beat Chris Grant in Daylesford, which he assured me was "not big noting" himself, merely making a point.

We start talking about the swans and he goes "Yeah, I reckon youse blokes will be in a bit of trouble over the next few years when your older blokes retire". I nearly punched him in the face and told him to get the **** out of my house. Instead I gave him a brief summary of our list and pointed out that the only player of note retiring over the next few years is Kirk. Of course, he just stared at me blankly and went back to talking about the bombers.

It was like somebody had merged the collective football knowledge of bigfooty and channelled it into a bogan with a beanie:thumbsu:

Even if the whole of NSW developed an encyclopedic knowledge of Australian football and became more knowledgable on the subject than Victorians, I still think Victorians would continue treating NSWelshmen the same way.

Best just to ignore them and focus on the swans. Most know **** all outside their own teams.

If it's respect we're seeking, it will be in vain. They will never give it.

Posted 2-2-2010

Don't think I was too far off the mark. Personally thought the Crows would finish lower than I had them in my rankings, but decided against having them much lower on reflection. **** I wish I didn't reflect. :p

3 wins for North (14th-16th) wasn't very close. :p Will rack up win 11 this week. ;)

And what was your prediction of the Swans at the start of the year? Bottom 4, like everyone else?

I don't make predictions, for good reason. Those who do make predictions are guessing and don't know what they are talking about.

The biggest limiting factor is injuries. You lose a few people that are hard to replace and your fortunes can plummet. You don't know how your form will be from week to week or how it compares to the opposition or how extra motivated they will be for various reasons be it milestones, winning too many in a row, losing too many in a row, etc.

You can look at a squad and say I think on paper they should be about here but teams very rarely finish where they should be. Take Freo, how could anyone predict so many first/second year players would peak for form at the same time. People will then be motivated to put them high next year but they will get a tougher draw, players could hit second year blues, could get more injuries earlier than than they did this season, etc.

Predicting is a mug's game and if you managed to get some remotely accurate it is more out of luck than great knowledge.

I don't make predictions, for good reason. Those who do make predictions are guessing and don't know what they are talking about.

The biggest limiting factor is injuries. You lose a few people that are hard to replace and your fortunes can plummet. You don't know how your form will be from week to week or how it compares to the opposition or how extra motivated they will be for various reasons be it milestones, winning too many in a row, losing too many in a row, etc.

You can look at a squad and say I think on paper they should be about here but teams very rarely finish where they should be. Take Freo, how could anyone predict so many first/second year players would peak for form at the same time. People will then be motivated to put them high next year but they will get a tougher draw, players could hit second year blues, could get more injuries earlier than than they did this season, etc.

Predicting is a mug's game and if you managed to get some remotely accurate it is more out of luck than great knowledge.

I make predictions for the Brownlow Medal, Rising Star, Grand Final etc....but, making a ladder prediction each year is just too hard.

A lot of people predicted us to finish in the bottom 4, I am not sure what their logic is though. Each year, they seem to pick us to drop back for some strange reason. :confused:

Oh! dipstick!!! don't you understand.... YET!?

Too bloody old.. like RUSTY, with no wheels (speed) cortinas... rotting away!

Hell ...Jolly, Micky O, Crouchy, Leapin Leo, BHHH!.... all gawwn:o

Hanners ....he won't win the rising star!!! Ferk it would be a fluke... but only could happen in a shit team! 5th!
Jack.... WTF does he know about Aussie Rules??????
Jetta... aint he got the same name as that other wannabe?
Rohan... isn't he a Tolkein 'LOTHR' ficticious place name character?
T-D-L...of course, there is no hyphenated names that ever play good footy?
McGlynn... is a bloody reject.... RUNT!
Ryan O'keefe.....should have taken da blues brown paper bag!... finished!
Pyke... hahaha !...wot a Canadian rugger player???? nearly as bad as Keithy (teddybear) Richards:D
Kirk Goodes Bolton, washed up over glorifed ...has beens:)

etc etc:rolleyes:

I make predictions for the Brownlow Medal, Rising Star, Grand Final etc....but, making a ladder prediction each year is just too hard.

Swans had a lot of unknown factors. Would Bradshaw hold up well? How big a loss would Jolly be? Would Mumford be able to replace him? A lot of players who had injury interruptions or were missing, how would they fair? Malceski, Kennelly, Veszpremi, etc How would the newer crop of players fair? Hannebery, Rohan, Jetta, McGlynn, Kennedy, etc

It obviously didn't all turn out golden, Vesz probably a big disappointment but a lot of the unknown factors turned out really well for the Swans this year. Unless you predicted all the things that happened would happen it would have been near on impossible to rate the club performing as well as it has.

Swans had a lot of unknown factors. Would Bradshaw hold up well? How big a loss would Jolly be? Would Mumford be able to replace him? A lot of players who had injury interruptions or were missing, how would they fair? Malceski, Kennelly, Veszpremi, etc How would the newer crop of players fair? Hannebery, Rohan, Jetta, McGlynn, Kennedy, etc

It obviously didn't all turn out golden, Vesz probably a big disappointment but a lot of the unknown factors turned out really well for the Swans this year. Unless you predicted all the things that happened would happen it would have been near on impossible to rate the club performing as well as it has.

Fair post but the general bigfooty consensus seemed to be... "All your good players are old and you have no youth". Which the majority of swans fans considered a fairly ignorant view.

It would be a lie to say that many of us expected to finish where we have but I doubt there were many swans fans that had us below 9th or 10th.

To be fair, I predicted us to finish around the 6th to 10th mark, so to finish 5th, if we beat Brisbane would be exceding expectations. For some to predict us to finish bottom 4 and bottom 2, was being fairly ignorant and clearly shows that they have no idea about our list. ;)

I think most supporters see the potential of their club, if things go well, but are poor at seeing the other spectrum. For my own club I felt we could have made the top 8 fairly easily if we got a good run with injuries but also felt we could have finished bottom 4 if we didn't based on our draw.

But, I didn't see Freo coming so our draw didn't pan out quite as easy as it seemed at the start of the season. We lost Petrie, Ziebell and Anthony which were big losses for us as we lack the depth atm and for most of the season had a lot of guys out injured. But, the biggest factor was our new coach and the gameplan he has adopted. It was very different to how we played previously and the players have struggled with it.

Realistically we have far exceeded my expectation with the benefit of hindsight but there were factors impossible to consider before hand.

You might have said Swans should finish around 5th but if you got absolutely hammered with injuries and a fair few key players missed the majority of the season it would have had a severe impact on the end result.

Hawks effectively had their season ruined by large number of injuries early in the year, I don't think many of their supporters expected them to struggle to stumble into the top 8 but there were mitigating factors they wouldn't have allowed for. They could have finished top 4 if they weren't so hard hit and their supporters would have said they expected that result.

It is just impossible to account for all factors, you can get lucky and the good and bad elements cancel eachother out, but then it is more by luck than good judgement unless you could account for those things.

You might have said Swans should finish around 5th but if you got absolutely hammered with injuries and a fair few key players missed the majority of the season it would have had a severe impact on the end result.

You haven't been following us closely, huh? We have been hammered all season by injuries and we've had 2 key defenders and a 1 key forward out, for the majority of the latter half of the season. :o

It is just impossible to account for all factors, you can get lucky and the good and bad elements cancel eachother out, but then it is more by luck than good judgement unless you could account for those things.

You got it bro!:thumbsu:

Bloody luckkkkkkyyyyyyyy! That Swans have dodged and weaved their way into 11 of the past 14 final series.

IT'S A BLOODY FLUKE! Simple as that...and they will be bottom 4 again next year!!!!!!

I keep on tellin' em here at BF.... too old, too slow, no skill, no youth, no low draft picks .... thank Christ .....for Anndy Dimwits AFL handout slush fund headstarts!!!!

Thank f'erk that (Paul) Roos imposter is going... what did that ex mullet head ...ever know about coaching????

:D

Key players like a KPF, two KPDs and a ruckman? Or our highest scoring mid?

All this hostility about the swans is like fuel to our tanks... Keep it coming, we only need 100 more litres until we can topple Collingwood lol

Imagine that, getting in the GF against them and winning though we havent beaten them in 5yrs. LMAO... How cut would all those teeth whistlers be?

All this hostility about the swans is like fuel to our tanks... Keep it coming, we only need 100 more litres until we can topple Collingwood lol

Imagine that, getting in the GF against them and winning though we havent beaten them in 5yrs. LMAO... How cut would all those teeth whistlers be?
Their sweet, delicious tears would sustain me for months

All knowing BF fans, we Swans fans humbly and apologetically throw ourselves at your mercy.

How dare we not tank and hoard picks? That is the natural way of dealing in the AFL. It cannot be done any other way.

Lol at those Essendon fans, what a joke they were.
Na na, posters like Godzke, he knows everything, like that we were going to be crap this year and be easily overtaken by the Bombers, remember?