Bowden or Jacobs?

• Joel Bowden

Votes: 54 76.1%
  • Danny Jacobs

Votes: 17 23.9%

Collingwoodrow said:
OK.....Joel Bowden has been put into a position because of injuries that he is not suited for.....picking up key position footballers. This much is accepted. And yes...two years ago he did have a good game against Jonathon Brown (the night Shultz kicked 6).

But the fact remains that he was moved onto Riewoldt in the fourth quarter against the Saints and Riewoldt proceeded to take over the game; Lance Whitnall was the most dominant player on the ground in the first quarter against JB before being moved back. Jarrod Waite, coming off inuries, then kicked three against him and should have kicked six if he held easy marks. Jonathon Brown was Brisbanes best player by a mile against Richmond; Scott Lucas almost won the game for Essendon in the final quarter whilst Joel let Lucas roam anywhere he wanted mostly unattended through the first three quarters; and finally, Barry Hall tore him a new one for 100 minutes of football.

Now Joel should not have to play on these guys because he is incapable or unwilling to stick tight with players of this calibre. However, he has been forced to and failed. Yet people look at his stats and figure he is dominating and should be up for All-Australian honours. This IMO is simply untrue.

It bugs me that he gets more plaudits than Richo who has to work three times as hard for his possessions, has three times more influence on a game and cops three times as much crap when things don't go right for him.
your a moron with no clue, i am sure you have only watched about 5 richmond games,
two years ago he did have a good game against Jonathon Brown
This is not the only time that he has beaten a KP foward and he shouldnt be expected to since they have such a massive size difference. He is 188cm tall and weighs 90kgs. Imbecile

Coughlan said:
your a moron with no clue, i am sure you have only watched about 5 richmond games,
This is not the only time that he has beaten a KP foward and he shouldnt be expected to since they have such a massive size difference. He is 188cm tall and weighs 90kgs. Imbecile

Geez....you make a good argument......I stand corrected none of what I wrote happened. Joel Bowden is the human glove and shuts down his opponent every week.

um, every player does get beaten and if you think 2 years ago against J Brown is the only time he has beaten a key foward you are very wrong and if your whole argument is about how he has been beaten by players who are all about 10cm taller and 10kg heavier but you conveniantly forget about the massive size difference or are you just stupid

Coughlan said:
um, every player does get beaten and if you think 2 years ago against J Brown is the only time he has beaten a key foward you are very wrong and if your whole argument is about how he has been beaten by players who are all about 10cm taller and 10kg heavier but you conveniantly forget about the massive size difference or are you just stupid

Did you just get home from school? I suggest you read my post again....specifically the first paragraph and third paragraphs.

Now please, put down your crayons and pick up a book.

Collingwoodrow said:
Did you just get home from school? I suggest you read my post again....specifically the first paragraph and third paragraphs.

Now please, put down your crayons and pick up a book.
i suggest you read your post again specifically the second paragraph and then it would be best if you didnt coment on the issue again:rolleyes:

Coughlan said:
i suggest you read your post again specifically the second paragraph and then it would be best if you didnt coment on the issue again:rolleyes:

So what I wrote did not take place? Is that what you are saying?

Collingwoodrow said:
Both are very ordinary "defenders". They play in the backline but are not "defenders", often see their direct opponents influencing games.
over the last 3 seasons bowden has only been really beaten once when he played of hall 2 weeks ago, other then that he has beaten tredea, j brown a few times pav once i think so to say he isnt a defender is crap

Collingwoodrow said:
So what I wrote did not take place? Is that what you are saying?
it did happen but you read your post and sae what a fool you were after you tried to make me look stupid and failed miserably.

Heres lots of crayons for you to play with
crayons.jpg

Collingwoodrow said:
OK.....Joel Bowden has been put into a position because of injuries that he is not suited for.....picking up key position footballers. This much is accepted. And yes...two years ago he did have a good game against Jonathon Brown (the night Shultz kicked 6).

But the fact remains that he was moved onto Riewoldt in the fourth quarter against the Saints and Riewoldt proceeded to take over the game; Lance Whitnall was the most dominant player on the ground in the first quarter against JB before being moved back. Jarrod Waite, coming off inuries, then kicked three against him and should have kicked six if he held easy marks. Jonathon Brown was Brisbanes best player by a mile against Richmond; Scott Lucas almost won the game for Essendon in the final quarter whilst Joel let Lucas roam anywhere he wanted mostly unattended through the first three quarters; and finally, Barry Hall tore him a new one for 100 minutes of football.

Now Joel should not have to play on these guys because he is incapable or unwilling to stick tight with players of this calibre. However, he has been forced to and failed. Yet people look at his stats and figure he is dominating and should be up for All-Australian honours. This IMO is simply untrue.

It bugs me that he gets more plaudits than Richo who has to work three times as hard for his possessions, has three times more influence on a game and cops three times as much crap when things don't go right for him.
newman played on reiwdolt more then bowden late in the game, brown was shocking when we played brissie;) lucas played 1 qtr against bowden and DIDNT win the game for them and yes barry hall is the only one to beat him:)

blr_liquid said:
So why don't I start a poll for "Darren Gaspar or Trent Croad"
For all those Richmond fans who don't realise he's over the hill and has been for the past 2 years at least.

Does it make you feel better that you won, Joel Bowden is better, we get it.

This poll is pointless, I wanna know which Hawthorn fan compared the two in the first place. It's obvious who is the better defender, Bowden is willing to actually go for the hard ball and Danny Jacobs foot skills are hopeless if you watched the game against Essendon it was as if he was still playing for them the ammount of clangers and kicks that favoured Essendon out of defence. Bowden has won the last two best and fairest at Richmond.

Joel Bowden was all australian on the HB line with Croad and Hodge, why not a poll comparing them? A poll that might actually have some useful debate, oh wait that wasn't what you were after.

get off ur soap box you idiot, the thread is 3 pages long which would indicate to me that it has caused some useful debate! You can obviously see the sense and agree that bowden is the superior but there are are other out there indicating that he isnt. Good luck to them! i have no issues with that, simply a thread to determine whether it was me or ur mate GALON that was peering through the rose coloured ones. Now be gone you angry little man, you are but a sperm in the big footy world, now pipe down. You will find it is quite common to see a "who would you rather" thread so get used to it or bugger off.
Feel free to post ur trent croad and get off ur chest whatever it is you have wrong with Gaspar. Hopefully then you will take ur irrelevant arguments elsewhere. Hope ur aggression isnt a sign of things to come cause in ur short history on here you've annoyed me like few others have.:mad:

Collingwoodrow said:
Scott Lucas almost won the game for Essendon in the final quarter whilst Joel let Lucas roam anywhere he wanted mostly unattended through the first three quarters

Joel DID win the game for us against essendon, and Lucas was well beaten by JB for 3 quaters.

roostertalk said:
get off ur soap box you idiot, the thread is 3 pages long which would indicate to me that it has caused some useful debate! You can obviously see the sense and agree that bowden is the superior but there are are other out there indicating that he isnt. Good luck to them! i have no issues with that, simply a thread to determine whether it was me or ur mate GALON that was peering through the rose coloured ones. Now be gone you angry little man, you are but a sperm in the big footy world, now pipe down. You will find it is quite common to see a "who would you rather" thread so get used to it or bugger off.
Feel free to post ur trent croad and get off ur chest whatever it is you have wrong with Gaspar. Hopefully then you will take ur irrelevant arguments elsewhere. Hope ur aggression isnt a sign of things to come cause in ur short history on here you've annoyed me like few others have.:mad:

Ok let's deal with this one by one...the thread maybe three pages long but the Jacob's versus Bowden thing ended in the first page after that it's an argument over is Joel Bowden crap or not of which I am of the opinion that he is not crap as you acknowledge, but it seems from the last two pages that the community still hasn't determined if we are or aren't wearing those rose coloured glasses. I was unaware of your argument with GALON to which I apologise but when you make statements like;

roostertalk said:
agreed, this poll is to point out to a fool of a hawthorn fan who believes quite the opposite.

which I may have taken a bit too personal I admit, but by using the words hawthorn, fan and fool in the same sentence you might expect some "healthy" debate. If it is common that you make statements like this against hawthorn fans then, to quote a non Big Footy sperm "get used to it or bugger off". About that sperm thing, I am not trying to pretend I am anything more than someone posting on a forum, I wasn't aware that the big footy world had sperm rating and I didn't realise freedom of speech had to be earnt. All I can see is that we are both Big Footy Members, but if you would like to suggest to the admins a status of Big Footy Sperm go ahead i'll happily submit. As for Gaspar I don't have a problem with him per se, I was just trying to use an example that he is one of the players that Richmond fans might have a blind spot with. In the end it's the Richmond coaching staff who have to decide if he is the next Nick Holland or not. So if my argument is irrelevent to you I am sorry, in future so as not to allow my idiotic comments to make it into this PUBLIC forum next time I will direct my opinions at a wall.