Brad Scott Unleashed

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

WTF is he picking up the ball at all??!!!!

It was pretty obvious to me that Scott thought the ball was still in play when I view the clip in the OP.

Otherwise, indeed, why would he pick the ball up?

It was pretty obvious to me that Scott thought the ball was still in play when I view the clip in the OP.

It was pretty obvious to me that he was predicting that the umpire was not going to pay a mark...when we start predicting umpires we give away 50 metre free kicks.

Oh really, how do you know that?
Watch the you tube video, even the commentators said he wasnt sure it was a mark. The ball did fall out of Browns hands as he hit the deck. McMahon was clearly looking to play on with the footy and then stopped all of a sudden when he realised the mark was paid.

It was pretty obvious to me that he was predicting that the umpire was not going to pay a mark...when we start predicting umpires we give away 50 metre free kicks.

Shit, if you can read minds mate, then I'll have to go with your interpretation.:thumbsu:

I'm only equipped with useless logic.

snrub, It is the first one that has been covered live and talked about. Bon has said before that the spray wont work with these new kids but he did it for the first time on Saturday night in front of cameras. He showed that aggression that he was renowned for during his playing days.

...and listen to the OP clip again...the whistle blows and McMahon continues on with picking up the ball...either he didnt hear the whistle or predicted that it wasnt a mark and was a North free kick for what exactly...

He deserved the bake from Bon that he got.:thumbsu:

Otherwise, indeed, why would he pick the ball up?

McMahon knew it was a mark or a free kick.
FFS the ump blew his whistle.
Its just one of the things he does and he knew it Bon knew it and the majority of North fans did too.
You cant defend him in this incident.

But McMahon was in the wrong because clearly it was a mark to JB and he refused to give the ball back, holding up play in the result of a 50 metre penalty.

It's supporters like you that make us as a whole sound like whining little bitches. We didn't lose the game because of bad umpiring, there is much more to dissect from the loss then that.

Nooooo, it should NOT have been a 50. He did NOT refuse to give the ball back. He did NOT hold up play.

That 50, the Black throw, and the Wells "throw" did make the difference in a close game

The only reason the 50mtrs was paid was because Banfield got involved otherwise the ball would have been thrown by McMahon to Brown and the game would have continued as normal. The umpire only paid the 50 mtrs when Banfield got involved not when McMahon picked the footy up or went to play on. It was a howler of a decision. Watch it again carefully.

Nope, I am now quite certain that the umpire would have pinged McMahon for picking up the ball and handing to back to Brown.

The bloke standing in front of him is irrelevant to the circumstances.

Strategically positioned mind readers have confirmed this for me.;)

I love myopic conformists that have no feel for the game. You would make an excellent umpire.

So we should expect to see every player that takes their position on the mark before throwing the ball back to their opponent get pinged for 50 metres from now on?

I challenge you now to inform as to when this has ever happened before in the entire history of the AFL.

I eagerly await your response.

lol i just call it as I see it. As much as I was filthy with the decision at the time it was probably amplified due to what seemed like a deliberate ploy to get Brisbane back into the game by the maggots, which may or may not have been the case. But, in the cold light of day the umpire was well within his rights to call a time wasting 50m penalty.

Watch the replay again. At the marking contest the umpire blew his whistle. Now, did Scotty think he got a free kick for his excellent spoiling attempt on brown or was that whistle indicating a mark or free kick to Brown? You could argue he couldn't know which way the umpire would pay it if he was remotely in a position where he could realistically win a free kick, but that wasn't what happened and he wasn't in possession of the ball and the ball wasn't that close to him so he shouldn't have gone after and picked the ball up.

I have been a big fan of Scotty over the years, what he did within the context of that passage of play was dumb, the only thing dumber was Scotty being forced to compete against Brown.

He might have got away with it and might get away with it next time he tries it, but it is within the rules for the umpire to give a 50m penalty if he believes his actions are a deliberate ploy to waste time and allow our defense to zone up.

You need to get down off your soapbox, your attacks on other posters whose view differs from yours is narrow minded and self indulgent. Who made you the expert on everything North Melbourne? The way you prance around here as if you're the know all Orb is boring. This isn't the Bay where all of that is part and parcel of the game but not here. We are all North supporters and a civil discussion with differing opinions is what I'm looking for. Not a poster with an e-hammer looking at bludgeon any posts that may not concur with yours

To be fair, I did call him a wiki warrior and it may have been the gauntlet which slapped his e-honour. I didn't mean to cause insult, it is just the wiki rules lawyers often see only what they want to see which is what my remark was about.

Best you go back and check the link again before you make a complete fool of yourself.

You don't score any points for relying on Uncle Tom to back you up either.

He plays too cute for my liking at the best of times and this appeared to be another smart arse example that back fired big time.

A player of that experience...good grief, defending the indefensible...

Take a teaspoon of concrete and harden up for gods sake...if that's all Scott did, go and read "The Coach" to see what a real pasting is about. :rolleyes:

I'm with Gaso on this one. Anyone who's played footy knows when the opponent has taken a mark, fact is on this one he took the mark AND was held on to so was in line for a free as well.

McMahon tried to be too smart by half and when Banfield saw an opportunity to suck in an idiot, McMahon took the bait. I'm not convinced McMahon is as useful to the team as his skill-set suggests he should be.

Not only that but in McMahon, Pratt and Firrito we've got three of the most undisciplined (4 with Thompson) guys in the league in one half of the ground - and all of them are old enough to know better. Add Rawlings dubious foot skills to the mix and it ain't a top 4-5 defensive half that we're putting out on the paddock -and at the start of the year, we were aiming for top 8 minimum, top 4-5 at best.

Do we have the most 50m penalties against? Surely we'd have the most 50's resulting in opposition goals. I'm sure you can find out somwhere, but I can't be bothered finding it. Poor umpiring you can't control, but poor discipline you surely can.

Can someone just post a clip of the incident. It would make it a hell of a lot easier.

For what it's worth, I would say it was no 50. If you pick the ball up you still have the right to give the ball back without being hindered as McMahon was by Banfield.

THe clip in the OP shows the incident.

You would think that the ump warned Scott to get the ball to JB after he picked it up, if he is seen to ignore the umps warning then youre gone.
No amount of surprise looks is going to get you off.

He has been playing long enough to know when delaying play goes too far.

Should have left the ball on the ground which I reckon he will be doing next time this happens.

I'm prepared to pay any of the mind readers in this thread $10,000 an hour to accompany me to Crown Casino on Saturday night.

P.M. for further details.

He plays too cute for my liking at the best of times and this appeared to be another smart arse example that back fired big time.

A player of that experience...good grief, defending the indefensible...

Take a teaspoon of concrete and harden up for gods sake...if that's all Scott did, go and read "The Coach" to see what a real pasting is about. :rolleyes:

Exactly - and I suspect Scott exploding is a build up from watching McMahon make these stupid little errors that cost us over and over. Scotty Mc is a very frustrating player.

I'm prepared to pay any of the mind readers in this thread $10,000 an hour to accompany me to Crown Casino on Saturday night.

P.M. for further details.

You should go on your own then.

Teffy is right on this one. The mark was dubious, McMahon wasn't to immediately know the state of things when play suddenly stopped.

Banfield interfered with the process of returning the ball process. If anything the free should've been reversed if that was the case as it was Banfield holding up play.

While I liked seeing some fire from Brad it wasn't fair that McMahon copped the lion's share for a minor error - if it was an error. He didn't blatantly give away a 50 which was contentious at best.

There were far more damaging acts and non-acts from the game that justified the coaches wrath than Scott McMahon's. It just that Loose's one was the victim of overofficiated shite.

Teffy is right on this one. The mark was dubious, McMahon wasn't to immediately know the state of things when play suddenly stopped.

Is McMahon deaf? The umpire blew the whistle. He must have known it was a mark or free kick and if he was that unaware of what was going on then that would be a bigger concern.