Brad Scott Unleashed

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

Best you go back and check the link again before you make a complete fool of yourself.

You don't score any points for relying on Uncle Tom to back you up either.

My e-honour! How shall I ever get through the day without your approval? :p

While I liked seeing some fire from Brad it wasn't fair that McMahon copped the lion's share for a minor error - if it was an error. He didn't blatantly give away a 50 which was contentious at best.

There were far more damaging acts and non-acts from the game that justified the coaches wrath than Scott McMahon's. It just that Loose's one was the victim of overofficiated shite.
Some non-goals this season (Rd 1 springs to mind) in particular deserved the coaches wrath.

Brad did say, 'over-officiated' or not, that they were aware the umpires were focusing on this and made a point of not giving them an excuse. This explains the reaction, deserved or not.

I thought it was great to see Scott going off at one of our players in public for once. Its all fair and good to try and build the confidence of our young players by not doing this but McMahon should know a lot better. Too often our backmen are completely undisciplined. Pratt slapping Newton in the face last week and Thompson and McMahon just being dumb this week. Whether the 50m call was warranted or not, McMahon was dumb and took a risk in a situation that could result in an easy goal to Brown which is how it played out.

I am concerned that we have a dumb backline.. I have heard Firrito on the Sunday footy show a few times and he doesnt appear to be the most switched on of blokes, Pratt makes the same stupid mistakes over and over all in the vein of trying to seem tough and McMahon can take a big grab sometimes but is doing some stupid things lately. If anyone needs a spray in our team it is the backhalf so good on Scott for kicking it off in front of the cameras this week, anything less would have seemed weak.

It was pretty obvious to me that Scott thought the ball was still in play when I view the clip in the OP.

Otherwise, indeed, why would he pick the ball up?

Picking the ball up buys us a few seconds to rush players back to the goal square. Smart move, if done properly.

Rubbish mate, Scott McMahon wasnt even aware it was a mark at first and went to play on. He then heard the whistle after running in to pick up the ball, stopped, tried to give the ball to Brown and Banfield knocked it out of his hands as he was about to throw it to Brown.
The umpire made a howler of a decision and good on McMahon for not flying off the handle. I think my drink bottle would have been flying in the direction of the boundary fence if it was me . It was a shocking decision and the AFL needs to review the whole 50 mtr penalty system. Personally I think we should go back to 15 mtrs for minor offences and keep 50 mtrs for more serious infringments.

Wrong. You need to watch the video again. JB takes a mark. JB, Scott fall on the ground. Ball falls free. As JB and Scott fall, whistle blows for a mark. Well After whistle blows, Scott runs back hurriedly to pick up the ball. He either didn't hear the whistle (bs) or was trying to prevent JB from picking up the ball and playing on.

The only reason it might not have been a 50 was because Banfield got in his way and you could argue, weakly IMO, that Scott was prevented from throwing the ball back.

But McMahon was obviously trying to time waste by rushing back to the ball drop. What was his intention? Altruism? To get the ball in JB's hands as quickly as possible? Rubbish.

McMahon was a peanut. He should have just let JB or Banfield pick up the ball while standing the mark.

Deserved spray.

Am sick of our defender's doing stupid sht like this.

Witness the 50 Thompson gave away on the weekend. Idiotic.

I love both Scotts, and they played good games, but it's about time North players and supporters HTFU. Forget the umpires and play hard footy.

I think that is was just the straw that broke the camels back.

The 50 while annoying was not the end of the world. Yes its only borderline whether it is there or not.

But lets call it for what it is Scott is a coach that has shown ALOT of faith in the players. We had every opportunity to put Brisbane away we smashed them every where and for the majority of the game, yet did not stamp authority on the score board.

If watching game like that frustrates you in the stands then I guarantee it would frustrate Scott. his frustration like ours stems from the knowledge they can do better. I would bet anything 50's were spoken about after Pratt's slap on Newton last week. It was 50 the game(& season) was(has been) frustrating and passion came out.

All that it indicates to me is that under all of the media persona that Scott puts forward lays the winning desire he had as a player.

Cant hurt though...

Yeh. One name.
Harry Taylor.
He does that much extra work outside training on his opponent that particular week studying his strengths and weaknesses and focusing in on how to beat his man. As a defender his work on and off the field is second to no one.
Im not too sure our players are like that yet. Actually Im pretty sure they dont give a shit as much as Harry.
Someone needs to get into their ear and tell them to grow up.
Our players get older and nothng changes. There needs to be a turning of the corner somewhere FFS.

A whole lotta people are lining up to kick the shit out of a North player, any North player, in order to exorcise there frustration, as long as it isn't one of the kids in the midfield that are actually 90% of the reason we are losing some games, and the coach we have that can finally talk "purdy" in the "meeja".

Let's not bother with our eyes and ears, common sense, and for the very few around here that have it, a sense of feel for the game that coincides with some kind of consistency in the rules.

My e-honour! How shall I ever get through the day without your approval? :p

Nice deflection.

I'm still waiting on you to find me a similiar example of what, in your mind, was a clear and blatant contravention of the rules.

Surely there's millions of them out there?

I personally think that IF the umpire showed common sense, upon seeing Banfield get involved unnecessarily, he would've blown the whistle again and ran in to say "calm down" to Banfield, and direct Loose to toss the ball back to Brown on the full unhindered. Whilst it was heading the way of a 50m penalty I reckon Banfield's involvement negated the reasons why.

I don't think Scotty Mac will be picking up the ball in that situation again.

Bon's tirade, in light of comments from him since, were obviously in response to Loose giving the umpire any reason at all to hit us with a very costly 50m penalty, especially given the tight state of the game in the dying couple of minutes at the time.

I didn't mind the spray at all. The fact Bon did it should tell fans that despite his measured and calm exterior in public usually, he's as hard a coach behind closed doors as he was a player. If we're to return to the glory days of being the toughest bunch of motherf***ers out there, it's that sort of strong tough love coaching which will help get us there IMO.

It's a good thing Brad got stuck into McMahon like that, otherwise I don't reckon McMahon would have realised that, by giving away a 50 and a certain goal in the final quarter of a close match, he had stuffed up bigtime.

:stern look

It was pretty obvious to me that he was predicting that the umpire was not going to pay a mark...when we start predicting umpires we give away 50 metre free kicks.

And how many times the umpire has judged a contest in play completely different to those players in the vicinity and the paying public not to mention all of the cameras scattered around the ground.

THIS IS THE HUGE ARGUMENT AT THE MOMENT WITH THE ADVANTAGE RULE!!

The play on advantage rule has to change or the 50 mtr has to be adjusted.....rules committee has changed the rules now that a you need to have a Doctrine of law to umpire the game.

Watched to video again (I did see the game live) no matter which side of the interpretation you all are on......one STRIKING FACT IS DWAYNE FOR ONCE COMMENTATED FOR OURSIDE!

A whole lotta people are lining up to kick the shit out of a North player, any North player, in order to exorcise there frustration, as long as it isn't one of the kids in the midfield that are actually 90% of the reason we are losing some games, and the coach we have that can finally talk "purdy" in the "meeja".

....cheap shot....when you have been around BF longer than one month you can start with the generalisations Teffy. ;)

But McMahon was in the wrong because clearly it was a mark to JB and he refused to give the ball back, holding up play in the result of a 50 metre penalty.

It's supporters like you that make us as a whole sound like whining little bitches. We didn't lose the game because of bad umpiring, there is much more to dissect from the loss then that.

If you were watching from the comfort of recliner with your nanna rug on your knees sipping a cup of tea then yes, it was clearly a mark.

If you were tumbling over with your back to JB because you put your body on the line against one of the most physical players in the league then you could be forgiven for not knowing whether JB held the mark or spilled it. Given Scotty saw the ball on the GROUND once he had regained his footing I am inclined to forgive him for thinking JB spilled the attempt.

Think about it next time!

It's a good thing Brad got stuck into McMahon like that, otherwise I don't reckon McMahon would have realised that, by giving away a 50 and a certain goal in the final quarter of a close match, he had stuffed up bigtime.

:stern look

You're right. :thumbsu: Brad should not become cross when one of his most disciplined players has a rare lapse and pushes the boundaries of time wasting interpretation in the latter stages of a close match. :thumbsu: And if the player's response triggers concerns that he may take a petulant attitude for the rest of the game, he should just leave him on the park and assume he'll be cool :thumbsu: But it turns out we got the one coach who feels the need to get on the phone to express his disappointment in his players who do the wrong thing :thumbsd:

And how many times the umpire has judged a contest in play completely different to those players in the vicinity and the paying public not to mention all of the cameras scattered around the ground.

THIS IS THE HUGE ARGUMENT AT THE MOMENT WITH THE ADVANTAGE RULE!!

The play on advantage rule has to change or the 50 mtr has to be adjusted.....rules committee has changed the rules now that a you need to have a Doctrine of law to umpire the game.

And this is precisely why Scotty picked it up. He was not sure if it was a mark or free and so picked it up to avoid Brisbane using the advantage rule.

Confirmed by Bon on AFL Insider tonight.

Gee I would love to be as quick witted/smart as some posters expect our players to be. Everything happens so quickly. Easy for us to sit back and make judgements when in the same split second situation ourselves I suspect many of us would be found far more often to be wanting.

And the decision by the unpire was wrong anyway.

Picking the ball up buys us a few seconds to rush players back to the goal square. Smart move, if done properly.
Yep and on at least two occasions in the Melbourne game their players held the ball in one hand and directed traffic with the other whilst ignoring umpire instructions to give the ball back. No penalty. Go figure, a week is a long time in footy.