Broughton

• Thread starter Thread starter Redgum

If you beat the other teams match winner, that makes you a match winner.
But he didn't beat matchwinners regularly. His best game in that regard was against Steve Johnson. Who still got two goals, but Broughton beat well in the last.

He's a good player. It's rare that good players in the small defender role earn more than a second rounder. Especially at his age. I wouldn't say there's anything about him that makes Broughton worthy of a pick in the teens.

Brought on was a late rookie pick 4 years ago. To get an upgrade to a first or even a second round pick is a very good result for the club. Upgrade of both our 1st and 2nd round picks would be phenomenal. Strengthens our position on getting stringer as first 12 are looking to rebuild a midfield and GWS have their KPF sorted.

Win win , brought will get a 4 year contract and play every game do more $$ and we just upgraded Spurr who is another back that can fill broughtons role.

Is there any KPF in GC that are worth a look?
where he was drafted means stuff all......would you be prepared to use a 1st rounder to draft Jack Watts because he was a number 1 pick ?

Id pay pick 17 for Jack Watts no worries. He's not worth pick one but pick 17 yes. Greg Brougton Is definitely not worth a first round pick. My point is more we paid zero for him and now get some very good value from him.

Broughton knows he's not in Lyons plans he's happy, we are happy with a first round upgrade. It's business not your local footy club. Reckon broughts woul be stoked right now, gets to surf everyday and guaranteed contract for 4 years.

yes I certainly wouldn't be happy with 17>13, 40>37.

It depends on how much coin he was on. The article I read yesterday indicated that he was on a back ended contract that was quite expensive in the final year (2013). That combined with the fact that he wanted a long term deal was enough to put Port Adelaide off. Perhaps it may be wiser to front load a contract or two for a player (Broughton) we wont miss too much in our defense (he spent much of the year in other positions) in order to prepare for the free agency period next year. It frees up some cash, and we have some extra bait for the big fry forward we need. ;)

Id pay pick 17 for Jack Watts no worries. He's not worth pick one but pick 17 yes. Greg Brougton Is definitely not worth a first round pick. My point is more we paid zero for him and now get some very good value from him.

Broughton knows he's not in Lyons plans he's happy, we are happy with a first round upgrade. It's business not your local footy club. Reckon broughts woul be stoked right now, gets to surf everyday and guaranteed contract for 4 years.
i dont know if your serious or taking the piss

It depends on how much coin he was on. The article I read yesterday indicated that he was on a back ended contract that was quite expensive in the final year (2013). That combined with the fact that he wanted a long term deal was enough to put Port Adelaide off. Perhaps it may be wiser to front load a contract or two for a player (Broughton) we wont miss too much in our defense (he spent much of the year in other positions) in order to prepare for the free agency period next year. It frees up some cash, and we have some extra bait for the big fry forward we need. ;)

We have money coming out of our ears and he wanted a long term contract to go to Port. He is a very good player and if we give him away for some shit deal I will be spewing. If the deal is truly worthwhile i will live with it, like most of us will.

Whilst I rate Broughton..... the match committee not so much,he is possibly after more game time and more bucks,and while he is a very handy player when in form he is not in the top bracket of players at Freo (possibly sits 10-25).So if he wishes to explore greener pastures,Freo should trade for him while they have some say in the matter.
I would love pick 13 but unlikely to happen, I think we may exchange first rounders and get their second rounder
so Freo #13 and #37.............. GC Broughton, #17
At least this way we have a much better chance at getting Shaw ,Stringer types and maybe a Paporone/Spencer with #37

Whilst I rate Broughton..... the match committee not so much,he is possibly after more game time and more bucks,and while he is a very handy player when in form he is not in the top bracket of players at Freo (possibly sits 10-25).So if he wishes to explore greener pastures,Freo should trade for him while they have some say in the matter.
I would love pick 13 but unlikely to happen, I think we may exchange first rounders and get their second rounder
At least this way we have a much better chance at getting Shaw ,Stringer types and maybe a Paporone/Spencer with #37

We'll get stuff all at 37.

we got Neale at #58 and Sutcliffe #72ish, de Boer and Broughton with late rookie picks so it can happen with the draft likely to go fairly deep.Also shifting pick 17 to 13 could make all the difference to getting the player your after

Good idea - lets trade Broughton to get Broughton

ohwait

We need quality tall's not more developing midfielder's. If we waste Broughton on some 174cm inside mid (as has been suggested) Freo fans have every right to be annoyed. We can no longer hope that we can fill our needs for future talls by trading for them. This looks like the second year we have tried and failed. There are about 10 other clubs that are trying to do the same thing and quite a few of them are in Melbourne.

All quiet on the GCS board.

Didn't see the news. Could this be another Goddard/Golf club situation?

Anyone link me to some media backing this up? Can't even find a stream of tonight's news...

I agree on your trade suggestion but not on the suggestion that the match committee don't rate him. He's never been dropped since he started getting a regular game, he doesn't need to go anywhere for more game time.

It appears he had a back ended contract which is a bit larger next year according to Port. Are we freeing up some cash for someone else just in case, Tippett maybe?

how tall does our super dooper tall have to be that we are picking with our 1st pick?

Broughton to GC gathering momentum. Quiet on their board other than a few posts about pick 13 involved. Sad to see him go but for pick 13 and a crack at shaw I'm keen as mustard. Surplus to requirements which would/could net us someone who could help fix a deficiency in our lineup.

Well played FFC if this goes through.

Broughton to GC gathering momentum. Quiet on their board other than a few posts about pick 13 involved. Sad to see him go but for pick 13 and a crack at shaw I'm keen as mustard. Surplus to requirements which would/could net us someone who could help fix a deficiency in our lineup.

Well played FFC if this goes through.

If true. That I would be happy with. But the pick 13 stuff they may have gotten from us.

channel 10 news. Karl Langdon 6pr tonight and last night (friend of bluey's remember) and channel 7 news

Yep, I got that from the last few pages of this thread. However cannot find clips of these reports on any of the corresponding websites or youtube channels, 6pr have chosen not to upload it to their little podcast area and not even a whisper from the usual suspects on that infernal twitter thing.

I trust my fellow posters, but it would be nice to hear it for myself.

Yep, I got that from the last few pages of this thread. However cannot find clips of these reports on any of the corresponding websites or youtube channels, 6pr have chosen not to upload it to their little podcast area and not even a whisper from the usual suspects on that infernal twitter thing.

I trust my fellow posters, but it would be nice to hear it for myself.

You will get to hear the final, sad, outcome tomorrow. I think the only question about it, is what we are getting in return. It is making me a little anxious TBH. I'm not sure if the 'In Bond I trust' thing is working for me tonight.