Broughton

• Thread starter Thread starter Redgum

Great trade, so happy he's gone.

Broughton is crud. I hated the way he'd always put his head over the ball, he'd back back into a pack when it was his turn to go, fill the place in front of the leading forward.

Plus the crab could only kick with both feet..

We plundered GCS for a 23 pick upgrade, Suffer in ya jocks Gold Coast!

Broughton is crud. I hated the way he'd always put his head over the ball, he'd back back into a pack when it was his turn to go, fill the place in front of the leading forward.

Well said mate, while we're at it it's time to move on that hack Spudlee Pearce. He's had his chances.

I don't have that information, hence the use of the word "if".

Your post that I quoted referred to the need for Walters to adhere to Lyon's regime because his choices were Freo or WAFL while Broughton had options. IF Broughton exercised that option then adios amigo.
Broughton's choices were always WAFL or not Freo. That's why he was told he'd be playing WAFL prior to final list lodgement. This notion that he was too lazy to play for Freo is basically a slur on his character in a desperate defence of the club. If he really was too lazy, then why did he play every single game up until being injured?

Ah i see what you did there ;)

Broughton's choices were always WAFL or not Freo. That's why he was told he'd be playing WAFL prior to final list lodgement. This notion that he was too lazy to play for Freo is basically a slur on his character in a desperate defence of the club. If he really was too lazy, then why did he play every single game up until being injured?
Its not always the games you play but how you play them. Every player has instructions and the game plan dictated to them by the coaching staff. If a player goes outside of that then thats when he comes under scrutiny by the coaching staff. Heres an example, I can't remember which game it was but we were in front by a few goals late in the 4th quarter. The message from Lyon comes out to kick only, no handball... Most of the side could handle a simple task except for Nic Suban who took a mark, played on straight away and turned it over with a sloppy handball. He was dragged and dropped the next week for not following instructions. This is the terms of the new Ross Lyon regime, either follow me or ship out so whether this is a message to some other players, Ross and FFC want everyone on the same page and its looking like Broughton wasn't.

It's not like GB took a lot of convincing, the Suns came knocking on Wednesday morning and by the afternoon he was filling out the transfer papers. He moved for a guaranteed first 22 spot where he doesnt have to work that hard to play each week. Everyone on here bagged Walters for that dark period but he put the work in and if Harvey was still coaching in 2012 Walters would be a WAFL player still.

Some one has it as their signature but Hard work will be talent when talent refuses to work hard....

So still defending Pitt as best available? Curious.

Not defending it at all, however in a rare and dangerous Big Footy move I still acknowledge that at the time of the draft I was happy to back the selectors in.

Pitt over Darling , Fyfe over Black ....you still backing Fyfe as a dud pick because he was a skinny utility?

Not defending it at all, however in a rare and dangerous Big Footy move I still acknowledge that at the time of the draft I was happy to back the selectors in.

Pitt over Darling , Fyfe over Black ....you still backing Fyfe as a dud pick because he was a skinny utility?
Erm, I never said Fyfe was a dud pick.

Its not always the games you play but how you play them. Every player has instructions and the game plan dictated to them by the coaching staff. If a player goes outside of that then thats when he comes under scrutiny by the coaching staff. Heres an example, I can't remember which game it was but we were in front by a few goals late in the 4th quarter. The message from Lyon comes out to kick only, no handball... Most of the side could handle a simple task except for Nic Suban who took a mark, played on straight away and turned it over with a sloppy handball. He was dragged and dropped the next week for not following instructions. This is the terms of the new Ross Lyon regime, either follow me or ship out so whether this is a message to some other players, Ross and FFC want everyone on the same page and its looking like Broughton wasn't.
How is it looking like that?
It's not like GB took a lot of convincing, the Suns came knocking on Wednesday morning and by the afternoon he was filling out the transfer papers. He moved for a guaranteed first 22 spot where he doesnt have to work that hard to play each week.

I'm not sure what you expect from him. He's basically been told he has to find another club, has been shopped around, told no by Port. The club has communicated that he is surplus to needs during the time they can shop players around. He's not stupid. He basically has to take what he can get or his career is finished.

If an employer said to you during a round of downsizing "we can keep you, but you'll basically be working in the mail room until our next round of downsizing", would you think "if I work really hard delivering mail I might get my job back" or would you start looking for another job?

Everyone on here bagged Walters for that dark period but he put the work in and if Harvey was still coaching in 2012 Walters would be a WAFL player still.
I'm not sure how Walters situation is at all relevant.

Some one has it as their signature but Hard work will be talent when talent refuses to work hard....
At what stage, ever, has it looked like Broughton refused to work hard?

It's a good example in terms of everyone pointing out that Broughton was in our top 5 B&F as a reason to not let him go.

Not exactly. People are using that as a reason as to why the face value of the trade is so pathetic.

If the coaches don't want him for personal reasons, then fine, but we could at least have tried to get something useful out of the trade. The issue is not necessarily that we let him go, but what we actually received for him.

There is no possible way anyone can argue it isn't a horribly lopsided trade in GC's favour. Maybe down the track they will return the favour, but at the moment they would be laughing.

Erm, I never said Fyfe was a dud pick.

So when we took best available with Fyfe rather than KP - you were OK, but you immediately saw the Pitt pick as a different scenario?

Anyway my beer is getting flat.

How is it looking like that?

I'm not sure what you expect from him. He's basically been told he has to find another club, has been shopped around, told no by Port. The club has communicated that he is surplus to needs during the time they can shop players around. He's not stupid. He basically has to take what he can get or his career is finished.

If an employer said to you during a round of downsizing "we can keep you, but you'll basically be working in the mail room until our next round of downsizing", would you think "if I work really hard delivering mail I might get my job back" or would you start looking for another job?

I'm not sure how Walters situation is at all relevant.

At what stage, ever, has it looked like Broughton refused to work hard?
My point is at some stage the player himself needs to cop some criticism instead of the footy club and in particular Lyon and Bond. The employer will keep his cream of the crop but the replaceables will be offered redundancy or as you say the mail room gig.

The Walters situation is relevant, the guy was told to go away as he didnt meet FFC standards which is similar to GB in the way he was told he will most likely spend some time in the WAFL. Difference being Walters flourished but GB cracked it and found another club instead of proving Lyon and the coaching staff wrong. But maybe a better comparison is Clancee Pearce... dumped by Harvey and look what happens when he was challenged by Ross Lyon. My expectation of GB was to respond in a positive fashion like Pearce/Walters and not crack it and leave to a guaranteed spot each week.

My point is at some stage the player himself needs to cop some criticism instead of the footy club and in particular Lyon and Bond. The employer will keep his cream of the crop but the replaceables will be offered redundancy or as you say the mail room gig.

The Walters situation is relevant, the guy was told to go away as he didnt meet FFC standards which is similar to GB in the way he was told he will most likely spend some time in the WAFL. Difference being Walters flourished but GB cracked it and found another club instead of proving Lyon and the coaching staff wrong. But maybe a better comparison is Clancee Pearce... dumped by Harvey and look what happens when he was challenged by Ross Lyon. My expectation of GB was to respond in a positive fashion like Pearce/Walters and not crack it and leave to a guaranteed spot each week.
What evidence do you have for Broughton 'cracking it'? There was no challenge from the club to improve, it was a simple message that he was surplus to requirements. You are inferring a lot from very, very little evidence that Broughton didn't 'buy in'.

Sometimes it's as simple as the coach looking at the list and identifying a player that is good but doesn't slot easily into any defined role in the game plan. It's as simple as Broughton being a jack of all trades but not a true master of any, and the club taking the opportunity to get something for him.

I'm struggling to see how anyone can argue this trade on paper is a good deal, pick 37 is battling territory for a player who at worst was a fringe player for us and will be a certain starter for the club he is going to. That said trading these days seems to be a different animal to what it was 5-10 years ago, club's are banking favours.

Yep, this was clearly Broughton's Walters/Pearce moment and he chose to walk rather than do the (sorry) Hard Yakka. Nothing to see here folks just a coach sending a challenge and a player thinking he didn't deserve to be challenged. Ross doesn't let up. He will hammer you into to a grand final.

I suspect Greg Broughton has done plenty of hard yakka to get where is he is. The assertion that some on this board are making that he wasn't prepared to work hard enough is bollocks.

Adapting to Lyon's gameplan was obviously more difficult for some. (Compsare Michael Johnson's early 2012 season interview with Pavs). Maybe Greg found it difficult in the heat of battle to ignore his natural instincts and stick to the structures. Maybe Ross thought he'd never adapt to the new gameplan. Maybe Greg agreed. Maybe it was best for both player and club that he moved on. Or is that too simple? Does it have to be a drama?

To me.... There just has to be more to the story.... Pick 37 for broughton just doesn't cut it for me, it's like we were desperate to get him out the door.... Staggering

Yea, why were we. It shouldnt have any relevance to Salary Cap.

Agree with Jeff to be honest. The only advantage to the second scenario is the extra pick. If the extra four notches gave us our KPP, then why not? Understand the idea of having an extra dart to throw at the board, but I'd rather a straighter dart.

For me whichever of those two options the decision is marginal.

It also depends totally on how the recruiting staff see the draft panning out, and I am sure they would have mapped out possible scenarios for who would be available at picks 17 and 13, who would potentially be available in the second round and who might be available at pick 60.

Geelong downgraded a pick for 2 later selections in a previous draft, and again it would have been based around a fairly tight evaluation of what quality will be available at those selctions.

I wonder if he was packaged in some way to try and get the Mini-draft, and since then has felt aggrieved?

The Morton deal makes the Broughton deal look better. Melbourne have out done us again. WCE really screwed them good and proper.

The pick was irrelevant in that deal, it was really just a 3 way player swap Rodan/Stevenson/Morton