Bryce Gibbs: "I'll stay for the long term"

GAVROI MOUNIA... GAMW TON PIRAEA
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=new...ticleid=301771

Glenelg young gun and potential No.1 draft pick Bryce Gibbs has said that no matter where he lands in the November NAB AFL Draft, he "definitely" wants to remain at the club for the long-term.

Gibbs, who was initially linked with Adelaide as a father/son selection until his eligibility made him open to all clubs upon closer inspection of the rules, suggested he wanted to forge a prosperous career with just one AFL club.

His comments come after the Crows recently said they would be willing to pounce on the midfielder after his minimum two years at a rival AFL club ends - possibly with either Carlton or Essendon.

"They're saying I might come home in two years or whatever, but I'm a pretty loyal person, so I'm just rapt to put on a guernsey wherever and have a good crack at it," Gibbs said at the NAB AFL Draft Camp in Canberra on Wednesday.

"Every now and then something comes out in the paper and my sister goes, 'Bryce, Bryce you're in the paper'. I say, 'Oh, don't worry, chuck it in the bin.' You don't know whether to believe it or not.

"It's been pretty crazy ever since the decision was made about the draft (eligibility), but I'm happy just to put on a guernsey with whoever it may be, so I've just got to work hard and hopefully it'll work out for the best."

Gibbs said he is not perturbed about moving interstate either.

"Mum's stressing out, but I'm no worries I don't reckon," Gibbs said.

"I will miss family and friends, but that's part of it. To get there and do it I suppose you have to sacrifice some things and if it's moving a couple of hundred kilometres away, I'm up for it.

"Once that day comes in November and you know what you're doing, you can just really focus and have a real big crack at it."

The 2006 under-18 All-Australian has had an outstanding year and believes that having two years' experience at senior level with The Bays in the SANFL has been pivotal to his game.

"Definitely … just even learning where to run and what to do and I've had so many roles over the last year and a half - whether it was playing down back or up forward or in the midfield - I've learnt so much running around with those bigger bodies," Gibbs said.

Gibbs said the build-up to the draft had been a valuable learning experience.

"Early on it was a bit like - what do I do? But it just comes now and I just have to do it and deal with it and I cop it a bit from my mates, but that's alright," Gibbs said.

"You can only control what you can and all this stuff (about going at) draft number one or number two - it's out of my control and I only focus on the things I can control, which is getting a kick on the footy field, so I try not to worry about it too much.

"If I'm working hard and doing all of the things right, hopefully it can just take care of itself."

Gibbs is close mates with two other Draft Camp attendees which he said had been a bonus in his football journey thus far.

"I'm real good mates with James Sellar and Mark Austin. We're at school together as well and in the same group of friends, so I'm with them all day, every day at school and we eat and live out of each other's pockets," Gibbs said.

"So growing up through school and playing footy together at Glenelg as well, we made a real special bond and it's just amazing that we're all going through it together and if one's down, we can pick one of them up and we get behind each other and it's been great.

"(I like) just hanging with the boys, going to have a bit of a hit of golf or go surfing or just sit around and watch a movie - but just sitting around with the boys just gets me away from it all and I have a bit of a laugh and giggle, so it's good."

Of the 'Bryce Gibbs Cup', a fictitious trophy contested between Carlton and Essendon earlier this season supposedly for the right to choose Gibbs with the No.1 draft pick, Gibbs said: "I reckon it is rubbish and I think that got a bit out of hand."

"The Bryce Gibbs Cup. I don't know about that," exclaimed Gibbs, before suggesting that the Gumbleton Cup or the Sellar Cup" would have been more appropriate.

yeh i just read this on afl.com.au, it's good news that the kid would rather stay where he gets drafted. About a month ago I was set that I wanted Essendon not to take him, just on the rumor that he may leave, but now I'd love Essendon to draft him. And if he goes to carlton ahead of Essendon, I'd rather see him stay there than run off to Adelaide just to please the croweaters.

mattdavies_03 said:
yeh i just read this on afl.com.au, it's good news that the kid would rather stay where he gets drafted. About a month ago I was set that I wanted Essendon not to take him, just on the rumor that he may leave, but now I'd love Essendon to draft him. And if he goes to carlton ahead of Essendon, I'd rather see him stay there than run off to Adelaide just to please the croweaters.

exactly .. us Victorians have to stick together .. despite our rivalries .. we must join forces as ONE to fight off the Interstaters !

Two Victorian draftees prepare to eat Crow
By Alan Shiell
November 25, 2003

Crow recruits Fergus Watts, left, and Ben Hudson.
Picture: Bryan Charlton

Ben Hudson, all 199 centimetres of him, expected to be training with his mates at Werribee this week, preparing for only his second season in the VFL.

Yesterday, though, he found himself doing morning and afternoon training sessions with AFL club Adelaide and savouring the Crows' plush facilities at AAMI Stadium at West Lakes.

In between, ruckman-forward Hudson, 24, and Sandringham Dragons' tall forward Fergus Watts, 18, Adelaide's other Victorian draftee, eased their way through a media conference and emerged as talented, mature young men still coming to terms with all the attention thrust on them since they were claimed by the Crows with picks No. 58 and 14, respectively, in last Saturday's national draft.

Watts was always going to be an early pick but Hudson was something of a bolter, to the extent that he was headlined as "Ben who?" in an Adelaide newspaper yesterday.

Hudson is almost the definitive late developer as an Australian footballer.

Born in Werribee, he moved to Queensland with his parents when he was eight and played basketball until he switched to football for two years, aged 13 and 14.

He returned to basketball and also played some rugby union at school and again in his first year of physiotherapy studies at the University of Queensland.

Then Australian football claimed him again for two years with the university and for two more years with Mount Gravatt, where he won the club's best-and-fairest award in 2001 and was a member of its 2002 premiership team.

With his studies successfully behind him, Hudson thought he would "give it (footy) a crack in Melbourne".

"I went down with my brother and girlfriend," he said. "I hadn't organised anything. I had family there.

"I wrote to a few clubs and asked whether they were interested. But my grandmother's house was the closest house to the Werribee Football Club so I went there. I rocked up on Werribee's door and said, 'Do you reckon I could get a game?' So funny things happen.

"I've played only a year in the VFL and obviously played against some AFL-listed blokes. I suppose I did all right there (he was runner-up to Travis Robinson in the club's best-and-fairest award)."

Hudson admitted he had spoken "a little bit" to the Western Bulldogs, and when asked what he thought were his strengths and weaknesses, he said: "Probably because I'm pretty new to the game, anything could be a weakness - disposal and obviously my fitness needs work.

"I suppose as a strength I find I can get the ball as a ruckman - sort of get a few possessions. I'm probably not the tallest of ruckmen but I like to punch the ball out and get a bit physical, and work out ways to get it."

English-born Watts, 197 cen-timetres, moved to Moorabbin at age four and began barracking for St Kilda. Reminded he now had the chance to work alongside Wayne Carey, he said: "From a development point of view as a footballer, Wayne Carey's about as good as it gets as a centre half-forward, so if you're going to learn off someone, there's none better than him.

"So I'll stick pretty close to him the next six months to a year and soak it all up."

Asked about reports he was trying to base his game on that of Dermott Brereton and whether the former Hawthorn champion was a hero of his (he has Dermie's blond-streaked hair): "Not really. It's more in the last year or year and a half where my body's got bigger and I've started to play a bit more like him.

"I'm splitting more packs and that kind of thing, which I really enjoy about football. That's why I play - I love hitting bodies and taking marks. Yeah, I'd like to play senior footy next year but I don't know whether they'd fit me into the team anywhere. I'll just keep working hard and try to get a crack at it.

"I'm not coming to Adelaide to be here for two years and then leave, so, yeah, I see myself as a one-club player and a long-term prospect, so hopefully it all pans out that way."

Says it all really. :eek:

Watts couldn't get a game.

Gibbs will play all 22 games in 2007.

He won't miss daddy. He will be far too busy. ;)

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=new...ticleid=301771

Glenelg young gun and potential No.1 draft pick Bryce Gibbs has said that no matter where he lands in the November NAB AFL Draft, he "definitely" wants to remain at the club for the long-term.

"Definitely … just even learning where to run and what to do and I've had so many roles over the last year and a half - whether it was playing down back or up forward or in the midfield - I've learnt so much running around with those bigger bodies," Gibbs said.

"You can only control what you can and all this stuff (about going at) draft number one or number two - it's out of my control and I only focus on the things I can control, which is getting a kick on the footy field, so I try not to worry about it too much.

"If I'm working hard and doing all of the things right, hopefully it can just take care of itself."

"The Bryce Gibbs Cup. I don't know about that," exclaimed Gibbs, before suggesting that the Gumbleton Cup or the Sellar Cup" would have been more appropriate.

DROOL :D

Smart, mature kid who can play a bit of footy too.

Save him the time doing those moronic psychological tests conducted by lame organisational or sports psychs at draft camp in Canberra, i can tell you now this kid has a great head on his shoulders.

crows98 said:
Says it all really. :eek:
All it says is you Cows fans are dellusional and want to change the FS rules to allow you to draft a young bloke who's father never played one game for the Cows .
Now you realise you have lost out, you are bitter ....just build a bridge and move on ..all this bitterness cannot be good for you .

Blues_Man said:
All it says is you Cows fans are dellusional and want to change the FS rules to allow you to draft a young bloke who's father never played one game for the Cows .
Now you realise you have lost out, you are bitter ....just build a bridge and move on ..all this bitterness cannot be good for you .

Yeah, you win i don't give a **** any more.

I really wouldnt read too much into that article. What else is Bryce going to say- as soon as my contract is up, I'm outta here? Of course not- he is saying the same lines every other player with a decent (in this case, virually certain) chance of moving interstate.

whippersnipper said:
I really wouldnt read too much into that article. What else is Bryce going to say- as soon as my contract is up, I'm outta here? Of course not- he is saying the same lines every other player with a decent (in this case, virually certain) chance of moving interstate.

Ben McKinley ?? :D

Lucky Carlton.

Looks like you're gonna get a champion player and person.

Good on him for staying, good to see he's got loyalty in him. :thumbsu:

Jeremias said:
Excellent news.

I'll post it on the Crows forum......ahh crap, I'm banned from there. Someone else post it there then :D

I would but I'm on a 2 lifetime board ban per month budget. I like to keep a few in reserve for worthwhile causes. :)