Coach Buckley steps down

• Thread starter Thread starter TimothyJ23

This point cant be understated. Its an historical fact that Buckleys list was in decline.. despite the popular narrative that Malthouse handed Bucks the youngest list ever.

Just look at the 2010/11 Grand final list
They were either not as good as they seemed at the time ...........Blair Toovey Macaffer N Brown wellingham Fasolo Dawes ...
Or they were short term fixes and/or players near retirement............Ball Jolly L Brown Tarrant Krakouer Didak Davis Johnson Didak....Maxwell not far behind...l
Or they were players who suffered long term injury ...........some of the above (Ball N Brown Krakouer Macaffer) as well as Reid and Thomas
Or they were just head cases... OBrien Beams Thomas Shaw (although Beams was AA under Bucks)
Or they went downhill fast and the game passed them by... Cloke
That pretty much leaves Bucks with Pendlebury Sidebottom and Swan.. and Swannies career was also cut short by a year or two

Of the players Bucks traded only Shaw and Beams had good/reasonable careers elsewhere.... and those trades yielded Adams De Goey Crisp and Greenwood so we were net winners.

Bucks also inherited ZERO young VFL talent with the best of them probably Sinclair whose career was also cruelly cut down by injury
The 2013 AFL draft we ended up with three of the top 10 picks Scharenberg (6), Aish (7, we traded for him at the end of 2015) and Freeman (10). But to have all three not turn out, bloody unlucky. If even one of those was Patrick Cripps (13), Dom Sheed (11) 😭 or Zach Merrett (26) we'd have been much better off.

Dynasty talk suits the anti Bucks pro Mick Sourhouse crowd.

The main thing that crippled Bucks time as coach was injuries and the head of footy changing so often. No continuity and an injury list every year that no coach could overcome.

Imagine if Elliott and Moore played in 2018 GF. We would’ve won by 5 goals

What utter Rubbish, Nic Naitanui and Andrew Gaff say hi

Good luck to you arguing with people that have thought all along Buckley is a gawd, reality, results and facts aren't on your side in these trying times.

I am a massive Buckley fan, one of our all time greatest, if not the greatest player we've had, phonemal clubman, and yes a very good coach -who was a bit stiff in the end. Love the man, love the way he sees, thinks and articulates on all things football. Love the way he handles himself. Goes out leaving others in awe of the way he has handled himself and protected the brand. However, in the end I think it was all alright, his going, the timing of it and the handling of it. He will even be better for it, he is a great media commentator and they will all already be queing up for his services. If he wants to coach again I am sure he will get the chance elsewhere. Club, list, board are all in bad shape, none of it Bux fault, but he has had ten years and the message and program are a bit stale. The board had to move now because they need to find the finest available before years end, before others move on the best available and before the showdown with the Brown ticket. Not great for Bux, but the best thing for the club. Bucks has done nothing but cover himself in further glory the way he has handled it and we now must see he is sent off as the champion he is, remembered as the champion he is and celebrated for the rest of our future history for the champion he is. Onya Bux, a true bloody Collingwood champion, on and off the field.

Sorry but it's just plain myth that we were building a dynasty in 2010. Look at our 2010 list. There was no youth coming through because we put all our eggs in one basket when we recruited Ball and Jolly. Then in 2010 trade period we recruited Andrew Krakouer, a mature aged footballer. All our youth at the club took the field in the 2010 GF. Several mature aged footballers like Frasier were still on our 2010 list but couldn't get games and were soon about to retire. Then you look at 2011. We played Geelong three times and got cleaned up three times despite winning every other game. Hawthorn were on the rise in 2011 and would soon overtake us in the subsequent years. Saying that Collingwood was building up a dynasty in 2010 is like saying Geelong was building up a dynasty in 2011. In fact it was the opposite with both sides peaking around 2010 and 2011. The only way we could have kept up the momentum was keeping every single play fit. When Dale Thomas went down with ankle problems that spelt the end of any chance of staying within the premiership window.
agree, did people really expect Blair, Brown, Macaffer, Goldy, Dawes and a hobbled Daisy to take us to the promised land? No chance

Its just propaganda that Malthouse kept spruiking to slag Bucks off, and enhance his own standing in the game

agree, did people really expect Blair, Brown, Macaffer, Goldy, Dawes and a hobbled Daisy to take us to the promised land? No chance

Its just propoganda that Malthouse kept spuiking to slag Bucks off, and enhance his own standing in the game
And not surprisingly, the article he wrote on Bucks (with glee I imagine) is full of pot shots.

Players retired prematurely (he mentions Jolly, Didak, Johnson and Davis). The first 3 were well on their last legs while Davis announced he was retiring mid 2011then backflipped after all players were signed leaving not much in the cap for him.

Players traded out - mainly the ones that were pro Malthouse after Malthouse split the club with his bitterness.

Wonderful volunteers no longer required - can't comment much here but I'm sure 2 sides to every story and sure volunteers come and go for a variety of reasons.

Doesn't think he will coach again - probably like Jock in 'the club', happy Bucks never coached a flag.

He tried calling Bucks in 2017 but he didn't take the call. Well after 6 years of public put downs and slights where Bucks bit his lip for all but one occasion, I don't think many would have taken the call.

Typical article that you'd expect from him I guess.

He could have mentioned Dunn as well who when matched up against Darling, Darling never got a kick. And not having Andrew Gaff out there freed up Shuey to kill us that day.

We could have mentioned Milne getting a hold of the pill for the sausage roll in 2010.. then what do we have..

Lyon 1 premiership.

MM and Buckley no premierships between em whilst coaching at Collingwood.

I am a massive Buckley fan, one of our all time greatest, if not the greatest player we've had, phonemal clubman, and yes a very good coach -who was a bit stiff in the end. Love the man, love the way he sees, thinks and articulates on all things football. Love the way he handles himself. Goes out leaving others in awe of the way he has handled himself and protected the brand. However, in the end I think it was all alright, his going, the timing of it and the handling of it. He will even be better for it, he is a great media commentator and they will all already be queing up for his services. If he wants to coach again I am sure he will get the chance elsewhere. Club, list, board are all in bad shape, none of it Bux fault, but he has had ten years and the message and program are a bit stale. The board had to move now because they need to find the finest available before years end, before others move on the best available and before the showdown with the Brown ticket. Not great for Bux, but the best thing for the club. Bucks has done nothing but cover himself in further glory the way he has handled it and we now must see he is sent off as the champion he is, remembered as the champion he is and celebrated for the rest of our future history for the champion he is. Onya Bux, a true bloody Collingwood champion, on and off the field.
❤️
Mirrors my thoughts as well. Love the man, always will. A sad time.

He could have mentioned Dunn as well who when matched up against Darling, Darling never got a kick. And not having Andrew Gaff out there freed up Shuey to kill us that day.

What? Not having Gaff freed up Shuey?

If only we’d knobbled Pendles to allow Adams to dominate the clearances… or something.

What? Not having Gaff freed up Shuey?

If only we’d knobbled Pendles to allow Adams to dominate the clearances… or something.
I think more importantly if Gaff had played then there's a fair chance that Sheed would not have...and we can surmise until we die. Winners are grinners. Losers can please themselves

what we can say for certain is the quality of players the Eagles were missing was higher than ours. They were also missing one of their best defenders alongside their best mid and Nic Nat.

Players retired prematurely (he mentions Jolly, Didak, Johnson and Davis).

I reckon there's only 2 people in the footy world who think Jolly could've played on - Malthouse and Jolly.

Jolly was as cooked a player as I've ever seen in his last season.

I reckon there's only 2 people in the footy world who think Jolly could've played on - Malthouse and Jolly.

Ditto Didak. Was never the same after the pec injury. BJ said his body was cooked and his time spent in rehab probably vindicated that.

He had started to slow down alarmingly in 2012 and by end of 2013 I think Grundy was preferred to him in his first year.

Ditto Didak. Was never the same after the pec injury. BJ said his body was cooked and his time spent in rehab probably vindicated that.
This is the ridiculous part of Malthouse's article to highlight those 3 players. Even then they all played into 2013 so its not like they were cut right away. But anything goes to throw barbs at Bucks

Little chance of that when the current president puts himself first, and the wannabe president does the same.
We are heading for a sh*t storm of biblical proportions.
Buckley can watch and chuckle to himself.

He has been laughing for 10 years at our expense when he was gifted the chair.

Love the Bucks fan boys rewriting history so not to dint or make any holes in their fantasy, their greatest Collingwood footballer, their childhood hero.

Personally I don't have a problem with Bucks, but the fans boys are rather pathetic.

They did all end at a young age for blokes of that quality. Pendles could have easily been written off as cooked at the end of 2018. I'd question whether these guys were cooked or just carrying injuries and having bad years?