Buddy's contract killing Sydney's depth?

Why is that though?

Fair point and I'm not trying to be a dick but

I dunno, supply and demand? I seriously don't know, I've lived in Sydney, lived on the Coast, living in Brisbane now and I'm not sure why people would pay more to live in Sydney but that's personal choice.

I guess you could say that people prefer to live in Sydney but that would be a very general statement. You can say that the Costs are objectively higher for the most part for AFL players living in Sydney than say Melbourne. If you were to reply with "Yeah but Sydney has advantages like lifestyle" the point is, that's a personal preference and unless the Sydney players are going to live in some very inconvenient areas they can't really enjoy the same standard of living as players elsewhere.

Basically people enjoy Sydney lifestyle/have friends and family in Sydney so they want to live there, however some people don't like the lifestyle there. Everyones personal preference.

Sydney is more expensive than Melbourne though and that's not really subjectively.

To be perfectly honest, I don't think (and I've said this before) that the Cola should exist for anyone earning over 150/100 grand in Sydney. Sydney is a great place to live if you've got a fair bit of money and the Buddy Franklins/Tippets shouldn't be earning that 20k extra each for living in Sydney. However I think all Rookies/Draftees should be getting a pay raise and I think players earning under X dollars in some areas should be getting given more money on top of that.

Buddy/Tippet don't need that extra 20k but for some players 20k would be a huge difference. Disagree with any of that?

Infatuation is a bit extreme. For me it is the audacity that I find difficult to stomach. We all know that it is meant to get more difficult for a team that has enjoyed recent premiership success. Its called football equalisation / socialism. It crippled Essendon after the 2000 premiership. Geelong battled its way through it despite losing a swag of fringe and quality players it could not afford to keep on its list (King, Mumford, Prismall, Laidler etc.). And yet Sydney Swans manages to find room in its salary cap to "squeeze" in two of the highest paid forwards.

I reckon supporters of other clubs will rest easier when Swans lose a gun player because you can no longer afford to keep him. Then we'll be saying "swings and roundabouts"

Ridiculous comment!
You need to get more knowledge on our club.
We picked up Mummy & put him on a 250K contract. All this after MOL retired & Barry Hall left. Are they "gun" enough for you? Mummy was a fringe player at your club because he was left out of the GF. A sure way to disgruntle a player. History show this. We pounced. Don't over inflate his monetary value at that time.

We picked up Buddy & had to lose Mummy on about 350 to 400K because he was offered 600K for 4 years at GWS. Whether Jesse White was worth it or not, the fact remains that he was on a $1M three year contract to keep him away from Gold Coast when they came into the comp. Collingwood are probably paying him overs now. Not our problem any more. Everitt would have been on 250K minmum. He is now playing great senior footy at Carlton. Armstrong again would have been on 250K as we got him from Adelaide. Mattner retired. That was a big loss for us. 350-400K?

That's $1.5M traded out or retired. Buddy is on 750K for each of his first two years whilst Tippett is on 800K in these years. Tippett will not see 800K per year for his next contract as it was used to get him to our club.

You mention Laidler!

Well you should have kept him. If he continued to play as a defender for your club, may I be "audacious" enough to suggest that he would be on double what he is on right now at the Sydney Swans.

That's the Swans recruiting at it's best my friend.
CoLA alone can't get a Laidler to our club on half the amount he would have been paid by your club.
How did the Hawks afford to pay Buddy close to $1M after nearly winning the 2012 flag (haha......nearly), yet have players of the calibre of Gunston, Burgoyne, Hodge, Rioli, Roughead, Lewis, Mitchell etc, etc & then land Lake?

Oh I know the answer.........................great list management!

Give me a break people!

Bulldogs were paying some of Lakes contract still. North had 3(?) quality rucks so they dicth one cheap. Burgoyne wanted out of Port because of tensions within the club. Saints just wanted loads of picks and turfed MacEvoy to the curb. And Gunston was a second year player who still won't be on big coin.

None of the teams you have mentioned have been able to acquire a $1million a year player during their period of success, and all lost significant players (Daisy, Gazz, and Buddy) to other clubs for bigger money. The Swans however have acquired Buddy and Tippet while not losing anyone of note to another club (don't claim Mummy because that was as much to apease the AFL after Buddy opting for the Swans over GWS).
To be fair, we didn't have a million dollar player or even significant layer to lose, did we? Who are the superstars on our list prior to 2012? We were frantically front-loading our contracts for years because we had no stars. And people wonder why we had cap space.

You don't need to clear a million dollar player to afford a million dollar player. You can also clear a bunch of mid-range players. Which we did, it's been posted here and "on the couch", but it suits your argument to ignore it.

Why is that though?

Because the AFL says so, that's why. This whole cost of living thing is just total BS. Footballers seek high priced accommodation, no matter which state they play in. It's an asset they can liquidate once they leave the promised land after they finish playing footy. It is NOT a cost of living expense. The bottom line is, in Adelaide you have to pay more for a new car than you do in NSW. SA pays more for water rates, they pay more for power, etc. I could continue with many other examples. These are the real "cost of living" items, it is actually cheaper to live in Sydney than it is in other parts of Australia. This is fact, not an opinion. Sydney get COLA simply to allow them more room in their salary cap, and if you think otherwise, you're living in the world of Noddy.

Just as a general point, all sport should be about "short term gain." The "we'll be heaps good in 5 years" culture is the worst thing about AFL. The Swans were criticised for YEARS for being short term in their approach, but it's paid dividends. Hawks, too.

You don't pass up the opportunity to be good now, for an uncertain chance of being excellent later.

I see what you're saying and its a lot easier with the introduction of Free Agency.

There is a case for doing what the bulldogs have done though. You must admit their young crop of players looks very ominous. I would say even more so than GC and GWS.

The idea is to not totally bottom out, but you cant stay top 4 forever, because essentially if you're good, youve got experienced players. Those experienced players prevent younger players from getting opportunities which somewhat stunts their development. Look at Geelong now. Theyve got a good crop of kids, but theyre probably 25-30 games short of where they would be had Geelong not had sustained success with experienced players. Same can be said for Sydney (though not quite as obvious)

Good question, but with Sydney enjoying an amazing list of current stars, their upcoming run of father-son and academy guns means they will be very strong for a long time.

If they cant fit a couple of young guns in, they will just trade them for high draft picks - and so the cycle remains.

This is the reason there has been a bit of resentment from some quarters in the AFL, towards Sydney getting the COLA and and academy - particularly now that free agency is around. Makes it so much easier for them to stay up, whilst so much harder for smaller clubs to rebuild.

I agree with the Swans now having a very good list and being fortunate with Father son coming up... Academy should be discussed in another topic if theirs problems with it.

BUT I don't think the inequality in the league is as big as everyone says, I don't think the 'strugglers' are struggling as much as people are liking to say. Richmond were what, 5th last season? That's fantastic, they had a young list and have regressed this season. If you said last season "Richmond needs help" people would think your crazy.

St Kilda played in a few Grand Finals, were at the top for a while and were very close to getting it done (a single point would've made this discussion silly). The reason they're in this position isn't only because of new clubs coming into the competition but because of the way the list was left. They came very close to a premiership. Western Bulldogs were constant preliminary finalists

What teams haven't come close to winning or making in impact in finals in the last 14 years? Melbourne have been poor but they're getting their act together now and they received the assistance they needed. I think Brisbane needs something similar but other than that I don't see any 'small' teams in trouble. Carlton had a crack, overrated their list and went from almost top four to bottom four. Change of coach, it happens.

Port Adelaide were dead only two seasons ago, now look at them. I think the competition will continue to shuffle in the next few seasons.

Because the AFL says so, that's why. This whole cost of living thing is just total BS. Footballers seek high priced accommodation, no matter which state they play in. It's an asset they can liquidate once they leave the promised land after they finish playing footy. It is NOT a cost of living expense. The bottom line is, in Adelaide you have to pay more for a new car than you do in NSW. SA pays more for water rates, they pay more for power, etc. I could continue with many other examples. These are the real "cost of living" items, it is actually cheaper to live in Sydney than it is in other parts of Australia. This is fact, not an opinion. Sydney get COLA simply to allow them more room in their salary cap, and if you think otherwise, you're living in the world of Noddy.

http://www.smh.com.au/business/the-...-strong-growth-in-january-20140203-31w0u.html

Indices Difference

Consumer Prices in Sydney are 2.28% higher than in Melbourne

Consumer Prices Including Rent in Sydney are 14.82% higher than in Melbourne

Rent Prices in Sydney are 41.23% higher than in Melbourne

Restaurant Prices in Sydney are 0.65% lower than in Melbourne

Groceries Prices in Sydney are 0.25% lower than in Melbourne

Local Purchasing Power in Sydney is 5.48% lower than in Melbourne

You would need around 7,118.80A$ in Sydney to maintain the same standard of life that you can have with 6,200.00A$ in Melbourne (assuming you rent in both cities). This calculation uses our Consumer Prices Including Rent Index

Ridiculous comment!

That's $1.5M traded out or retired. Buddy is on 750K for each of his first two years whilst Tippett is on 800K in these years. Tippett will not see 800K per year for his next contract as it was used to get him to our club.

Give me a break people!

Just had to laugh at this.
Tippett doesnt give 2 fks about your club, our club or any club. He cares about his back pocket.
So looks like you wont expect to keep him after his contract is up.

http://www.smh.com.au/business/the-...-strong-growth-in-january-20140203-31w0u.html

Indices Difference

Consumer Prices in Sydney are 2.28% higher than in Melbourne

Consumer Prices Including Rent in Sydney are 14.82% higher than in Melbourne

Rent Prices in Sydney are 41.23% higher than in Melbourne

Restaurant Prices in Sydney are 0.65% lower than in Melbourne

Groceries Prices in Sydney are 0.25% lower than in Melbourne

Local Purchasing Power in Sydney is 5.48% lower than in Melbourne

You would need around 7,118.80A$ in Sydney to maintain the same standard of life that you can have with 6,200.00A$ in Melbourne (assuming you rent in both cities). This calculation uses our Consumer Prices Including Rent Index

You'd be absolutely mad to be on any kinda decent AFL salary and be renting.
That would be the first thing I'd tell my players if I was a manager. DO NOT rent.

Lol 10% is pissy.
In a sport where 1% makes all the difference, having an extra million dollars to pay players is a pretty big ruddy advantage.

Clearly YOU have no ruddy idea.
Except that the extra million was not all given to Tippett and Franklin. They got their pissy 9.8% extra just like the rest of the squad.

Seriously, the willful misunderstanding of this subject defies belief.

A couple of facts here. 1. Tippett and Franklin both approached Sydney. 2. Any club could afford them if they managed their list well.

There are so many factors involved in a player's decision to sign, and a club's decision to take them on. But according to the myopic, hermetically-sealed BF mind, in Sydney's case it always comes down to a carbonated beverage.

Just had to laugh at this.
Tippett doesnt give 2 fks about your club, our club or any club. He cares about his back pocket.
So looks like you wont expect to keep him after his contract is up.

I don't know if you're deliberately trying to be ignorant or not, but it's clear as day the Swans will not offer him the same contract that we did before in terms of money per season. Do you think we will?

It also is very hard to imagine Tippet asking to leave/trying free agency. Do you think he'll go through all this again? I find that very hard to believe.

Also in regards to renting- How much are rookies/draftees getting nowdays? I remember a few seasons ago one player (can't remember what club) was sleeping through meetings because he had to get a second job to support his family but than got given work at the club.... He doesn't sound like the sort of person that should be buying a house now does he?

Yep. And divided by 40 players it's $25,000. Not nearly as big a number.

You people are peanuts. How can you justify that comment?

If its not that much money the Hawks will have it as well thanks.

$1m extra is $1m extra.

No matter how you cut it that $1m extra equals a massive part of Tippett + a massive part of Buddy.

Yes buying into a heavily inflated Sydney property market is a much better idea...

If you are on decent money you'd be mad to be banking on real-estate values.

The housing market is inflated everywhere in Australia.
Fact is people have been saying housing prices will drop for a number of years and they havent. They may, but they may not.

Put it this way, rent money gets you nowhere.
Youd be much smarter to buy if you can afford it, which 99% of AFL players can. FULL STOP.

Fine. Purchasing prices for houses are even worse.

You can sell a house later you know.
Man is this thread full of 10 year olds?

I don't know if you're deliberately trying to be ignorant or not, but it's clear as day the Swans will not offer him the same contract that we did before in terms of money per season. Do you think we will?

It also is very hard to imagine Tippet asking to leave/trying free agency. Do you think he'll go through all this again? I find that very hard to believe.

Also in regards to renting- How much are rookies/draftees getting nowdays? I remember a few seasons ago one player (can't remember what club) was sleeping through meetings because he had to get a second job to support his family but than got given work at the club.... He doesn't sound like the sort of person that should be buying a house now does he?

This is why the rookies in high cost of living areas are going to still get the allowance.
Nobody has a problem with the kids and rookies getting it. That makes perfect sense and really hasnt been argued all along.

Also I think Tippett would go through whatever it takes to get another couple of hundred G in his back pocket.

You can sell a house later you know.
Man is this thread full of 10 year olds?

Do you know the first thing about purchasing costs? Interest rates? Market risk?

Best you stay well away from advising young footballers given your apparently simplistic view of market operations and, for that matter, variable human preferences.

The housing market is inflated everywhere in Australia.
Fact is people have been saying housing prices will drop for a number of years and they havent. They may, but they may not.

Put it this way, rent money gets you nowhere.
Youd be much smarter to buy if you can afford it, which 99% of AFL players can. FULL STOP.

This is why the rookies in high cost of living areas are going to still get the allowance.
Nobody has a problem with the kids and rookies getting it. That makes perfect sense and really hasnt been argued all along.

Also I think Tippett would go through whatever it takes to get another couple of hundred G in his back pocket.

Cool so no problems with the COLA as it's going to be structured soon? Meaning that we all move on? Cool.

I doubt Tippet will go through it all again and I don't think it's realistic for all AFL players to buy a house given they could realistically only be on the list for two years and than be unemployed and without any talents outside of football

Do you know the first thing about purchasing costs? Interest rates? Market risk?

Best you stay well away from advising young footballers given your apparently simplistic view of market operations and, for that matter, variable human preferences.

I work in financial markets, have a degree in corporate finance and have a number of investment properties.

Nice try though.

If you're advising guys on 250k a year to rent, then you need to get your head checked.

Cool so no problems with the COLA as it's going to be structured soon? Meaning that we all move on? Cool.

I doubt Tippet will go through it all again and I don't think it's realistic for all AFL players to buy a house given they could realistically only be on the list for two years and than be unemployed and without any talents outside of football

No problem at all with the proposed.
But...thats what should have happened to start with. I mean you gotta know that cost of living wouldnt affect someone like Franklin or Tippett on the money theyre getting.

I work in financial markets, have a degree in corporate finance and have a number of investment properties.

Nice try though.

If you're advising guys on 250k a year to rent, then you need to get your head checked.

Rent aproperty, and then buy a different property and rent that out would work quiet well though ;)

1. Tippett and Franklin both approached Sydney. 2. Any club could afford them if they managed their list well.
You just lost ALL credibility. Geelong has arguably managed its list as well if not better than any teams in the past decade, and we could not afford either player. It wasn't a case of managing the list well; it was a case of simple arithmetic