Burger Theory

• Thread starter Thread starter PowerKat

Found out about their existence by chance on the interwebs a few months ago and then FINALLY the planets aligned a few weeks ago and I could get to the van early enough to avoid a half hour+ line up. Went back for a replay last Fri. :thumbsu:

So, a couple of guys have set up an 'American style foodtruck' - they sell burgers, burritos and fries. The burgers are 'gourmet' - Coorong Angus - and some would say 'pricey' but they are damn good! ($8 or $10 for a burger) I haven't tried the burritos because that would mean not having a burger. I can't even remember how much they are.

For anyone working in the city, they have a few regular spots at lunch times, and for anyone else, they are usually in the East End on Fri evenings and do special events (they were at the Test Cricket) and oter sites at random - keep your ear to the ground (or twitter lol). Plan to get there before they do, or before they open, because the lines are loooooooonnnng these days.

They were given a trial permit to trade and that was extended to the end of 2012 or so (gee thanks for the hoops Adel CC).

More info on the website including a calendar.

http://www.burgertheory.com/

btw, I don't know these people or anything like that - I just think they do a good job and if more stuff happened here in mundane-nothing-ever-changes Adelaide, I wouldn't get quite so excited about a mobile hamburger truck :D

pete-burger-theory_ss_medium.jpg

Anyone else had an experience?

I have heard tales of such burgers, and keep meaning to track them down.

There's another `gourmet' burger place over on Magill Rd, which is...slow. Slow like a wet Sunday, even when it is a wet Sunday. When I had been standing in line to order for five minutes, with three people still in front of me and only one guy doing anything resembling cooking, and a verbal time estimate of 40 minutes given to the people ordering, I gave up and left. I am not hipster enough.

Yep, Burger Theory is excellent. The meat itself is delicious and nicely seasoned with salt and pepper. I tend to smash down the burgers pretty quickly, as they are fairly small, so make sure you grab a #1 and a #2 if you have a big appetite.

Enuf Burger Bar on Jetty Rd, Brighton and Anzac Highway, Glenelg goes alright too.

Burger Theory is excellent. I'm lucky enough to work in the East End so we all tromp down and line up every time they're in the area.

They also cater for events as well. I've even been to a gallery opening that had them parked out the front.

Great guys too.

Dont talk to me about Burgers until you have eaten at two places;

Burger It in North Adelaide which imo has the best Take Out Burgers in Adelaide.

Didnt really rate Enuf Burgers, but will try it again (was one of the first customers, was alright - but way overpriced.)

But if you want the best burger in the world.

Center4 Hamburgers in Takayama Japan.

294305_255013277851033_254986727853688_1000022_7818995_n.jpg

Best food, awesome store.

293441_255010597851301_254986727853688_1000003_23111_n.jpg

I seriously thought this thread was going to be about one of our ex players who left to play at Hawthorn :o

Nothing beats Fergburger in Queenstown NZ. I'm still strongly considering moving there simply because of the burgers. Nothing has come close to that place.

I've been hearing quite a bit about these guys, but I'll wait and see how "American" they are until I try one. I believe the place you were talking about Porthos is the Burger Foundry. They're pretty tasty but almost impossible to fit in your mouth, again I wouldn't say they are an authentic American burger.

I'd warn people off New York Dreams on Semaphore road. Just because the girls are wearing New York Knicks hats doesn't mean the food they sell is American. I'd rather go to the deli down the road tbh.

Anyway here's some snaps I took of real American food from my recent trip!

-Battered deep fried Oreos. Yes that's right and they were delicious!

dqj0vc.jpg

-Chilly burger. Tasted fantastic from what I remember

xydet.jpg

-American Ribs with hickory sauce. A half slab cost 9 bucks :eek:

magln8.jpg

-Chicago traditional deep dish pizza. A small and I only ate 2/3 of it

11hf3b4.jpg

-Philly cheese steak washed down with a Mountain Dew

33421ad.jpg

-Gyro which is kinda like a Yiros but something about the sauce makes it better

21b20yq.jpg

Its amazing how feral food can seem when you can't smell it.

my mate was working at burger theory last year until he went overseas but he loved it and they were keen for him to take more of the load. they've got the best burgers we've ever had! hadn't heard of it before he started but I've seen it everywhere since, it has this cult status...

the blue and white on o'connell might have something to say about the 'best burgers' call I guess..!

Would be keen except I dont go for lunch break till 3. I suppose thats way to late?

Work at the Strath, and only recently started there so am looking for a few good eating places.

Would be keen except I dont go for lunch break till 3. I suppose thats way to late?

Work at the Strath, and only recently started there so am looking for a few good eating places.

A little bit far maybe, but I reckon the Yiros at Yanni's at the western end of Hindley Street are the best in Adelaide. Pricey, but fast and fresh.

"Pricey" at $8-$10???

You need to come to Sydney Kat. The land of the $20 burger.

yeah but this is Adelaide ;) You'd need at least 2, if not 3, plus fries and/or a cookie :cool:

Yeah I must admit, I lol'd when you said $8-10 is expensive Kat.

dis aint maccaz luv. haha <3.

I don't even know what a maccas costs :(

I've been hearing quite a bit about these guys, but I'll wait and see how "American" they are until I try one.

It's more the truck that's American style than the food :thumbsu:

Sounds good
Have to keep an eye out for them

Someone mentioned twitter.....do you know their twitter name?

Had a look today but by the time I got off work Leigh street was deserted, and all the shops were closed so I couldnt even grab something from a cafe or something :/

They also cater for events as well. I've even been to a gallery opening that had them parked out the front.

Great guys too.

Yeah, we had them service our Christmas do in 2011. Certainly tasty, especially their home made sauce/dressing.

Also went to try "Burger Foundary" (on Magill Rd) once, but they were far too busy (30 min wait) and with SFA seating, so we didn't hang around. They seem much more like a "order online and pick up" sort of place.

Another (more local) favourite is the "Burger Club" at Mawson Lakes:
http://www.burgerclub.com.au/

Heaps of seating, great selection, plus they're licensed. :D

missed out today :( because their 'usual' timetable has been replaced by their attendance at Womadelaide - I think they're at womad for the whole 4 days

I saw the van the other day on North Terrace out the front of the uni.

I really want to try these burgers and Womad is so close, yet so far because I assume a ticket is needed to get in to get the food :(

Another (more local) favourite is the "Burger Club" at Mawson Lakes:
http://www.burgerclub.com.au/

Heaps of seating, great selection, plus they're licensed. :D

Vouch.

Putting my Mary Queen of Shops hat on though, seems a problem they get bugger all business compared to the neighbouring Subway and Boatdeck. Not sure how long they can last in such a prime location where rent would be extortionist.