Bye Roo

• Thread starter Thread starter crowsRno1!

Congrats Roo... an absolute champion!

I have made a desktop wallpaper in dedication of the great man.

Feel free to use it yourself if you like. It is in 1028x764 size, but looks great centered on a widescreen 1440x900 screen like mine.

Its too big to post the image itself, so I'll just supply a link.

http://s162.photobucket.com/albums/t275/crow28_album/?action=view&current=Wallpaper_Ricciuto.jpg

Thanks also goes to 21Knights for the great photo courtesy of his "Gun Shots" thread in bay114.

Thanks for that. Looks good.:thumbsu:

find a new team maccas I have just about had enough of your whinging.

biggest tosser on BF

Im not about the team Im about the club and once again you attack me and add no value to the discussion, perhaps your own existence should be questioned??

I have had numerous opportunities to deal with Roo over the years and I must say that not once did I experience any reluctance or anything such from the man. In fact he has been super approachable to anyone wanting to have a chat or get an autograph or anything like that. I have shitload of signed Roo memorabilia including my birthday present from 2005, a large signed picture of Roo. My GF at the time asked my mate if he could somehow get in contact with Roo to sign the photo and he was more than willing. The photo was taken to the club and was personally signed by the great man.

There was an incident on one of those Norwood trials going back a few years when I accidentaly walked into the stand and area that was reserved for players and their invitees. When the security realised that I was a joe bloggs off the street they asked me to leave but Roo told them that it was OK and I was with him. Not only did I have the priviledge to sit with players and their guest for that day, Roo also made sure that my mates who were running late were also with us. Roo had a thumb injury at the time and didn't play.

I just don't understand this Roo bashing because over the years in all my dealings with him directly or indirectly he has been nothing short of sensational. A champion player and a champion bloke!

I am not Roo bashing at all Stiffy. I cried for him yesterday. Cried that he didn't get the ending he deserved. He was a champion player there's no doubt about that at all. And I am glad you had some really wonderful, special moments and memories with him and of him. Unfortunately, I have witnessed many occasions where he wasn't that benevolant with his adoring fans and that, of course, tarnishes my view of him as a bloke.

I think it's sad that Marty and I are being painted as evil people when all we have to go on is our own personal experiences with and of the man.

I have no beef with your personal dealings with Roo. I have taken issue with maccas '' you didnt come and say goodbye to me'' whinge.

I have always found him difficult to deal with off the footy feild.

Marty, have you ever considered that might be actually saying more about you than Roo, when other people don't experience that problem?? ;)

Seriously, Roo went up in my estimation yesterday. He didn't want to go in a big blaze of glory when he knew that by playing when not fit and not being able to perform, he had help contribute to the loss - and with him, it's all about the team.

A champion player, a champion man, and one blessed with humility. A great and natural leader of men

IMO we will never have another as good as the Roo.

Let's just leave it at that Maccas. :)

I have no beef with your personal dealings with Roo. I have taken issue with maccas '' you didnt come and say goodbye to me'' whinge.

Where did I say I wanted him to 'come and say goodbye to me' FFS stop making shit up, this was about every single AFC supporter at the game and at home, **** your ridiculous sometimes:thumbsd:

Marty, have you ever considered that might be actually saying more about you than Roo, when other people don't experience that problem?? ;)

Seriously, Roo went up in my estimation yesterday. He didn't want to go in a big blaze of glory when he knew that by playing when not fit and not being able to perform, he had help contribute to the loss - and with him, it's all about the team.

A champion player, a champion man, and one blessed with humility. A great and natural leader of men

IMO we will never have another as good as the Roo.

Let's just leave it at that Maccas. :)

Sadly, if it were all about the team yesterday, he honestly wouldn't have played. :(

I agree with you about never finding another one like him though. And on that note, I too will leave it at that.

I dont know what your trying to say:confused: Im not the kind of supporter that bothers players, I know some of the AFC players better than others and have formed quite good relationships with some of them, I dont ask for autographs havent for a good 3 years, I dont ask for pictures, I dont go out of my way to 'seek' out players, it was like the week before after the Collingwood game, I was leaving the aftermatch and Rutten was outside said 'hey G'day Marty' I said' G'day truck nice win tonight, goodluck for next week' he said 'yeah no worries', end of story. If get that out of a player thats great, but I was never going to go over to him invade his personal space just to talk to him, there has to be respect from both sides me to the player and vice versa, thats the way I work.

I know and have seen on occassions how Ricciuto can deal with supporters so I leave that one be, Ive spoken to him if Ive needed to at functions

Where did I say I wanted him to 'come and say goodbye to me' FFS stop making shit up, this was about every single AFC supporter at the game and at home, **** your ridiculous sometimes:thumbsd:

I get what you're saying Macca, but you're being a bit rough.

Personally, I was filthy that we didn't get to give him a proper send-off after the Brisbane game at Footy Park.

He walked off the ground in tears yesterday, and couldn't front the media afterwards - he was absolutely shattered.

Give him a bit of a break mate.

No its not. Dont presume to speak for me.

I think maybe because his fans deserved better? Actually, I think the footy world deserved better. Seeing how Sheeds, Hird etc etc were sent off last week, and here we have this legend, walking off without even so much as acknowledging the crowd, was very, very disappointing.
He did acknowledge the crowd. I was sitting directly opposite our race so I can only assume he was looking down the whole time but he definitely gave a wave and that's all that he needed to do.

Unless we won the Grand Final, his send off was always going to be downcast.

I think you guys are being really harsh. It was a fair observation by Marty (I also felt the same way, but I wasn't at the ground) that Roo, unlike the other greats who had also retired this last week and managed to do so with dignity even though their team lost) didn't really acknowledge the fans or, more importantly, didn't allow us to acknowledge him. And I understand that he was distraught. We all were. In all honesty, I believe he will have several regrets about that day. Playing, when he clearly couldn't. Not being able to contribute. And not allowing his fans to say goodbye and thank him for the amazing memories.

Jenny for your information as you wouldn't have seen it up there, at their early mad Monday, the boys had a farwell dring at the Alma Hotel yesterday and he stated he had no regrets about playing or anything he has ever done, he wouldn't have changed a thing. What he did say also that amazed me was he is going under the knife not only to fix his knees, but his groin.
Apparently that went in the first quarter, so we don't know all the facts before we go off in a tangent.

And for my own experience with the great man was only once and it was this year. I dont collect autographs, or anything as such, but as I was sitting in the departure lounge of the Melbourne airport after the Melbourne loss, the team arrived. He looked around and acknowledge a few of the apparent regulars he knew but then spotted me on my own.
He asked VB and Goody to go around and thank all of us for coming but he made a point of coming over and talking to me first and thanked me for coming. He sat down and we had a coupld of small talk moments before he got up, shook my hand again and tapped me on the shoulder a couple of times as you would a friend. You could see the sincerity in his eyes.

To me that will always go down as one of my favourite moments.

jesus, this thread has turned a little fruity!!!

leave the man be, he is a gun, always will be!

now get started on making up a boy roo!!! NOW!!!!!!

most sensible post in the thread......may the impregnations be numerous........:thumbsu:
i should be rewarded with a free BF membership... :D

He's got shitty people skills, so what? He should be better because he has obligations as captain? Are you kidding? I coud just imagine the AFC, in the late nineties announcing that he had been overlooked as club captain because he didn't sign enough autographs for the kiddies! He's one of the most inspirational on-field leaders of his generation and so accepting his off-field demeanour seems a very small price to pay.

He's been a genuine superstar, gave his heart and soul for your club and in my opinion he leaves owing the club and its supporters absolutely nothing.

Almost made me cry seeing him leave the ground. I was too busy throwing things around the room though

hahah good to see im not the only one!! i threw a pillow at the wall (projection screen) and my misses was giving me evil eyes so i threw a bean bag at her!!!

damn u franklin! torneys goal was a ripper at the end.

Im not about the team Im about the club and once again you attack me and add no value to the discussion, perhaps your own existence should be questioned??
The fact that you think after 312 games and all his other accolades, that he still owes the fans something is absurd.

Says more about you than it does Roo.

The fact that you think after 312 games and all his other accolades, that he still owes the fans something is absurd.

Says more about you than it does Roo.

So if Roo hadnt of played at AAMI for the last time against Brisbane you dont think there would have been an uproar????