ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
A weagle-supporting friend of mine reckons Schammer will look to go back to SA at the end of this year. He has nothing to base this on - just "gut-feeling". If his gut-feeling turned out to be correct, what do you think AFC would / could offer to get the deal done? Scham is contracted till the end of 2007. Just interested - hypothetically speaking of course. :)

Isn't he a back pocket these days?

I'll say. He could probably turn Warren Tredrea into a mediocre ruckman.

Didn't take long for this to go off topic. CC may or may not be a hack coach... but that's got little to do with the hypothetical question I was asking.

No worries though. I'll leave you two to it.

ImperialPurple said:
Didn't take long for this to go off topic. CC may or may not be a hack coach... but that's got little to do with the hypothetical question I was asking.

No worries though. I'll leave you two to it.
Look, I happen to really rate Schammer and I think he could develop into a real gun midfielder. He is a clean player with football brain and gat foot skills. He is also very young with a lot of AFL games under his belt so you are getting a ready made player with a fair bit of upside.

Whats he worth, I am not really sure. I would suspect he would be worth a fair bit given that he will be 21 at the time of the trade week and with some 50 odd AFL games under his belt (if eh plays most of games this year). I am pretty sure that both Adelaide clubs would be very interested if Schammer was to declare that he wants to come home.

I think you would be looking at least for a 1st round pick.

I would think they'd try for a similar player. Failing that a first rounder would be about the mark. And he's played 53 games so far. If he plays all games, and depending on where we are at at the business end, he could have 75+ by year's end.

ImperialPurple said:
I would think they'd try for a similar player. Failing that a first rounder would be about the mark. And he's played 53 games so far. If he plays all games, and depending on where we are at at the business end, he could have 75+ by year's end.

I think he played a bit before he was ready and suffered a few injuries as a consequence. He is a good type with plenty of courage and ability.

You never really get much agreement on discussion boards about trade value for players. Clubs who get plenty of early picks tend to value them less than clubs who rarely get them (ie. us). That said, he would be worth a first round pick I would think.

I can't see us trading players unless someone put their hands up to head west. We don't have too many West Aussies on the list at the moment, off the top of my head Perrie, Van Berlo and Stevens. I don't think Perrie is going anywhere, the club would be very reluctant to let Van Berlo go, and if you wanted Stevens you can probably pick him up in the PSD!

I think he'd cost us a first round pick and then some. Best case scenario (for us) would be first rounder by itself. I'm using trades such as Stenglein and Scott Thompson as rough guides as he's probably somewhere in their ballpark, give or take a bit.

Talking players, van Berlo could interest the Dockers if he comes on nicely this year (and early signs are very encouraging). Obviously van Berlo would not be adequate compensation on his achievements so far but by the end of the year he should be around the 30 game mark. We wouldn't let him go under those circumstances but for the sake of this hypothetical I think he'd be the most similar player to Schammer that we have, along with Chris Knights, although a few years behind in development.

How does that sound to you ImperialPurple? I'm far from an expert so I may be way off.

I know everyone keeps saying how good Pettigrew will be but I am yet to be convinced. I'd trade pettigrew for Schammer. Straight swap, Schammer is more experienced and Pettigrew is a tall and thus worth more than he would be otherwise.
Having said that Freo have a heap of talls.

first round pick, straight up. particularly in this draft.
IF we got Gibbs F/S, we could afford to give our first round; which would give us a minimum of Schammer & Gibbs, a great result. good for freo, because they would want more early picks in the draft.

freo would laugh at a pettigrew swap on his own, you'd need more than that.

**** said:
I think he'd cost us a first round pick and then some. Best case scenario (for us) would be first rounder by itself. I'm using trades such as Stenglein and Scott Thompson as rough guides as he's probably somewhere in their ballpark, give or take a bit.

Talking players, van Berlo could interest the Dockers if he comes on nicely this year (and early signs are very encouraging). Obviously van Berlo would not be adequate compensation on his achievements so far but by the end of the year he should be around the 30 game mark. We wouldn't let him go under those circumstances but for the sake of this hypothetical I think he'd be the most similar player to Schammer that we have, along with Chris Knights, although a few years behind in development.

How does that sound to you ImperialPurple? I'm far from an expert so I may be way off.

Well I'm far from an expert too, but I would think that that would be close. I guess at this end of the season it would be really hard to judge. Scham coule end up doing bugger all this year - or it could be the year where he really stands up and makes his name. I don't think our coach is doing him a whole lot of favours at the moment.
Van Berlo looks a good sort - he could very well go to the next level of "good looking kid" to "good player" during 2006. If you get Gibbs, then maybe Van Berlo + 2nd rounder.... ?? But of course that would depend on the seasons they each have.

PAF, I think we'd definitely need more than just Pettigrew. We have a stack of young talls, not many quick skillful midfielders. That's where our need is.

But as I said, I am no expert either... Just wondering what people thought on the possibilities of gaining the Schamster / how you rate him / if he'd fit into your team. Yours is a pretty well-balanced squad, so I wouldn't think you'd be interested in giving away too much. My weagle mate certainly doesn't have any inside info, so it all could mean zippo in the end. :)

ImperialPurple said:
... PAF, I think we'd definitely need more than just Pettigrew. We have a stack of young talls, not many quick skillful midfielders. That's where our need is.
I did say that you have plenty of talls and wouldn't be interested at the moment, but Pettigrew is from WA and if he does improve you never never know with Freo.
I agree that trading Scammer for Pettigrew just ain't going to happen as things stand, however I am not the greatest of fan of either player just yet and expect Pettigrew's stocks to go up a little by trade time and Schammer's to go down a bit.
To me Schammer has developed heaps relative to others because of opportunities and is not too far off his peak. At the moment his value also includes the potential aspect and that will decrease with time.

Having said that they will probably both end up being genuine superstars now. :p

I have no doubt Byron will play his career out with the Dockers. I speak to his brother Myles on and off and the word from him is that he is very happy in Perth.
Has just bought property over there and is very settled. Remember guys Adelaide isnt home for Byron, Loxton is so thats still about 3 1/2 hours from Adelaide.

wizard_9 said:
I have no doubt Byron will play his career out with the Dockers. I speak to his brother Myles on and off and the word from him is that he is very happy in Perth.
Has just bought property over there and is very settled. Remember guys Adelaide isnt home for Byron, Loxton is so thats still about 3 1/2 hours from Adelaide.

Maybe I should tell my weagle mate that that feeling in his gut is probably wind.... ;)

Cheers guys. Sorry for starting something that looks unlikely to happen if what wizard_9 says is correct. :o

ImperialPurple said:
Maybe I should tell my weagle mate that that feeling in his gut is probably wind.... ;)

Cheers guys. Sorry for starting something that looks unlikely to happen if what wizard_9 says is correct. :o

You're welcome. :)

Come back soon with the Pavlich "go home" wheeling & dealing. :thumbsu:

Crow-mo said:
first round pick, straight up. particularly in this draft.
IF we got Gibbs F/S, we could afford to give our first round; which would give us a minimum of Schammer & Gibbs, a great result. good for freo, because they would want more early picks in the draft.

freo would laugh at a pettigrew swap on his own, you'd need more than that.

If we do manage to get Gibbs, and that's a big IF, we should hand onto our other 1st rounder, provided we don't have to use it on Gibbs. We must take full advantage of having possibly 2 1st rounders in the supposed super draft.

I would only consider trading away one first rounder on a 1st tier young forward, such as, dare I say the P word.

SpringChoke said:
If we do manage to get Gibbs, and that's a big IF, we should hand onto our other 1st rounder, provided we don't have to use it on Gibbs. We must take full advantage of having possibly 2 1st rounders in the supposed super draft.

I would only consider trading away one first rounder on a 1st tier young forward, such as, dare I say the P word.

Agree I would rather see that strategy implemented as it's better to bring young kids in to improve and maintain list management than have a recycled player.

Serious answer: If he doesn't play the rest of the season in the guts, Schammer won't be worth a first-round pick at the end of the year. He'll be a short guy with potential unrealised that can play a bit in the back pocket...not a big demand for that, particularly in superdraft year when you should be able to get the same thing for much cheaper, and a bit younger, and with more upside.

I think hes a very good player who is out of sorts and lacking confidence. I reckon, as already said, both clubs would look at him. I think crows have more to offer freo than port do.