Cale Morton and Matthew Bate

What's with all this Davey hate?

He was good last year.

He has been average this year.

He is the most damaging player in our team and a weapon which we would be incredibly idiotic to leave at Casey when the likes of Morton are running around playing much worse footy.

As for Morton, he has talent. Anyone who watched him in his first couple of years will tell you that.

He needs two things. A full pre-season and with it 5-8kg's more weight, and confidence.

He doesn't have any at the moment, he needs to gain it at Casey.

I wouldn't get rid of him just yet, he's only 21.

What's with all this Davey hate?

He was good last year.

He has been average this year.

He is the most damagin player in our team and a weapon which we would be incredibly idiotic to leave at Casey when the likes of Morton are running around playing much worse footy.

As for Morton, he has talent. Anyone who watched him in his first couple of years will tell you that.

He needs two things. A full pre-season and with it 5-8kg's more weight, and confidence.

Don't you know that supporters love to hate on their players after a bad season? I wonder who will be next...:rolleyes:

Davey cops a heavy tag and gets bashed by the opposition and has no support from his team mates yet that's just Davey's fault. Its called a team sport and another thing, Davey didn't go back hard for one ball in his WHOLE career and now he is soft. You see plenty of players do this week in week out. All the great things he has done over the years gets forgotten.

Yeah you always find some dumb Melbourne supporters on here. How they forget all the good things players like Davey have done for our club...no doubt "High flying falg" was bagging Mark Jamar a few years back and wanted Stef Martin sacked!!!!! :)

First of all, dtx, Stef Martin has been my favorite Dees player since he debuted. Check my sig for my first username. Secondly, I've never been bothered by Jamar as we had White. And for ***** sake, I don't have anything against people who thought differently because, at one time or another, both looked like spuds. Thirdly, I love Davey, and his first 5 years were electric, but now since the contract issues of 09, he's not played his role. Did you see him before injury? Ineffectual to the max. Look a bit further past the highlight reel abd you'll see a player who needs to EARN a spot and not take one for granted. Can fight with Strauss and Nicho for a spot, he has more talent but they're trying a lot harder

And a defined role in the team. Most important of them all.

Bate's problems are he:
1 Struggles to mark over head
2 is so left-sided it's not funny
3 Is poor below his knees
4 Cannot jump
5 Is playing out of position. Should be tried off a half back flank.

Dont you love Melbourne supporters such a positive know it all bunch. :)

First of all, dtx, Stef Martin has been my favorite Dees player since he debuted. Check my sig for my first username. Secondly, I've never been bothered by Jamar as we had White. And for ***** sake, I don't have anything against people who thought differently because, at one time or another, both looked like spuds. Thirdly, I love Davey, and his first 5 years were electric, but now since the contract issues of 09, he's not played his role. Did you see him before injury? Ineffectual to the max. Look a bit further past the highlight reel abd you'll see a player who needs to EARN a spot and not take one for granted. Can fight with Strauss and Nicho for a spot, he has more talent but they're trying a lot harder

Yeah I'm sure Stef Martin has been your fav player from day 1 and I'm sure you never said a bad thing about Jamar but anyways...

Davey has been out of form this year but there are many Melbourne fans who want him traded, you don't go around trading a damaging player like Davey for having a bad season. People focus on one bit of play (vs saints) and call for his head. Did anyone watch Footy Classified last night? Did you see the other eg's of players pulling out of contests? They were far worse then Davey's...

You're talking about earning a spot in the team which is fair enough but then you need to look at players like Green, Jurrah, and to some extent Sylvia who has been hot and cold all year. Scully's had 2 really bad weeks, should he be dropped? Scully hasn't committed to the club, do we hold that against him?

Dont you love Melbourne supporters such a positive know it all bunch. :)

I presume that's a joke? The Melbourne posters' assessments of Morton and Bate have been refreshingly unbigfootyesque. The normal protocol would be for us to claim that Morton and Bate are worth two top 10 picks each! :p

I haven't seen him lately but last season I remember he had a booming kick and a nice mark. He was a valuable player. From what people have written thought is sounds as if he's turned from chocolates into boiled lollies.

Bate has ALWAYS taken a couple of games in the seniors to get into his stride after injury. When he has had time to settle he has played good consistent footy. He hasn't been afforded this luxury this year as Watts, Jurrah, Petterd and Howed are ahead of him. His hands can be very good and contrary to popular belief he has good leg speed but his agility is terrible. He is a reasonable reliable left foot kick and has an exceptionally strong body. He never gets of the ground more than about 20cm and I cannot recall him taking a pack mark.

He is one of many players that has some great strengths and some equally great liabilities.

Morton I believe is not AFL standard. Possesses great endurance and offers little else at AFL level. Gets plenty of possessions when allowed to play unaccountable footy but has little hurt factor. Struggles to win any contest.

Warnock is a solid defender who would be a great option for a side looking for a strong, negating defender. Has reasonable leg speed and does OK on the bigger bodied forward. Is prone to the odd brain fart and turnover deep which has cost him his regular senior place at the dees.

Bate wouldn't really be worth that much, 3rd rounder perhaps to the right team.

Morton's value would be a bit higher, late first rounder perhaps.

A lot would depend on the strength of the draft.

Interesting, thank-you. :thumbsu:

Bate I suppose if he cant regularly make your team, not sure he would make many teams top 22. (Please I'm not trying to insult you there) Isn't he a Victorian boy? Not sure how he would fit in over the boarder.

Morton although he does make your 22 more often is a beautiful age and has a heap of upside. Reckon you blokes are not going to get repaid for the years of development you have put into him. Looks like a perfect player at Sydney for me.

Player that interest me. Is Colin Sylvia. Talk is strong he is unsigned & will struggle to get the right deal done. You look like you need inside mids. Maybe Bernie Vince might be on the table for the right deal.

Bate I suppose if he cant regularly make your team, not sure he would make many teams top 22. (Please I'm not trying to insult you there) Isn't he a Victorian boy? Not sure how he would fit in over the boarder.

Morton although he does make your 22 more often is a beautiful age and has a heap of upside. Reckon you blokes are not going to get repaid for the years of development you have put into him. Looks like a perfect player at Sydney for me.

Player that interest me. Is Colin Sylvia. Talk is strong he is unsigned & will struggle to get the right deal done. You look like you need inside mids. Maybe Bernie Vince might be on the table for the right deal.

Think we're right for inside mids.

Moloney, McKenzie, Scully and Gysberts play inside, plus the likes of Sylvia, Trengove, Davey and even Petterd having spells.

Sylvia's only 25, and he hasn't peaked yet either. He's playing good footy at Melbourne and he should be able to see where the club's heading.

Think we're right for inside mids.

Moloney, McKenzie, Scully and Gysberts play inside, plus the likes of Sylvia, Trengove, Davey and even Petterd having spells.

Sylvia's only 25, and he hasn't peaked yet either. He's playing good footy at Melbourne and he should be able to see where the club's heading.

Moloney McKenzie Gysberts look young look raw apart from Moloney. We had an unsuccessful crack at McKenzie.

Scully think other teams have more in way of picks than we do. Im not convinced with all the GWS talk but if he does go there probably takes Sylvia off the table for us. But if he doesn't mmmmmmmmmmmmm.

I thought Trengove Davey where more outside mids.

I'm sorry I couldn't let that slide- where did you hear that garbage? Sylvia will re-sign with the Dees I can assure you of that :thumbsu:

Moloney McKenzie Gysberts look young look raw apart from Moloney. We had an unsuccessful crack at McKenzie.

Scully think other teams have more in way of picks than we do. Im not convinced with all the GWS talk but if he does go there probably takes Sylvia off the table for us. But if he doesn't mmmmmmmmmmmmm.

McKenzie's tough as nails. Gysberts is raw, I agree, but for a kid who's 6 foot 3, the way he can glide through packs Pendlebury-esque is a great sign for the future. Trengove's a tough nut. Davey's more of a receiver, as in Moloney will handpass it out to him and he'll bolt off, assuming he's not remotely being tagged ;) and I'm confident Scully will stay, too.

The Scully/Sylvia point is valid, though - you'd think GWS would be having a crack at a hardened, 100 game, 25 year old player who can light a game on fire, instead of Scully.

Moloney McKenzie Gysberts look young look raw

Trengove is definitely inside, as is Jones and Jetta. We actually have quite a few to develop. We do need a half back with good kicking skills and forward crumbers.

Surely that is Jack Grimes

Good point about GWS targeting Scully ahead of known/ready made 23-26 year olds such as Sylvia.

Surely that is Jack Grimes

Good point about GWS targeting Scully ahead of known/ready made 23-26 year olds such as Sylvia.

At the moment it is Jack Grimes.

He'll be a better midfielder, though.

Great! Then you blokes should have no worries if he talks to other clubs then. :thumbsu:

If Sylvia left us it would not be well received, especially considering how we stuck by him through years of injury, under performance and personal issues.

I'm confident he'll stay.

Are you implying he is talking to other clubs? Don't be a smart-arse, if you have something worth sharing... spit it out.