Calling in sick

Did you go?

If that was directed at me, yeah I did. Got through the shift OK, and the couple of days after. I'm sure I'm on some sort if watch list after the amount of sudafed I went through though!

In the hospitality industry, particularly in management taking short notice time off is really hard. In most small - medium places they'll only be a few managers, maybe one working the day shift, one the night and the other having a day off.

So if you call in sick one of them either has to do double or work 6 days that week. There is a kind of unspoken rule that you don't call in unless you physically cannot do the job.

Yeah I manage a restaurant so I know exactly what you're talking about. If someone called in sick though I wouldn't just laugh it off, seems a bit rude.

Only called in sick on days I was legitimately sick well except maybe once. One exception I made was brothers wife had a 40th at the night thought meh if I can get it off I will, then got offered free seats to the footy, tried to swap with people who owed me favors. Had no luck so went bah screw it everyone else has done one, ended up getting a first warning for it, totally worth it.

Other times I had a badly infected toenail, went to a doctor before work after a parent basically made me, out came the scalpel... Ended up having to call in sick with a certificate and still got yelled at, another time got food poisoning, called in sick but was on my own and couldn't be stuffed going to a doctor to get $40. Got into work and got torn to shreds, rah rah ended up with another first warning (apparently they weren't too great at remembering or recording these things)

I called in sick once almost three years ago. It provided a little nuisance for my manager but wasn't that bad. I haven't missed a single day sick, either real or imagined since.

In my current job there are some absolute softies who don't need much incentive to have a day off. It's a ****en joke how much time they've missed and having covered them for what is totalling several weeks I would never take a sickie.

I called in sick once almost three years ago. It provided a little nuisance for my manager but wasn't that bad. I haven't missed a single day sick, either real or imagined since.

In my current job there are some absolute softies who don't need much incentive to have a day off. It's a ****en joke how much time they've missed and having covered them for what is totalling several weeks I would never take a sickie.

Hear hear, that's a good attitude. Pretty well the same as me.

This probably needs a poll, but what are people's thoughts on taking a sick day if you are coughy/sneezy/generally germy and will probably pass around the bug but can generally do your job (at least to a lower level of productivity)?

On one hand you have people saying they hate people who come in sick and infect everyone else. On the other hand I have people whinge that people are taking days off for colds etc. I personally hate being that annoying person who is sneezing, coughing or blowing their nose every few minutes all day but I often end up being that person in winter :(

I work in an orifice, fwiw, it probably differs between the type of job and work environment

I lost all train of thought when I started reading the banter between OP and Don Draper ^^ on page 1!

tumblr_ldk4xeBbql1qcre2y.gif

They’re easy to deal with. You just go up to them the next day and start a really serious conversation about their sickness (like take them into an office and go completely OTT). How they’re feeling... if everything is ok... whether they’ve seen a doctor... whether there’s anything work can do to help... you've been sick quite a bit, are you sure you're ok??? Is it something to do with work or your lifestyle??

They stop calling in sick after that.
"Sorry, it's a private and personal matter and I have no wish to discuss it. Thanks for your concern but if there is nothing else on your mind I'll just get back to work".
Unless it is an ongoing issue affecting the business employers have no right to expect to grill you about your condition simply because you make use of your entitlements.

Those getting paid to take sickies might find themselves in hot water if they do it too much but legally I still see no problem with it. These worker rights aren't allowed to be negotiated away, the people of Australia made sure of it by kicking Howard and his workchoices to the kerb.
Are sick days paid for by the employer or the employee? Full time rates are lower than equivalent casual rates for a reason, no?

This probably needs a poll, but what are people's thoughts on taking a sick day if you are coughy/sneezy/generally germy and will probably pass around the bug but can generally do your job (at least to a lower level of productivity)?

On one hand you have people saying they hate people who come in sick and infect everyone else. On the other hand I have people whinge that people are taking days off for colds etc. I personally hate being that annoying person who is sneezing, coughing or blowing their nose every few minutes all day but I often end up being that person in winter :(

I work in an orifice, fwiw, it probably differs between the type of job and work environment

As said earlier, if it is an issue, you go to work and they should send you home if they think you are not up to it.

I used to work at a pre-cast factory. It was tough going labour, but i was excellent at my job. Which is probably why i didn't get the sack i reckon, because I was there for 3 years and i must of averaged a day off every 1.5-2 weeks. A majority of the time i wouldn't call up, i'd just rock up the next day like nothing happened. The only time the boss said anything is when i took about 6 or 7 Saturdays off in a row and he asked why i wasn't turning up on that particular day. He he he.

One of bigfooty's finest.

Take a bow, good sir.

:thumbsu:

Strangely enough I've had it pretty good over the years. Served my time at a small workshop where we were all friends, so it was like, haha you idiot, see you tomorrow.

Same thing at the next place, Leading Hand was one of my best mates.

Now I'm at a MASSIVE workshop, you don't really even have to call in. You just have to have a doctors cert. Or if it's not a sick day and shit just happens you just have to have a good reputation so they believe you.

Calling in sick is pointless. The office doesn't open till 8.30 so by the time you call everyone's been working for three hours anyway. add to that the fact one of the secretary's has to figure out who it is you're talking about as there's about 30 supervisors on site, then they have to page them, then he has to his answer his workshop phone which he never hears anyway due to the noise. Then you have to tell him over the sounds of a massive workshop that you're sick, or something's come up, and he's just like, yeah whatever mate I don't care I have twelve apprentices running around with dangerous tools and engineers annoying me constantly, so cry me a river and go to bed.

Nothing at all wrong with SMS. Or email.

People who continually abuse sick leave are bludgers who show themselves anyway. If someone only calls in sick occasionally (ie doesn’t abuse it), I’ve got no problem with them using SMS. Doesn’t make them a lesser character.

I've got about 60 people who need to speak to me about calling sick and I don't allow SMS. Nor do I allow them to call me on Sunday. They have a 30 minute window to call in.