Cameron Cloke - the final word

May 25, 2006
Beach
Good luck to Cam for gaining a reprieve in his career.

He did not deserve to be delisted and certainly did not deserve to be out of AFL footy completely. Many young players cop injury and get given time to recover, but unfortuately Collingwood chose not to give him more time.

Not a super player, but given a full recovery he could be a useful ruck/forward at Carlton in the style of one of their favorite sons, Earl Spalding.

Good luck Cam

BTW Bad luck Jason, he was often a scapegoat at Collingwood but at the end of the day he was not good enough, and the medium term future saw O'Brien Cox Toovey Anthony and Maxwell ahead of him in the pecking order. 70-odd games is a decent career in anybody's language.

Good luck cam.I thought maybe the pies could have given him one more go but didn't work out that way.Given the chance at carlton if he can keep injury free he will do well there.Feel very sorry for jason.i thought at least another team could have given him a go.He always gives 100%, and he always did what was asked of him.bloody malthouse f....d him up.For goodness sake malthouse ,when you know the guy is suited to the backline why try and change him into a forward especially when malthouse knew jason didin't work out up forward pea brain thought i'ii make him apinch hitting ruckman then.Should just leave him where he played his best footy in the backline and then the guy would never let you down.I reckon malthouse had it for Jason dating back in 2002 when jason was playing his best footy,and he was reported and didn't play off in the 2002 grand final.Some quarters still say we would have won that grannie if Jason played.he would have curtailed lynch.Maybe malty blames jason for that, and that was it.He had it in for him.Any way,good luck Jason.

You have to feel for anyone who gets delisted, but at the end of the day, there will always be legitimate reasons as to why it happened.

Terms like "scapegoat" just don't cut it. If they were good enough (in our Club's opinion), they'd have remained on our list.

I for one am on their side regarding the likely future AFL potential of both Cameron and Jason. Best of luck to them though.

You see Kingsley and say Bryan getting picked up, but no J.Cloke?

That just isn't right.
Yeah, Cloke is obviously a better player than Kingsley, but unfortunately, Kingsley is much more useful.

Jason Cloke is a good strong-bodied, medium-sized defender. Unfortunately, there are only 2 or 3 strong-bodied, medium sized forwards in the league, and most teams already have someone who will do a better job of covering them than Jason Cloke.

No clubs want these boys because of the mother and father.

Until they both pull their heads in and shut their traps, the boys will always have a slight disadvantage.

I feel sorry for them. They were my three favourite players, but the parents have turned me right off them, and others.

I always thought Cam was going to be the best of them, had lots of ******** in him which I think you need. Anyway, good luck to Carlton, hoping we play at the same time as them often, so we only perhaps get one of the half.

No clubs want these boys because of the mother and father.

Until they both pull their heads in and shut their traps, the boys will always have a slight disadvantage.

I feel sorry for them. They were my three favourite players, but the parents have turned me right off them, and others.

I always thought Cam was going to be the best of them, had lots of ******** in him which I think you need. Anyway, good luck to Carlton, hoping we play at the same time as them often, so we only perhaps get one of the half.

What has the mother done?

For the record I was a big fan of Cameron's, but injuries and missed opportunities cost him. If he gets his chance at Carlton I'm sure he's going to grab the opportunity with two hands. Good luck, Cam.

What has the mother done?

She bosses David around, tells him to do the talking for her sons, for one. It comes with the territory, I guess. They are probably unhappy behind closed doors.

Geez, thats a bit harsh:eek:

It takes two to tango buddy & never ONCE did I see Mrs Cloke in the media talking s.h.i.t. .. So she definitely was NOT the prob, you are on the wrong track there mate..

You mustn't listen to the radio much then? Or watch TV, because I know of two radio interviews and one on TV.
As I said, I feel sorry for the boys, they are probably really good kids. Being ruined by what comments are being said in the media. They should get away from their father as a manager, and get some good media instead of whinging and whining.

Cameron Cloke - the final word