Can Pies beat Dees?

jabso said:
FFS you snowbunnies noone is saying your backline is crap just that your tall backmen will be troubled when matching up against our tall forwards due to their mobility.
Tarrant plays a game actually quite similar to Hird when in the forward line (except he leads more), he has a licence to roam wherever he wants.
Tarrant may not be a goalkicking god but never has been, it wasn't that long ago (around 2000-2003) that many people believed the role of the full forward was dying and that we will never have a big bag kicking forward. Now the role is back every player in the forward line is expected to kick bags or else its not a good game.
The facts are so much of what Tarrant does directly results in goals:
Tarrants long leads creates options that werent there and space for other people to float into which creates goals
Tarrant keeps the ball in with pressure unlike many forwards which creates goals
Tarrant hardly ever goes to ground and collects the ball cleanly and keeps the ball in the forward line which in turn creates goals.

IMO there are 2 types of key forwards. The input ones and the output ones. The input ones have key hands in creating goals and the output ones kick the goals mostly generated from the teams hard work. Tarrant and Miller are input forwards and others that get a fair share of possesions, while the likes of Neitz, Fevola, Williams are output forwards, they will get 10 possesions and could kick 6 goals. Input forwards have more influence on the game but output forwards are important as well. In top form obviously forwards do both, but when they are just travelling or out of form you can tell what kind of forward the are.

Very good post jabso.

rick James said:
The only time Taz has played nicho ne kicked 2 goals. If he kicks 2 on Monday you will lose.

Taz has played in two Grand Finals with a career average about two goals per game, so your logic is rooted. He kicks only two a lot, yet we have still been capable of winning many many games with him in the goalsquare. He's not a traditional full forward. In fact he's a full forward in name only in many ways.

hotpie said:
Taz has played in two Grand Finals with a career average about two goals per game, so your logic is rooted. He kicks only two a lot, yet we have still been capable of winning many many games with him in the goalsquare. He's not a traditional full forward. In fact he's a full forward in name only in many ways.

My logic is spot on, in both of those grand finals you lost.

If taz only kicks two on Monday, you guys will not just get beaten, you'll get spanked.

I still think you're a chance, and I think Taz will kick 5+, but I'm just saying people talking about how nicho get's beaten by taz "everytime" are idiots, they've played once and taz got 2 goals. You'll need more from him against melbourne.

Also, for your sake you'd better hope it's not wet, we play our best footy in the wet.

rick James said:
My logic is spot on, in both of those grand finals you lost.
To make Grand finals you need to win a lot of games. Tarrant is a vital player and can win games for us whether he kicks two goals or seven, because of the goals he sets up for teammates and the defensive pressure on opposition defenders.

When he kicks a bag (which is usually against Melbourne) its a bonus. He's not a traditional full forward and we dont need him to kick a lot of goals to win.

Q. Why has Nicholson only played against Tarrant once?

A. Because he's an appalling matchup.

hotpie said:
Q. Why has Nicholson only played against Tarrant once?

A. Because he's an appalling matchup.

No, because we thought we had better matchups, who have performed substantially worse against Tarrant than nicholson does.

Q. When has Tarrant played his worst game against Melbourne in reecent history?

A. When Nicholson played on him

rick James said:
Also, for your sake you'd better hope it's not wet, we play our best footy in the wet.

If it's wet, the Pies should be odds on. Look at last years game - while it was wet, the Pies were clearly superior. The Dees have the better skills, but the Pies more grunt, and therefore the wet suits Collingwood better. Reckon if Yze is stopped, the Dees will struggle to kick a winning score. And the Dees backline while a competent bunch, don't match up very well on the Pies forwards. Much more confident the Pies can beat Dees than I was that they could beat Cats. Pies match up quite well on Dees, and know if they play high pressure footy, that the Dees will crumble.

harry 0 said:
If it's wet, the Pies should be odds on. Look at last years game - while it was wet, the Pies were clearly superior. The Dees have the better skills, but the Pies more grunt, and therefore the wet suits Collingwood better. Reckon if Yze is stopped, the Dees will struggle to kick a winning score. And the Dees backline while a competent bunch, don't match up very well on the Pies forwards. Much more confident the Pies can beat Dees than I was that they could beat Cats. Pies match up quite well on Dees, and know if they play high pressure footy, that the Dees will crumble.

I don't think we've lost a wet game in 2 years.

Either way I'll be there, cheering on the boys, and hoping for a good match.

As I've said ad verbatim, i'm really pumped about this game and reckon it's going to be high tempo, aggressive football.

good luck guys, but not too much!

I'd love to wish your boys good luck too but after your offensive comments about Nathan Buckley I'll decline.

hotpie said:
I'd love to wish your boys good luck too but after your offensive comments about Nathan Buckley I'll decline.

why don't you cry about it? saddlebags

harry 0 said:
And the Dees backline while a competent bunch, don't match up very well on the Pies forwards.
But you've only got conjecture and your own hope for that statement, no real recent history. Melbourne hasn't yet played a Collingwood forward line that included players like Rusling, T Cloke and Caracella.

You don't really know how they'll actually match up at all.

We do know they haven't matched up well on Tarrant in the past and there has generally been at least 1 other forward get away. Last year Melbourne struggled for more than half the game with Tarrant or Rocca in Collingwood's forward line. At the end of the day though it's the midfield supply speed and quality that will make all the difference for both good forwards set ups and that is Collingwood's vulnerability. If the midfield breaks even though then Collingwood will have the advantage because they have a better, more versatile backline. Davey is one Collingwood must hold though as quick small defenders is another vulnerability for Collingwood. White has to be hit with the kitchen sink and the rest have to be pressured to be breaking point. I'll settle for Cam being over aggressive to the point of 2 weeks. Not to actually belt White but push the envelope in the centre and in contests to the extent that he will be scruinised. White is a quality ruckman but he is not the hardest or toughest man to every play the game.

Wow Rick, drag out stats from 4 years ago to try and prove a point? Taz was still in development and still having problems. But that day he took the real Mark of the Year and we thumped the Demons. So, Taz did nothing and we thumped the Dees, so tell me again, how will Taz only 2 goals mean we lose? Hell, he only kikced 2 or 3 against the Cats and we got up

Melbourne may need Neitz to step up, but we dont need Taz to kick bags for us to win, not anymore

eddiesmith said:
Wow Rick, drag out stats from 4 years ago to try and prove a point? Taz was still in development and still having problems. But that day he took the real Mark of the Year and we thumped the Demons. So, Taz did nothing and we thumped the Dees, so tell me again, how will Taz only 2 goals mean we lose? Hell, he only kikced 2 or 3 against the Cats and we got up

Melbourne may need Neitz to step up, but we dont need Taz to kick bags for us to win, not anymore

your team is nowhere near as good as they were in 02. Taz wasn't still developing. you're wrong. And you're adopted.

We are going to thrash you on Monday and I'm drunk so beautiful.

Have a good one pies fans, hope to see you all there on Monday, well at least til 3 quarter time.

Cheers! :D

jabso said:
FFS you snowbunnies noone is saying your backline is crap just that your tall backmen will be troubled when matching up against our tall forwards due to their mobility.
Tarrant plays a game actually quite similar to Hird when in the forward line (except he leads more), he has a licence to roam wherever he wants.
Tarrant may not be a goalkicking god but never has been, it wasn't that long ago (around 2000-2003) that many people believed the role of the full forward was dying and that we will never have a big bag kicking forward. Now the role is back every player in the forward line is expected to kick bags or else its not a good game.
The facts are so much of what Tarrant does directly results in goals:
Tarrants long leads creates options that werent there and space for other people to float into which creates goals
Tarrant keeps the ball in with pressure unlike many forwards which creates goals
Tarrant hardly ever goes to ground and collects the ball cleanly and keeps the ball in the forward line which in turn creates goals.

IMO there are 2 types of key forwards. The input ones and the output ones. The input ones have key hands in creating goals and the output ones kick the goals mostly generated from the teams hard work. Tarrant and Miller are input forwards and others that get a fair share of possesions, while the likes of Neitz, Fevola, Williams are output forwards, they will get 10 possesions and could kick 6 goals. Input forwards have more influence on the game but output forwards are important as well. In top form obviously forwards do both, but when they are just travelling or out of form you can tell what kind of forward the are.

Spot on. That's a very good post. Should be a great game and I'm hoping the crowd will be huge. It will most likely be the second highest crowd of the year in the H&A season, second obviously to Anzac Day.

Haha just watched last years game v. Melbourne and they struggled to match up on the awesome forward line where Maxwell, Lokan and Lonie were the key forwards at some point in the match. Maxwell is a good young defender and Lonie and Lokan have been primarily defenders as well. T.Cloke, Rusling, Caracella, Rocca, Tarrant didn't play last year.
Too bad we lost that though but was a good effort from the forward line :(

Pies by 22points in a close one, pies to run away in the last quarter. Woey to star for the pies against his old club and bucks will play :D
CMON YOU LIL F***IN BEAUTYS
GO PIES :D

oooze said:
Yeah well said! Collingwood is inevitably on a downward spiral for many years to come with not much exciting talent come through. Carlton and Collingwood will be towards the bottom of the ladder atleast for another 2 or 3 years. Very very bad future ahead. Collingwood reminds me of Carlton after they won the wiz fiz grand final and they thought that they had arrived again as a powerhouse football club. How so wrong they were!

Travis Cloke, Egan, Iaccobucci, Rusling - All 2004 draftees. All have impressed. All talented. Add to that, Maxwell, Rowe, Swan et al. who all continue to improve. I'm confident that most, if not all, of the players I just mentioned will be 150+ game players.

They were all recruited in the last year or two. While the rookies, Davies and Fanning, have received game time and have done okay. O'Brien, one of the other rookies, is also impressing at Williamstown from all reports.

Plus, Shaw continues to improve. Davidson is now back at Williamstown, after his injury trouble. Ben Johnson is still young.

Yeah, there are a few dud youngsters on our list, but atm, I would say that our 2004 drafting was better than that of ANY other club.

False hopes...

You guys are relying on Cloke and Rusling to win the game and take you to the finals.

I love your false hopes.

These guys have played no more than 10 games and you want them to anchor your side.

Sounds like the Pies are desperate for some good players. Keep relying on your first year players and you are more likely to see the floor than the ceiling.

its funny how they havent been able to match up on tarrant where his avg is like 4 goals a game and rusling is very similar then tarrant so they have to match up 2 quick players in there backline with some height should be interesting.

i think T.cloke will have a day out his been teasing ppl for abit showing bits of what he can do and i think this week might be the time he blitzes the dees

ies by 32 points
tarrant kicks 6

Re: False hopes...

abrukarz said:
You guys are relying on Cloke and Rusling to win the game and take you to the finals.

I love your false hopes.

These guys have played no more than 10 games and you want them to anchor your side.

Sounds like the Pies are desperate for some good players. Keep relying on your first year players and you are more likely to see the floor than the ceiling.

Nope just play their part which they have been doing beautifully.

When you lose both your captains someone has to step up, and for us it happens to have been most of our first year players. Best draft crop in the comp easily.

Can Pies beat Dees?