Can we get a comment from the white-ant brigade?

Whether you like it or not Ripper the coach is going to cop it if we underperform. One bad result is acceptable, when it stretches to 3, 4, 5 people need someone to blame and its easier to point the finger at one person than 22.

There's not much that can be blamed on the match committee today IMO.

Lol.

Lashing out has been the standard modus operandi by all and sundry on this board after each dissappointing loss for years.

The thing is the majority of the lashing out has been by the "Sack CC" brigade and they almost exclusively blamed Connolly for those loses.

I' just interested to see who bears the brunt now. They gave the players an easy out before by putting the onus squarely on the coach. Will this continue? I am really curious.

So in your opinion Roundhouse who was at fault for today's loss?

We were poor out of the centre and Gehrig kicked 9 goals. IMO the players gave their all but were beaten on the day.That can't be said for some games under Connolly, where the difference was that the opposition wanted to win more than us.

I have trouble understanding the thought process of the Fremantle supporters who backed Connolly. He was here for almost six seasons. It was his playing group, surely any deficencies should have been sorted out in that time? Do the Connolly supporters consider one finals victory in six seasons a good result?

So in your opinion Roundhouse who was at fault for today's loss?

We were poor out of the centre and Gehrig kicked 9 goals. IMO the players gave their all but were beaten on the day.That can't be said for some games under Connolly, where the difference was that the opposition wanted to win more than us.

I have trouble understanding the thought process of the Fremantle supporters who backed Connolly. He was here for almost six seasons. It was his playing group, surely any deficencies should have been sorted out in that time? Do the Connolly supporters consider one finals victory in six seasons a good result?

It is not about the coach. The players should bear the brunt and have been given an easy out by the "sack the coach brigade" for too long.

Surely the performance of Solly thie year has shown up just how ordinary a lot of our players actually have been/still are.

If you can't write something half intelligent you need to the about the value of your own contributions. (Alright then...Once I can actually comprehend your sentences, i might have something of value to add.)
Make a comment! Say something! Use some gray matter and reply to my question.

You are just wasting bandwidth.[/QUOTE]

Really? The irony is just delicious here.

Connolly = 6 years = No results = Gone.
Simple.
Harvey has begun the improvement. We will see his results over the next 3 years, and give him the support he needs for him to be successfull...and assess the results...and if it's 6 years = no results = Harvey gone, then you can bring this thread up and have another sook

Well Put.

RH can you please give your opinion on the performances of the assistants
Kelly O'Donnell arrived end of 2000 been here 7 yrs
Steve Malaxos arrived end of 2003 been here 4 yrs
Michael broadbridege arrived end of 2004 Ben here 3 yrs

besides if they don't want you here come over to WHTP and we can create a thread " the way we were".

It is not about the coach. The players should bear the brunt and have been given an easy out by the "sack the coach brigade" for too long.

Surely the performance of Solly thie year has shown up just how ordinary a lot of our players actually have been/still are.

And I've been out the front of that brigade twirling the baton. ;)

I agree with you, but the club have helped build that attitude. We desperately needed a full back and chased Jonathon Hay. We needed a forward to take the pressure off Pav and recruited Tarrant. We need to bolster our midfield, and I'm sure if Schwab has his way we'd trade for the best available midfielder at seasons end. How about we back in our players for a change and say "okay player X, we're putting our faith in you to hold down FB/CHB/FF/a position in the midfield."

Surely the performance of Solomon this year shows that our coaches have failed? In 13 years Pavlich is our only player to go from young player with potential to a consistent stand out performer. :o

I went easy on Connolly for the first 5 games and have given Harvey the same latitude. Look out Harv's, the cannon is loaded if we lose either of the next two games. ;)

Nah, don't think so. Harves has exceeded my expectations and will have my full support.

What is done is done and there is no going back.

I just reckon (hope ;) ) He is giving some serial up and down players enough rope to hang themselves for the greater good.

Like who? McManus? Hasleby? Matt Carr?

Matt Carr has been ordinary, but who knows how long he's been playing with that hernia.

Haze wasn't mentioned much on the radio.
McManus...he's gotta go

There's no way we should have Cook and McManus in the team now...

Goddam if Foster and/or Ibbotson don't get a game next week I will scream.

Like who? McManus? Hasleby? Matt Carr?

Hase has hardly put a foot wrong since Harvey has taken over. He wasn't great today, but he certainly wasn't terrible either. Got a fair bit of it in a midfield that was soundly beaten.

My take on Macca:
If he wants to play on next year he needs should be dropped and his spot taken by one of the youngsters - Foster or Dunn after his game today.
If he intends to retire, then he should be allowed to play the last two games so that he can go out with dignity in tact now that we can't make the finals.

Matt Carr has been ordinary, but who knows how long he's been playing with that hernia.

Haze wasn't mentioned much on the radio.
McManus...he's gotta go

There's no way we should have Cook and McManus in the team now...

Goddam if Foster and/or Ibbotson don't get a game next week I will scream.

Which one?..there have been so many :D

That one. :thumbsu:

Hase has hardly put a foot wrong since Harvey has taken over. He wasn't great today, but he certainly wasn't terrible either. Got a fair bit of it in a midfield that was soundly beaten.

My take on Macca:
If he wants to play on next year he needs should be dropped and his spot taken by one of the youngsters - Foster or Dunn after his game today.
If he intends to retire, then he should be allowed to play the last two games so that he can go out with dignity in tact now that we can't make the finals.

Agree completely.

My take on Macca:

Hasleby worries me at times, too frequently when we are struggling at the stoppages do we see his man streaming out with the footy. I'd like to see him spend more time forward.

Macca's theme song

No.

The hypocrisy of the all those who took the very shallow and near-sighted option of hanging shite on Connolly by using any loss with him at the helm as evidence that "The players don't want to play for him" or "He cannot get the most out of our players", and have since fallen silent in recent losses makes me feel vindicated.

I think Harvey is a good coach. I am 100% behind him as coach of Freo. I am very dissappointed in the loss but I'm not gonna blame him for every ferk-up on the field. The players deserve the bouquets and brickbats more than the coach in football. I am wondering how many people are begining to see that now.

There wasn't a bandwagon...There was murmor's starting last year that were only shot down because of our late year surge.
He had a plan, the plan didn't turn out. We had expectations, they weren't fullfilled. The guy failed in that aspect of his job.

Recent losses? You could just as easily argue the derby as Harvey's influence as you could the recent losses as "It wasn't Conollys fault"...Neither are accruate.

The issue of whether he gets enough out of his players is entirely debateable, some players have grown under him...Some obviously haven't.

This doesn't change the fact that his promise's remained unfullfilled. He was given ample time and the club after this year essentially performance wise is no better off with one finals victory to show for it.

Your quick to jump down the throats of those calling for Conolly's head at this very premature time, yet I ask you...How much longer would you have persisted with Conolly?

If its not the coach's fault...Its the players...How do we deal with that? Massive trading and delisting at the end of the season? If that doesn't work then what..

Purple glasses are one thing...Eternal rose coloured glasses is something entirely different.

I agree with roundhouse and ripper on this. It was never the coach out there missing crucial shots on goal, turning the ball over with stupid passes and failing to deliver. now that the scapegoat that was CC is gone who do the whiteants want to blame.

On the Macca question. Time to go

I agree with roundhouse and ripper on this. It was never the coach out there missing crucial shots on goal, turning the ball over with stupid passes and failing to deliver. now that the scapegoat that was CC is gone who do the whiteants want to blame.

On the Macca question. Time to go

Who picked the players for the games each week? Connolly gets the big bucks, he makes the decisions, he takes responsibility for them.

If a player doesn't make the grade, why keep playing them?

Hasleby worries me at times, too frequently when we are struggling at the stoppages do we see his man streaming out with the footy. I'd like to see him spend more time forward.

Macca's theme song

Haze plays deceptively tall when played in forward 50. Liked the ploy of playing pav at centre bouncedowns then going forward - like Jimmy hird.

I think our three forward talls for for 2008 as tarantino - much better after a proper pre season, Campbell and Drum. Wiz the crumber and Pav the cream with a roving commission. I think Tatter is leverage for another First round pick. if not then he needs to put in an all mighty pre season to compete against Kiwi & Drum

Not much has changed lach.

Perhaps.
However 3 out of 5 is a good start from a new coach...the 3 wins have been the best football we have played all year...I didn't see much of today, and against the pussies we were woeful, but I am thinking that things are looking up.
In the wins under Connolly we were ordinary in a lot of them...actually worse than ordinary and didn't reach the heights of last year...playing 2 quarters of decent footy in some.
It will be interesting to see what happens at the selection table next week

Perhaps.
However 3 out of 5 is a good start from a new coach...the 3 wins have been the best football we have played all year...I didn't see much of today, and against the pussies we were woeful, but I am thinking that things are looking up.
In the wins under Connolly we were ordinary in a lot of them...actually worse than ordinary and didn't reach the heights of last year...playing 2 quarters of decent footy in some.
It will be interesting to see what happens at the selection table next week

We have never reached thre hieghts of last year in 2007.

I actaually thought this year we have played our best footy is some of our losses.

We have never reached thre hieghts of last year in 2007.
I actaually thought this year we have played our best footy is some of our losses.

Disagree. The game against Adelaide was very good and the derby was excellent. The only time we played better last year was in the second derby.