Roast 'Captain'

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

I use that term with regret, because I'm getting ****ing tired of Green being selfish and self-centered. When he could've handled to Bate vs Adelaide and ran in himself, not happy, but he did create that so he could have the goal. Today, when he took advantage of Sylvia's own hard work to grab a cheapie, he commited a disgusting act from a player, let alone a captain. He didn't even have to shepperd, all he had to do was let it through, but that was obviously beyond our little hero.

After Ballantyne missed today, LeCras made a beeline to him to shake his hand and wish him well.

Unfortunately, I have no doubt that our boy Brad would've been the first to celebrate the win.

Bring back Junior, because we can't get shot of Brad any other way short of retiring him.

I feel sorry for Green because, this time last year, we couldn't praise him enough. After being labelled soft for the early part of his career he worked his guts out to turn it around and become the player we all knew he could be.

But the game does seem to have passed him by, no doubt about it. He kicked 4 goals today but yes, the one from Sylvia on the goal line was pretty piss poor, but he knew it too. He quickly lifted his hand to apologise for the mistake he made.

I'm not trying to defend him here as I don't think he's been the captain we all thought he would be but, apart from Moloney and to an extent Sylvia, the senior group has been far from consistent this year.

To me he is a poor mans Boomer Harvey in terms of captaincy.

Jamar?

And for Bate goal, a quick raise of the hand in apology was enough. It was a mistake. Second time for Sylvia's goal? Not good enough

Jamar?

And for Bate goal, a quick raise of the hand in apology was enough. It was a mistake. Second time for Sylvia's goal? Not good enough

I don't want to be a Green sympathiser but something like that is purely instinct. If he leaves it and it's touched or misses then he looks like a knob also. True, this one was going through the centre but when you are running back with the flight you don't truly know what's going on.

As for other captains... Davey and Jamar have been injured for major parts of the year, Rivers has been up and down, Grimes is out for the year and Moloney, while being our most consistent, acted like a bit of a dick at a nightclub earlier in the year. In the end there hasn't been much else to choose from.

Agree with OP, im actually starting to hate Green. Seriously. Its got to the point were i am hating him, everything he does.

Playing for himself and the stat sheet.

Back to his soft gutless ways.

Arguing with teammates.

Give him the arse.

My dislike of Brad is reaching Morton/Rivers/Bennell proportions.

I think Greeny is trying to lead from the front but it is hard when you are part of such a 1 dimensional forward line. He's definitely had a lack lustre year over all though.

When you look at all our marking type forwards though and lack of smalls and structure it becomes 4 or 5 bounty hunters with no goal congruence or team play all trying to outdo each other. Bailey has to take some blame for this.

TBH I had no problem with his mark going back with the flight of the footy. It probably would have made it over the line and it did look selfish as it panned out but Green was committed so that's it. If the ball had landed short and took an off/leg break or bounced back off the point then he'd look like an ass clown. Build a bridge on this one.

I was actually more annoyed when Petterd worked his opponent off the ball and had an easy mark and Green came across and brought his defender with him only to spoil Petterd's mark. Again no structure or synergy up forward between the forwards and on that occasion Green (either being selfish or trying too hard) did the wrong thing.

But don't worry, Mahoney's on the case.:o

I really dislike the way Green has been going about it. He may have kicked 4 goals today, but one was Sylvia's and the other was a very cheap one from an advantage call. 'Cheap' could be his middle name, he runs ahead of the contest, ghosts around the edges of packs and regularly plays for free kicks. He just does not set the type of example you would hope from your captain. I don't know what his contract situation is but I would be happy for him to hang the boots up at the end of the season.

Trengove to me looks like a natural leader of men, give the gig to Col for a year or 2, who knows, it might bring out the best in him. If he thrives in it make Trengove VC, if he is just ok, pass the baton on to Trengove in 2013.

And I'm with you RandB, Mahoney is no forward coach. Our forward line is completely dysfunctional. Every time we kick a goal it has to be conjured up, there is no system whatsoever. If he is retained next season we are not serious about becoming a successful club.
Why on earth would Mahoney be considered for the position in the first place?

Brad green, afl footy has past you my friend, one of the worst 4 goal games ever for the melbourne footy club, he isnt big enough to play permanent fwd, he isnt a strong body in the midfield and has no presence in the contests wins no contested footy and when he is tackled he usually turns it over , isnt quick enough to spread outside and is pushed off far 2 easily in the tackle.. announce your retirement at the end of the season or face alot of VFL footy next year , has courage but thats about it, would struggle 2 be in the 22 if he wasnt captain

I loved him last year and was 100% behind him as captain... somehow i've grown to really not like him. Dont enjoy watching him play, dont enjoy listening to him speak and his actions dont inspire players.

Beamer should have been made captain. Sure he had one late drunken night, but he did follow it up with close to 40 possessions.
Should get more of our boys on the piss Sunday nights/Monday mornings! :thumbsu:
Give Scully a couple of light beers (never drinks, he'd be a two-can Sam), then get him to sign an MFC contract while he's under the influence.....GREAT SUCCESS!

And I'm with you RandB, Mahoney is no forward coach. Our forward line is completely dysfunctional. Every time we kick a goal it has to be conjured up, there is no system whatsoever. If he is retained next season we are not serious about becoming a successful club.
Why on earth would Mahoney be considered for the position in the first place?
What's he got to work with?

There's no Neitz to build a forward structure around. I was more displeased with seeing Watts on the wing today, after all the strides taken down forward in the last month.

Potential forward line:

HF: Howe Watts Sylvia
FF: Jurrah Jamar Lawrence/Maric/Davey/Wonna

Other options.. Maric, Bennell, Wonna, Petterd, Cook, Davey

We need to pick a forward line with some balance, not six identical mid-sized players...

Potential forward line:

We need to pick a forward line with some balance, not six identical mid-sized players...
Correct.

Potential forward line:

Spot on. Mentioned we need more variety in the forward line in the past, and I was hounded!

Mate, you've been making a few comments lately about how mistreated you feel by fellow Demon supporters. Just make your points and leave the sooking out of it. It's a forum, people are going to disagree with you. Everyone has been hounded at some stage.

he is the new Brad Johnson
I think you are spot on.

But the dynamic goes further, compare the Dogs forward line marking types (pre-Hall) with ours. Forgetting resting rucks for a second.

Green, Petterd, Jurrah, Watts, Howe, Dunn, Bate

Johnson, Welsh, Hahn, Murphy, Giansiracusa, Higgins

A very similar theme emerging.

Medium-ish marking targets all competing for the footy and no anchor man. In this situation for the captain to make an impression they inevitably will play selfish footy here and there.

They had Aker who played for himself and we have a couple of mobile players who can push forward but neither had/have a true notable crumbing type player either (off the top of my head at least - I may have missed someone).

Green has definite room for improvement but like Johnson he knows only 1 way to play and it looks worse IMO in a 1 dimensional forward setup when you are trying to make a stance.

Petterd has to play. Since being dropped he has consistently been one of our best players, even in the losses. Jurrah + Howe can stick at home, Petterd has shown he is very capable of playing through the midfield/wings.

I agree, but in a way it doesn't help much. There's a spot for Petterd for 10 years if he remains a forward, on a wing he just becomes another one of many.

Even pinching goals off the line and playing on from advantage Juice wouldn't kick four in his dreams.

If we're going to use stats as a basis for comparing the two, then Green had a good game today. I'm just making a point that he was absolute crap today :p