Jerome

Adelaide Crows, Centrals
from afl.com.au 7/2/03

Wayne Carey launched his football comeback with a strong first-half performance in Adelaide’s internal trial match at Mount Gambier’s Vansittart Park on Friday.

Playing mainly at full forward and occasionally at centre-half forward, Carey kicked two first-quarter goals, missed a few other shots and generally looked good in an encouraging display that pleased him, the Crows and an appreciative crowd of 3,000.

He sat out the second half of only two 10-minute quarters - after two 25-minute terms in the first half – with tiredness in the hamstring that has troubled him in recent weeks.

“I think he showed enough, with the way the ball was being brought into him at times,” Adelaide coach Gary Ayres said.

“A half was what we wanted to do with him because he’s missed the last 12 months. We’re trying to stop any niggles that may occur from time to time.”

Ayres said he was 'pretty pleased' with the trial.

“Internal trials can be fraught with danger, especially from an injury point of view, so I was pleased everyone got through it pretty well. We must remember it was against ourselves. Someone once told me it can be a little bit like dancing with your sister," he said.

“We’ve just got to make sure we up the intensity over the next couple of weeks (in practice matches against Woodville-West Torrens and Norwood at Norwood Oval next Friday night and against Port Adelaide in the Wizard Home Loans Cup match at AAMI Stadium on Saturday night, February 22)”.

Ben Hart, Brett Burton, Mark Ricciuto, Michael Doughty, Brent Reilly, Tyson Edwards, Rhett Biglands, Mark Stevens and Jacob Schuback were among those who featured prominently in the trial, played in cool, overcast conditions.

Simon Goodwin, who has had a bruised calf, played the first half, as did Matthew Clarke (head knock) and Martin Mattner (hip). Jason Torney stayed back in Adelaide to be with his wife, who gave birth to their first child (a girl) on Thursday night.

Others who missed the trial were Mark Bickley, Scott Welsh, Daniel Schell, James Begley, Trent Hentschel, Hayden Skipworth and Andrew McLeod, who is in Darwin to captain the ATSIC Chairman’s All-Stars team against Carlton in an exhibition match on Saturday night.

Ayres described the four-day visit to Mount Gambier as, 'first-class'.

“It’s all worked in pretty well. We’ve probably been in a better position than maybe other sides, because we can come down and spend time with our Mount Gambier supporters’ group,” he said. “I’m not sure other clubs can do that," he said.

“You’re a little bit apprehensive because you’ve never done it before. We go away on our own camps, but this has been different."

“The hospitality and organisation has been terrific. The boys were able to spend some time together, even though there was a bit for them to do. They had some down time, so they were able to cash in on that and we got through today, which I’m pleased about,” Ayres said.

** Good to see Stevo out there.

Jerome

I thought they were going to play the A team against the B team, but obviously not the case when Perrie was playing CHF in Carey's team & Stevens playing for the otherside.

Interesting to note Ronnie Burns played mainly in the midfield & set-up quite a few goals. Whilst he will play mainly as a forward, Ayres sees him being part of our midfield mix with his improved fitness base.

Some very encouraging signs there. Kane in regards to Stevo playing for the Bs, I think its because he has had a bit of a crook back and was probably a bit of a test. The most likely reason would have been to give Ken McGregor some quality opposition to play against. I am assuming that Ken lined up on Stevo;)

Good to see Ronnie playing well and young guns such as Reilly and Schuback showing that they will be future of the AFC. Pitty Hentschel didn't play, he must be having a bad injury since he hasn't played in the last couple of weeks. Last I heard from macca he injured his back. Hopefully he gets a game in the Wiz cup at some stage.:)

Go Wayne!

:D Go Wayne:D great to hear he did well, I can't wait for the wizard cup!

Also fantastic to see my lovely boy back on the ground. By all accounts he did rather well! Go Stevo!!!

k
xx

Great to hear the trail went well:)Ronnie I think will be a real bonus to us this year I reakon he is going to surprise a few people:)Glad Carey played well it will boost his confiedence after a tough week:)No injuries which is good to hear also,just got to keep playing positive footy and the roll the Power on the 22nd,them pricks wont know what hit em,we will be no push over this time:)

Originally posted by Jerome
from afl.com.au 7/2/03

Someone once told me it can be a little bit like dancing with your sister," Ayres said

Yeah Malcolm Blight used to say that all the time.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Great to hear the trail went well:)Ronnie I think will be a real bonus to us this year I reakon he is going to surprise a few people:)Glad Carey played well it will boost his confiedence after a tough week:)No injuries which is good to hear also,just got to keep playing positive footy and the roll the Power on the 22nd,them pricks wont know what hit em,we will be no push over this time:)

Don't get too worked up - its only a trial game :)