Carey on Denton

• Thread starter Thread starter wombles

Personally, I think the story sounds extremely exaggerated if there is some truth to it at all. I mean who would survive pulling the gun out of a policeman's holster, let alone get away scott free?

Good point MBP. He did look genuinely bewildered by that accusation, but he was possibly too worried about how it might look if he laughed it off or called it BS.

I've occasionally thought how easy it would be to grab a cop's gun from its holster (the cops seem so blase about their guns as they wander through public areas:() but the thought of the serious repercussions have always convinced me to just move along.

Dare I say it, they are both good articles.

Is Wayne shy (as his sister claims) or outgoing (as appears to be the case)? What can you believe?

During the 90s he often accompanied Sally to work functions. Next day people who were there would say he was very polite, quiet and friendly. Happy to chat about footy or any other topic. Certainly not a big noise or even a big drinker. He seemed to have always done right by Sally at these functions.

All I can assume is that maybe he changed completely when he was in his comfort zone, i.e. with his mates or down at the footy club.

By the way, I admired his hand-eye co-ordination when he went at Denton with that wine glass. Missed him by a millimetre.

Millimetre not centre meter perfect then?:) (just trying to lighten the moment)

Indeed:), Cometti might have said "that wine glass action was, dare I say it, millimetre perfect, Bruce."

Does anyone know when I can find the footage of the WHOLE episode? Have looked on YouTube. Saw excerpts on ABC site but would love to see whole interview.

On another note - The Renne Rivkin interview on Enough Rope was a belter too.

Personally, I think the story sounds extremely exaggerated if there is some truth to it at all. I mean who would survive pulling the gun out of a policeman's holster, let alone get away scott free?

Especially the Victoria Police circa 1990s. It was a case of "Please give me an excuse to blow your brains all over the road!"

Yep.

I know it's complete shit because there wasn't a copper in Victoria in the 90's who kept their guns in their holsters.

And on the media, pharro is right. We get the media we deserve. Hinch, Jones, Zemanek (isn't he dead?), are bottom feeders, appealing to our worst characteristics, and we eat it up with a spoon. This allows a guy like Hinch to make up, completely, the story replayed on Enough Rope. The fact that he can do so with just enough credibility is down to the history of Wayne's mistakes, as the same story would not be at all believable if it's subject was James Hird, but it's a ludicrous assertion based on no facts with an aim to create controversy (and therefore money).

From a legal perspective, my understanding is that defamation requires first that the claim can be proven to be untrue and secondly that the untruth has caused someone hearing the claim to think worse of the subject. Unfortunately for Wayne, this ludicrous story is arguably no worse than many of the things he has done which we know to be true. So likely, no-one who heard Hinch's claims thinks any less of Wayne.

I've occasionally thought how easy it would be to grab a cop's gun from its holster (the cops seem so blase about their guns as they wander through public areas:() but the thought of the serious repercussions have always convinced me to just move along.

I'm no expert but don't those holsters have clips making it rather difficulty to withdraw the gun by anyone other than the person wearing the belt?

And on the media, pharro is right. We get the media we deserve. Hinch, Jones, Zemanek (isn't he dead?), are bottom feeders, appealing to our worst characteristics, and we eat it up with a spoon.

I'd be contacting my lawyer if I was you.

...We never had this conversation.

I'd be contacting my lawyer if I was you.

...We never had this conversation.

Is it now that I query his motives for coaching underage rugby teams for years?

Depends... how deep are your pockets?

Not applicable, as this conversation and the mental images it has constructed has seen me remove my pants.

Hey NB,

Funny stuff (lolz ;).

Seriously, I'm in Melbourne this week. Send me back your mobile number.

Do you own an 80's replica Australian rugby guernsey? If so, please bring it along. Unwashed.

Kindest regards,

Alan_Jones

Reckon he's got cash?

Thinking about it.

Sorry not trying to sound hard but I have no sympathy for him at all. He needs to take ownership for his actions rtather than look to place the blame or share the blame with others. If he can't remember what has happened at particular times how can he be so sure that they didn't happen. Also for someone who didn't know Jason Moran or anything about him it's funny how he rates a mention in the Underbelly books. Sorry but I'm not buying it. Did feel sorry for his sister and brother though.

You loser, why don't you go back to Bomberland.

It is so amazing how the media and public have either forgiven or overlooked Gary Ablett and Ben Cousins and their small misdemeanours. And Cousins' father stands actually supports his son.

Did I miss the media interviews given by those former players owning up to things they have done in the past?

And the only true statement made by Caroline Wilson - Carey sells newspapers.

Re: Carey Is an angry man: Psychologist

Yes the media are milking the Wayne Carey story and you posted a series comment from a psychologist that deserved wider reading by the football community, yet you chose to make light of it by mentioning Essendon losing to the best team in the comp that being Geelong.

Sure there are no bodies but Wayne Carey has a problem that needs to be handled before it gets worst, maybe had your football club payed greater attention to the earlier problems we would be here talking about what a lovely sunny day we have.

The North Melbourne football club needs and it may well be doing so to support Wayne for he helped deliver that 99 flag you meantioned.

Do you Bummbers ever learn?

So bloooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooody sanctimonious

Google the name - Kirzon. There is an ABC news report stating Vic Pol told and INTERSTATE club to check on a couple of its players.

And what came of it - nothing

Is Carey the only player ever to have made mistakes?

One thing that is brought up each time the AFL hall of fame is mentioned, is the fact the should there a a couple/few - under this media - would not be there. I don't know who they are, but it always mentioned in conjuction with the 'bad boys' and the Hall of Fame.

From a legal perspective, my understanding is that defamation requires first that the claim can be proven to be untrue and secondly that the untruth has caused someone hearing the claim to think worse of the subject. Unfortunately for Wayne, this ludicrous story is arguably no worse than many of the things he has done which we know to be true. So likely, no-one who heard Hinch's claims thinks any less of Wayne.

Well if Wayne needs... I believe I could say I thought worse of him after hearing what Hinch said... :D:D:D I am sure I could a few others to say the same thing... there are a few Hinch haters out there...

For those of you who think Hinch has any redeeming features - sorry, you are absolutely wrong!!

I rated him better a peg above Jones and Zemanek. Which, to be clear, is much like saying - if forced - I would rather dine on llama shit than, say, buffalo or yak shit.

Nothing like seeing someone come out of semi-hiatus to hurl a few cats at some unsuspecting Bombers fans.

Love your work, Michele.

While I didn't actually read either of your posts, I enjoyed them both immensely.

Gday Guys

Interesting to read what everyone has to say regarding the Wayne Carey interview.

I was living in Bendigo at the time of the ' Dunny Diner incident' and I remember that one of the players clocked a punter who had crossed the line. If I remember rightly I heard that it was a certain mecurial half forward flanker.There was also some sort of argument with the bloke who was cooking in the Dunny Diner. I knew a girl who spoke to Wayne at length that night. She was impressed with the amount of time he gave her and the fact that he did not try to pick her up.

As for Derryn Hinch, I reckon he may have mixed up an incident that happened in Bendigo at or around that time when a student grabbed a gun from a coppers holster during a function at the BCAE. It made the papers at the time as he apparently grabbed it without the copper realising, creating a fair stir. I am pretty sure he got off scot free too.

Maybe someone from Bendigo could add more light !

Here's hoping that ;

Wayne sues Derryn for millions,
Wayne gets the help he needs to get his act together
Wayne disappears into the background starving the media of ratings
Wayne becomes the role model his girl deserves
Wayne lives on in the AFL Hall Of Fame

Cheers

Carey Back to Adeliade

Just watching the news this morning, I heard Craig said that Carey has been welcomed back to the club.It's a way for them to give him councelling.

Anyone else hear about it on Sunrise this morning?

Here's an article:

Crows offer Carey a helping hand
By Daniel Brettig
April 02, 2008

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,...-23211,00.html

Quote:
ADELAIDE coach Neil Craig offered his club's services to help in the rehabilitation of Wayne Carey but the Crows remain hazy about the fallen AFL star's two years with them.

Club captain Simon Goodwin said that during 2003-04 he had little idea of the size of Carey's drinking habit, revealed during Monday's interview with Andrew Denton as “20-30 beers” after every game.

However Goodwin said Carey had played a constructive role in building the games of Ben Rutten and Ken McGregor, both now key position players for Adelaide.

“Wayne's got some issues he's dealing with, all I can speak about is his time with our footy club, and Wayne was willing to help out as many other people as he could in the football arena,” Goodwin said today.

“His willingness to help a Ben Rutten learn his craft, a Ken McGregor, Ian Perrie, those guys, the work he did with those guys was tremendous.

“The culture of AFL footy has changed a hell of a lot since 2003-04, it's come that far that it looks completely different now.

“If you ask if he had a beer, of course he had a beer, but whether we knew he had 30-40 every weekend, no we didn't.”

Craig said he would be happy to offer whatever assistance he and the club could to Carey.

“Obviously Wayne needs a fair bit of help, and maybe the vehicle that has made him so great can also be the vehicle that can help him, which is our great game,” he said.

“I know if he ever chose to seek out our football club to get some help we'd be more than happy to do that.

“(How Adelaide can help) depends on what he asks, all I know is it's very easy to string people up, the first response is to string people up, fine them, suspend them, and I know that's not the way I like to do things.”

Carey remained friends with numerous Adelaide players following his injury-enforced retirement, and was a guest at Mark Ricciuto's wedding earlier this year.

Re: Carey Back to Adeliade

Yer Giantroo, i heard that, thought it would have been better if JB said it to, we are a family club and he is a family member, Wayne should always be able to turn to the NMFC for help.

Re: Carey Back to Adeliade

Yer Giantroo, i heard that, thought it would have been better if JB said it to, we are a family club and he is a family member, Wayne should always be able to turn to the NMFC for help.

Without meaning to criticise Neil Craig, is it more poignant and meaningful to actually offer help directly, or to make a public announcement about it? I know for a fact that our people have been in close contact with Wayne.