Media Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part IV

Our club in the Media

Just on the Saad trade it looks like the fact that we coughed up pick 8 (overs at the time) for him is now irrelevant. We were only going to ever take 2 picks that year and ended up with Carroll and Durdin. Not sure I would take any player around pick 8 ahead of them at the moment.
The Saad, Carroll, Durdin draft looking like genius given where we are at and our needs but some of the kids available at 8 also look very good. But I guess we don’t need a Cox type.

Some decent puff pieces on Fox Footy website (by their standards).

Noted this quote from Longmire's presser, which clarifies what he meant when he was talking about the free kick count.

"The 2012 premiership coach said his players let themselves down in the first half as they gave away a whopping 20 free kicks.

“It was at world record pace, so that was disappointing,” Longmire said. “We’ll go back and have a look at it, there were some there that were absolutely there, so we’re not saying the free kick count was wrong, we’re just saying that’s what it was – the numbers.”
Swans champion Josh Kennedy facing time on sidelines after ‘bad’ hamstring injury and ‘clumsy’ spoil

Last edited by a moderator:
Voss was on ABC Radio a bit after 12 today, was a great interview. I'm sure it will get put online sometime soon. He's so impressive.

Vossy on at 12:05, but worth listening from the start.

Walsh reveals Blues struck by illness outbreak
One of the heroes of Carlton’s win over Sydney almost didn’t play as it was revealed the club has been battling an outbreak of illness in recent weeks.

This is from the HS. Anyone know who they are talking about?
Article mentions that we have had several players suffering from non covid illness in recent weeks. Walsh says it was not a factor in Friday nights win. Apparently many other Melbourne clubs have impacted by the illness as well.

Vossy on at 12:05, but worth listening from the start.
…come and see the real thing… love it.

Just on the Saad trade it looks like the fact that we coughed up pick 8 (overs at the time) for him is now irrelevant. We were only going to ever take 2 picks that year and ended up with Carroll and Durdin. Not sure I would take any player around pick 8 ahead of them at the moment.

I never thought it was overs personally given it was a covid draft and Saad is just a gun.

gotta say some of the stuff kingy presents is difficult for me to get my scone around.........but I think it means good things.........
Carlton structures and runs to achieve numerical superiority around disputed ball contests - second only to Melbourne. It is a measure of 'pressure at the contest' which Vossy speaks to as far as KPI's go. On average Carlton is +14.7 against opposition sides over the course of the game ie it achieves numerical superiority in disputed ball congested situations 15X a game for an average of around 4 X per quarter.

The stat says nothing about effective scores from achieving this measure- but ladder positions correlate highly to this measure.

Carlton structures and runs to achieve numerical superiority around disputed ball contests - second only to Melbourne. It is a measure of 'pressure at the contest' which Vossy speaks to as far as KPI's go. On average Carlton is +14.7 against opposition sides over the course of the game ie it achieves numerical superiority in disputed ball congested situations 15X a game for an average of around 4 X per quarter.

The stat says nothing about effective scores from achieving this measure- but ladder positions correlate highly to this measure.

This is the statistical version of "we look like we've always got more players on the field than they do". Feels nice to be on the positive side of the ledger, after what feels like eons of lamenting that other teams always seemed to have more players available at every contest.

I wonder if there are historical measures of this? Very curious about the Teague and Bolton years...

This is the statistical version of "we look like we've always got more players on the field than they do". Feels nice to be on the positive side of the ledger, after what feels like eons of lamenting that other teams always seemed to have more players available at every contest.

I wonder if there are historical measures of this? Very curious about the Teague and Bolton years...
Mrs LOL, who is not much of footy fan but has watched a few patches of games most years, made that exact observation.
She said there seems to be more players at the ball than other years, preciously you would think carlton have less players on the oval!
We have much better structure all over.
Teams really are having to slow the ball down to find a team mate or an open space to run into.
It is excellent coaching and great buy in from the lads!
We are in for a hell of a tilt especially when we get our list back to health.

Sent from my SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Herald Sun’s the early tackle

Link: archive.ph

Bit of talk comparing Carlton to Richmond, talking up younger players like LOB and Durdin, and how this Carlton team is younger and less experienced than the team Bolton was coaching.
I know it's not you saying it, but that's kind of an unfair comparison to make re Bolton.

Bolton had legacy players skewing the stats a bit, guys like Gibbs, Murphy, Simpson and Kreuzer. After the older heads there was a big gap to the kids. It was talked about many times that there was a big gap in the list from sort of high 20s to low 20s with very few middle aged players. We had guys either past their best or before their best and very few in the prime years.

Might have made the average age/games played stats higher but Bolton had an extremely young and less mature team than we have now imo.

at least for the teague years i'd guess we'd rank highly on contested ball gets but very low on this 'new' stat of post stoppage-contested ball gets.

essentially before we'd gamble everything in at the coalface and it looked great if we won but all too often the ball would come out and there'd be the other team attacking the ball outside the stoppage with an outnumber. Anecdotally we've shifted it 180° and part of that is improving options inside.

I know it's not you saying it, but that's kind of an unfair comparison to make re Bolton.

Bolton had legacy players skewing the stats a bit, guys like Gibbs, Murphy, Simpson and Kreuzer. After the older heads there was a big gap to the kids. It was talked about many times that there was a big gap in the list from sort of high 20s to low 20s with very few middle aged players. We had guys either past their best or before their best and very few in the prime years.

Might have made the average/games played stats higher but Bolton had an extremely young and less mature team than we have now imo.
it's where collingwood is right now i reckon

at least for the teague years i'd guess we'd rank highly on contested ball gets but very low on this 'new' stat of post stoppage-contested ball gets.

essentially before we'd gamble everything in at the coalface and it looked great if we won but all to often the ball would come out and there'd be the other team attacking the ball outside the stoppage with an outnumber. Anecdotally we've shifted it 180° and part of that is improving options inside.
It was just sickening watching us with the ball in the centre and game plan was bomb it long to nobody. Just stupid coaching and a really bad game plan, if it was that. You see the marked difference today, look for a man in space with handball first, if there is zero (rarely) yeah go for territory.

so simple yet utilises one of our biggest strengths perfectly.

I love Ed Curnow, total servant of the club gave everything on the field but the number of times he would just plop it on the boot, just for it to be easily intercepted was driving me insane and it happened for years??? Now that’s not Ed’s fault as that’s probably what he was instructed to do but such a low low % play time and again.

Teague seemed to have a bit of an excuse with the amount of injuries he had, that sort of has evaporated now. No system way less wins, low morale less wins, less buy in less wins, having favourites who should be dropped whilst others should be promoted less wins. Not wanting extra coaching help less wins.

Voss and his brilliant coaching team seem to be making none of these mistakes and are reaping rewards and wins even with our extensive injury list …. To best 22 players!

2. Carlton the biggest mid-season improver

“I reckon the Blues are the most improved team in the year. And that’s not compared to their last year, I think that’s evident, but since the season has been going, I think they’re the most improved team in-season.
“They were 3-0 at the end of Round 3 when they hadn’t lost a game, I think their improvement since that point exceeds every other team’s improvement in-season.
“They’re withstanding Harry McKay, who’s been one of their standout players who’s not in the side, they’re actually starting to rotate now.”

Lyon said: “(Zac) Williams, (Mitch) McGovern, (Jack) Martin, (Marc) Pittonet all out.”

Buckley: “They’re now playing like a solid unit together in all phases of the game. Now they’re going to take on more top eight teams over the next five or six weeks and the challenge for them is to see how they can execute the brand that is very established and is doing the job for them against better opposition.”

Saad playing at that level easily. You go out to find a player like Saad and you'd struggle. No one is as good at breaking lines and carrying the ball and his defending and kicking this season has been elite. Opposition in real trouble when he has the footy and a bit of space to work in.

It's turned into a real win for us.

Media Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part IV