Review Carlton V Geelong Post Match Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter TheYid

Childish behaviour was the sentiment that you threw out your membership. Or did you forget that?

You can vent your frustration, that is honest. However, the above is what I've called you out for. I'd expect better from a 14 year old.

Don't be a sore loser. Sure there is some things we can pick up on. Hey with nearly half of the team out, what can we expect. Give it a rest.

Childish behaviour was the sentiment that you threw out your membership. Or did you forget that?

You can vent your frustration, that is honest. However, the above is what I've called you out for. I'd expect better from a 14 year old.

Don't be a sore loser. Sure there is some things we can pick up on. Hey with nearly half of the team out, what can we expect. Give it a rest.

Well if I dont think I will be attending the PF or GF this year, why would I keep it?

That is the sort of short-sightedness and non-productive behaviour I'm talking about. Do you always look on the low side of life? A glass half empty?

If you are a supporter, then do just that. It's one loss. You maybe eating your words come September, or digging to the bottom of the tip to find your membership card.

That is the sort of short-sightedness and non-productive behaviour I'm talking about. Do you always look on the low side of life? A glass half empty?

If you are a supporter, then do just that. It's one loss. You maybe eating your words come September, or digging to the bottom of the tip to find your membership card.

Yes I am a pessimist when Ive had to watch the football Ive had to watch.

Of course I hope I am eating these words come september, but until I see some effort to be satisfied with, I will not be seeing the glass half full.

If the club was accepting of such shit football as you seem to be, we would not have had 'the review' of 2006, the famous "no passengers!" comment from Chappy, and the brilliance of the past 2.5 seasons.

A rocket needs to be fired up their arse! Not a cuddle from optimists! These are professional men!

Of course I hope I am eating these words come september, but until I see some effort to be satisfied with, I will not be seeing the glass half full.

If the club was accepting of such shit football as you seem to be, we would not have had 'the review' of 2006, the famous "no passengers!" comment from Chappy, and the brilliance of the past 2.5 seasons.

A rocket needs to be fired up their arse! Not a cuddle from optimists! These are professional men!
Mate, these reasons are why you don't need to be jumping up and down - the past 2.5 years has shown that this club is professional enough to know when it is not performing, and so far (bar the 08 GF) have been able to rectify those problems. No amount of internet forum banter will alter the way in which a bunch of highly paid, highly skilled (players, coaches and administrators) people go about their business.

THEY ARE 16-3! Huge difference between 2006 and now. FFS it is one bad game all year.

You aren't a pessamist, I just fear your inaccurate perceptions of the club.

ffs, the ladder position and first half of the season is not an indicator of current form or an indicator of where future form will be.

Open your other eye, one eyed people do not have any depth perception.

Mate, these reasons are why you don't need to be jumping up and down - the past 2.5 years has shown that this club is professional enough to know when it is not performing, and so far (bar the 08 GF) have been able to rectify those problems. No amount of internet forum banter will alter the way in which a bunch of highly paid, highly skilled (players, coaches and administrators) people go about their business.

Absolutely.

We should all shut up and let the football do the talking.

Which is why I dont participate on B13 or the main board.

But the football has been shit, and a lot of mistakes are being made, I refuse to sit by and watch the boys collapse quietly! I need to vent! Is that not what 'discussion' sites are for?

For sure, that's exactly what they are for, but you shouldn't be surprised to come up against people who (rightly in my opinion) trust that for the time being and until proven otherwise, the club know what they are doing in this situation.

I feel the same, of course they know what they are doing, better than most other clubs right now.

That doesn't excuse the unprofessionalism of players appearing like they are not interested in being in a game of football.

I have continually stated, its not the result that got me all whiny, it was the effort in which the result came about, or LACK of effort, I should say.

I agree, at the game I was fuming, tearing my hair out, admonishing Shannon Byrnes, contemplating life with relation to football (why should I care if the players don't?) and all those things.

But when you take away the emotion and look at that game for what it was - Blues had everything to play for, we had NOTHING - you can understand the players would be lacking a little motivation, especially after a couple of tough weeks against percieved 'tougher' opponents.

I agree, at the game I was fuming, tearing my hair out, admonishing Shannon Byrnes, contemplating life with relation to football (why should I care if the players don't?) and all those things.

But when you take away the emotion and look at that game for what it was - Blues had everything to play for, we had NOTHING - you can understand the players would be lacking a little motivation, especially after a couple of tough weeks against percieved 'tougher' opponents.

No, that is unprofessional and not worthy of 'support'.

I expect MUCH better.

I will never accept mediochrity again from the current squad, it has shown what it is capable of.

I guess some people need hugs and kisses when they get knocked over. Id rather have someone yelling at me to GTF back up!

Understand?

Exactly. Agree with every word.

If it was only one bad performance it would not be a huge issue, the key is the signs have been there all season long, and most supporters on here have looked the other way and pretended everything was fine.

One question for everyone - when was the last time we played four quarters of sustained high pressure football? In my opinion we've only done it once, against Brisbane in round 5. That's the difference between this season and the two that have just gone. In 2007 and 2008 we performed to that level nearly every week, and when we had the opposition down they were completely annihilated, not allowed to regain respectability. This year they have let teams off the hook time after time after time, or just managed to win against opposition we should have obliterated (Richmond, Melbourne twice, Fremantle, and West Coast for example). As a result, poor habits have festered virtually unchecked. Laziness, sloppiness, lack of intensity. Ballooning egos among the senior players. All the things we saw Friday night.

As much as I despise losing (which I refuse to apologise for), I could endure a loss IF the players were displaying some desperation. But that wasn't the case. And injuries are no excuse whatsoever. Every player wearing the jumper knows what standard they have to aspire to. They certainly haven't been shy in telling us that over the last 3 years. I would argue Friday night only about three or four reached it.

This was a performance that has sadly typified the club for decades. A performance that gives the club as a whole a terrible stigma and stain. Losing when they shouldn't. Appearing uninterested, lack of fight. I thought this cancer had been eradicated in 2007, but now I'm not so sure.

And one of the things that infuriates me the most, is the number of fans who assume the team is able to magically flick the switch when the finals start. Professional sport doesn't work like that, and form sure as hell doesn't. Yes, getting Scarlett, Chapman, Taylor, Kelly (and hopefully Ottens) should (not will) make a difference. Yes, Johnson and Harley will hopefully get better (although Harley was far from our worst I thought). But to naively and blindly assume that they can suddenly produce four whole quarters of top quality football, against quality opposition, in a final when they haven't done it all season, is utterly fanciful.

Thanks Partridge, you have eloquently put what I was trying to communicate.

The Brisbane game was brilliant, one of the best efforts in the last 2 years, and in shocking conditions too.

I agree completely.

At the moment, at this point in the season, the only chance we have of winning the flag is if Collingwood and St Kilda become complacent like we did last year.

Or if Chappy publicly blasts the players again.

I am hoping on thursday night Sam looks straight down the camera and lets the Club know what he no doubt thinks of them currently.

If he doesn't I will assume the club has informed him of information that we do not know much detail on (current training regime being a possibilty).

It might snap a few supporters out of their fantasies.

Why not shut up shop and let others vent? Again with this unspoken rule, whereby senior forum members bash on posters calling them childish etc. In reality people are simply giving their point of view on an open forum. Why waste your time? Have your say on the topic and deal with the fact that others differ to yours. If this bloke wants to tear his membership card up, why not? I tore the $hit out of my grand final ticket on my way out of the ground last year, felt great! Everyone does things their way. Doesn't make you childish/good/bad supporter because of it.

I am not a "senior forum member" as you put it, but forgive me if i say my piece...in my opinion ranting on about tearing up a membership ticket 3/4 of the way into a season when your team is 16-3 makes you a shit supporter actually. Just my opinion, open forum and all that. :thumbsu:

I see no wrong in expressing my opinions, they are justified, and this board is the only place Ive seen people happy with our current form.

Of course you have a right to express your opinions, but there's criticism and then there's .... well the sort of rubbish that infested this board immediately following Fridays game.

Could you point out these people who are "happy" with our current form?

I will never accept mediochrity again from the current squad, it has shown what it is capable of.

I see this all the time from those who go completely over the top, the [ incorrect ] assumption that other supporters are willing to accept mediocrity, just because we don't throw a hissy fit whenever the team fails to perform at the level expected doesn't mean we accept or condone it.

After watching some other team come out onto the pitch on Friday, I have to say, I am dissappointed but at the end of the day we have been unlucky with injury this season and to win you need a little bit of luck.

The season is not yet over....a couple of points from my perspective....

1. We have injuries, it is only a few weeks until the finals....do we want more injuries? Do we want to go out there all guns blazing and cop another injury to Harley, Varcoe, Johnson.......it has to be at the back of everyones mind....

2. What do we have to play for? Come on honestly....hard year...everyone is up to beat us....could you do it.....don't tell me you don't have off days or even weeks.....

3. The umps changed the whole flow of that game....your coming back from behind and your work your arse off to get a goal only for some stupid blind umpire to dissallow.....would be hard to motivate yourself a second time.

4. Lonny wasn't that bad....Fev only came into his own in the final quarter...when it seemed to me the Cats had given up.....

5. Geelong know what to do....they aren't going to let this year get away without a fight....they know what is important...and at the end of the day the flag is "ALL" that matters...it is why they are there....who gives a toss about Carlton at this point in the comp!

6. Stop slagging off players that have done so much for so long....give em a chance...

Of course you have a right to express your opinions, but there's criticism and then there's .... well the sort of rubbish that infested this board immediately following Fridays game.

Could you point out these people who are "happy" with our current form?

I see this all the time from those who go completely over the top, the [ incorrect ] assumption that other supporters are willing to accept mediocrity, just because we don't throw a hissy fit whenever the team fails to perform at the level expected doesn't mean we accept or condone it.

Well said.

It must be said though that it was not a knee jerk reaction to fridays game. Its been a tough month with us playing some in form sides, and having a couple more to come before september. Id much rather we had this than St Kildas run in of Melb and Roos.

I know not everyone accepts or condones it, but many came on here to slag off people who were clearly unhappy with the last months form, of course throwing out memberships this early is over the top, as was calling for an ablett trade (as if!).

Im starting to see (finally) fridays game as a good thing, because it has certainly fired me up, awoke me from the 'waiting for september' slumber, and made me realise how much I want to see a full side fit and firing out on the park.

Yes Im an emotional and OTT guy sometimes, but faaarrrkk, isn't Cam Mooney the same?

Anyway, Ive said way more than enough, time to crack a can and wait to see how the injurys from friday pull up.

Id bet the house on us losing to Sydney, tanking it if you will, to prepare for the Bulldogs game. So I might just stay quiet until then.

So your thoughts are that people can express their thoughts, yet I can't express my opinion on their thoughts? Isn't that what the forum is about?

I have no worries about another's opinion, however, when it is that misplaced, surely I can retort?

In your opinion, tearing up your membership during a 16-3 season sounds mature? Bringing the discussion to its heart, that the behaviour like such is immature, might have changed his opinion.

Guess what? It did. Vealsy has been writing more realistic posts since this morning.

We are 16-3, in the finals, so we should support the lads through the terrible injury woes; where players are often playing out of the normal rotation.

They know they aren't playing the best, they do. I can assure you of that.

I have no worries about another's opinion, however, when it is that misplaced, surely I can retort?

Misplaced? Perhaps you think so. Why call someone "childish" though? The thread is called 'Carlton V Geelong Post Match Thread', why not give us your opinions on the topic instead insulting others?

If someone is so extreme as to want to rip their membership card up, who cares? By the way, Enright has just moved in around the corner from my abode... he's getting the half without my name on it in his letter box if they don't beat Sydney. :D

Misplaced? Perhaps you think so. Why call someone "childish" though? The thread is called 'Carlton V Geelong Post Match Thread', why not give us your opinions on the topic instead insulting others?

If someone is so extreme as to want to rip their membership card up, who cares? By the way, Enright has just moved in around the corner from my abode... he's getting the half without my name on it in his letter box if they don't beat Sydney. :D

I don't even know where my membership card is. It's not like it's the token of any support I have for the Geelong FC. It's not like Mark Thompson or anyone at Geelong is going to lose sleep if someone tears their membership card up. People have already paid their money, and that's all they're after.

Don't give it to Enright, hes been a star all season. AA honours for sure.

And PB has a point, this is the post match thread.

I was clearly ropable after the match, as Im sure most were, so whats the big deal if I carry on a bit?

I like the highs and lows. Keeping a cool head is not my personality. If you label it childish... GOOD! I don't want to be cool calm and collected when having to watch SHIT footy!

Ive found I enjoy footy more when Im passionate! Hating it is just the flipside.

Better to be high/low than boring and insulting!