List Mgmt. Carlton's 2018 Draft Thread (cont. in Part 2)

https://outline.com/gqJSfz

Buckenara's annual stab at the Top 30 at this stage. I must say i really like it. Mine is quite similar so if i go down in a stack of flames this year, i've got Bucky for company.

My main differences are i've got Jones, O'Halloran, Collier-Dawkins and Caldwell a bit higher. And Thomas, West, Hately, Foley, English and Butters a bit lower.
FMD!!! Wouldn't you love to snaffle Jones & Caldwell with our two 2nd Rounders. You'd be all over that like a rash. Wouldn't be surprised if Jones slid a bit, because being in Tassie means he's outta sight outta mind. Won't feature in the TAC Cup finals either.

Yeah, Jones does have the feel of a slider about him. In Tassie and a touch on the small/light side.

I'm personally not worried about his size because he isn't worried about his size. He attacks the ball and the player with the ball as good as any other onballer i've seen this year. A favorite of mine, and seems like a few others here too including yourself.

Jones and O'Halloran are my 2 favorites for us because they are mids but versatile mids. We are going to have a deep talented midfield by the time this years kids are hitting their straps so i wanna nab current mids who can play other positions as well.

It's a very interesting draft for us as usual.

I think Clark is coming strong, will be a late 1st rounder at this stage

Fair enough, loved the dash he shows, but can only imagine the moans coming from supporters at picking "another half back"...

Would you be happy taking him with a pick in the 20s?

Also, what are your thoughts on Duursma vs O'Halloran in the late first round if we're able to land a pick in that range?

I like McHenry, really rate him

Just think he's a great fit as a small hybrid who can cause some damage up forward, but also be effective up the ground.

Love his tenacity.

Yeah, Jones does have the feel of a slider about him. In Tassie and a touch on the small/light side.

I'm personally not worried about his size because he isn't worried about his size. He attacks the ball and the player with the ball as good as any other onballer i've seen this year. A favorite of mine, and seems like a few others here too including yourself.

Jones and O'Halloran are my 2 favorites for us because they are mids but versatile mids. We are going to have a deep talented midfield by the time this years kids are hitting their straps so i wanna nab current mids who can play other positions as well.

It's a very interesting draft for us as usual.
I see a bit of Lachie Neale about Jones. Will he get to be that good??? You'd need to wait around 5 years before one could answer that truthfully. Has that similar burst of acceleration out of congestion and stoppages. Very, very quick reaction times. I think Neale's disposal by foot is a little better, but Jones is surprisingly strong in the air for someone his size. I became a fan after seeing him tear it up on a wing in the Academy game against Norf VFL earlier this year. I rate him higher than Tarryn Thomas.

Yep. I reckon he "could" make it in the AFL as that Neale type of onballer. And if he somehow doesn't, he "could" be a Toby McLean type utility(without the ducking lol). I also think he "could" be a future topline small/general forward at AFL level. Marks well, competes hard, chases hard, tackles hard, great hands, finds the goals.

Just a very good package with lots of ways to make a valuable 1st 22 player in the AFL. Apparently a real driven pro too.

Fair enough, loved the dash he shows, but can only imagine the moans coming from supporters at picking "another half back"...

Would you be happy taking him with a pick in the 20s?

Also, what are your thoughts on Duursma vs O'Halloran in the late first round if we're able to land a pick in that range?

Just think he's a great fit as a small hybrid who can cause some damage up forward, but also be effective up the ground.

Love his tenacity.

Perhaps, LemmingMaster could chime in here, but after playing 2 reserves games has been elevated to the seniors the last 3 weeks and has looked right at home. I think he could easily transition to an attacking outside mid/wing, who still can find his own ball. I would be surprised if he wasn't selected in the first round

I actually rate McHenry in front of both Duursma and O'Halloran. Is a more dangerous forward and gets as much of it as Duursma, but uses it better. Concern I have with O'Halloran, is that his production is low, but again, uses it better than Duursma. I think there are some really good prospects in that 2nd round, so depends who slides, you could pick up some quality. Names like Jones (Has a wide range, depending who you speak too), Kennerley, Butters, Bytel

I would keep those 2nd rounders

Yep. I reckon he "could" make it in the AFL as that Neale type of onballer. And if he somehow doesn't, he "could" be a Toby McLean type utility(without the ducking lol). I also think he "could" be a future topline small/general forward at AFL level. Marks well, competes hard, chases hard, tackles hard, great hands, finds the goals.

Just a very good package with lots of ways to make a valuable 1st 22 player in the AFL. Apparently a real driven pro too.
The thing I like about those Neale/Sloane types is that they don't have many weaknesses in their game. Whoever gets their hands on Jones will love him.

Was having a chat with Arr0w and if there's one person I'd love to snaffle out of the Crows it'd be their development coach. Both Gallucci and Himmelberg used to literally kick the ball out of their hands when drafted, but that's been essentially corrected now. While still not perfect or pure their kicking action is now sound enough to provide reasonably solid disposal by foot. I don't know who he is or how much he'd cost, but he'd definitely be worth every penny.

The thing I like about those Neale/Sloane types is that they don't have many weaknesses in their game. Whoever gets their hands on Jones will love him.

Was having a chat with Arr0w and if there's one person I'd love to snaffle out of the Crows it'd be their development coach. Both Gallucci and Himmelberg used to literally kick the ball out of their hands when drafted, but that's been essentially corrected now. While still not perfect or pure their kicking action is now sound enough to provide reasonably solid disposal by foot. I don't know who he is or how much he'd cost, but he'd definitely be worth every penny.

Couldn't agree more. Adelaide have long been one of the best developers of young players. Unluckily for them, they are also one of the worst retainers of players.

Gold Coast have just nabbed their development guy. I have never heard of his name, but he had apparently been there for the last 10 years.

This is how I currently see the first 2 rounds, in terms of rating players, not so much as being drafted. Sure that will change slightly

1 Lukosius
2 Smith
3 Blakey
4 Walsh
5 B.King
6 Rankine
7 M. King
8 Rozee
9 Caldwell
10 Jones
11 West
12 Valente
13 Hately
14 Hill
15 Williams
16 Thomas
17 Clark
18 McHenry
19 Dawkins
20 Scott
21 Taylor
22 O'Halloran
23 McFadyen
24 Duursma
25 Stocker
26 Kennerley
27 Bytel
28 Butters
29 McKenzie
30 Rowbottom
31 Berry
32 Quaynor
33 Stack
34 Briggs
35 McLennan
36 Turner

Couldn't agree more. Adelaide have long been one of the best developers of young players. Unluckily for them, they are also one of the worst retainers of players.

Gold Coast have just nabbed their development guy. I have never heard of his name, but he had apparently been there for the last 10 years.
I hadn't heard that. Great get by the GC. Adelaide have been doing so much right when you consider where they have been picking in the draft.

This is how I currently see the first 2 rounds, in terms of rating players, not so much as being drafted. Sure that will change slightly

1 Lukosius
2 Smith
3 Blakey
4 Walsh
5 B.King
6 Rankine
7 M. King
8 Rozee
9 Caldwell
10 Jones
11 West
12 Valente
13 Hately
14 Hill
15 Williams
16 Thomas
17 Clark
18 McHenry
19 Dawkins
20 Scott
21 Taylor
22 O'Halloran
23 McFadyen
24 Duursma
25 Stocker
26 Kennerley
27 Bytel
28 Butters
29 McKenzie
30 Rowbottom
31 Berry
32 Quaynor
33 Stack
34 Briggs
35 McLennan
36 Turner
Turner is another much under-rated operator I reckon. Like Jones, being based in Tassie means he's outta sight outta mind. Finished 5th for total disposals during U18 Nationals and happy to put his head over the ball. At 186cm he's a nice size too. Add just a touch of polish to his game and he's a half a nick at 36.

1 Lukosius
2 Smith
3 Blakey
4 Walsh
5 B.King
6 Rankine
7 M. King
8 Rozee
9 Caldwell
10 Jones
11 West
12 Valente
13 Hately
14 Hill
15 Williams
16 Thomas
17 Clark
18 McHenry
19 Dawkins
20 Scott
21 Taylor
22 O'Halloran
23 McFadyen
24 Duursma
25 Stocker
26 Kennerley
27 Bytel
28 Butters
29 McKenzie
30 Rowbottom
31 Berry
32 Quaynor
33 Stack
34 Briggs
35 McLennan
36 Turner

It's when you actually do a list like this 30 odd deep that you realise it is probably better to keep two mid 20's picks rather than trade them for a single pick in the low/mid teens in this draft isn't it.

Great spread of evenish talent after the Big 7 or so this year.

Not sure there's much unlucky about that tbh. The problem is that most champion players don't have the people, management or business skills to cut it as quality administrators. Roo & Burton are killing them. Kernahan was another example. It will be most interesting to see how Judd grows into his role.

Yeah, i had an evilish grin as i typed that line lol. Such a shame that they keep getting all these walkouts....not.

There is something cultish about that joint and Tullamarine.

Turner is another much under-rated operator I reckon. Like Jones, being based in Tassie means he's outta sight outta mind. Finished 5th for total disposals during U18 Nationals and happy to put his head over the ball. At 186cm he's a nice size too. Add just a touch of polish to his game and he's a half a nick at 36.

Agree on Jones, as I stated earlier, his range is wide, but I believe he sits comfortably in the first round. Turner is an interesting one, again a wide range, could go anywhere from mid 2nd to late 3rd.

It's when you actually do a list like this 30 odd deep that you realise it is probably better to keep two mid 20's picks rather than trade them for a single pick in the low/mid teens in this draft isn't it.

Great spread of evenish talent after the Big 7 or so this year.

I agree Terry, this draft reminds me of 2016 with a better top 10. When you consider, some of the names that I didn't have in the top 36, Kelly, Khamis, Bowman, Sparrow, Koschitzke, Mosquito, Brownless, Foot, Joyce, Foley, Jarvis, Andrews, Nietschke, I wonder if SOS does acquire more picks in the 2nd and 3rd rounds, after trading

Definitely get feeling it'll take a lot more than McGovern to interest us in parting with Pick 1......and so it should.
CARLTON CEO Cain Liddle says the Blues would need a "very, very good offer" to part with the number one pick from this year's NAB AFL Draft.
More on this story can be found on the link below:
Liddle: Blues will look to bolster young talent

Definitely get feeling it'll take a lot more than McGovern to interest us in parting with Pick 1......and so it should.

More on this story can be found on the link below:
Liddle: Blues will look to bolster young talent
Great to hear.

Wonder what the Crows board thinks of that?...

I'm settling in more and more to just take the first pick but if for whatever reason we do lose it we'd want to get serious overs including a top 5 pick, preferably top 2 or 3 (although that would seem tough, I just can't see GCS parting with them unless, like us, they get serious overs).

Perhaps, LemmingMaster could chime in here, but after playing 2 reserves games has been elevated to the seniors the last 3 weeks and has looked right at home. I think he could easily transition to an attacking outside mid/wing, who still can find his own ball. I would be surprised if he wasn't selected in the first round

I actually rate McHenry in front of both Duursma and O'Halloran. Is a more dangerous forward and gets as much of it as Duursma, but uses it better. Concern I have with O'Halloran, is that his production is low, but again, uses it better than Duursma. I think there are some really good prospects in that 2nd round, so depends who slides, you could pick up some quality. Names like Jones (Has a wide range, depending who you speak too), Kennerley, Butters, Bytel

I would keep those 2nd rounders

I am strongly in the Duursma camp of those three players. I think he shows plenty of dash, leadership and looks at home in the midfield and HBF.
O'Halloran, my first few viewings I liked his potential above his head, but he seems to fumble a little for mine and look like he is not a massive output player. I thought it was his strength that allowed him to win the ball forward and not amazingurch running patterns. I have cooled on him a little.
McHenry I really love as a forward, but size does concern me. When you have a player his height, you want some elite abilities and I am not sure he has those. Reminds me of the likes of Honeychurch that I liked as a junior and not sure they transition to AFL wonderfully.

Jones - If he drifts to our second round pick, I would lock him in an instant.
Butters - This kid is also a LOCK if he gets to our second round pick. He has elite decision making and kicking skills. Love his output.
Kennerley - I really rate this kid, but is probably not the same level as the two previous names.

Jones
Duursma
Butters
McHenry
Kennerley
O'Halloran
Bytel

That would be my rough preference order at the moment. (Of those players mentioned)

I am strongly in the Duursma camp of those three players. I think he shows plenty of dash, leadership and looks at home in the midfield and HBF.
O'Halloran, my first few viewings I liked his potential above his head, but he seems to fumble a little for mine and look like he is not a massive output player. I thought it was his strength that allowed him to win the ball forward and not amazingurch running patterns. I have cooled on him a little.
McHenry I really love as a forward, but size does concern me. When you have a player his height, you want some elite abilities and I am not sure he has those. Reminds me of the likes of Honeychurch that I liked as a junior and not sure they transition to AFL wonderfully.

Butters - This kid is also a LOCK if he gets to our second round pick. He has elite decision making and kicking skills. Love his output.
Kennerley - I really rate this kid, but is probably not the same level as the two previous names.

Jones
Duursma
Butters
McHenry
Kennerley
O'Halloran
Bytel

That would be my rough preference order at the moment. (Of those players mentioned)

Thanks LM, given you are in WA, what do you think of Clark, since moving to reserves, then league

I agree Terry, this draft reminds me of 2016 with a better top 10. When you consider, some of the names that I didn't have in the top 36, Kelly, Khamis, Bowman, Sparrow, Koschitzke, Mosquito, Brownless, Foot, Joyce, Foley, Jarvis, Andrews, Nietschke, I wonder if SOS does acquire more picks in the 2nd and 3rd rounds, after trading

I could see many clubs with picks in the 20's thinking they got a bargain.
Most clubs would have these players around their top marks.

Lukosius, Rankine, Walsh, Smith, King, King, Blakey - Those names will probably not drift to the second round.

After this point, there may be some disagreements to the range of where I play will end up.

Thanks LM, given you are in WA, what do you think of Clark, since moving to reserves, then league

I've not had a chance to see him play since the championships so I cannot update you. In saying that, Tigers used to always be a bit reserved promoting their juniors to senior level, so that could be a good sign. His stat line does look very good.

Lukosius, Rankine, Walsh, Smith, King, King, Blakey - Those names will probably not drift to the second round.
All top 12 for mine so second round drifting would be amazing for any of them.

The order probably has Walsh and Lukosius 1 or 2 and then from there the other 5 should be top 7 of draft but only a Smith or King could possibly slip just outside top ten but be surprised if those 7 are not the most wanted players across the 18 clubs. I'd love to get 2 of the top 4. If we can somehow get another pick at 4 to go with 1 , that would be awesome. It means trading with Saints or Gold Coast. Highly unlikely so content that we probably get Walsh or Lukosius but if could swing it to get one of them plus one of Rankine or Smith would be stoked.

Jones
Duursma
Butters
McHenry
Kennerley
O'Halloran
Bytel

Agree on Jones, but would be surprised if he drifted that far.

Still not sold on Duursma, reminds me of a Scott Selwood type, gets a bit of it, but only going at 57% by foot this year, identical to McHenry. I agree McHenry's size does worry me at 176 CM, but like his toe and has a bit of fire, a poorer version of Higgins perhaps, rather than a Honeychurch who I never rated.

Butters, I was really keen on, probably has better footy IQ than the other 2, but don't think he has the toe of McHenry and has been poor by foot this year at 46%, which surprised me. Is also small at 178 CM