Caroline Wilson vs Joel Bowden

It looks a tad diversionary to me. We're embroiled in our biggest board issue in years (normally her bread and butter) and she seems very quiet on the issue, instead using her column to tee off at Joel.

Either way she's misread the issue because she's peed off the fans by slagging off the hero of the last couple of games and she's called her motives into question. From memory she'd been quite critical of Miller this year, so she might be feeling a little bit guilty (or something more sinister).

Not sure what she's said on Footy Classified this week as I can't bring myself to watch channel 9.

Bowden wasn't even playing that badly when he got dropped in the first place. It was just a message for him to be more committed on game day

I'm surprised the Age persists with Wilson's column. Clearly she see's her role as bringing us all the major scoops based on her "un-named sources". Well here's a scoop for us all- her un-maed source is usually her imagination. Whatever knowledge she may have football is overshadowed by her persistent attempts to be the first with the (bad) news, and her credibility gets lower every time. My belief is that no-one will tell her anything anymore, so she is forced put on her own interpretation.

Nathan Brown said the complete opposite on Footy Classifieds last night. He said Bowden took the demotion on the chin, was still around the club a lot. Has worked hard on his defensive game (7 tackles last match).

I usually do like Caro but if she was going to publish this article today, why didn't she challeng Brown on what he said last night?

Nathan Brown said the complete opposite on Footy Classifieds last night. He said Bowden took the demotion on the chin, was still around the club a lot. Has worked hard on his defensive game (7 tackles last match).

I usually do like Caro but if she was going to publish this article today, why didn't she challeng Brown on what he said last night?

Great point Cleishy! be good to watch again and see her reaction to Browns comments.

I'm surprised the Age persists with Wilson's column. Clearly she see's her role as bringing us all the major scoops based on her "un-named sources". Well here's a scoop for us all- her un-maed source is usually her imagination. Whatever knowledge she may have football is overshadowed by her persistent attempts to be the first with the (bad) news, and her credibility gets lower every time. My belief is that no-one will tell her anything anymore, so she is forced put on her own interpretation.

Welcome to the world , mate....that's pretty much every journalist. My personal favourite is the "Frilingos Furphy" pioneered by late Rugby League journalist Peter Frilingos...it usually occurs after a so-called "violent on-field incident" or some "poor off-field behaviour" and involves the journalist trotting out the line about "mother's coming up to them in the street" and saying how they won't let their sons play footy anymore because it's too rough...(often includes a a reference about them playing soccer instead) or the players are "poor role-models" ...of course nowadays they say "they've recieved a flood of e-mails from concerned parents"....hahaha what bollocks....

And if you think Caroline Wilson's bad...she's got nothin' on Rebecca Wilson.....now there's a right slag...worst journalist in sport.:thumbsd:

Considering the pasting he copped by the media last week for his "unsportsmanlike" act, do they really expect to get a ****ing thing from him?
If it was me I would tell them all to get ****ed as well

Caro does have it in for Bowden for some reason thats for sure. This article would not have been expected if you watched FC the might before.

She really stuck up for the Tigers and March over the Miller thing, refused to bag Miller, other than to confirm that she believed that he wasn't performing when she was pushed. Really tried to pull the SOB Hutchy into line who was doing the old "Richmond are useless and can only shoot themselves in the Foot" routine to try and beat up a controvercial story.

All typical journo stuff I guess!!:o

With the timing of Miller's sacking notwithstanding, there was a lot of talk going around at the beginning of the season about 'letting the footy do the talking' rather than jabbering on to the media.

So, yeah bad timing with the sacking of Miller and we are copping bad press because of it, but I think there is an element of 'why the _)_@#! should we' give Caro an interview about something which is clearly a non event. That of Joel's discontent at being dropped to the ressies.

And also, that of getting on with the business of 'letting on-field actions' do the talking. I would prefer the latter to Tuesdays with Terry any bloody day of the week.

Yep, I am sure it didn't make Joel happy to be dropped, but Browny reiterated on FC last night that he 'took it on the chin'. And I believe it.

Wilson being so well connected to Tigerland, she should know this.

Reminds me of a stormtrooping, man-hating female boss I had once who tried to bail me up in a work cubicle. I told her that I had 5 words for her: Get frucked, and fruck-off. She kept trying to talk to me but I repeated the words over and over. She ended up crying in her office on the phone to her lesbian lover. All I could hear her say was "but he won't talk to me"....sob.....sob. Caro to a tee....and I admire JB for not giving the harpie oxygen.

I don't normally mind her as much as others seem to, but when I read that this morning my ability to not mind her diminished a little. It was so clearly such a load of shit, and basically summed up by what everyone here has said - she was pissed she didn't get her way, so she made up a lot of stuff about him. Nothing she said was verified, or warranted, it was just a spiteful, and plain bullshit article.

Caro does have it in for Bowden for some reason thats for sure. This article would not have been expected if you watched FC the might before.

She really stuck up for the Tigers and March over the Miller thing, refused to bag Miller, other than to confirm that she believed that he wasn't performing when she was pushed. Really tried to pull the SOB Hutchy into line who was doing the old "Richmond are useless and can only shoot themselves in the Foot" routine to try and beat up a controvercial story.

All typical journo stuff I guess!!:o

Yeah, the way Hutchy carries on it's a wonder that all clubs aren't aren't desperately trying to sign him as a consultant...Gee, he seems to know so much about business ethics. He, like his twitty nemesis, Andrew Marr, are always so emphatic and assured by their own nonsense. He is good for laugh, of course.

Stan Alves spoke to this on the ABC on the weekend. Says he spoke to JB personally and was impressed with how well he handled the whole thing.

I remember when she lost her afternoon shift on 3aw to Ernie Sigley. My memory is not the best, but I think Ernie was the fill in for her when she went on holidays. Correct me if I'm wrong, apparently the 3aw afternoon listeners prefered to listen to Ernie and she was dumped from the station. She is probably still bitter and twisted about that to this day and felt she needed to re-invent herself as a gun journo. Dud journo in my books who tries too hard:thumbsd:

That would probably explain her utter hatred of the Bulldogs.

(not really sure she has a hatred of the Bulldogs but consider me taking journalistic license;))

The Turkey's been fried then I presume?

Unless you wanna get all emotional on us ;)
GM handed himself in too early. I was hoping that he'd stay in Phillip Island and a military operation would proceed to extract him and he resist and tries to escape out of the escort convoy and returns back to his lair. :D

i believe Caro is one of the most over-rated journalists around. Somehow her reputation gets her these high profile media gigs. This "reputation" to me is based on articles just like the Joel Bowden one - where she has cobbled together various whispers, rumours and what ifs to try to produce "a story". Like any weak journalist "naturally she won't reveal her sources"....It'd be laughable if it wasn't for the fact that it is taking a shot at a guy - Joel Bowden - who is a very proud Richmond man, and who has taken his lumps this year, swallowed his pride and re-focused himself on letting his game do the talking. As far as the decision to drop him early in the season, imho it was warranted. The proof is in the pudding, not just his own form but that of the team.

GM handed himself in too early. I was hoping that he'd stay in Phillip Island and a military operation would proceed to extract him and he resist and tries to escape out of the escort convoy and returns back to his lair. :D

I think OPeration Turkey Capture was leaked and Greg decided it was better to hand himself in :D

It woulda been like Arnie on Commando...WW3:cool: