Central Highlands

crusader said:
ryang, daylesford were nearly full strength on the weekend, couple of blokes still to come in, especially one under 18 player if they dont make the finals, absolute gun and probably one of the most skilled players in the juniors in the chfl. The forward structure is pretty big, but thats going to test alot of teams if they cant man up four talls. Rob Rodgers is also another, who although short will need to be manned up by one of their best players. So if there is any team that can man up five gun forwards, they will beat daylesford. Scott has resigned, because he knows that ballan are a great chance to win next year with a couple more recruits, and for a coach who gave all his money back to the club to recruit players, i dont think he would throw it in that easy. Bungaree vs Hepburn this week looms as the biggest match of the season. Who ever gets up is a real chance for top spot still, especially hepburn. But if Bungaree get up, they are my tip to make it to the grand final no worries and to play off against either waubra or daylesford. Hepburn have hammered some teams of late, but they wont be able to match the speed of the others on the big ground.
Sorry crusader I meant that a tall opposition forward line might trouble Daylesfords backs. Don't know whether he had a bad game or not but the chb, (don't know who he is, a very big unit though) didn't seem to know much about it, and Bourke looked way out of touch and shape. Realise he has missed a bit of footy. Thought that looked to be their only weakness.

ryang said:
Mullane-Grant was well held by Cronin?? (I think) but as apple eater said, Ballan stuffed around with the ball when going forward. I am told he was dangerous in the 1st half, kicked a couple and missed a few others he would normally kick, but he looks like a one legged duck. His knee looks to be getting worse. I know there are big wraps on him this season on the basis of his goal return, but when fully fit he is way better than this. He is unstoppable on his day so I hope he gets his knee fixed and shows what he is capable of.
Winduss for Daylesford dominated and fed the ball to his on-ballers on a platter, and when those on-ballers are as good as Daylesfords their dangerous forwards are going to be a handfull.
At other clubs, Bryce Nicholson is killing them up forward for Bungaree. I know a lot of people who say this bloke is soft, but he is a match winner.
The big fridge in the goal square for Waubra has been a headache for all clubs this year as has Sean Mullane. There is a young guy at Learmonth who has caught the eye, Powell I think his name is??? Very clever and dangerous around goal.

Agree with you ryang- Cronin is a premier backman, and it will be sensational to see Mullane-Grant fully fit next season. It will cost Ballan a lot of $$$ to keep him. Heard clubs from Geelong way are throwing massive $$$ at him.
Nicholson only plays for himself, but can be a matchwinner... dont rate him as good as Brown or Mulland Grant, but definantly better then Seiz from Hepburn who is the softest player in the competition.
Brenton Powell is his name and has a twin brother when fit (Knee injury) by the name of Shane who is a good player as well. Brenton is exceptionally good at winning the hard ball, and is a smart and quick lead from the goal square. Has been at the club since a junior, with many clubs including Nth Ballarat VFL wanting him for next season.

Flat Track Bully said:
How has Darren "Dezy" Leahy been performing with Springbank. (far too modest to tell me himself.)

Just a player in my opinion FTB, everyone down Geelong way talk very highly of the man but it's easy playing the loose man every week:eek:

learmonth said:
Agree with you ryang- Cronin is a premier backman, and it will be sensational to see Mullane-Grant fully fit next season. It will cost Ballan a lot of $$$ to keep him. Heard clubs from Geelong way are throwing massive $$$ at him.
Nicholson only plays for himself, but can be a matchwinner... dont rate him as good as Brown or Mulland Grant, but definantly better then Seiz from Hepburn who is the softest player in the competition.
Brenton Powell is his name and has a twin brother when fit (Knee injury) by the name of Shane who is a good player as well. Brenton is exceptionally good at winning the hard ball, and is a smart and quick lead from the goal square. Has been at the club since a junior, with many clubs including Nth Ballarat VFL wanting him for next season.
East Point would have big Seizy back in the wink of an eye. I've heard their 2s need a big key forward.

ryang said:
East Point would have big Seizy back in the wink of an eye. I've heard their 2s need a big key forward.

Well after their performance (East/Point 2's) this week I think they need him back. Just a note from being at the past 2 Learmonths games (Clunes & Ballan- Yes ive jumped on their wagon) both sides and their ferral supporters have just said Learmonth are only making up the numbers. Interested to know anyones thoughts on that, as they have beaten Daylesford and Waubra who from gathering what everyone is saying, they are the two best sides. Learmonth's leg speed on the big ground clearly showed Ballan up and if they hadnt kicked 5 goals in time on in the last quarter the lakies win would have looked more impressive.
Malcolm Scott has definantly finished at Ballan, and will not coach there next season. Has left on his own accords.

Damn straight that seiz would fit back into the 2s well. Would have to be the most over rated player in the CHFL. Have a look at what he has done this year. Against top teams he has been absolutely woeful. And with finals coming up he will be a liability to them. Hepburn v Daylesford should be a great match in the first week of the finals. Daylesford from all reports had a few big injury scares on the weekend so that could be a test for these blokes to get up. One what i heard was Cade Obrien who came off with some really bad knee problems in the last. Could be a big scare but has struggled of late. Grant has been supposedly struck down with a corky, but from some sources, the corky is actually a hamstring so he could be very doubtful for the first two weeks of finals. Bungaree have been hit hard and coming up against a learmonth team that is starting to play some decent footy could go out very early. Waubra are still going along well, but if the rumours of players sleeping with other players wives is true, could cause the well drilled machine to derail. If anyone has heard more about this can you let us know.

learmonth said:
Well after their performance (East/Point 2's) this week I think they need him back. Just a note from being at the past 2 Learmonths games (Clunes & Ballan- Yes ive jumped on their wagon) both sides and their ferral supporters have just said Learmonth are only making up the numbers. Interested to know anyones thoughts on that, as they have beaten Daylesford and Waubra who from gathering what everyone is saying, they are the two best sides. Learmonth's leg speed on the big ground clearly showed Ballan up and if they hadnt kicked 5 goals in time on in the last quarter the lakies win would have looked more impressive.
Malcolm Scott has definantly finished at Ballan, and will not coach there next season. Has left on his own accords.
Learmonth, the daylesford match was a long time ago, and from what i have seen, things have changed. Waubra supposedly always struggle against learmonth so that might be a positive for learmonth. Malcom Scott has resigned but is staying on as chairman of selectors next year. Also true about clunes and ballan supporters, whole new breed.

learmonth said:
Would say Learmonth have earned their spot in the finals and as everyone knows anything can happen once you're in there. But as has been stated on here before both Learmonth and Ballan are not quite at the level of the other 4 yet, work in progress. I was at the Jordan show (and what a show it was) so didn't get to see any chfl this week, sounds like the L v B game was a bit odd with both teams kicking big runs of unanswered goals a number of times throughout the game. Any injuries for Learmonth? Hepburn and Bungaree supposedly a cracker, very costly for Bungaree with 3rd spot gone and some big injuries. Byes for both Daylesford and Waubra! Let's hope the weather holds up for the finals and we see some good footy and big crowds, especially for the granny. Been shi thouse for the last 3.

crusader said:
Learmonth, the daylesford match was a long time ago, and from what i have seen, things have changed. Waubra supposedly always struggle against learmonth so that might be a positive for learmonth. Malcom Scott has resigned but is staying on as chairman of selectors next year. Also true about clunes and ballan supporters, whole new breed.
Hepburn, Creswick and Buninyong supporters would fit in that list quite comfortably as well I reckon.

ryang said:
Would say Learmonth have earned their spot in the finals and as everyone knows anything can happen once you're in there. But as has been stated on here before both Learmonth and Ballan are not quite at the level of the other 4 yet, work in progress. I was at the Jordan show (and what a show it was) so didn't get to see any chfl this week, sounds like the L v B game was a bit odd with both teams kicking big runs of unanswered goals a number of times throughout the game. Any injuries for Learmonth? Hepburn and Bungaree supposedly a cracker, very costly for Bungaree with 3rd spot gone and some big injuries. Byes for both Daylesford and Waubra! Let's hope the weather holds up for the finals and we see some good footy and big crowds, especially for the granny. Been shi thouse for the last 3.

Sounds like there may be a few sore bodies running around in the finals. It will be interesting to see how some coaches deal with their players over the next week or so.
From what i saw on the weekend, Learmonth have as many problems as the othersides, but not sure if it will keep any of them out. Madigan didnt play (not sure why??) Gudgeon (Knee, didnt play after 1/2 time after completely out-playing Mullane-Grant), Sam Basham didnt re-surface after 1/2 time- not sure why.?? Sobey- left the ground with an ankle and didnt come back- hope its not the same ankle that kept him out all last season- Wright on suspension, and from what i was told after the game, its his second for the year and if he gets 2 weeks, will miss the first final. Coach Beecham only played across half back and looked to be carrying an ankle. Has played there for the past two weeks after being told he has played mainly up forward and in the midfield.
If the Lakies dont have all these players fit, they will struggle to cause any trouble come finals. As a biased supporter, atleast some other clubs have injuries aswell

Hey Ryang, can you tell me whats happened at Ballan to lead Scotty to be stepping down and if its true?

tomsut_69 said:
Hey Ryang, can you tell me whats happened at Ballan to lead Scotty to be stepping down and if its true?
Don't really know tomsut, seems to be a mystery to everyone but as far as I know it is true. From what I've been told nobody saw it coming, especially the players and I believe the whole place is pretty down. Thought things were churning along ok out there so it will be interesting to hear the reasons when they come out. I did hear that he was pretty emotional when he informed the players which would indicate that there might be something outside footy preventing him from continuing. It's been put on here that he is taking on a selection role but thats about all I know.

ryang said:
Hepburn, Creswick and Buninyong supporters would fit in that list quite comfortably as well I reckon.

What club are you linked with ryang? Easy to comment on people from the outside but have you ever played for these clubs? Supporters of opposition teams always seem to be poor.

As for Hepburn there is one in particular and you cant put that on the whole club.

JGraf said:
What club are you linked with ryang? Easy to comment on people from the outside but have you ever played for these clubs? Supporters of opposition teams always seem to be poor.

As for Hepburn there is one in particular and you cant put that on the whole club.
Fair enough JGraf as I'm not linked to any club it's easy to make flippant comments about supporters. There's nothing wrong with a bit of passion & voice at the footy so I stand corrected.

JGraf said:

Jgraf, sorry mate, one down at hepburn?? I have seen them play numerous times over the years and the language that comes out of half the womens mouths down there is disgusting. As for supporters, there is a big thing happening from the creswick v hepburn match with a spectator assaulting an umpire. So don't you ever just say there is one down there because they go 10 deep down in hepburn. always have and always will

crusader said:
Jgraf, sorry mate, one down at hepburn?? I have seen them play numerous times over the years and the language that comes out of half the womens mouths down there is disgusting. As for supporters, there is a big thing happening from the creswick v hepburn match with a spectator assaulting an umpire. So don't you ever just say there is one down there because they go 10 deep down in hepburn. always have and always will

Hepburn supporters are scum, and they are 2nd class citizens. As soon as they start behaving like normal individuals and not alligators on HEAT! then just maybe, people may take them serious. It must be something in the Mineral Water... Totally agree with you Crusader.
Hepburn cant help themself and ill guarantee they lose the plot within the finals series. They are chokers and will be found wanting come finals. Within a couple of years it will be good to see the Burra back on the bottom where they belong!

learmonth said:
Hepburn supporters are scum, and they are 2nd class citizens. As soon as they start behaving like normal individuals and not alligators on HEAT! then just maybe, people may take them serious. It must be something in the Mineral Water... Totally agree with you Crusader.
Hepburn cant help themself and ill guarantee they lose the plot within the finals series. They are chokers and will be found wanting come finals. Within a couple of years it will be good to see the Burra back on the bottom where they belong!

Chokers???You watch much footy??? Learmonth were top of the table 2004 all year and should have made the Grand Final and CHOKED!!! and didnt even make the Grand Final. Hepbrun happened to win that season and then last year they also won the Senior premiership... Hmmm seems you dont have an clue whatsoever.

JGraf said:
Chokers???You watch much footy??? Learmonth were top of the table 2004 all year and should have made the Grand Final and CHOKED!!! and didnt even make the Grand Final. Hepbrun happened to win that season and then last year they also won the Senior premiership... Hmmm seems you dont have an clue whatsoever.

Sides have caught up too them JGraf and they are spending way more money then other clubs in the CHFL. Daylesford have come in and caused havoc up there from my opinion. Thats why Hepburn didnt want them in (scared of competition). Dont worry what happened in the past (Im talking this season), from being at that ground that day, Hepburn went the hit like usuall against a lot younger and small side and intimidated them..Typicall of them. Sides have no fear of their thuggary anymore and i can see through my crystal ball that once the money runs dry (which is soon) they will have a lengthy period were they belong..On the bottom!
Good to see Hepburn have so many localls in their senior team.. A list of imports- Ferrier/Saunders/Peake/Carey/McKay/Seiz/Newton Bros/Brown/Grant/Raak/Mann/Atkin.. and im sure there are more who started their careers at Daylesford.. Great development of ya Juniors!!

learmonth said:
Sides have caught up too them JGraf and they are spending way more money then other clubs in the CHFL. Daylesford have come in and caused havoc up there from my opinion. Thats why Hepburn didnt want them in (scared of competition). Dont worry what happened in the past (Im talking this season), from being at that ground that day, Hepburn went the hit like usuall against a lot younger and small side and intimidated them..Typicall of them. Sides have no fear of their thuggary anymore and i can see through my crystal ball that once the money runs dry (which is soon) they will have a lengthy period were they belong..On the bottom!
Good to see Hepburn have so many localls in their senior team.. A list of imports- Ferrier/Saunders/Peake/Carey/McKay/Seiz/Newton Bros/Brown/Grant/Raak/Mann/Atkin.. and im sure there are more who started their careers at Daylesford.. Great development of ya Juniors!!

Went the hit??? Yes they intimidated them through physical strength at the ball and the game. All supporters are so one eyed against Hepburn it is just ridiculous.

Nigel Howard was suspended for a high hit that if he played for another team he wouldnt have been but because of the clubs unfair reputation he was rubbed out.

Yes they have recruited as have all other clubs. How many locals played in the Learmonth teams??? Or any of the premiership teams?

JGraf said:
Went the hit??? Yes they intimidated them through physical strength at the ball and the game. All supporters are so one eyed against Hepburn it is just ridiculous.

Nigel Howard was suspended for a high hit that if he played for another team he wouldnt have been but because of the clubs unfair reputation he was rubbed out.

Yes they have recruited as have all other clubs. How many locals played in the Learmonth teams??? Or any of the premiership teams?
The days when country clubs could win a flag with a team full of locals are long gone. Hepburn have the money and prowess to be able to recruit gun players and good luck to them. Credit to the blokes running the show out there for trying to change the reputation they have earned over the years as being thugs. They are nothing like they used to be and I agree that sometimes their reputation works against them. Old wounds are slow to heal.

ryang said:
Fair enough JGraf as I'm not linked to any club it's easy to make flippant comments about supporters. There's nothing wrong with a bit of passion & voice at the footy so I stand corrected.

Hepburn Vrs Daylesford in an Elimination final should be a very interesting game and i would expect a huge crowd to attend, imagine the crowd and fireworks! As it is i think this will be a cracker of a game and might make the trip up to see this one cause it may be worth the price of admisson alone to see the antics of the crowds as both are colourful to say the least. my tip early is Hepburn to beat Daylesford and then go on and beat Waubra and advance to the Grand Final.

Any word on when and where this will be played?

Blues1995 said:
Hepburn Vrs Daylesford in an Elimination final should be a very interesting game and i would expect a huge crowd to attend, imagine the crowd and fireworks! As it is i think this will be a cracker of a game and might make the trip up to see this one cause it may be worth the price of admisson alone to see the antics of the crowds as both are colourful to say the least. my tip early is Hepburn to beat Daylesford and then go on and beat Waubra and advance to the Grand Final.

Any word on when and where this will be played?

Elimination??? They will play in the Qualifying Final wont they???

No venues as yet. It would look like Springbank or Dunnstown wouldn,t it. Thompson kicked a bag for Daylesford seems to be travelling well. Anyone know how Bryce Nicholson went against Waubra?

NCFL said:
No venues as yet. It would look like Springbank or Dunnstown wouldn,t it. Thompson kicked a bag for Daylesford seems to be travelling well. Anyone know how Bryce Nicholson went against Waubra?
Probably right with the venues, Learmonth or Bungaree the only other 2 that could get the gig as they can't be used on Saturday. Nicholson was ok, kicked 3 but the game was over at 1/2 time. Waubra looking ominous & will take some beating.