Central Highlands

ROOSTER1 said:
I wouldn't have Beacham in the top 50 players. He was terrible in the finals, the only thing that got them over the line against Bungaree was the fact that he got sent off!! He is the most over rated person in the CHFL, apart from Seiz!
Eason a questionable one and where is A.Mckay? I hope that is a mistake in the forward pocket because it is very very top heavy.
Peake plays rover in the VCFL and only gets a game on the wing in CHFL?

Saw Beacham play six times over the year and imo he deserves a spot in the 22. A.Mckay in the forward pocket is good, and you can change Liston and Peake if you like but i would definitely have L.Adams and Cartledge in the middle. Eason for Cronin maybe?

Learmonth weren't far away this year, Beachman suprised many and reportedly did a great job as coach. He spoke well and lead by example(apart from that final). Question is will Learmonth recruit well enough over summer to get them at the level they need to be at to take it up to Waubra, Hepburn when it matters. Word is Beachman recruiting drive has started slowly, I haven't heard of anyone crossing to the Lakies at this stage. They are a a couple of key players away.
Waubra again have 2 or 3 high calibre recruits on the rader, Nicholson has the sads after Redan dropped him for the Grand Final and is heading out there, along with another recruit from Geelong who was rookie listed with St Kilda a few years back.

Uncle CC said:
Ballan were a good side on paper but you couldn't really say they were unlucky - they finished 10 points behind Learmonth + percentage.

From all reports, Ballan have really been throwing the coin around to lure more quality players this year and could be a real contender. I'd say apart from Hepburn, Ballan have more 'cash to spash' than any other team in the league. Do they get value for their money though?

have heard this as well, Have offered Chris Wills from Sebas $500 p/game. Scotty gets very excited, and offers players well over what their worth, but if you have the $$$ and think that these players will be of benefit and for the long term jeopardy of the club. GOOD LUCK! He will be a great player in the CHFL if they get him. His good mate Eason has been trying to get him for the past couple of years, with no success.
Spot on, finished 10 points behind, but I guess due to not all sides playing each other twice, some sides may get in by default by only having to play the top sides 1 whilst others could be unlucky and play the twice. But as the old saying goes, If ya good enough, you will make it!

Pelican23 said:
Learmonth weren't far away this year, Beachman suprised many and reportedly did a great job as coach. He spoke well and lead by example(apart from that final). Question is will Learmonth recruit well enough over summer to get them at the level they need to be at to take it up to Waubra, Hepburn when it matters. Word is Beachman recruiting drive has started slowly, I haven't heard of anyone crossing to the Lakies at this stage. They are a a couple of key players away.
Waubra again have 2 or 3 high calibre recruits on the rader, Nicholson has the sads after Redan dropped him for the Grand Final and is heading out there, along with another recruit from Geelong who was rookie listed with St Kilda a few years back.

The Lakies recruiting drive is in full swing, have no doubt about that. The players that they are talking to are quality, but at this stage of the year, not too many players like to committ. They like to bounce b/t clubs and try and UP their price which is fine. Have not seen any club come out with any star recruits at this stage???? Some still dont even have a coach?
Learmonth have a young side on the rise, excellent facilities and minor success last season, which should not make it to hard for Beacham to recruit players.

learmonth said:
The Lakies recruiting drive is in full swing, have no doubt about that. The players that they are talking to are quality, but at this stage of the year, not too many players like to committ. They like to bounce b/t clubs and try and UP their price which is fine. Have not seen any club come out with any star recruits at this stage???? Some still dont even have a coach?
Learmonth have a young side on the rise, excellent facilities and minor success last season, which should not make it to hard for Beacham to recruit players.
Saw the quality of recruits last year learmonth. who was that big ******* that went walk about after about three rounds. You should tell beacham to come back to daylesford because i tell you what, they will be the biggest improvers by a mile. saw a rough team last night, and when rahill and reeves hop back into town, looks a really stong team. Backline better, midfield quicker and a new gun in the forward line, looking good

Jarman03 said:
crusader said:
Very interesting about scoble. On presentation night when accepting his B&F, he went on to say how he wanted to win a premiership with the bulldogs next year, so couldnt see him leaving, because that would be a massive turn around. Troy Scoble was supposedly close to coaching at Daylesford next year before they picked up Phil davies. But you never know.

Your correct, very very close I am led to believe, if not for the opportunity to finish his career and start his coaching career at his home club, could well have been a different story. They are pretty tight the boys, Cs does love his bulldogs and his closest mates are there, if he does choose to have one last crack at BFL, that is where he will head!!
You must have a fair bit to do with troy scoble and melton south mate, cause you know a lot more than nearly everyone else does about whats going on?

Picking up Jayden Reid will be big plus for Bungaree, although his coaching may well be a bit rough, He will improve as the year goes on.

He will try and get those players from Redan eg. Barker, King and Knowles who have been there and are looking for a way out. Knowles is 90% going to Bunga due to his lack of motivation to train 3 or 4 times a week which is required of him at Redan. Other Redan players from 02/03 in the regain will also be chased such as Freeland, McMahon, Nunn, Giblett, Rumble, Cummins.

There will also be those players that didn't quite make senior footy this year who played in Redan's 2's grand final team who will look to make the jump to CHFL so they can play consistant senior footy.

Reid has been recruited I believe because of who he can bring with him, not for what he brings as a player (which is also fairly impressive though)..

Pelican23 said:
Picking up Jayden Reid will be big plus for Bungaree, although his coaching may well be a bit rough, He will improve as the year goes on.

He will try and get those players from Redan eg. Barker, King and Knowles who have been there and are looking for a way out. Knowles is 90% going to Bunga due to his lack of motivation to train 3 or 4 times a week which is required of him at Redan. Other Redan players from 02/03 in the regain will also be chased such as Freeland, McMahon, Nunn, Giblett, Rumble, Cummins.

There will also be those players that didn't quite make senior footy this year who played in Redan's 2's grand final team who will look to make the jump to CHFL so they can play consistant senior footy.

Reid has been recruited I believe because of who he can bring with him, not for what he brings as a player (which is also fairly impressive though)..
Handy, but not as good as everyone says. played alot of footy against him and he was never a match winner off his own back. Is freeland really coming back?? has he had enough of getting smashed down melbourne.

Uncle CC said:
Ballan were a good side on paper but you couldn't really say they were unlucky - they finished 10 points behind Learmonth + percentage.

From all reports, Ballan have really been throwing the coin around to lure more quality players this year and could be a real contender. I'd say apart from Hepburn, Ballan have more 'cash to spash' than any other team in the league. Do they get value for their money though?

I agree CC. For the amount of money they were paying they got very little value for money out of their players. I saw them play against teams at the bottom of the ladder and they were not that convincing. Some of their big name high paid players really didnt stand out when they were given a bit of attention from opposition teams.

I also heard that there is a bit of in house problems at the club. After the 2nds grand final loss there were some events at their wake that resulted in charges being laid on some players.

crusader said:
Jarman03 said:
You must have a fair bit to do with troy scoble and melton south mate, cause you know a lot more than nearly everyone else does about whats going on?

Nothing at all to do with Melton South or the Ballarat Football League Crusader. I do know Troy Scoble fairly well though and a good friend of mine is very close to him. Apparently was up in the air when he finished his a/c stint at Darley, but is wrapt to be back with his mates at Melton South.

crusader said:
Handy, but not as good as everyone says. played alot of footy against him and he was never a match winner off his own back. Is freeland really coming back?? has he had enough of getting smashed down melbourne.

Freeland very close with Reid so may eventuate. Knowles going and a few others will follow. Redan getting a few players back from 02/03 sides this year to replace Knowles and co who will leave.

Eamon Johnson 100% at Lexton next year, although former Joint coach from last year D Box will be looking for another club after a late night assualt of new coach Tommy Brand last weekend. Both were pissed and lipping off at each other and it esculated from there.

Learmonth, is it true that Beacham picked up a meter maid on the footy trip? Heard she was possibly a transexual?

I also heard that there is a bit of in house problems at the club. After the 2nds grand final loss there were some events at their wake that resulted in charges being laid on some players.[/quote]

Apparently Malcolm Scott gave a number of the two's players a serve after the grand final, he wasn't impressed with their attitude and thought a few should have been playing seniors instead of trying to win a two's flag.

Pelican23 said:
Freeland very close with Reid so may eventuate. Knowles going and a few others will follow. Redan getting a few players back from 02/03 sides this year to replace Knowles and co who will leave.

Eamon Johnson 100% at Lexton next year, although former Joint coach from last year D Box will be looking for another club after a late night assualt of new coach Tommy Brand last weekend. Both were pissed and lipping off at each other and it esculated from there. Learmonth, is it true that Beacham picked up a meter maid on the footy trip? Heard she was possibly a transexual?
Pelican, i can vouch for that. I have seen pics and yes he did pick up a meter maid, and yes from looking at her and her body features, i.e. crotch area, yes it is possible she actually was a he. But that is of no worries to beach, he learnt his trade at dayleford, so it is anything goes for him, and why not. what happens on a footy trip, stays on a footy trip. supposedly!!!

Any other news on any Clunes signings??? The one about Weatherly and Hill returning is untrue from what I can gather. Is Reed Wills still going to sign out there?

N Bartos said:
Apparently Malcolm Scott gave a number of the two's players a serve after the grand final, he wasn't impressed with their attitude and thought a few should have been playing seniors instead of trying to win a two's flag.

Bout time too. One of the best junior players I have ever seen played 2nds for Ballan this year (if and when he played at all) - Zach Peoples. Should've have been playing on the ball in the Ones.

Blokes like Robby plagueman should have been in the ones all year as well.

tud34 said:
I agree CC. For the amount of money they were paying they got very little value for money out of their players. I saw them play against teams at the bottom of the ladder and they were not that convincing. Some of their big name high paid players really didnt stand out when they were given a bit of attention from opposition teams.

I also heard that there is a bit of in house problems at the club. After the 2nds grand final loss there were some events at their wake that resulted in charges being laid on some players.

Have to disagree. High profile recruits Cartledge run away winner in the b&f, Mullane-Grant 2nd in the league goal kicking, Uhi VCFL rep and had an impact in almost every game he played (missed 5 or 6) Ballan got value in these players. Dans and Wilkie were a little disappointing though prob due to age.

Pelican23 said:

Pelican, I think your dreaming that all those players are going. And from my resources Reid is no definant to coach, after the leadership group spoke to him on the footy trip.
Spoke to Freeland the other day and he is coaching Altona again, and wont come back as a player for less coin and a drop in rank. The remainder will stay at Redan, and in my opinion, u could see Barker head back to Nth Ballarat after this season. Pls state where u ahve heard this or is it just your imagination taking over.

Pelican23 said:

Eamon Johnson 100% at Lexton next year, although former Joint coach from last year D Box will be looking for another club after a late night assualt of new coach Tommy Brand last weekend. Both were pissed and lipping off at each other and it esculated from there.

Learmonth, is it true that Beacham picked up a meter maid on the footy trip? Heard she was possibly a transexual?

A meter maid she was.?????? The transexual thing..??? Well if she was a he, I think anyone would have done her/Him...Fair pick up!

But what Ballan have is a good base of local players that can play.
all young and if you top these up with a few gun recuits E.G Hayden,Tommy
and big Sal plus whatever they pick up for next year who knows what they can do "IF" they can gel????

tud34 said:

So how much were they paying to get so little value? I assume you are on the Ballan committee, otherwise you wouldn't have a clue, so give us the inside info. While you're at it you can tell us who the 'big name high paid' ones are who didn't perform. Cartledge? No, he walked the b&f in. Hehir? No, runner up & only played 8 games. Mullane-Grant? Nearly 80 goals on 1 leg, don't think so. Uhi? Well he only represented the VCFL team so maybe it's him you are referring to. Wilkie would have cost an arm and a leg - only played 4 games due to injury, Dans, assistant coach, did his job, missed the last 5 games through injury. You wouldn't know sh it from brown nugget mate if this offering is anything to go by.
Perhaps Ballan would be better off finishing last every year and fund raising to have footy trips to exotic locations. Might earn some points for that.

What players were charged? Another piece of creative writing on your part?

helmut said:
So how much were they paying to get so little value? I assume you are on the Ballan committee, otherwise you wouldn't have a clue, so give us the inside info. While you're at it you can tell us who the 'big name high paid' ones are who didn't perform. Cartledge? No, he walked the b&f in. Hehir? No, runner up & only played 8 games. Mullane-Grant? Nearly 80 goals on 1 leg, don't think so. Uhi? Well he only represented the VCFL team so maybe it's him you are referring to. Wilkie would have cost an arm and a leg - only played 4 games due to injury, Dans, assistant coach, did his job, missed the last 5 games through injury. You wouldn't know sh it from brown nugget mate if this offering is anything to go by.
Perhaps Ballan would be better off finishing last every year and fund raising to have footy trips to exotic locations. Might earn some points for that.

What players were charged? Another piece of creative writing on your part?

Slow down mate, we are all friends here having a discussion about the league.
No I have nothing to do with Ballan, but know a lot of people tied to it. I didn't say their big name players were'nt good players, but for the amount of money the dished out, they didn't get the return for them they probably should've. All I am saying is with the talent they had on show in there side that you have just mentioned the club was very dissapointing not to make the finals.

As for the charges, if it is not something that is known then it is not up to me to be spreading stories across on an internet forum.

I wasnt saying that Ballan arn't a talented side or are in trouble or anything like that. I was simply saying that they didnt see the value for the money they paid in the league ladder and there is some internal issues that the club need to resolve before they move on.

Oh, did you know the president quit as well because he wasnt happy with some things within the club?

tud34 said:
Slow down mate, we are all friends here having a discussion about the league.
No I have nothing to do with Ballan, but know a lot of people tied to it. I didn't say their big name players were'nt good players, but for the amount of money the dished out, they didn't get the return for them they probably should've. All I am saying is with the talent they had on show in there side that you have just mentioned the club was very dissapointing not to make the finals.

As for the charges, if it is not something that is known then it is not up to me to be spreading stories across on an internet forum.

I wasnt saying that Ballan arn't a talented side or are in trouble or anything like that. I was simply saying that they didnt see the value for the money they paid in the league ladder and there is some internal issues that the club need to resolve before they move on.

Oh, did you know the president quit as well because he wasnt happy with some things within the club?

I can support u there Tud34, Barry Sims, isnt a man that likes to dish out too many $$$ and I believe that would be the reason. He believes in loyality and has great values! As for the players being paid big $$$ good luck for them, but as a club, u would want a better finish then falling 10 points shy of making the finals. No use spending massive $$$ if ya not going to be a realistic chance. Ballan will always struggle on the BIG grounds, but are exceptionally ahrd to beat at home...

learmonth said:
I can support u there Tud34, Barry Sims, isnt a man that likes to dish out too many $$$ and I believe that would be the reason. He believes in loyality and has great values! As for the players being paid big $$$ good luck for them, but as a club, u would want a better finish then falling 10 points shy of making the finals. No use spending massive $$$ if ya not going to be a realistic chance. Ballan will always struggle on the BIG grounds, but are exceptionally ahrd to beat at home...

You can look at Ballans recent history to see big name players and coaches coming and going through the club and not getting anywhere.
It start at the top and if they cant get that right they will always be middle of the road!

Gees boys, i love reading about all the clubs and that but can we get off Ballan for a bit. Its getting pretty tired.

In other news, I can definately tell you boys that Hill and Weatherly will not be playing at Clunes next year. That come from the Horses mouth. Seems like there in for another bottom five finish.

Knowles no definate to goto Bunga, I hear that hes been offered massive dollars at another club just down the road.

What other news are there at clubs other than Ballan?