Centreman

• Thread starter Thread starter Gogeelong

Ever heard of rotations???????

Pfft ... besides Ling is in our top 10 players, despite what supporters think - everyone who has a say about what goes on at Geelong would put Lingy as a starter in the centre square more weeks than not.

Kelly is veristle and can play as a HFF, therefore he could be used as a midfielder/forward in conjunction with gaz j ... even superman needs a rest here and there.

Same goes with Ling, he could be a HFF'er as well, but because he has exceptional engine capacity id prefer to see that be utilised in the middle.

Sure his disposal and slow decision making / poor disposal was dissappointing in 2006, for the 3-4 years before this season he would have been in our top 5 performers each yr from 2002 - 2005.

Ever heard of rotations???????

Pfft ... besides Ling is in our top 10 players, despite what supporters think - everyone who has a say about what goes on at Geelong would put Lingy as a starter in the centre square more weeks than not.

Kelly is veristle and can play as a HFF, therefore he could be used as a midfielder/forward in conjunction with gaz j ... even superman needs a rest here and there.

Same goes with Ling, he could be a HFF'er as well, but because he has exceptional engine capacity id prefer to see that be utilised in the middle.

Sure his disposal and slow decision making / poor disposal was dissappointing in 2006, for the 3-4 years before this season he would have been in our top 5 performers each yr from 2002 - 2005.

I like your observtion and I reckon/hope it's right - I'm feeling optimistic about next year.

bartel and rooke and gaj/tenace

Good combination here IMO. Pace, Hardness and clearance winning ability. I think that Ling should be played in the back pocket next year minding the ‘third tall’ type players. (Ben Dixon. Ryan O’Keffe)

Ling should not be allowed anywhere near the defensive half of the ground.
Agreed.

Put simply, him or Josh Hunt should not be put on a leading forward, because they'll get found out.

Time for Ling to reinvent himself as a HFF I feel, but they'll keep him as a tagger.

Didnt he still lead the club for disposals??? If so (and if he didnt - i cbf looking up the stats) he was still a regular possession winner - and we were still a better team with Ling in the centre.

Whoever said he should be a defender is the stupidest person on the geelong board - Ling has NO PACE whatsoever off the mark, even Dixon, Burton, O'Keefe would give him a bath ...

Ling's assett is his abilities to maintain a solid one pace all game, whereas Wojak has a quick burst then needs about 10 minutes to catch his breath (that said - this was largely the result of him having next to no pre season last yr)

If Ling isnt in the centre (which he will be becasue he finds the footy 20-30 times every game) then his only other option is on a HFF ...

Whoever said he should be a defender is the stupidest person on the geelong board - Ling has NO PACE whatsoever off the mark, even Dixon, Burton, O'Keefe would give him a bath ...

It was a Port supporter who suggested it... his/her suggestion would probably be for Ling to play on Tredrea!! Yeah, great match up:rolleyes:

Yeah, I hope the coaching panel realise Ling's potential in the forward line. He has quite a good kick at goal (potential for shockers in his history, but has improved heaps), and can mark overhead. With Rooke and GAJ moving more into the centre, Linga could be used up for forward more... maybe not permanently (yet), but a good chunk of time in games that suit it.

Best option for the centreman position Bartel leave him in there and rotate around him use his skills hard ball gets quick hands to feed th ball out. Rotate GAJ, Rooke, Kelly, Corey, Chapman and Enright, etc around him. When GAJ, Chapman and Kelly not in centre square they move forward. When Corey or Rooke and enright not on the ball the provide run off the hbf. Still can use Wojo, Tenace, Varcoe, Stokes and others. Remember we do not want to rob our forward line at the detriment of our on ball brigade. We still need the likes of GAJ, Chapman etc to kick goals. GAJ and Chapman are two of the best exponents of small forwards in the league lets remember this.

Best on ball brigade Bartel, GAJ Rooke.

Ling needs to find a place in the team cannot run with anymore and definite no speedster. Could be used as a small forward he would be a hard match up as he has size and can mark overhead. Would prefer him to provide a steadying presence up forward, could be dangerous around goals, started as a forward in TAC

Then we still have pick 7 to fit in hopefully a proven midfielder quick on-baller.

Didnt he still lead the club for disposals??? If so (and if he didnt - i cbf looking up the stats) he was still a regular possession winner - and we were still a better team with Ling in the centre.

Ling's assett is his abilities to maintain a solid one pace all game, whereas Wojak has a quick burst then needs about 10 minutes to catch his breath (that said - this was largely the result of him having next to no pre season last yr)

If Ling isnt in the centre (which he will be becasue he finds the footy 20-30 times every game) then his only other option is on a HFF ...

Lucky I don't spend too much time on the Geelong board then ;) :p .

I could see Ling in a forward pocket - he seemed to do pretty well as a tagger last season but his days as a pure midfield ball-gatherer are over. Either use him as a tagger or start him in the forward line. He's at least good overhead and a pretty good kick for goal.

Rooke should be a tagger if Ling doesn't assume that role - frankly he'd probably be better off there than Ling. Moons needs to be at CHF or HF, depending on what our lineup is going to be, though he could certainly 'spell' in the centre and do a decent job.

Time for Ling to reinvent himself as a HFF I feel, but they'll keep him as a tagger.

Agree with this, should watch some tapes of Ryan O'Keefe, would suit Lingy's game, don't need to run fast, just run hard and mark. He can roost it a fair distance and is a good shot for goal, so could float forward for a few sausage rolls. I reckon this is a goer for him!!

my theory is this. i know we love our rotations in modern footy, but whatever happened to playing guys in positions where they do the most damage???

chappy and gaz for instance, are better in our forward half than rotating thru the midfield because they lock the ball in there, create opportunities, and can finish. 10 midfield touches from gaz dont have anywhere near the impact as 10 touches from him inside the 50m arc.

linga has always played his best footy as a lock down mid, yet the coaching panel seem to think they can now transform him into a playmaker. screw this HFF stuff, he needs to go back to shutting down the oppositions best mid each week and getting touches himself.

james kelly just has to pull himself together.

and heres my forward set up. H in the square, tommy at CHF, nate as the third tall and otto pinch hitting in both KP. and with dogga, gaz and chappy as the finishers/creators, there are goals in that structure. h has proven he can take a pack mark, but he doesnt have the footy brain to play anywhere further up the ground. tommy will demand the pill. nate is best used in a position where he can use his superior marking skills, but can also use his vision to create. dog can just keep blowing the goals out of his ass, and gaz and chappy can lock it in there and mop up the crumbs.

my theory is this. i know we love our rotations in modern footy, but whatever happened to playing guys in positions where they do the most damage???

chappy and gaz for instance, are better in our forward half than rotating thru the midfield because they lock the ball in there, create opportunities, and can finish. 10 midfield touches from gaz dont have anywhere near the impact as 10 touches from him inside the 50m arc.

linga has always played his best footy as a lock down mid, yet the coaching panel seem to think they can now transform him into a playmaker. screw this HFF stuff, he needs to go back to shutting down the oppositions best mid each week and getting touches himself.

james kelly just has to pull himself together.

and heres my forward set up. H in the square, tommy at CHF, nate as the third tall and otto pinch hitting in both KP. and with dogga, gaz and chappy as the finishers/creators, there are goals in that structure. h has proven he can take a pack mark, but he doesnt have the footy brain to play anywhere further up the ground. tommy will demand the pill. nate is best used in a position where he can use his superior marking skills, but can also use his vision to create. dog can just keep blowing the goals out of his ass, and gaz and chappy can lock it in there and mop up the crumbs.

Our midfield lacks a genuine star, a matchwinner, and that's what I believe Gaz can be. That's the main reson why I want him in there and not the forward line, where I believe he can be replaced by a Matty Stokes.