DELIST:
Blair
Mayne
Sier
Crocker
White (retired)

TRADE OUT:
Fasolo (have several players of similar ilk (Kirby and Daicos coming through) and if he can be used to attract a Darling then so be it);
Greenwood,
Aish,
Broomhead; We have a surplus of midfielders. Would be prepared to trade or all three to fill a deficiency
Langdon
Phillips;
Ramsay;
Smith; Reports are Lions have an interest here
Oxley;
Sinclair

Trade in Darling and one of the below running defenders

FORWARDS:
Jack Darling - (191, 25) K: 7.9; HB: 4.3; CP: 5.9; M: 5.0; CM: 1.4; GL: 1.8; BH 1.1; TK: 3.1; IF: 2.4; R50: 0.2
Averages 40 goals per season as the second tall. Under-rated player and still young. Career statistics are similar to that of Tom Lynch. Darling would be significantly cheaper than Lynch, despite averaging 7 goals more per season than Lynch.

BACKS:
Kade Kolodjashnij (HB) - (190, 22) K: 12.3; HB: 7.2; CP: 4.8; M: 5.9; GL: 0.2; BH 0.1; TK: 2.1; IF: 1.8; R50: 3.5; CL: 0.6; CG: 2.5; DE% 76.1
Great Running HB and intercept mark. Shades Lever in career stats but does not get the fanfare of Lever because he plays with the Suns. Would be significantly cheaper than the projected cost of Lever.

Trent McKenzie - (HB and Wing) (190, 25) K: 11.2; HB: 4.6; CP: 4.7; M: 4.3; GL: 0.3; BH 0.4; TK: 2.7; IF: 2.5; R50: 3.5; CL: 0.9; CG: 2.0; DE% 73.1
Great Running HB and intercept mark. Kicks the ball consistently over 60m. Has been injured for most of season but has now recovered. Reported to be looking for a change of scenery.

Aaron Mullett - (BP and HB) (184, 25) K: 11.2; HB: 5.6; CP: 3.7; M: 3.6; GL: 0.4; BH 0.2; TK: 1.6; IF: 1.7; R50: 3.4; CL: 0.5; CG: 1.5; DE% 77
Has great speed and very good left foot kick off HB. Strength is run and carry. Would provide the run and carry we are missing with Sinclair out

DRAFT:
Noah Balta, 195cm, 92kg, Calder Cannons
Huge upside. Has elite pace and agility. Plays CHB, CHF, Ruck, Centre and Wing. Beautiful intercept and pack mark. Booming kick. Been likened to Alex Rance and Patrick Cripps.

Jarrod Brander, 195cm, 89kg, Bendigo Pioneers
Can play forward or back. Good mark and booming kick

Oscar Allen, 192cm, 83kg, West Perth
Good mark and kick for goal. Can run all day

DELIST:
Blair
Mayne
Sier
Crocker
White (retired)

TRADE OUT:
Fasolo (have several players of similar ilk (Kirby and Daicos coming through) and if he can be used to attract a Darling then so be it);
Greenwood,
Aish,
Broomhead; We have a surplus of midfielders. Would be prepared to trade or all three to fill a deficiency
Langdon
Phillips;
Ramsay;
Smith; Reports are Lions have an interest here
Oxley;
Sinclair

Trade in Darling and one of the below running defenders

FORWARDS:
Jack Darling - (191, 25) K: 7.9; HB: 4.3; CP: 5.9; M: 5.0; CM: 1.4; GL: 1.8; BH 1.1; TK: 3.1; IF: 2.4; R50: 0.2
Averages 40 goals per season as the second tall. Under-rated player and still young. Career statistics are similar to that of Tom Lynch. Darling would be significantly cheaper than Lynch, despite averaging 7 goals more per season than Lynch.

BACKS:
Kade Kolodjashnij (HB) - (190, 22) K: 12.3; HB: 7.2; CP: 4.8; M: 5.9; GL: 0.2; BH 0.1; TK: 2.1; IF: 1.8; R50: 3.5; CL: 0.6; CG: 2.5; DE% 76.1
Great Running HB and intercept mark. Shades Lever in career stats but does not get the fanfare of Lever because he plays with the Suns. Would be significantly cheaper than the projected cost of Lever.

Trent McKenzie - (HB and Wing) (190, 25) K: 11.2; HB: 4.6; CP: 4.7; M: 4.3; GL: 0.3; BH 0.4; TK: 2.7; IF: 2.5; R50: 3.5; CL: 0.9; CG: 2.0; DE% 73.1
Great Running HB and intercept mark. Kicks the ball consistently over 60m. Has been injured for most of season but has now recovered. Reported to be looking for a change of scenery.

Aaron Mullett - (BP and HB) (184, 25) K: 11.2; HB: 5.6; CP: 3.7; M: 3.6; GL: 0.4; BH 0.2; TK: 1.6; IF: 1.7; R50: 3.4; CL: 0.5; CG: 1.5; DE% 77
Has great speed and very good left foot kick off HB. Strength is run and carry. Would provide the run and carry we are missing with Sinclair out

DRAFT:
Noah Balta, 195cm, 92kg, Calder Cannons
Huge upside. Has elite pace and agility. Plays CHB, CHF, Ruck, Centre and Wing. Beautiful intercept and pack mark. Booming kick. Been likened to Alex Rance and Patrick Cripps.

Jarrod Brander, 195cm, 89kg, Bendigo Pioneers
Can play forward or back. Good mark and booming kick

Oscar Allen, 192cm, 83kg, West Perth
Good mark and kick for goal. Can run all day

No way would we trade out Greenwood. He was terrific this year before his injury, plys he plays a great negating role for us that no one else could play. This year he has also gone forward and kicked goals.

I might be a bit of an island here, but for me, I keep Sier another year on list.

Love to see him with a full pre season* and he comes at little salary cap.
Plus he looks to be getting the ball, finally.

Have this horrible feeling if we risk him to go as a rookie, some team will pounce and he'll come back to haunt us.

* I think I bang on about full pre seasons all the time. It's just so vital see exhibit Goldsack 2017.

Gone
Oxley
White (ret)
Blair as per above
Mayne (payed out)
Mackie
Fasolo if request a trade
Not many others, like to see not many changes for once
I agree with this.. not too many changes and trades please...and just use our picks at the draft. But there's no point in keeping both Schade and Keefe imo. Keep one for depth not both... Don't need 2 mature age plodder key backs for depth. I'd keep Keefe personally and say bye bye to Slim.

Agree, keeffe ticks a few more boxes than schade as he can cover just though, forward and back line role

Delist / Retired:
  • White
  • Blair
  • Oxley (contract?)
  • Mackie
Trade table:
  • Ramsay
  • Mayne (nobody will want him but....)
  • Crocker
  • Smith
Decisions on the other rookies I'll leave to better judges.

On the shaky table, ie career a bit shaky:
  • Aish
  • Sinclair (health issues)
  • Mayne
  • Keeffe
  • Oxley (see above, has contract, I'd move him on)
  • Smith (does his job, reminds me of Dwyer)
Who I would keep:
  • Sier
  • Wills

Agree, keeffe ticks a few more boxes than schade as he can cover just though, forward and back line role
Keeffe is a funny one, I'd entertain offers
But he offers a good depth option.

He has height, plenty of it

its actually RESPECT. Blair deserves it, and doesn't deserve abuse.
Had he not been gifted 30 plus games, he would have it.
Don't forget he refused our offer for the one year extension last year, shopped himself around, no offers but still made us pay more than we originally offered, more than he was worth.
He's played in the famous black and white stripes. He even has a black and white Premiership.
But his last couple of years have been putrid and it's only because he was a coach favourite, on the back of "effort" not actual results, that he finishes as a 150 game player.
So he has respect, but its limited and conditional.

You're breaking your boys heart.
Old mate TG will be devestaed at your turning on his family chicks named slim

I concur....but I think perhaps one of Sinkers or Ramsey has to be let go. We need a small defender that gets out on the park.

Ramsay has been available for selection most weeks, just took too much time to find the form he showed in the VFL over the last few weeks.

For players out of contract in October:

Cox - 2 year contract
Smith - trade/delist
Blair - trade/delist (think that GC might be a good fit)
Sinclair - Hamstrings/Concussion, will they ever get right?
Keefe - delist

Thomas - 1 year
Wills - keep?
Phillips - 2 years
Varcoe - 1 year
Crocker - 2 years
Sier - ? One of the reasons I don't like giving them No.35
Mackie - ?
McCarthy - ?
Lynch - 1 year
Ramsay - trade/delist
Goldsack - 2 years
Schade -?
White - retired

Others:
Fasolo has one more year, if our younger players keep improving, what to do?
Oxley also has one more year, hasn't come on

So have found 6 spots for next year trade/draft.

Why does everyone want Aish gone?

I don't understand it. He's a good payer who never gets a run at it. Under a better coach he could really flourish.

I think just for a no 6 pick he's been disappointing. I'd be happy to see him stay but could imagine the club trading him. I'd prefer to keep Broomhead, personally, but he might get traded too.

Out - Oxley, Blair, Sinclair, White, Smith, Keefe, Schade, Mayne, Wills, Crocker, Seir.
If keep Sinclair and Wills as they're both probably best 22, and one of Schade and Keeffe (preferably Keeffe) need to stay for list balance depth. Smith stays as depth too.

I reckon Freo need his type more, unless WC lose Darling. They are basically identical players in how they play (Darling and Faz).

I would have thought Fas and Le Cras would be more similar. Darling is a tall forward.

Super excited about next year, don't think it matters if it's bucks or anyone else, there is a lot of development left in our team and when all clubs have their full lists on the park, I think our midfield will be best in the league next year.

Maynard and Degoey to go with Wells, Pendles, Treloar, Sidey, Adams, Hoskin Elliot, Greenwood as the negator and Grundy will work if it plays together often enough.

The more dangerous and explosive our forward line the better we will be. Hopefully Kirby can be the guy, but Elliot with WHE and Moore and Cox and resting Treloar, Degoey, Wells and Sidebottom down there, I can see that it can work.

Maybe after all this anguish, we just need another preseason and more continuity to really be a force. Its exciting to think about over summer!!
Optimistic - I like it however I don't share, I can't be convinced we're going anywhere unless major changes are made between now and pre season

If keep Sinclair and Wills as they're both probably best 22, and one of Schade and Keeffe (preferably Keeffe) need to stay for list balance depth. Smith stays as depth too.
Eerily Ben Sinclair didn't get to play even one game this season.

Gee, that's kind of sad and telling.

Hope it works out for him

Sier stays on the senior list for mine. Showed enough in the VFL game yesterday that suggests we need to be patient. If he has an injury free run he'll play some good footy.