Changes for next umm, year

I might be a bit of an island here, but for me, I keep Sier another year on list.

Love to see him with a full pre season* and he comes at little salary cap.
Plus he looks to be getting the ball, finally.

Have this horrible feeling if we risk him to go as a rookie, some team will pounce and he'll come back to haunt us.

* I think I bang on about full pre seasons all the time. It's just so vital see exhibit Goldsack 2017.

I agree with you on Sier.

I have not seen Sier play but his stats in the vfl looked okay from his game on the weekend. He could be about to improve and I would like to see him have one more year to see what he could do.

I agree with you on Sier.

I have not seen Sier play but his stats in the vfl looked okay from his game on the weekend. He could be about to improve and I would like to see him have one more year to see what he could do.
Yep.
And he's some sort of specimen too

Out
Blair
Thomas
Keefe
Aish
Broomhead
Mayne
White
Sier

In
We'll see

It will be near impossible to trade Mayne.

In: stability
Give the players and coaches a pressure free run at performing. Player wise I'd like to see some polish through the midfield. Not key talls like everybody thinks, although handy, it's not our greatest weakness and particularly since Cox looks like he might get better next year.

1. Fasolo : Trade if he wants to. Keep if he wants to stay. BUT he can't be guaranteed games anymore. We have alternatives.
  2. De Goey: Keep
  3. Wells : Have to keep
  4. Grundy: Keep and bring into the leadership group
  5. Elliott: Keep
  6. Goldy: Another year (yay)
  7. Treloar: Keep
  8. Langdon: Keep
  9. White: retired
  10. Pendlebury: Keep but look after
  11. Blair: Time to say thanks but you're no longer required
  12. Scharenburg: Keep
  13. Adams: Keep
  14. Aish: Trade if need be.
  15. Dunn: Another year
  16. Mayne: Pay him out, delist or get him a job elsewhere
  17. Brown: Keep
  18. Varcoe: Keep
  19. Greenwood:Keep (just for Geelong!)
  20. Reid: Performance contract (15 games minimum)
  21. Phillips: Keep
  22. Sidebottom: Keep and make captain
  23. Keefe: Keep as depth
  24. Thomas: Keep
  25. Crisp: Keep
  26. Daicos: Keep
  27. Kirby: Keep
  28. Sinclair: Performance based contract (15 games min)
  29. Brromhead: Keep, he's Grundy's little mate.
  30. Moore: Keep
  31. Ramsey: Trade
  32. WHE: Keep
  33. Wills: Keep (Performance based contract 15 games)
  34. McCarthy: Keep
  35. McClarty: Keep
  36. Sier: Rookie
  37. Maynard: Keep
  38. Howe: Keep
  39. Crocker: Keep
  40. Smith: Trade/ Delist
  41. Schade: Depth only

42. Oxley: Trade/Pay out/ Delist
  43. Mackie: Delist
  44. Lynch: Keep
  45. Cox: Sign him quick (3years)

Eerily Ben Sinclair didn't get to play even one game this season.

Gee, that's kind of sad and telling.

Hope it works out for him

Honestly went a big way to killing our season not having Sinclair. In a season where you lose 2 games by 4 points and have a draw, Sinclair could have literally been the difference between finals and no finals.

If he's on song, healthy, does have that Elan

Three early changes that I want to see to how we play:

1. More skill around the ball. Yeah efficiency wise we're quite strong, but that's largely because we move the ball so slowly for large chunks of the game.

2. More attacking ball movement. We now have a reasonably settled defensive group with all of Howe, Scharenberg, Langdon, Crisp and Dunn locked in to back 6 spots for 2018 (Maynard too probably, but I prefer him up the field). That should give us the confidence to move the ball better with the extra synergy.

3. I look at our group and see them as extremely passive. We have very few assertive footballers on our list. Of our best 25 all of Wells, Elliott, WHE, Broomhead, Howe, Langdon, Scharenberg, Aish, Phillips, Smith and JT show no real grit. It's often called unsociable football these days, but I simply think of it as mongrel. I'd love us to take a serious dose of angry pills this off-season and next year play much more in your face footy. I lost track of the number of times I muttered "stick the tackle" in 2018. If there was a scuffle in 2017 there's only two blokes that I could be certain of being involved, Maynard and Adams. It's probably why we had such a good run with the umpires this year.

As they happen.
Pert gone = can be replaced, seems as though he and Bucks clashed.
Burn's gone = disappointing, would have thought he was one of the better assistants and Hawthorn see it that way.
White retired = not in best 22.
Pert was one of Buckley's biggest supporters.

I think just for a no 6 pick he's been disappointing. I'd be happy to see him stay but could imagine the club trading him. I'd prefer to keep Broomhead, personally, but he might get traded too.
Both were good against Melbourne. They just need a run at it to establish themselves n the senior team. You forget that both have had significant injuries in the past. In AFL you need to develop your tank to be able to run out games.

If it was up to me I would only make minimal changes to the list. I think Elliot and Fasolo offer too much of the same in the team. Same with Crisp and Greenwood. The only way Crisp and Greenwood can play together is Crisp off the half back line and Greenwood tagging in the centre. Every other combination on the field doesn't work. The other is more difficult. I can't see any way a forward line can have Elliot and Fasolo together, so I would cut our losses and trade Fasolo to Freo for a second or third round pick.

Keep Buckley but have someone with at least as much say over team composition and list management. Buckley was brilliant coaching on match day against Melbourne and is good with the players. But being a mid, I don't think he's good with forwards and defenders and the composition of the coaching staff is skewed towards mids. Harvey has to go only because he's a mid. Don't know why it has to be Burns who goes. Rivers has to stay because he's a defender. Now we want forwards on the coaching staff. We must be able to get one of Matthew Lloyd, Gary Lyon or Wayne Carey on to the coaching staff. That will make us much better.

Delist Blair, Oxley, Smith, Sier
White is retiring
Rookie Sier
Trade Fasolo
Keep everyone else including Mayne who will repay our faith in him next year.

Three early changes that I want to see to how we play:

1. More skill around the ball. Yeah efficiency wise we're quite strong, but that's largely because we move the ball so slowly for large chunks of the game.

2. More attacking ball movement. We now have a reasonably settled defensive group with all of Howe, Scharenberg, Langdon, Crisp and Dunn locked in to back 6 spots for 2018 (Maynard too probably, but I prefer him up the field). That should give us the confidence to move the ball better with the extra synergy.

3. I look at our group and see them as extremely passive. We have very few assertive footballers on our list. Of our best 25 all of Wells, Elliott, WHE, Broomhead, Howe, Langdon, Scharenberg, Aish, Phillips, Smith and JT show no real grit. It's often called unsociable football these days, but I simply think of it as mongrel. I'd love us to take a serious dose of angry pills this off-season and next year play much more in your face footy. I lost track of the number of times I muttered "stick the tackle" in 2018. If there was a scuffle in 2017 there's only two blokes that I could be certain of being involved, Maynard and Adams. It's probably why we had such a good run with the umpires this year.
I'd disagree on having JT in that list, I reckon he can be pretty hard at it, maybe this year not as much as in the past but it was a strange year for him for obvious reasons. Elliott I think also has it in him, just doesn't often get the opportunity to show that side given the role he is required to play in the team.

1. Fasolo : Trade if he wants to. Keep if he wants to stay. BUT he can't be guaranteed games anymore. We have alternatives.
  2. De Goey: Keep
  3. Wells : Have to keep
  4. Grundy: Keep and bring into the leadership group
  5. Elliott: Keep
  6. Goldy: Another year (yay)
  7. Treloar: Keep
  8. Langdon: Keep
  9. White: retired
  10. Pendlebury: Keep but look after
  11. Blair: Time to say thanks but you're no longer required
  12. Scharenburg: Keep
  13. Adams: Keep
  14. Aish: Trade if need be.
  15. Dunn: Another year
  16. Mayne: Pay him out, delist or get him a job elsewhere
  17. Brown: Keep
  18. Varcoe: Keep
  19. Greenwood:Keep (just for Geelong!)
  20. Reid: Performance contract (15 games minimum)
  21. Phillips: Keep
  22. Sidebottom: Keep and make captain
  23. Keefe: Keep as depth
  24. Thomas: Keep
  25. Crisp: Keep
  26. Daicos: Keep
  27. Kirby: Keep
  28. Sinclair: Performance based contract (15 games min)
  29. Brromhead: Keep, he's Grundy's little mate.
  30. Moore: Keep
  31. Ramsey: Trade
  32. WHE: Keep
  33. Wills: Keep (Performance based contract 15 games)
  34. McCarthy: Keep
  35. McClarty: Keep
  36. Sier: Rookie
  37. Maynard: Keep
  38. Howe: Keep
  39. Crocker: Keep
  40. Smith: Trade/ Delist
  41. Schade: Depth only

42. Oxley: Trade/Pay out/ Delist
  43. Mackie: Delist
  44. Lynch: Keep
  45. Cox: Sign him quick (3years)

Agree with most of this but I'd keep Fasolo, delist Greenwood (if out of contract), probably stuck with Mayne as well.

Not too mention the player who had a Dog and bone incident.

I'm thinking outside the square and going against the grain. Many want Mayne paid out but would it work better to extend his contract? I'm not across all the FA rules but suspect we can't shorten his contract because that affects Freos right to match. If we extend it but make it pretty much all match payments then he really only costs us a list spot? (Similar to whatever idiot did with promoting Keeffe before the year even started when he could have been kept on rookie list until about to be selected).

Why would he sign a contract that is tied to match payments (irrespective of the term) if he's not confident of actually getting games?

Sorry, wasn't the most serious suggestion and I don't really care if it makes sense from Mayne's POV. Maybe he feels he owes us for being such a massive spud, maybe he has a point to prove or maybe we just tell him he has to sign or we'll make him share a house with Harry? (so they can share hair care tips)

As they happen.
Pert gone = can be replaced, seems as though he and Bucks clashed.
Burn's gone = disappointing, would have thought he was one of the better assistants and Hawthorn see it that way.
White retired = not in best 22.
Harvey, Sanderson, staying. = NB's mates. Say no more!

Will anybody be delisted today? Possibilities include: Oxley, Mackie, Lynch, Keeffe, McCarthy, Sier, Schade, Crocker. Any others?
I'd reckon any delistings will be announced once we're eliminated from the VFL Finals.

Forgot about that, guess I'm eager for some blood.

Sinclair is seemingly one of those players who gets better the more games he misses.

Come on people.