Changes for next year, Round 1

In anyones language that is a massive win.
No one actually talks about the elephant in the room as well.

Houli, he is 32 and it would have solved a lot of problems if he retired with another medal around his neck.
I know he has been great the last few yrs but when do you say sorry mate i know your playing great footy still but you are stopping the development of players who we are fairly certain will be around for the long term.

Im asking is Houli indispensable?traditionally h/b and the role he does has been a place to develop younger players.

We do need to be careful in not stifling a lot of the younger players we have, who have done a solid apprenticeship, look like they will flourish at the top level but we cant/wont give em a game.

For the first time since the 70,s we have a crop of kids who we can say with certainty will go on and become very good players for us.
A few of them we need to develop fairly quickly as well if we dont want sudden gaping holes in the team as players start to enter the 30 yo plus range.

Imo as soon as RCD is ready we need to get as many games as possible into him. Jack Ross is another he has already shown he is good enough and ready to go they are bigger bodies in the midfield and we dont have a hell of a lot of em.

Rance and JR are both now in their 30's and Astbury is waht 29?in all seriousness who is coming thru who is likely no certain to make the levelthese blokes are not going to be there forever and we need to start getting games into their replacements wherever possible.

The club has been playing Balta back. Now in not going to argue where he should play because we just go around in circles. So the CLUB is developing him in the back half probably with the aim to ultimately replace the aging Rance.

We all talk about Rance replacing Broad, just maybe we should be talking about Balta replacing Broad with an eye on him ultimately replacing Rance.Getting much needed games into him as we go.
Its folly not to put games into these kids and then just expect them to step up when the stalwarts retire.

The question im asking is, Where are the holes not now but where are they going to be in 2 or three yrs time.Some of these kids we need to get to 50 80 games BEFORE the Rances and Riewoldts of the world retire.To me that makes for sustained success and smooth transition from one generation of players to the next.
I agree with much of what you are saying, some players will come in rd.1, others for injuries.

I think Ross is in the side rd.1 because he is ready to go and plays a bit like Prestia, an accumulator with a strong body and is very nimble. He reminds me of Selwood so much in the way he moves, a bit bigger a bit quicker. RCD will get some games, he doesn't need to be there from the start, but he needs to feel like he belongs, so he needs games as he is going to be a monster clearance player, Kennedy (Swans) type with more pace. Cotchin can go to the wing for spells, as he is good on the outside and can come into the centre when we need his experience and impact. Pickett will also go through there. That's a lot of changes to an already good midfield, but as you say, transition is important.

Houli needs to be replaced by someone better, at the moment that will not happen. Stack is nipping at this heels. There doesn't seem to be any other pure half backs coming through however. Short will only get better, as will Baker but are borderline best 22 in a full list. I reckon we might draft a pure classy running half back this year.

Balta can replace Astbury or Rance down the track, although he looks more suited to ruck/utility, I doubt he will get games there. So key back is the obvious place. So does he slot in at CHB. He needs more games this year than last to keep him improving, so Broad is the weakest link in the talls, although he has been doing his job. Balta could be a huge step up on Broad because he likes to rebound. Needs games to improve his knowledge, but who would have thought Broad would have been a duel Premiership player when he arrived.

If you are good enough you find a way in.

Richmond will possibly lose one or two of the younger players if they believe they're not getting enough opportunity. Those that do force their way into the team on a regular basis will have proven they're good enough. Premiership sides lose fringe players but the youth that forces out or replaces the retirees are quality. The season will unfold and the pecking order will become clear, and we'll add another trophy/cup to the cabinet.

Our list is fantastic and we do not need to trade in cast-offs from other clubs. Our policy now will be A graders or youth in.

Simply put Rance is a miles better player and unless Broad can become a rebounding type down back his position in the team is in jeopardy and rightly so.
As is Shorts and Bakers imo.

no one has argued Broad is ahead of Rance; Its Broad v Baker v Short v Stack etc - locks: Grimes, Vlastuin, Astbury, Rance, Houli

we seem to have a defender on the bench so there are two spots...

no one has argued Broad is ahead of Rance; Its Broad v Baker v Short v Stack etc - locks: Grimes, Vlastuin, Astbury, Rance, Houli

we seem to have a defender on the bench so there are two spots...
Isnt that exactly what i said.

I gave all the reasons why Rance will come in as a tall in his place. Thats right a tall defender replacing a tall defender. I also suggested as a running, rebound, deliverer of the ball type player, he is way behind just about every other player challenging for the position.

Imo the best three options for the role are Stack, Pickett and D-E-S. I think Stack and Pickett can play midfield so id be inclined to play EGG.
Imo if we were to play the 4th tall that tall should be Balta but hey i know people wont agree with that and thats okay.But imo Balta is our future CHB and it would be nice to have at 50 70 games when Rance does go.

A back half next yr of the following would do me fine.
Grimes - Astbury - Vlastuin. Grimes go back to playing as a small.
Rance - Balta - Stack/D-E-S/Pickett. one of the latter three. I know Houli wont be dropped but i am looking at the future, we get games into Rances replacement and we get games into our future hb flankers.It probably aint that far away when there is no Houli and Rance.

I also have little doubt that DES Pickett and Stack are will better players down back than Short and Baker.

I gave all the reasons why Rance will come in as a tall in his place. Thats right a tall defender replacing a tall defender. I also suggested as a running, rebound, deliverer of the ball type player, he is way behind just about every other player challenging for the position.

Imo the best three options for the role are Stack, Pickett and D-E-S. I think Stack and Pickett can play midfield so id be inclined to play EGG.
Imo if we were to play the 4th tall that tall should be Balta but hey i know people wont agree with that and thats okay.But imo Balta is our future CHB and it would be nice to have at 50 70 games when Rance does go.

Rance - Balta - Stack/D-E-S/Pickett. one of the latter three. I know Houli wont be dropped but i am looking at the future, we get games into Rances replacement and we get games into our future hb flankers.It probably aint that far away when there is no Houli and Rance.

I also have little doubt that DES Pickett and Stack are will better players down back than Short and Baker.

you said a lot of stuff and a bit all over the shop

i agree with much of the vibe fwiw - ill try to reply to everything later, cheers

Guys, guys, guys, Richmond is extremely well placed to contest the premiership for the next two to three years running....
Houli is playing AA football so forget about him making way for youngins, the young guns will get their chance as they did this year through adversity.

People saying Houli should not play are wrong. He keeps getting better.

The only way he shouldn't play is if someone takes his spot on merit, by being a better half back than him. He controls so much play floating across HB, he and Vlaustin form a very important part of our team.
Crazy isnt it. He made the HBF in this years AA, third in total for the Gary Ayers medal, 2nd in the GF for the Gary Ayres Medal, 2nd in the Norm Smith, Robbo has him 24th in his top 50 and some here are still doubting him for next season.
His healthy, clean and spiritual life would also hold him in good stead. The games had many a player go past 35, and I cannot see any reason why Houli cant.

There's a reason why the selectors select who they do, and why you aren't a selector.

There's a reason why Broad played the entire season and Balta didn't. There's a reason why Houli plays (for Christ's sake, he was AA, 7 in our B&F, runner up Norm Smith). Broad is a better key defender than Balta, and Houli is a better back flank than anyone in the 2s.

Playing them means we win premierships.

Guys, guys, guys, Richmond is extremely well placed to contest the premiership for the next two to three years running....
Houli is playing AA football so forget about him making way for youngins, the young guns will get their chance as they did this year through adversity.
I don't think anyone is advocating taking Houli out of the side, just that he turns 32 next year, so is perhaps a year or two or an injury away from being finished, so start getting games into a replacement or two.

Crazy isnt it. He made the HBF in this years AA, third in total for the Gary Ayers medal, 2nd in the GF for the Gary Ayres Medal, 2nd in the Norm Smith, Robbo has him 24th in his top 50 and some here are still doubting him for next season.
His healthy, clean and spiritual life would also hold him in good stead. The games had many a player go past 35, and I cannot see any reason why Houli cant.
Where has anyone said he won't be an automatic selection next year. Just that a transition/contingency plan is needed.

Bit of left field here.
But with our defence being just as rock solid this year without general Rance.
Could we play Rance on the wing ala Richo?

Could we replace Ellis with Rance? hell yes

Where has anyone said he won't be an automatic selection next year. Just that a transition/contingency plan is needed.

mopsy has done an essay on it above iirc

It's like saying let's drop Steve Smith because Will Pukovski looks like he's got a bit of talent!

dropping dusty for ross / rcd would be like dropping SSmith

are you an elephant in the room if your getting norm smith votes and making AA teams?

There's a reason why the selectors select who they do, and why you aren't a selector.

There's a reason why Broad played the entire season and Balta didn't.

Why are you on the discussion forum then?

mopsy has done an essay on it above iirc

[/QUOTE]
You mean in post 99:
B/ Grimes - Astbury - Vlastuin
H-B/ D-E-S - Rance - Houli, if Houli wasnt there Stack or Pickett.

or 145:
Back to the h/b line and i have said this a few times and copped abuse for thinking it.
Houli is 32 and yes he wont be dropped as a current A/A player who has performed really well for several seasons .He deserves his spot and a game.
I have always believed he has short comings but what he has brought to the table has outweighed them. For me Houlis competetion has been Short Baker and Ellis. Because of aspects of each players game Houli has been the front runner and i strongly believe there is massive improvement to be had by playing just one of them and that one is Houli.

or 159:
I think there are 5 locks, that is it they get selected no matter what.
Grimes - Astbury - Vlastuin
Houli - Rance - ?????

B: Grimes Astbury Rance
HB: Houli Vlastuin Stack
C: Pickett Prestia Caddy
HF: Rioli Lynch Edwards
F: Castagna Riewoldt Bolton
R: Nankervis Cotchin Martin
INT: Soldo Broad Graham Lambert
EMG: Ross Baker CCJ RCD

Good Luck Carlton and the rest of the comp
Swap stack for Bolton and Bolton for either short or Baker and I like it.

B: Grimes Astbury Broad
HB: Houli Rance Vlastuin
C: McIntosh Prestia Caddy
HF: Rioli Lynch Edwards
F: Castagna Riewoldt Bolton
R: Nankervis Cotchin Martin
INT: Short Pickett Graham Lambert
EMG: Ross Baker Soldo Stack Balta Chol

Gee that was a hard team to pick. Hard leaving out Baker, Soldo but i had to. There is every chance Graham is not ready for round 1, so Soldo or Ross would replace him in that case.
All 6 emergencies could easily be starting 22 by the end of the year.

B BROAD RANCE GRIMES

HB STACK DAVE VLASTUIN

C HOULI PICKETT EDWARDS

HF RIOLI JACK BOLTON

F DUSTY TOM CASTAGNA

R NANK COTCHIN PRESTIA

INT - LAMBERT, CADDY, SOLDO, GRAHAM / BAKER.

B: Grimes, Astbury, Broad
HB: Houli, Rance, Vlastuin
C: Lambert, Cotchin, Caddy
HF: Martin, Lynch, Bolton
F: Castagna, Riewoldt, Rioli
R: Nankervis, Edwards, Prestia
I: Soldo, Baker, Pickett, Stack

EMG from: Graham, Ross, McIntosh, Short, Naish, CCJ, RCD, Balta, Garth

Maybe swap Pickett and KMac but its hard to drop Marlion.

Edit: **** that's a good team

Wonder what our ruck set up will be next season. It's hard to know who's better, Nank does a lot of that bullocking that lets us run from clearances even when he doesn't win the tap, while Soldo is a better tap ruckman and had improved his marking and decision making around the ground considerably.

Not sure we'll run with two ruckmen, but it did seem to work well thru the finals.

Houli, he is 32 and it would have solved a lot of problems if he retired with another medal around his neck.
I know he has been great the last few yrs but when do you say sorry mate i know your playing great footy still but you are stopping the development of players who we are fairly certain will be around for the long term
Is this a joke?

Changes for next year, Round 1