Changes for Round 1 2010

Look at the spoils, tackles, blocks and shepherds by these kids now compared to earlier in the year. Stark contrast and they are some of the biggest indicators of teamwork.

Bingo. A simple shepherd is often the difference between a kick hitting a leading forward lace-out or going out on the full. It can't be emphasised enough how important this is.

A. Selwood - Glass - Brown
Butler - Mackenzie - Hurn
Rosa - Kerr - Houlihan
Embley - Kennedy - Lynch
LeCras - McKinley - Waters

Cox Masten Priddis
Ebert Swift McGinnity NN

Defence

Moving Butler to half back has been a great move. He's added quality disposal to complement Hurn's and has surprised me with his spoiling. He loves bolting off to provide an option as well. I think he's saved his career in the process.

Brown has looked bloody good up forward, particularly with his ability to play on and move the ball quickly, but against quality opposition (namely Adelaide) we were exposed for a lack of run out of defence. Spangher made up for this the following week, but against a weaker opponent. I like Brown at both ends, but for now, I think we need his courageous dash in the backline.

Glass and Mackenzie are automatic selections for the key defensive roles IMO. Glass has had a great year and Mackenzie started very well, before niggling injuries and general soreness reduced his effectiveness. After another full pre-season Mackenzie will be able to hold his form deeper into the season.

A. Selwood is a vital cog in our midfield rotations and will be required through there, but he also has the ability to shut down quality forwards. Given our history of getting torn apart by these little bastards, Selwood should spend a fair bit of time down back.

Hurn is on his way to AA honours with his powerful legs driving his body through tackles and then unleashing a 60m laserbeam to a team mate in space. Shannon's quads are an unstopppable force.

All our smaller defenders have the capacity to add to midfield rotations, which I think is a great advantage.

Wings

Rosa seems to have put on a fair bit of size this year and is attacking the contest far more agressively, which is good because he needed to. I'm now much more confident when he has the ball in his hands. His kicking is reasonaly reliable, but he needs to flatten it out a bit more. I believe that next season he will become a very good player.

Houlihan has shown himself to be a running machine that can have multiple possessions as the ball moves down the ground, which is vitally important in outnumbering opponents around the ball and creating overlaps etc. He definitely needs to improve his kicking, but very few young players have complete games from word go. I can see him getting us over the line, with his endurance, in some very important games, in the future. More often than not, finals are won by the team with the more run in their legs in the last 15 minutes.

Ruck

Cox gives us an additional outside midfielder and NN gives us an additional inside midfielder, both will at a minimum breakeven in the hitouts. It's possible we could have the two AA ruckmen next season. I can't wait to see what these two produce next season. Not to mention Lynch who has proven to be more than capable as a back-up.

On-ballers

Kerr - I think we are going to see a return to the Kerr of old. No longer required to do all the work by himself, he can be used in bursts to have a dramatic impact on the game with his aggression and explosiveness.

Masten - Showed he can become a very polished player either at the bottom of packs or running onto a handball and executing a bullet pass. I think he will form a major part of the foundations of our midfield. I think he will spend large minutes in the middle and that will enable other players to have a greater impact.

Priddis - Like Robert De Niro, he doesn't play a great variety of roles, but those he plays, he plays bloody well. There's talk about the young guys pushing Priddis out of the team, but I see it differently. I think the young mids will enable Priddis to play an even more specific role and get on with what he does best, taking the ball off the opposition and giving it to team mates. He hasn't bombed one out of a contest for a while now.

Ebert - I like midifelders that know how to use their body in a marking contest and Ebert can do that. He's definitely looked slow at times this season, but I wonder how much of that is due to the effects of OP and whether an unrestricted pre-season will have him moving on top of the grass a bit more next year. He's not backward in coming forward either, which we need.

Swift - After Cousins turned 20 years of age, I started putting a bet on him for the Brownlow at the beginng of every season. It proved a good strategy. I'm going to do the same for Swift. I remember the first time I saw his u/16 footage and thought "typical junior footy stuff, where the most developed kid just dominates". I also thought that missing out on 2 years of footy at such a vital point in a player's development may have lasting negative effects on his game. I was wrong on both counts. Seems a complete player with plenty of pace and will gain size in the next couple of years.

McGinnity - The last player selected in my 22, but got a position because we need someone to play a defensive role in the midfield, but who still has the ability to contribute with clearances and reliable disposal.

Midfield Rotations: A. Selwood, Butler, Hurn, Embley, LeCras

Forwards

Lynch - I like Lynch well up the ground and using his endurance and long kick to its maximum. Named HFF, but I'd like him presenting to our defenders moving the ball out of D50.

Kennedy - Our club's first true CHF and looking great. Has improved from non-selection at the beginning of the season, to automatic selection by the end.

Embley - easy selection. In the forward half so he can kick goals.

LeCras - as above

McKinley - easily our best FF and should be played there. If that means we don't have an option for a long bomb, good, stop bombing the ball in and look for a lead.

Waters - could play a role as a defensive forward. I like Beau and believe we need a bloke like him in the team, but I also like our defensive 6 as I have named it. Not known for his great field kicking, Beau's actually a bloody good kick for goal.

Overall, I think that is a team capable of making the 8, if things go our way. can't wait to see how they go next season.

FB: Waters Glass Hurn
HB: Spangher Brown Butler
C: Masten Kerr Swift
HF: Embley Kennedy LeCras
FF: Lynch McKinley Wirra
R: Cox Priddis A.Selwood
I/C: Naitanui S.Selwood Rosa Houlihan
EMG: Ebert McKenzie Shuey

Looks a top 4-6 side to me.

You gotta have more premiership/experianced players like waters/hansen/stenglein/jones and so on. Just a sugestion, other than that good team.

Bingo. A simple shepherd is often the difference between a kick hitting a leading forward lace-out or going out on the full. It can't be emphasised enough how important this is.

A. Selwood - Glass - Brown
Butler - Mackenzie - Hurn
Rosa - Kerr - Houlihan
Embley - Kennedy - Lynch
LeCras - McKinley - Waters

Cox Masten Priddis
Ebert Swift McGinnity NN

Defence

Moving Butler to half back has been a great move. He's added quality disposal to complement Hurn's and has surprised me with his spoiling. He loves bolting off to provide an option as well. I think he's saved his career in the process.

Brown has looked bloody good up forward, particularly with his ability to play on and move the ball quickly, but against quality opposition (namely Adelaide) we were exposed for a lack of run out of defence. Spangher made up for this the following week, but against a weaker opponent. I like Brown at both ends, but for now, I think we need his courageous dash in the backline.

Glass and Mackenzie are automatic selections for the key defensive roles IMO. Glass has had a great year and Mackenzie started very well, before niggling injuries and general soreness reduced his effectiveness. After another full pre-season Mackenzie will be able to hold his form deeper into the season.

A. Selwood is a vital cog in our midfield rotations and will be required through there, but he also has the ability to shut down quality forwards. Given our history of getting torn apart by these little bastards, Selwood should spend a fair bit of time down back.

Hurn is on his way to AA honours with his powerful legs driving his body through tackles and then unleashing a 60m laserbeam to a team mate in space. Shannon's quads are an unstopppable force.

All our smaller defenders have the capacity to add to midfield rotations, which I think is a great advantage.

Wings

Rosa seems to have put on a fair bit of size this year and is attacking the contest far more agressively, which is good because he needed to. I'm now much more confident when he has the ball in his hands. His kicking is reasonaly reliable, but he needs to flatten it out a bit more. I believe that next season he will become a very good player.

Houlihan has shown himself to be a running machine that can have multiple possessions as the ball moves down the ground, which is vitally important in outnumbering opponents around the ball and creating overlaps etc. He definitely needs to improve his kicking, but very few young players have complete games from word go. I can see him getting us over the line, with his endurance, in some very important games, in the future. More often than not, finals are won by the team with the more run in their legs in the last 15 minutes.

Ruck

Cox gives us an additional outside midfielder and NN gives us an additional inside midfielder, both will at a minimum breakeven in the hitouts. It's possible we could have the two AA ruckmen next season. I can't wait to see what these two produce next season. Not to mention Lynch who has proven to be more than capable as a back-up.

On-ballers

Kerr - I think we are going to see a return to the Kerr of old. No longer required to do all the work by himself, he can be used in bursts to have a dramatic impact on the game with his aggression and explosiveness.

Masten - Showed he can become a very polished player either at the bottom of packs or running onto a handball and executing a bullet pass. I think he will form a major part of the foundations of our midfield. I think he will spend large minutes in the middle and that will enable other players to have a greater impact.

Priddis - Like Robert De Niro, he doesn't play a great variety of roles, but those he plays, he plays bloody well. There's talk about the young guys pushing Priddis out of the team, but I see it differently. I think the young mids will enable Priddis to play an even more specific role and get on with what he does best, taking the ball off the opposition and giving it to team mates. He hasn't bombed one out of a contest for a while now.

Ebert - I like midifelders that know how to use their body in a marking contest and Ebert can do that. He's definitely looked slow at times this season, but I wonder how much of that is due to the effects of OP and whether an unrestricted pre-season will have him moving on top of the grass a bit more next year. He's not backward in coming forward either, which we need.

Swift - After Cousins turned 20 years of age, I started putting a bet on him for the Brownlow at the beginng of every season. It proved a good strategy. I'm going to do the same for Swift. I remember the first time I saw his u/16 footage and thought "typical junior footy stuff, where the most developed kid just dominates". I also thought that missing out on 2 years of footy at such a vital point in a player's development may have lasting negative effects on his game. I was wrong on both counts. Seems a complete player with plenty of pace and will gain size in the next couple of years.

McGinnity - The last player selected in my 22, but got a position because we need someone to play a defensive role in the midfield, but who still has the ability to contribute with clearances and reliable disposal.

Midfield Rotations: A. Selwood, Butler, Hurn, Embley, LeCras

Overall, I think that is a team capable of making the 8, if things go our way. can't wait to see how they go next season.

Great write up:thumbsu:

Looking at these teams convinces me we are a fair way yet off being top 4. Still got a few holes to fill and need at least a couple of Kennedy, Masten, Swift, Naitanui to become real stars.

Care to elaborate? Who are the weak links atm?

great post Marlin, a good read!

to the other post...i dont think we're a way off from finals because of a lack of talent or weak links..to me, all thats needed is more gametime together,a preaseason etc, to become a more cohesive and confident unit..that alone doesnt mean we'll get into finals or further,but its the next big step..

what i saw from the Richmond game..and they did play badly with little enthusiasm it seemed..making us look better..nonetheless what we saw was the potential of the eagles..when everything clicks,everyone plays their part, and the workrates up,and the one percenters are being done etc..it was chilling..the potential,the future..was on display.(granted we still made lots of basic errors)..but mostly it was cohesive and aggressive, fast + direct.

and whats apparent from everyones 2010 Team posts here..is that it doesnt matter who you put in the team(in a sense)..theres going to be a good back up man to cover most positions and injuries next year..the depth(and talent) is quite awesome..and that goes a long way to getting you into finals and premierships..
cant wait for 2010 to watch it unfold,our teamsters mature,and our gameplan evolve!! :thumbsu:

Care to elaborate? Who are the weak links atm?
Orright, I'll play Devil'd Advocate a bit.

I like our backline. Glass, Mackenzie, Brown if needed for the talls plus Hurn just about the most damaging rebounder in the league. Butler, Waters, Spangher, Schofield, Jones, Smith to fill the other spots. Maybe even the Selwoods. If Mackenzie keeps developing then I think that is pretty set.

Unsure on the wings, Rosa and Houlihan get plenty of it but we all know their disposal isn't great. Embley is doing really well though hopefully he's got some good years left in him. Does anyone see Smith, Ebert or Spangher being played there? Maybe we'll get Jetta anyway.

Cox/Nat in the rucks is pretty insane, couldn't hope for much more it's the guys feeding off them who are the worries. Kerr we know can be a star but will he ever play like one again? If he does who is going to be our 2nd, 3rd, 4th mids. Looking at the best teams they all have at least 3 or 4 guns in the midfield and atm Selwood and Priddis are our next best. They'd be great 4th/5th/6th mids but we need at least another 2 stars. Masten, Swift, Shuey, Ebert and LeCras are the big hopes plus maybe who we draft this year. Without a couple of them stepping up it's hard to see us really pushing for top 4.

The Selwoods and Mcginnity look to be decent defensive options, hopefully one of them can become a real shut down player like Kirk, Ling, Kornes etc...

Forwards look OK but not yet convinced. Kennedy and LeCras look to be the two guns but will JK be able to keep improving/stay fit and will LeCras be played in the midfield? Mckinley I think needs to be persisted with and if Lynch can play a role down there (probably on the 2nd/3rd best defender) then that will be a big help. I'd like to see Brown played CHF if he's not required up back as I still think we lack depth in the forwards. Definitely need a crumber and hopefully a resting NicNat can be dangerous down there (and take some marks!!!!). Not sold on Wilson, I think Lynch is better at this stage. Probably 1 or 2 spots that I'd like to see filled. If Notte can fulfill his potential then I think we'd be just about set.

*Star Power* and X-Factor is what we are mostly missing. Naitanui might be the answer. I hope so.

A few questions on some individuals.

Ebert: Where's he going to play? Pace is obviously his weak point but hasn't stopped many a player before him from being guns. Will he be a midfielder, wingman, flanker? Just not sure how exactly he fits in.

Scott Selwood: Not sure where he will play either. Love the way he goes about it though.

Waters: Will he get back in the team? Could he be an option up forward?

Spangher: Will he be able to hold down a defensive spot? Based on his game on Friday we'd be crazy to leave him out but he can't be leaking goals.

NicNat: What would you like to see out of him for next year? More marks/kicks? Some goals? More pack busting runs? (yes please)!

That's it for now. I guess I can see us becoming a top 4 team with the current players as long as some of the younger ones really come on quickly.

NicNat: What would you like to see out of him for next year? More marks/kicks? Some goals? More pack busting runs? (yes please)!

That's it for now. I guess I can see us becoming a top 4 team with the current players as long as some of the younger ones really come on quickly.

What do I want out of NicNat next year? (Other than play at FB against Melbourne next year & towel up Watts :p) Just for him to develop. Everyone talks about the fact he doesn't kick the ball a lot, but I couldn't care less. His vision within packs, and his ability get the ball & to handball it to a guy in space is incredible for a guy his size. He'll start kicking the ball soon, we just have to give the confidence to do so. How many young ruckmen kick the more more than handball. Not many.

We CAN be a top 4 side with the group we've got. Maybe not next year, but certainly in 2011. I think the key next year is keeping the guys on the park. If the majority of the squad plays a large amount of the season they will gel, and we will start to see wins like v the bulldogs more often.

This EAGLES side for top 4 in 2010

Often I am accused of being one eyed. Overly optimistic.

But if this team stays healthy I think we can get top 4 next year

B: Brown Glass A.Selwood
HB:
Butler Mackenzie Hurn
C: Houlihan Kerr Ebert
HF: Embley Kennedy Swift
F: Lecras Lynch Mckinley
Foll: Cox Masten Priddis
I/C: Naitanui Wirra S.Selwood Shuey

Em. Rosa, McGinnity Cockie Spangher Waters

FB: A.Selwood Glass Butler
HB: Hurn McKenzie Brown
C: Swift Priddis Rosa
HF: Embley Kennedy McKinley
FF: LeCras Lynch Wirrpanda
R: Cox Kerr Masten

I: Natainui S.Selwood Houlihan Ebert

This is my projected team for ROUND ONE next year.
I know there are other players coming back eg Waters, but i dont think round 1 is viable for him.

Full Back:
I think A.Selwood will start in the back pocket, he can have that Beau Waters 'tough', is a great tagger and can be creative from there. He will be used in midfield rotations also, but i think by next year, there will be a few juniors ahead of him, allowing him to play a position such as this.

Glass
, no need to elaborate

Sam Butler has been great in defence this year. I think we have used him more off half back in the last few weeks but with Hurn and Brown back playing next year, their rebound seems too critical. Butler i think will excel when given small duties e.g minding a small forward. Im not sure where that leaves Scooter though. I think he still has some development in him but it will be a race between these 2 for that pocket IMO.

Half Back:
Hurn. His rebound is just too good, his run off half back is amazing. Needs to play in this position. He is accountable for his opponent too. If we can start to exploit his run, we can have a mid dropping back to mind his man. Needs to be given the ball more when he sneaks up at 60m and has a shot for goal.

I think McKenzie's injuries got to him. But agreeing with a previous poster, i think with a good pre-season, he'll be able to last for longer next year. He is smart and can be accountable for minding opponents if Brown and Hurn push forward.

Mitch Brown, i find is very much like Hurn. Very creative off half back, but if a team has a dangerous tall coming into the game, with 2 great half backs, we can sacrifice one and play Brown more like his brother at just minding his player and forgetting the ball. I love the fact we have so many options, this is going to make it awful hard for other teams to negate.

CENTER:
I am a little confused to the centre and onballers. Obviously the coaching panel will have their different reasons for setting up, but i feel the players starting on the field for me will be either a mix of centre or on ball.

I am very excited about Swift, id love to see him getting 35 possessions a game but i think his polish is too good and will start on a wing and roam free. Has shown in the last few weeks he can kick running goals. A wing will see him out of the action a little more, but im sure he'll swing in the guts more at some stage.

I like Priddis in the middle. I agree with everyone about his skills etc, but if he doesnt have to rely on his disposal and can spot a quick handball to his team mate, Priddis' ball winning ability in close is still much needed. I also think not having to rely on him as being a primary on-baller, we can give him smaller tasks and in his maturity will blossom. Saying that, his decisions and disposal in the back half of the season have been great. I think this is because of the weight taken off of his shoulers by the improving mids.

Matt Rosa, always gets pounded on these boards. But will next year be a few years older than our young kids, and will improve yet again. He is a hard worker, constantly each week covers more distance than any of our other players, and as long as his disposal improves, has a spot cemented in our team.

HALF FORWARD:

I like Embley running off half back. Remember those few blinders he played earlier this year there? But his goal kicking ability, shown again against Bulldogs, is too good to leave out. May be able to switch with Brown at some stage, but i think will start at half forward.

Kennedy will be our measuring stick i feel. LeCras had a breakout year, but i think for him to kick another 60 goals will be very tough! I love Kennedy's arrogance, i think he truly feels like he IS or can be a superstar. But works hard, crashes packs and chases the ball for it. I love his mobility and athleticism, so i hope he can keep exploiting that in slower opponents.

McKinley id like to see playing where he is more comfortable, and i think that is full forward, but he simply doesnt have the size. I think he has been good here recently, especially if he can keep the pressure on. As a forward i think he is still behind Kennedy and LeCras but i think this is great because he will pop up every 3-4 weeks and kick bags of 4 or 5 as long as he is kicking a few a game, thats enough to keep him in the team. Its almost the case like having Buddy and Roughhead...and then teams cant cover Williams and he kicks a bag.

FULL FORWARD:

I know Woosha has said LeCras be in the midfield more next year, but i think in patches just like the back half of this year. When you have midfielders coming up like we do, why would we put a 58-goal-a-season guy in the midfield permanently? I dont think he will have the results like he did this year (i hope he does though), but what that does mean is that he draws the best opponent, therefore opening up other players.

We have to remember that Lynch kicked 60+ goals when we were on fire and has good delivery from the midfielders. His kicking in closer is suspect, but so is Franklin's! He is tough, he is natural there and unlike other full forwards, has the ability to be swung up the ground or in the ruck. If he plays deep full forward and we can aquire a good crumber, he will at least bring the ball to ground. I have noticed a great improvement of his decisions and leadership, i think after a year or 2 away from FF he will go back a new man.

Im not sure if Wirra will start here or come off the bench, we may pick up a ready made crumber, but for while he is around, i think in his twilight, he can produce some magic in the pocket. When he doesnt have to mind an opponent and just be creative, Wirra will be good use in the pocket. He is also very clever and can spot others up beautifully. But this will depend on who we draft, we may just get Jetta!

RUCK:

Cox.

For things to reeeeeally go right, Kerr needs to find his feet again. I think we has been fustrated the last 2 years with his teammates inexperience to be able to read how he plays. I think this will improve when he gets back. What i am scared of is that while gone, the players have gelled and been very disciplined, but if Kerr comes back in and starts doing things on 'his terms' may rock how everyone feels alongside him. If we can get Shuey coming along as good as these last few kids, there is no reason why we cant try Kerr elsewhere. But for now he is still our best on-baller.

Masten. As long as he keeps going as he is for us, will hold this position for a long, long time.

INTERCHANGE:

The interchange of Natainui, S.Selwood, Houlihan and Ebert was tough to come up with. But i think there is a good spread there. I dont think i have missed anyone out.

With Shuey injured, Waters injured, i think if we have a full squad up and going, we can bring them back slowly through the WAFL.

Will also depend on who we draft, what stage they are at and if they are capable to play round 1, and what positions are left open.

Re: This EAGLES side for top 4 in 2010

Hopefully we can win 9-10 games at Subi next year (won 7 this year with two derby losses). A couple of away wins as well and that would be a great season.

i dont know about top 4??..too early to call..i did make a prediction at start of 09 season, that we'd finish 7-11th (a wide net+a bit of bloated blind faith)..but had we won a couple of narrow losses, we'd be up there..but we'd have been too premature or immature to go any further..i feel the team+tactics are developing really well now,not overly rushed or desperate..very methodical unveiling of a new generation.

bearing in mind we beat the doggies,and hawks,and took it up to st.kilda etc...i reckon 6-8th would be a safe call..with a couple of surprising upset wins along the way..

anyway as gunner said..its going to be a long offseason.. (:

Houlihan had plenty of the ball on Friday night but generally butchered it.

CHB is the one area I remain wary of. Earlier in the season McKenzie owned the spot & was doing really well. He had an injury riddled finish to the season & his form wasn't great when he was in the team. His handball's always seem to lack force and his decision making on Friday night was a worry.

Brown has looked good up forward but we may be forced to play him down back. We seem to have forward options anyway.

B: Spangher Glass S.Selwood
HB: Butler Brown Hurn
C: Rosa Kerr Swift
HF: Lynch Kennedy Embley
F: Lecras Mckinley Wirrapunda
Foll: Cox Masten A.Selwood

I: NicNat, Priddis, Ebert, Houlihan

Often I am accused of being one eyed. Overly optimistic.

But if this team stays healthy I think we can get top 4 next year

B: Brown Glass A.Selwood
HB:
Butler Mackenzie Hurn
C: Houlihan Kerr Ebert
HF: Embley Kennedy Swift
F: Lecras Lynch Mckinley
Foll: Cox Masten Priddis
I/C: Naitanui Wirra S.Selwood Shuey

Em. Rosa, McGinnity Cockie Spangher Waters
Premature.

And why do you use the gay font and colour tags?

B Hurn Glass A.Selwood

HB Embley Waters Stenglein

C Ebert Swift Priddis

HF S.Selwood Kennedy McKinley

F LeCras Lynch Brown

Fol Naitanui Kerr Masten

Int Staker Cockie Cox Wirrpanda

Emg Hansen Rosa Butler

Coiuld be interesting if we line up against Brisbane or Hawthorn.

Waters on either Franklin or Brown ahah

I think by now we should all have realised that it doesn't matter whether our 'guns' are playing or not, if everyone plays their part and works hard, we can push the top teams to the end (saints, geelong, bulldogs) and really do a number on the mediocre teams (kangas, richmond).

Cox & Kerr, if fit, will almost definitely play round 1 - I think this is a double edged sword. Without them, the kids have become more confident in their own ability to take the game on and win the contests, with them in the team I just worry that some players will then fall into the trap of not working as hard, because the 'stars' will do the job for them.

Waters will struggle for round 1. Masten & Brown will probably be locks to come back in if fully fit, McKinley I think is still borderline.